0 - en to ko-KR translation catalogue (58 entries)

en: Foreword
ko-KR: 서문

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Linux distribution, Linux kernel
ko-KR: <emphasis>차근 차근 배워봅시다!</emphasis> 리눅스 계열과 리눅스 커널

en: <primary>Linux</primary><secondary>kernel</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>리눅스</primary><secondary>커널</secondary>

en: <primary>Linux</primary><secondary>distribution</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>리눅스</primary><secondary>계열</secondary>

en: <primary>distribution</primary><secondary>Linux distribution</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>계열</primary><secondary>리눅스 계열</secondary>

en: Strictly speaking, Linux is only a kernel, the core piece of software which sits between the hardware and the applications.
ko-KR: 똑부러지게 말하자면, 리눅스는 단지 하드웨어와 어플리케이션을 중계하는 일종의 소프트웨어인 커널에 불과합니다.

en: Debian GNU/Linux is a “generic” Linux distribution that fits most users. The purpose of this book is to show its many aspects so that you can make an informed decision when choosing.
ko-KR: 데비안 GNU/리눅스는 대부분의 리눅스(계열) 사용자들이 이용하는 운영체제의 통칭이라고 부를 수 있습니다. 이 책을 쓴 이유 중 하나로는 여러분이 나중에 리눅스 계열 중 하나를 선택하실 때, 리눅스 계열의 다양한 정보를 제공하기 위해서입니다.

en: Why This Book?
ko-KR: 꼭 이 책이여만 했나?

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Commercial distributions
ko-KR: <emphasis>문화</emphasis> 상업(유료) 계열

en: <primary>distribution</primary><secondary>commercial distribution</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>계열</primary><secondary>상업(유료)계열</secondary>

en: At the other end of the spectrum lie the likes of Debian and the Apache Software Foundation (which hosts the development for the Apache web server). Debian is above all a project in the Free Software world, implemented by volunteers working together through the Internet. While some of them do work on Debian as part of their paid job in various companies, the project as a whole is not attached to any company in particular, nor does any one company have a greater say in the project's affairs than what purely volunteer contributors have.
ko-KR: 상업적 색이 강한 리눅스 계열들의 정반대에는 데비안과 아파치 소프트웨어 재단(개발용 아파치 웹 서버 운영)이 존재합니다. 데비안은 인터넷을 통해 프로젝트 기여자들이 함께 구현한 자유 소프트웨어 세계의 프로젝트입니다. 어떤 부분들은 누군가가 회사에서 돈을 받고 개발에 참여하기도 하지만, 그렇다고 프로젝트 전체적인 부분에 있어 특정 회사가 점유하는 것이 아니며, 순수히 프로젝트에 참여한 기여자보다 권한이 많은 것도 아닙니다.

en: The first edition of this book (in 2004) served to fill a gaping hole: it was the first French-language book that focused exclusively on Debian. At that time, many other books were written on the topic both for French-speaking and English-speaking readers. Unfortunately almost none of them got updated, and over the years the situation slipped back to one where there were very few good books on Debian. We hope that this book, which has started a new life with its translation into English (and several translations from English into various other languages), will fill this gap and help many users.
ko-KR: 2004년에 처음 만들어진 이 책은 단지 데비안만을 다룬 프랑스어 책이었습니다. 그 당시에는 이 책 이외에도 프랑스와 영어 독자를 대상으로 한 책도 많이 존재했습니다. 불행하게도 시간이 지남에 따라 개정판을 내놓은 책은 없었고, 데비안에 관한 좋은책들은 점차 사라져갔습니다. 저희는 이 책이 영어 이외에도 다른 언어로 번역되면서 데비안의 부족한 점도 채우고 많은 사용자에게도 도움이 되길바랍니다.

en: Who Is this Book For?
ko-KR: 이 책의 대상은 누구인가요?

en: We tried to make this book useful for many categories of readers. First, systems administrators (both beginners and experienced) will find explanations about the installation and deployment of Debian on many computers. They will also get a glimpse of most of the services available on Debian, along with matching configuration instructions and a description of the specifics coming from the distribution. Understanding the mechanisms involved in Debian's development will enable them to deal with unforeseen problems, knowing that they can always find help within the community.
ko-KR: 저희는 이 책을 다양한 스펙트럼의 독자들을 위해 노력했습니다. 첫째, 시스템과 관리자에 대한 내용은 일반 컴퓨터에 설치하는 방법에 대한 설명하는 내용입니다. 읽다보시면, 데비안의 이용가능한 기능에 대해서 눈치채실 수 있으며, 책의 내용과 비교를 하면서 설치방법을 익히실 수 있습니다. 데비안의 메커니즘을 이해하시면 추후 예상치 못한 문제에 대한 해결법을 해결하실 수 있을겁니다. 데비안 커뮤니티에도 도움을 청하실수도 있습니다.

en: Users of another Linux distribution, or of another Unix variant, will discover the specifics of Debian, and should become operational very quickly while benefiting fully from the unique advantages of this distribution.
ko-KR: 기존의 리눅스 계열 사용자 또는 유닉스 계열을 사용해온 이용자라면, 데비안만의 특징을 찾게 되실거고 익숙해지신다면 사용하는데 매우 편리하실겁니다.

en: Finally, readers who already have some knowledge of Debian and want to know more about the community behind it should see their expectations fulfilled. This book should make them much closer to joining us as contributors.
ko-KR: 마지막으로, 사전에 데비안에 대해서 아시고 데비안 커뮤니티 그 이상에 대해서 알고 싶으신 분들이라면, 이 책을 통해서 만족하실 수 있을겁니다. 이 책을 통해서 데비안 프로젝트의 기여자가 되길 바랍니다.

en: General Approach
ko-KR: 일반적인 접근(General Approach)

en: All of the generic documentation you can find about GNU/Linux also applies to Debian, since Debian includes most common free software. However, the distribution brings many enhancements, which is why we chose to primarily describe the “Debian way” of doing things.
ko-KR: 당신이 찾아본 GNU/리눅스에 관한 문서들은 대부분 데비안과 관련되어 있습니다. 자유 소프트웨어라면 거의 데비안과 관련되었기 때문이죠. 그러나 데비안만이 아닌 다른 파생 계열 또한 특징이 있기 때문에, "데비안만의 방식"을 설명하고자 합니다.

en: It is interesting to follow the Debian recommendations, but it is even better to understand their rationale. Therefore, we won't restrict ourselves to practical explanations only; we will also describe the project's workings, so as to provide you with comprehensive and consistent knowledge.
ko-KR: 단지  따르는 것도 흥미롭겠지만, "데비안 방식"의 근거를 아는 것이 데비안을 이해하는데 도움이 될 수 있습니다. 그래서 단지 형식적인 설명을 하기보다, 이 책에서는 자연스럽게 이해할 수 있도록 데비안의 프로젝트가 어떻게 진행되는지 설명할 것입니다.

en: Book Structure
ko-KR: 책의 구조

en: <emphasis>NOTE</emphasis> Web site, authors' email
ko-KR: <emphasis>참고</emphasis> 작가의 이메일, 웹 사이트

en: <emphasis role="strong">Chapter 1</emphasis> focuses on a non-technical presentation of the Debian project and describes its goals and organization. These aspects are important because they define a general framework that other chapters will complete with more concrete information.
ko-KR: <emphasis role="strong">1 장</emphasis>에서는 데비안 프로젝트의 기술과 관련없는 부분에 대해서 다루며, 재단과 목표에 대해서 설명합니다. 이 부분이 중요한 이유는 나중에 자세하게 세부적인 부분을 다루기 전에 데비안의 전반적인 뼈대를 설명하기 때문입니다.

en: <emphasis role="strong">Chapters 2 and 3</emphasis> provide a broad outline of the case study. At this point, novice readers can take the time to read <emphasis role="strong">appendix B</emphasis>, where they will find a short remedial course explaining a number of basic computing notions, as well as concepts inherent to any Unix system.
ko-KR: <emphasis role="strong">2 장과 3장</emphasis>에서는 많은 사례에 대해서 설명할 겁니다. 이 부분에서 전문가가 아니시라면 <emphasis role="strong">부록 B</emphasis>를 읽으시느라 시간을 많이 들이실 수 있습니다. Unix 시스템에서 유래된 기본적인 컴퓨터 관련 개념에 대해서 다루고 있습니다.

en: To get on with our real subject matter, we will quite naturally start with the installation process (<emphasis role="strong">chapter 4</emphasis>); <emphasis role="strong">chapters 5 and 6</emphasis> will unveil basic tools that any Debian administrator will use, such as those of the <emphasis role="strong">APT</emphasis> family, which is largely responsible for the distribution's excellent reputation. These chapters are in no way restricted to professionals, since everyone is their own administrator at home.
ko-KR: 본격적인 내용을 다루기 앞서, <emphasis role="strong">4장</emphasis>에서 기초적인 설치 과정에 대해서 다룰 것이며, <emphasis role="strong">5장과 6장</emphasis>에서는 데비안 관리자가 이용하는 기본적인 툴에 대해서 다룰 것입니다. 예를 들면 데비안 계열의 엄청난 명성을 얻게 해준 <emphasis role="strong">APT</emphasis>계열이 있습니다. 걱정마세요! 이 장에서는 일반인들도 저마다 개인 컴퓨터의 관리자이므로, 전문가용으로 한정된 내용만을 다루지 않을 겁니다.

en: <emphasis role="strong">Chapter 7</emphasis> will be an important parenthesis; it describes workflows to efficiently use documentation and to quickly gain an understanding of problems in order to solve them.
ko-KR: <emphasis role="strong">7 장</emphasis>에서는 중요한 내용들이 있습니다; 발생한 문제에 대해서 이해하고 해결하기 위해 그리고, 문서화 작업을 효율적으로 처리하기 위해 작업의 흐름에 대해서 설명하고 있습니다.

en: The next chapters will be a more detailed tour of the system, starting with basic infrastructure and services (<emphasis role="strong">chapters 8 to 10</emphasis>) and going progressively up the stack to reach the user applications in <emphasis role="strong">chapter 13</emphasis>. <emphasis role="strong">Chapter 12</emphasis> deals with more advanced subjects that will most directly concern administrators of large sets of computers (including servers), while <emphasis role="strong">chapter 14</emphasis> is a brief introduction to the wider subject of computer security and gives a few keys to avoid most problems.
ko-KR: 그 다음 장들에서는 시스템의 세부적인 내용에 대해서 다룰 것입니다. 기초적인 기반 시스템과 서비스(<emphasis role="strong">8 장~ 10 장</emphasis>), 더 나아가 일반적인 사용자가 이용할 수 있는 애플리게이션(<emphasis role="strong">13 장</emphasis>)에 대해서 다룰 것입니다. <emphasis role="strong">12 장</emphasis>에서는 대량의 컴퓨터 혹은 서버를 다룰 수 있는 관리자를 위한 심화된 내용에 대해서 다루고 있으며, <emphasis role="strong">14 장</emphasis>에서는 대부분의 문제를 방지하기 예방하기 위한 팁과 컴퓨터 보안에 대해 광범위하게 다루를 것입니다.

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Debian package
ko-KR: <emphasis>용어</emphasis> 데비안 패키지

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>Debian package</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>패키지</primary><secondary>데비안 패키지</secondary>

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>binary package</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>패키지</primary><secondary>바이너리 패키지</secondary>

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>source package</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>패키지</primary><secondary>소스 패키지</secondary>

en: A Debian package is an archive containing all the files required to install a piece of software. It is generally a file with a <filename>.deb</filename> extension, and it can be handled with the <command>dpkg</command> command. Also called a <emphasis>binary package</emphasis>, it contains files that can be directly used (such as programs or documentation). On the other hand, a <emphasis>source package</emphasis> contains the source code for the software and the instructions required for building the binary package.
ko-KR: 데비안 패키지는 소프트웨어를 설치하기 위한 필요한 파일이 모두 담긴 보관소의 일종입니다. <filename>.deb</filename> 확장자를 가진 파일이 있으며, . <command>dpkg</command>컨맨드로 실행됩니다. 또는 <emphasis>바이너리 패키지</emphasis>라고 불리기도 합니다, 바로 사용할 수 있는 파일이 들어 있지요(예 : 실행 가능한 프로그램 또는 문서). 반면에 <emphasis>소스 패키지</emphasis>는 소프트웨어를 위한 소스코드와 바이너리 패키지 빌드를 위한 설명서가 들어있습니다.

en: We have added some notes and remarks in sidebars. They have a variety of roles: they can draw attention to a difficult point, complete a notion of the case study, define some terms, or serve as reminders. Here is a list of the most common of these sidebars:
ko-KR: 책에는 별도의 공간(사이드 바)에 언급과 주석을 달았습니다. 다양한 용도로 쓰입니다 : 어려운 내용을 표시,  사례에 대한 완전한 표기, 언어 정의, 내용 상기시키기. 다음은 책 별도의 공간에 어떻게 흔하게 쓰이는지에 대한 예시입니다:

en: BACK TO BASICS: a reminder of some information that is supposed to be known;
ko-KR: 차근 차근 배워봅시다 : 여러분이 아셔야 할 내용을 상기하는 내용;

en: VOCABULARY: defines a technical term, sometimes Debian specific;
ko-KR: 용어 : 기술적인 어휘에 대한 정의, 가끔은 데비안만의 특수 어휘;

en: COMMUNITY: highlights important persons or roles within the project;
ko-KR: 커뮤니티 : 프로젝트에서 중요한 역할을 맡았거나, 중요한 인물일 경우 하이라이트 했습니다;

en: TOOL: presents a relevant tool or service;
ko-KR: 도구 : 관련이 있는 다른 도구 또는 서비스를 소개합니다;

en: IN PRACTICE: theory and practice do not always match; these sidebars contain advice resulting from our experience. They can also give detailed and concrete examples;
ko-KR: 실무 적용 : 이론과 실무는 언제나 일치하지 않습니다; 저자가 직접했을 때의 실행 결과를 별도 공간에 써놓은 것입니다. 세부적이고 구체적인 예시도 첨부할 것입니다;

en: other more or less frequent sidebars are rather explicit: CULTURE, TIP, CAUTION, GOING FURTHER, SECURITY, and so on.
ko-KR: 다음의 별도 공간에 쓰일 정보가 더 도움이 되실 수 있습니다 : 문화, 팁, 주의, 더 나아가기, 보안, 등등.

en: Acknowledgments
ko-KR: 감사의 글

en: A Bit of History
ko-KR: 이 책이 쓰여지기까지

en: In 2003, Nat Makarévitch contacted Raphaël because he wanted to publish a book on Debian in the <foreignphrase>Cahier de l'Admin</foreignphrase> (Admin's Handbook) collection that he was managing for Eyrolles, a leading French editor of technical books. Raphaël immediately accepted to write it. The first edition came out on 14th October 2004 and was a huge success — it was sold out barely four months later.
ko-KR: 이홀(Eyrolles, 프랑스 기술관련 출판사)에서 매니저 직을 맡고 있었던 냇 마카레비치(Nat Makarévitch)는 이홀에서 시리즈로 출판중인 <foreignphrase>Cahier de l'Admin</foreignphrase> (관리자를 위한 안내서)에 데비안에 관한 책을 출판하기 위해 2003년에 라파엘에게 연락했습니다. 라파엘은 즉시 수락했고, 초판이 2004년 10월 14일에 완성되었습니다. 이 책은 엄청난 인기를 끌었고, 품절이 되기까지 4개월 밖에 걸리지 않았습니다.

en: While we were obviously satisfied with the book's success, we always hoped that Eyrolles would convince an international editor to translate it into English. We had received numerous comments explaining how the book helped people to get started with Debian, and we were keen to have the book benefit more people in the same way.
ko-KR: 저희들은 이 책이 성공적으로 출판되는것에 만족에 그치지 않고, 출판사가 프랑스어 버전만이 아닌 국제 편집자를 동원한 영어 버전 출판을 고려하길 바랬습니다. 전세계의 데비안 사용자들이 이 책을 통해 도움이 될 수 있다는 믿음으로 출판사에 지속적으로 설득했습니다.

en: Special Thanks to Contributors
ko-KR: 컨트리뷰터들에게 특별히 감사드립니다

en: We benefited from the generous help of proofreaders: Daniel Phillips, Gerold Rupprecht, Gordon Dey, Jacob Owens, and Tom Syroid. They each reviewed many chapters. Thank you very much!
ko-KR: 교정을 봐주신 분들로부터 많은 도움을 받았습니다 : Daniel Phillips, Gerold Rupprecht, Gordon Dey, Jacob Owens, and Tom Syroid. 이분들은 각자 여러 장에 대해서 검토해주셨습니다. 대단히 감사합니다!

en: We would also like to thank the readers of the French book who provided us some nice quotes to confirm that the book was really worth being translated: thank you Christian Perrier, David Bercot, Étienne Liétart, and Gilles Roussi. Stefano Zacchiroli — who was Debian Project Leader during the crowdfunding campaign — also deserves a big thank you, he kindly endorsed the project with a quote explaining that free (as in freedom) books were more than needed.
ko-KR: 이 책을 인용함으로써 가치를 알아봐주신 다음 분들에게도 감사드립니다 : Christian Perrier, David Bercot, Étienne Liétart, and Gilles Roussi. 크라우드 펀딩 당시에 데비안 프로젝트의 리더였던 Stefano Zacchiroli에게도 책의 무료화의 가치를 널리 퍼뜨려준 기여에 있어 대단히 감사드립니다.

en: If you have the pleasure to read these lines in a paperback copy of the book, then you should join us to thank Benoît Guillon, Jean-Côme Charpentier, and Sébastien Mengin who worked on the interior book design. Benoît is the upstream author of <ulink url="http://dblatex.sourceforge.net">dblatex</ulink> — the tool we used to convert DocBook into LaTeX (and then PDF). Sébastien is the designer who created this nice book layout and Jean-Côme is the LaTeX expert who implemented it as a stylesheet usable with dblatex. Thank you guys for all the hard work!
ko-KR: 만약 여러분이 이 책의 문고본을 구입할 예정이시면, 책 내부의 디자인을 맡아 해주신 Benoît Guillon, Jean-Côme Charpentier, Sébastien Mengin에게도 감사해하십쇼. Benoît은 <ulink url="http://dblatex.sourceforge.net">dblatex</ulink>의 저자이기도 합니다 - DocBook을 LaTex로 변환(그리고 나서 PDF로 변환)하는 도구. 이 힘든 작업을 해주셔서 감사합니다!

en: Finally, thank you to Thierry Stempfel for the nice pictures introducing each chapter, and thank you to Doru Patrascu for the beautiful book cover.
ko-KR: 마지막으로 각 장을 소개하는 면의 멋진 사진을 추가해주신 Thierry Stempfel과 아름다운 책의 표지를 디자인 해주신 Doru Patrascu에게도 감사드립니다.

en: Thanks to Translators
ko-KR: 번역가분들에게 감사드립니다

en: We would like to thank all the translators and translation reviewers. Your work is highly appreciated because it brings Debian into the hands of millions of persons who cannot read English.
ko-KR: 번역에 참여해주신 분들과 번역판을 감수해주신 분들에게도 감사드립니다. 여러분의 가치있는 작업은 영어를 읽지 못하는 수백만의 사람들이 데비안을 이용할 수 있도록 해주셨기 때문입니다.

en: Personal Acknowledgments from Raphaël
ko-KR: 저자의 말(Raphaël, 라파엘)

en: Last but not least, thank you to my wife, Sophie. She has been very supportive of my work on this book and on Debian in general. There have been too many days (and nights) when I left her alone with our 2 sons to make some progress on the book. I am grateful for her support and know how lucky I am to have her.
ko-KR: 마지막으로 제 아내 Sophie에게도 감사드립니다. 그녀는 제 작업에 모든 측면에 있어 적극적으로 도와줬습니다. 작업을 하면서 집에 가지 않은 날들이 많았습니다. 그녀의 도움에 매우 고마워하고 있으며, 그녀를 아내로 받아들인 것에 감사하고 있습니다.

en: Personal Acknowledgments from Roland
ko-KR: 저자의 말(Roland, 롤랜드)

en: Well, Raphaël preempted most of my “external” thank-yous already. I am still going to emphasize my personal gratitude to the good folks at Eyrolles, with whom collaboration has always been pleasant and smooth. Hopefully the results of their excellent advice hasn't been lost in translation.
ko-KR: Raphaël이 제가 할 감사의 말을 거의 다 해버렸네요 쩝. 그래도 협력을 잘 이룬 Eyrolles 팀원과 도움을 주신분들에게 또한 감사의 말씀을 드리고자합니다. 그분들의 뛰어난 조언이 번역판에서도 발휘되길 바랍니다.

en: I am extremely grateful to Raphaël for taking on the administrative part of this English edition. From organizing the funding campaign to the last details of the book layout, producing a translated book is so much more than just translating and proofreading, and Raphaël did (or delegated and supervised) it all. So thanks.
ko-KR: 영어판의 관리자 부분을 맡아주신 Raphaël(공동 저자)에게 매우 감사드립니다. 라파엘은 펀딩 캠페인 주최부터 책 내용 배치까지 모든 작업에 참여했습니다. 책의 번역본 출판(번역과 검토보다 많은 수고가 들입니다) 또한 맡아주셨습니다. 감사합니다.

en: Thanks also to all who more or less directly contributed to this book, by providing clarifications or explanations, or translating advice. They are too many to mention, but most of them can usually be found on various #debian-* IRC channels.
ko-KR: 이 책에 설명 및 예시 추가 그리고 번역 감수에 직간접적으로 기여해주신 분들에게도 감사드립니다. 언급해야할 분들이 매우 많지만, 대부분  #debian-* IRC channels에서 찾아보실 수 있습니다.

en: There is of course some overlap with the previous set of people, but specific thanks are still in order for the people who actually do Debian. There wouldn't be much of a book without them, and I am still amazed at what the Debian project as a whole produces and makes available to any and all.
ko-KR: 물론 여러번 언급된 분들도 있겠지만,  데비안을 이용해주신 분들 또한 감사드립니다. 그분들이 아니였다면 이 책이 존재하지 않았을 겁니다. 데비안 프로젝트가 아니였다면 이 모든것을 이루지 못했을 겁니다.

en: More personal thanks go to my friends and my clients, for their understanding when I was less responsive because I was working on this book, and also for their constant support, encouragement and egging on. You know who you are; thanks.
ko-KR: 제가 작업을 하면서 대응을 제 때하지 못했음에도 이해해주시고 지속적인 지원과 격려의 말씀에 감사드립니다. 읽고 있다면 누군지 아시죠?; 감사합니다.

en: And finally; I am sure they would be surprised by being mentioned here, but I would like to extend my gratitude to Terry Pratchett, Jasper Fforde, Tom Holt, William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and of course the late Douglas Adams. The countless hours I spent enjoying their books are directly responsible for my being able to take part in translating one first and writing new parts later.
ko-KR: 마지막으로 언급되어서 놀라실 수도 있지만, 다음 분들에게도 감사의 말씀을 드리고 싶습니다 : Terry Pratchett, Jasper Fforde, Tom Holt, William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, Douglas Adams. 이 분들의 책을 읽으며 보낸 수 없이 많은 시간이 제가 번역하는데에 있어 도움이 되었습니다.
