0 - en to zh-CN translation catalogue (344 entries)

en: Objective
zh-CN: 客观的

en: Means
zh-CN: 意味着

en: Operation
zh-CN: 操作

en: Volunteer
zh-CN: 志愿者

en: The Debian Project
zh-CN: Debian 项目

en: Before diving right into the technology, let us have a look at what the Debian Project is, its objectives, its means, and its operations.
zh-CN: 在深入涉及到相关技术之前，让我们看一看什么是 Debian 项目，它的目标、意义是什么以及它是如何运转的。

en: What Is Debian?
zh-CN: 什么是 Debian？

en: <primary>association</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>联系</primary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Origin of the Debian name
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> Debian 名称的起源

en: Look no further: Debian is not an acronym. This name is, in reality, a contraction of two first names: that of Ian Murdock, and his girlfriend at the time, Debra. Debra + Ian = Debian.
zh-CN: 没有什么特别的：Debian 不是一个缩写词。它的名字实际上是两个姓氏的组合：Ian Murdock，和他那时的女朋友，Debra。所以就有了 Debra + Ian = Debian。

en: Debian is a GNU/Linux distribution. We will discuss what a distribution is in further detail in <xref linkend="sect.role-of-distributions" />, but for now, we will simply state that it is a complete operating system, including software and systems for installation and management, all based on the Linux kernel and free software (especially those from the GNU project).
zh-CN: Debian 是一个 GNU/Linux 的发行版。我们稍后将会详细地讨论什么是发行版<xref linkend="sect.role-of-distributions" />。但是当前情况下，我们暂且将其简单地归纳为一个完整的操作系统，包括软件和系统的安装及管理，所有的这些都基于 Linux 内核和自由软件（尤其是来自 GNU 项目的自由软件）。

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> GNU, the project of the FSF
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> GNU，自由软件基金会（FSF）的工程

en: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary>is Not Unix</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary> 不是 Unix（is Not Unix）</secondary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Richard Stallman
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> 理查德·斯托曼

en: <primary>Stallman, Richard</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>理查德·斯托曼</primary>

en: A Multi-Platform Operating System
zh-CN: 一个多平台操作系统

en: <primary>meta-distribution</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>超发行版</primary>

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Ian Murdock's journey
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 伊恩·默多克的旅程

en: <primary>Ian Murdock</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>伊恩·默多克</primary>

en: <primary>Murdock, Ian</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>伊恩·默多克</primary>

en: Ian Murdock, founder of the Debian project, was its first leader, from 1993 to 1996. After passing the baton to Bruce Perens, Ian took a less public role. He returned to working behind the scenes of the free software community, creating the Progeny company, with the intention of marketing a distribution derived from Debian. This venture was, sadly, a commercial failure, and development was abandoned. The company, after several years of scraping by, simply as a service provider, eventually filed for bankruptcy in April of 2007. Of the various projects initiated by Progeny, only <emphasis>discover</emphasis> still remains. It is an automatic hardware detection tool.
zh-CN: 伊恩·默多克是 Debian 项目的创立者，也是该项目从1993年至1996年的第一任领导者。在把接力棒交给 Bruce Perens 之后，伊恩不经常参与公众活动。他回到了自由软件社区的背后工作，为了尝试商业发行一个 Debian 的衍生发行版建立了 Progeny 公司。遗憾的是，这次冒险尝试是一个商业失败，开发活动也被放弃了。公司在经历了几年的摸爬滚打之后，以一个服务提供商的身份最终于2007年的4月破产。在 Progeny 发起的各个项目中，只有 <emphasis>discover</emphasis> 继续存在。这是一个自动硬件检查工具。

en: Ian Murdock died on 28 December 2015 in San Francisco after a series of worrying tweets where he reported having been assaulted by police. In July 2016 it was announced that his death had been ruled a suicide.
zh-CN: Ian Murdock 于 2015 年 12 月 28 日在旧金山去世，在此前他曾发布一系列推特声称自己遭受警察的袭击。2016 年 7 月发布的通告宣布他的死因是自杀。

en: These partial views of Debian are organized in a well-defined framework, thus guaranteeing hassle-free compatibility between the various “sub-distributions”. All of them follow the general planning for release of new versions. And since they build on the same foundations, they can be easily extended, completed, and personalized with applications available in the Debian repositories.
zh-CN: 这些 Debian 的组成部分由定义清晰的框架组织而成，保证“子发行版”之间互相兼容、互不干扰。它们全部采用一致的方案发布新版本。同时它们都基于相同的基础构建而成，可以轻松地使用 Debian 仓库中的软件进行扩展、完善和个性化配置。

en: All the Debian tools operate in this direction: <command>debian-cd</command> has for a long time now allowed the creation of a set of CD-ROMs containing only a pre-selected set of packages; <command>debian-installer</command> is also a modular installer, easily adapted to special needs. <command>APT</command> will install packages from various origins, while guaranteeing the overall consistency of the system.
zh-CN: 所有 Debian 的工具都遵循这个指导方向：<command>debian-cd</command> 已经存在很长时间了，它可以用来创建一组光盘，其中仅包含一系列预先选择的软件包；<command>debian-installer</command> 也是一个模块化的安装工具，易于适应不同的需求。<command>APT</command> 可以使用不同的来源安装软件包，同时保证系统整体的一致性。

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-cd@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary> 邮件列表 </primary><secondary><email> debian-cd@lists.debian.org </email></secondary>

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> To each computer, its architecture
zh-CN: <emphasis>基本知识</emphasis> 每台电脑，都有它的架构

en: <primary>architecture</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>架构</primary>

en: <primary>processor</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>处理器</primary>

en: Most software available in Debian is written in portable programming languages: the same source code can be compiled for various architectures. In effect, an executable binary, always compiled for a specific architecture, will not usually function on any of the other architectures.
zh-CN: Debian 项目中可获取的大多数的软件都是用可移植编程语言编写的：相同的源代码可以为不同的架构编译。事实上，一个可执行的二进制文件，通常都是为特定的架构编译的，在任何其他架构的机器上几乎都无法运行。

en: Remember that each program is created by writing source code; this source code is a text file composed of instructions in a given programming language. Before you can use the software, it is necessary to compile the source code, which means transforming the code into a binary (a series of machine instructions executable by the processor). Each programming language has a specific compiler to execute this operation (for example, <command>gcc</command> for the C programming language).
zh-CN: 记住每一个程序都是通过编写源代码来的；源代码就是包含了各种所使用的编程语言的指令的文本文件。在你可以使用程序之前，源代码需要被编译，意思是需要把源代码转换成二进制文件（一系列处理器可以执行的机器指令）。每一种编程语言都有一个特定的编译器来执行这个操作（例如：<command>gcc</command> 是 C 语言的编译器）。

en: <primary>binary code</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>二进制代码</primary>

en: <primary>compilation</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>编译</primary>

en: <primary>compiler</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>编译器</primary>

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> Installer
zh-CN: <emphasis>工具</emphasis> 安装程序

en: <primary><command>debian-installer</command></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><command>Debian安装程序</command></primary>

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: <command>debian-installer</command> is the name of the Debian installation program. Its modular design allows it to be used in a broad range of installation scenarios. The development work is coordinated on the <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email> mailing list under the direction of Cyril Brulebois.
zh-CN: <command>debian-installer</command> 是 Debian 安装程序的名字。它的模块化设计令他可以应用于各种各样的安装场景。开发工作在 Cyril Brulebois 的指导下沟通协调于 <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email> 邮件列表。

en: The Quality of Free Software
zh-CN: 自由软件的质量

en: Debian follows all of the principles of Free Software, and its new versions are not released until they are ready. Developers do not work upon a set schedule and don't have to rush to meet an arbitrary deadline. People frequently complain of the long time between Debian's stable releases, but this caution ensures that Debian's legendary reliability is met: long months of testing are indeed necessary for the full distribution to receive the “stable” label.
zh-CN: Debian 遵循所有的自由软件的原则，在充分准备好之前新版本不会释出。开发者不会被时间表限定需要追赶一个随意的截止日期。人们经常抱怨 Debian 发布稳定版之间的时间间隔过长，但这样的谨慎保证了 Debian 一贯的可靠性：在赋予全发行版“稳定”标签之前长时间的测试确实是必要的。

en: Debian will not compromise on quality: all known critical bugs on key packages are resolved in any new version, even if this requires the initially forecast release date to be pushed back. Optional packages whose critical bugs are not fixed, and thus do not meet the quality requirements, are simply dropped from the stable release.
zh-CN: Debian 不会在质量问题上妥协：核心软件包中众所周知严重缺陷都会在新版本中得到解决，即使需要推迟已经公布的发布日期。可选软件包的严重缺陷如果没有被修复则无法达到质量要求，因此会直接从稳定版中移除。

en: The Legal Framework: A Non-Profit Organization
zh-CN: 法律框架：非营利组织

en: Legally speaking, Debian is a project managed by an American not-for-profit, volunteer association. The project has around a thousand <emphasis>Debian developers</emphasis>, but brings together a far greater number of contributors (translators, bug reporters, artists, casual developers, etc.).
zh-CN: 从法律上来说，Debian 是一个由美国的非营利志愿者协会管理的项目。这个项目大约有一千左右的 <emphasis>Debian 开发者</emphasis>，但是聚集了远超这个数的贡献者（翻译者，bug 报告者，艺术家，临时开发者等）。

en: To carry its mission to fruition, Debian has a large infrastructure, with many servers connected across the Internet, offered and hosted by many sponsors.
zh-CN: 为了完成使命，Debian 拥有一个巨大的基础架构，由许多赞助者提供的服务器连接在因特网上。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Behind Debian, the SPI association, and local branches
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 在 Debian 的背后有 SPI（Software in the Public Interest）与当地分支机构的帮助

en: <primary>Debian France</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>Debian 法国</primary>

en: In addition to SPI, various local associations collaborate closely with Debian in order to generate funds for Debian, without centralizing everything in the USA: they are known as “Trusted Organizations” in the Debian jargon. This setup avoids prohibitive international transfer costs, and fits well with the decentralized nature of the project.
zh-CN: 在 SPI 之外，各种地区协会与 Debian 密切协作来为 Debian 项目筹措资金，使得不必要所有事情都集中在美国；在 Debian 项目的语汇中这些协会被称作 “可信组织” 。这样的设置避免了过高的国际交流成本，同时也契合了项目本身的去中心化的理念。

en: The Foundation Documents
zh-CN: 基金会文档

en: <primary>Foundation Documents</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>基金会文档</primary>

en: A few years after its initial launch, Debian formalized the principles that it should follow as a free software project. This deliberately activist decision allows orderly and peaceful growth by ensuring that all members progress in the same direction. To become a Debian developer, any candidate must confirm and prove their support and adherence to the principles established in the project's Foundation Documents.
zh-CN: 在项目发起的几年之后，Debian 确定了需要遵循自由软件项目形式的原则。这个慎重而积极的决定使得项目有序而稳定的成长并且确保了所有的成员向同一个方向前进。要成为一个 Debian 的开发者，任何的候选人必须承诺并且证明他们能够支持并且坚守建立在项目的基础文档上的原则。

en: The Commitment towards Users
zh-CN: 对用户的承诺

en: <primary>social contract</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>社群契约</primary>

en: <primary>contract, social</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>契约，社会</primary>

en: The project also has a “social contract”. What place does such a text have in a project only intended for the development of an operating system? It is quite simple: Debian works for its users, and thus, by extension, for society. This contract summarizes the commitments that the project undertakes. Let us study them in greater detail:
zh-CN: 这个项目同样也有一份“社会契约”。这样一个文本在这个项目中只是为了一个操作系统的开发而存在的么？答案很简单：Debian 为用户工作，因此，推广来说，是为了社会工作。这份契约总结了这个项目所承担的承诺。让我们从更详细的细节中来学习它们：

en: Debian will remain 100% free.
zh-CN: Debian 将始终是 100% 的自由软件。

en: This is Rule No. 1. Debian is and will remain composed entirely and exclusively of free software. Additionally, all software development within the Debian project, itself, will be free.
zh-CN: 准则一：Debian 是并且还将继续保持完全由自由软件组成。另外，所有由 Debian 项目开发的软件与它自身都会是自由软件。

en: <emphasis>PERSPECTIVE</emphasis> Beyond software
zh-CN: <emphasis>视角</emphasis> 在软件之外

en: The first version of the Debian Social Contract said “Debian Will Remain 100% Free <emphasis>Software</emphasis>”. The disappearance of this last word (with the ratification of Version 1.1 of the contract in April of 2004) indicates the will to achieve freedom, not only in software, but also in the documentation and any other element that Debian wishes to provide within its operating system.
zh-CN: 第一版的 Debian 社会契约中说“Debian 将会始终保持 100% 的自由<emphasis>软件</emphasis>”。最后这个词的弃用（在 2004 年 4 月正式启用的 1.1 版社会契约中）指出了实现自由的愿景，不仅仅是在软件上，也同时在 Debian 期望与操作系统一起提供的文档和其它的元素中。

en: This change, which was only intended as editorial, has, in reality, had numerous consequences, especially with the removal of some problematic documentation. Furthermore, the increasing use of firmware in drivers poses problems: many are non-free, yet they are necessary for proper operation of the corresponding hardware.
zh-CN: 这个改变，仅仅是作为对编辑的影响，事实上，有数不清的影响，特别是要移除一些有问题的文档。此外，在驱动中使用固件的增长带来了问题：许多是非自由的，然而在适当操作硬件时与固件的通信又是必需的。

en: We will give back to the free software community.
zh-CN: 我们会回馈自由软件社区。

en: Any improvement contributed by the Debian project to a work integrated in the distribution is sent back to the author of the work (called “upstream”). In general, Debian will cooperate with the community rather than work in isolation.
zh-CN: 任何被整合到发行版中的由 Debian 项目贡献的改进都会被反馈到作者（称为“上游”）。通常的，Debian 会与社区合作而不是独立工作。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Upstream author, or Debian developer?
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 上游作者，或是Debian开发者？

en: <primary>upstream author</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>上游作者</primary>

en: <primary>author, upstream</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>作者，上游</primary>

en: <primary>upstream</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>上游</primary>

en: We will not hide problems.
zh-CN: 我们不隐藏问题。

en: Debian is not perfect, and, there will be new problems to fix every day. Debian will keep its entire bug report database open for public view at all times. Reports that people file on-line will promptly become visible to others.
zh-CN: Debian 不是完美的，并且，每天都会发现需要修复的新问题。Debian 将始终对公众开放完整的缺陷报告数据库。在线提交的报告也会尽快对其他人可见。

en: Our priorities are our users and free software.
zh-CN: 用户和自由软件是我们优先考虑的事。

en: This commitment is more difficult to define. Debian imposes, thus, a bias when a decision must be made, and will discard an easy solution for the developers that will jeopardize the user experience, opting for a more elegant solution, even if it is more difficult to implement. This means to take into account, as a priority, the interests of the users and free software.
zh-CN: 这个承诺更加难以定义。Debian 规定，当必须要作一个带有一定偏向的决定时，会抛弃那个对开发来说更为方便而会损害用户体验的方案，选择一个更加优雅的方案，即使它会更加的难以实现。这意味着用户与自由软件的利益将会被优先考虑。

en: Works that do not meet our free software standards.
zh-CN: 不符合我们的自由软件规范的作品。

en: Debian accepts and understands that users may want to use some non-free programs. That is why the project allows usage of parts of its infrastructure to distribute Debian packages of non-free software that can safely be redistributed.
zh-CN: Debian 接受并且理解用户可能想使用一些非自由软件程序。这就是为什么 Debian 允许使用部分基础设施分发一些可以安全分发的非自由软件的 Debian 软件包的原因。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> For or against the non-free section?
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 是支持还是反对 non-free 区块的呢？

en: The commitment to maintain a structure to accommodate non-free software (i.e. the “non-free” section, see the sidebar <xref linkend="sidebar.sections" />) is frequently a subject of debate within the Debian community.
zh-CN: 维护一个允许容纳非自由软件的体系的承诺（如“non-free”章节，请看侧边栏<xref linkend="sidebar.sections" />）总是 Debian 社区中的辩论的主题。

en: Detractors argue that it turns people away from free software equivalents, and contradicts the principle of serving only the free software cause. Supporters flatly state that most of the non-free packages are “nearly free”, and held back by only one or two annoying restrictions (the most common being the prohibition against commercial usage of the software). By distributing these works in the non-free branch, we indirectly explain to the author that their creation would be better known and more widely used if they could be included in the main section. They are, thus, politely invited to alter their license to serve this purpose.
zh-CN: 反对者指责这相当于让人们远离自由软件，同时这也与只服务于自由软件的原则相背。支持者总是声称大多数的非自由软件包都是“几乎是自由的”，仅仅是被一两条恼人的限制性条件所限制（最常见的就是禁止软件的商业使用）。通过在非自由分支中分发这些软件包，我们相当于间接的向作者解释，如果这些软件包能被包含在主分区中，便可以被更多的人所知并且使用。因此，我们是在礼貌而委婉地提出希望他们能够为了达到这样的目的而改变其许可证。

en: The continued existence of the non-free section is a source of occasional friction with the Free Software Foundation, and is the main reason it refuses to officially recommend Debian as an operating system.
zh-CN: non-free软件分区就这样一直存在，并成为了与自由软件基金会之间不时产生摩擦的导火索。这也是基金会拒绝正式推荐Debian作为自由软件操作系统的主要原因。

en: The Debian Free Software Guidelines
zh-CN: Debian 自由软件指导方针

en: <primary>free software principles</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>自由软件原则</primary>

en: <primary>free</primary><secondary>software</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>自由</primary><secondary>软件</secondary>

en: More than a selection criteria for Debian, this text has become an authority on the subject of free software, and has served as the basis for the “Open Source Definition”. Historically, it is therefore one of the first formal definitions of the concept of “free software”.
zh-CN: 这些条文不仅仅是Debian的选择标准，也成为了有关自由软件方面的权威解释，同时，它也作为“开源”的基础定义。因此，它成为了“自由软件”概念最早的正式定义之一。

en: Free redistribution.
zh-CN: 自由的再次发行。

en: The license of a Debian component may not restrict any party from selling or giving away the software as a component of an aggregate software distribution containing programs from several different sources. The license may not require a royalty or other fee for such sale.
zh-CN: Debian组件的许可协议不得限制任何一方将此软件作为含有若干不同来源的程序的一套软件集合中的一个组件用于销售或者捐赠。该许可证不得向诸如此类销售行为的销售方索取专利费或者其它费用。

en: Source code.
zh-CN: 源代码。

en: The program must include source code, and must allow distribution in source code as well as compiled form.
zh-CN: 程序必须包含源代码，并且必须允许以已编译二进制文件形式和源代码的形式分发。

en: Derived works.
zh-CN: 衍生作品。

en: The license must allow modifications and derived works, and must allow them to be distributed under the same terms as the license of the original software.
zh-CN: 许可协议必须允许代码修改和衍生作品，并且必须允许这些作品以和原软件相同的许可协议条款进行分发。

en: Integrity of the author's source code.
zh-CN: 作者源码的完整性。

en: The license may restrict source code from being distributed in modified form <emphasis>only</emphasis> if the license allows the distribution of “patch files” with the source code for the purpose of modifying the program at build time. The license must explicitly permit distribution of software built from modified source code. The license may require derived works to carry a different name or version number from the original software (<emphasis>This is a compromise. The Debian group encourages all authors not to restrict any files, source or binary, from being modified</emphasis>).
zh-CN: <emphasis>仅当</emphasis>许可协议允许：为了在构建程序时修改代码，“补丁文件”可随源代码一同分发，那么在此种情况下，许可协议可以限制分发修改过的源代码。许可协议须明确地说明准许分发由修改过的源代码构建成的软件。它可能会要求衍生作品使用与源软件不同的名字或版本号。<emphasis>这是一种妥协。Debian社团鼓励所有的作者不要限制任何文件的修改，不论是代码还是二进制文件</emphasis>。

en: No discrimination against persons or groups.
zh-CN: 不歧视个人或群体。

en: The license must not discriminate against any person or group of persons.
zh-CN: 许可协议禁止歧视任何个人或群体。

en: No discrimination against fields of endeavor.
zh-CN: 不歧视各领域的贡献者。

en: The license must not restrict anyone from making use of the program in a specific field of endeavor. For example, it may not restrict the program from being used in a business, or from being used for genetic research.
zh-CN: 许可协议不应限制任何人把程序应用于任何领域。例如，不应规定程序不能应用于商业领域或基因研究领域。

en: Distribution of license.
zh-CN: 许可协议的分发。

en: The rights attached to the program must apply to all to whom the program is redistributed without the need for execution of an additional license by those parties.
zh-CN: 程序附带的权利必须适用于程序的再分发而无需加上其他的授权。

en: License must not be specific to Debian.
zh-CN: 许可协议不应限定于 Debian。

en: The rights attached to the program must not depend on the program being part of a Debian system. If the program is extracted from Debian and used or distributed without Debian but otherwise within the terms of the program's license, all parties to whom the program is redistributed should have the same rights as those that are granted in conjunction with the Debian system.
zh-CN: 属于程序的权利，不应取决于该程序是否是 Debian 的一部分。如果某个程序是从 Debian 中提取出的，而又没有基于 Debian 进行分发或者应用于 Debian，但是根据该程序许可协议的条款，所有程序的使用者，包括程序被再分发之后的使用者，依然都享有该程序在 Debian 系统中相同的权利。

en: License must not contaminate other software.
zh-CN: 许可协议禁止损害其他软件。

en: The license must not place restrictions on other software that is distributed along with the licensed software. For example, the license must not insist that all other programs distributed on the same medium must be free software.
zh-CN: 许可证禁止限制那些和软件许可一起分发的软件。例如，许可证禁止要求在同一媒介上分发的所有其他程序都必须是自由软件。

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Copyleft
zh-CN: <emphasis>基础知识</emphasis>著佐权

en: <primary>copyleft</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>著佐权</primary>

en: <primary>copyrights</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>著作权</primary>

en: Copyleft is a principle that consists in using copyrights to guarantee the freedom of a work and its derivatives, rather than restrict the rights of uses, as is the case with proprietary software. It is, also, a play of words on the term “copyright”. Richard Stallman discovered the idea when a friend of his, fond of puns, wrote on an envelope addressed to him: “copyleft: all rights reversed”. Copyleft imposes preservation of all initial liberties upon distribution of an original or modified version of a work (usually a program). It is, thus, not possible to distribute a program as proprietary software if it is derived from code from a copyleft released program.
zh-CN: 著佐权的原则在于使用著作权来保障作品及其衍生品的自由，而不是如同专有软件的情况那样限制使用的权利。它也是对“著作权”术语的文字游戏。Richard Stallman 从他的喜欢说双关语的朋友给他写的一封信那里获得了这一灵感，信的内容是这样的：“著佐权：所有权利反转”。著佐权强制保护原始作品（通常是程序）或者修改的作品版本分发的最初的自由。如果某一程序的代码是基于著佐权发布下的程序衍生而来的，那么它就不可能作为专有程序再被分发。

en: The most well-known family of copyleft licenses is, of course, the GNU General Public License (<acronym>GPL</acronym>) and its derivatives, the GNU Lesser General Public License (<acronym>LGPL</acronym>), and the GNU Free Documentation License (<acronym>GFDL</acronym>). Sadly, the copyleft licenses are generally incompatible with each other. Consequently, it is best to use only one of them.
zh-CN: 最广为人知的著佐权许可证，当然是 GNU 通用公共许可证（<acronym>GPL</acronym>）以及它的衍生版本，GNU 宽通用公共许可证（<acronym> LGPL</acronym>）和 GNU 自由文档许可证（<acronym>GFDL</acronym>）。不幸的是，著佐权许可证通常来说不互相兼容。因此，最好只使用其中一个。

en: Example licenses
zh-CN: 示例许可协议

en: The “GPL”, “BSD”, and “Artistic” licenses are examples of licenses that we consider “free”.
zh-CN: “GNU通用公共许可证 ”, “BSD”, 和 “艺术” 许可证是一些我们认为“自由”的例子。

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Free licenses
zh-CN: <emphasis>基础知识</emphasis>自由许可协议

en: <primary>license</primary><secondary>BSD</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>许可协议</primary><secondary>BSD</secondary>

en: <primary>BSD license</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>BSD许可协议</primary>

en: <primary>license</primary><secondary>GPL</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>许可协议</primary><secondary>GNU通用公共许可协议</secondary>

en: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary>General Public License</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary>通用公共许可协议</secondary>

en: <primary>General Public License</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>通用公共许可协议</primary>

en: The GNU GPL, the BSD license, and the Artistic License all comply with the Debian Free Software Guidelines, even though they are very different.
zh-CN: GNU通用公共许可协议，BSD许可协议，以及艺术许可协议，虽然它们各不相同，但是它们都符合Debian自由软件指导方针。

en: The GNU GPL, used and promoted by the FSF (Free Software Foundation), is the most common. Its main feature is that it also applies to any derived work that is redistributed: a program incorporating or using GPL code can only be distributed according to its terms. It prohibits, thus, any reuse in a proprietary application. This poses serious problems for the reuse of GPL code in free software incompatible with this license. As such, it is sometimes impossible to link a program published under another free software license with a library distributed under the GPL. On the other hand, this license is very solid in American law: FSF lawyers have participated in the drafting thereof, and have often forced violators to reach an amicable agreement with the FSF without going to court. <ulink type="block" url="https://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html" />
zh-CN: GNU 通用公共许可协议，由自由软件基金会（FSF）使用并推广，是最为常见的许可协议。它的主要特点是，它同样适用于任何被重分发的衍生作品：一个程序，如果它以使用了由 GNU 通用公共许可协议许可的代码，那么它在分发时也必须遵从 GNU 通用公共许可协议的条款。因此，它禁止了软件在私有软件中的任何重用行为。这对想要重用 GNU 通用公共许可协议许可的代码，却使用了不兼容的许可协议的软件造成了严重问题。例如：有时候无法将一个以另一个自由软件协议分发的程序和以 GNU 通用公共软件许可协议分发的库进行链接。另一方面，这一许可协议在美国法律中相当稳靠：自由软件基金会的律师们参与起草了该许可协议，也时常迫使违规者与自由软件基金会签订和解协议以避免法庭诉讼。<ulink type="block" url="https://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html" />

en: The BSD license is the least restrictive: everything is permitted, including use of modified BSD code in a proprietary application. <ulink type="block" url="https://www.opensource.org/licenses/bsd-license.php" />
zh-CN: BSD许可协议是最为宽松的：任何操作都被允许，包括将修改后的由BSD许可协议许可的代码使用在私有软件中。<ulink type="block" url="https://www.opensource.org/licenses/bsd-license.php" />

en: Finally, the Artistic License reaches a compromise between these two others: integration of code in a proprietary application is permitted, but any modification must be published. <ulink type="block" url="https://www.opensource.org/licenses/artistic-license-2.0.php" />
zh-CN: 最后，艺术许可协议则在这两种协议间达成了某种妥协：允许在私有软件中使用未经修改的代码，但是任何修改的部分则必须公开。<ulink type="block" url="https://www.opensource.org/licenses/artistic-license-2.0.php" />

en: The complete text of these licenses is available in <filename>/usr/share/common-licenses/</filename> on any Debian system (in case of BSD the newer 3-Clause License).
zh-CN: 这些许可协议的完整文本可以在任一 Debian 系统（对于 BSD 只有新的三句版协议）的<filename>/usr/share/common-licenses/</filename>中找到。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Bruce Perens, a controversial leader
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> Bruce Perens，一位有争议的领导者

en: <primary>Bruce Perens</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>布鲁斯·佩伦斯</primary>

en: <primary>Perens, Bruce</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>布鲁斯，佩伦斯</primary>

en: <primary>Open Source</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>开源</primary>

en: Bruce Perens was the second leader of the Debian project, just after Ian Murdock. He was very controversial in his dynamic and authoritarian methods. He, nevertheless, remains an important contributor to Debian, to whom Debian is especially indebted for the editing of the famous “Debian Free Software Guidelines” (DFSG), an original idea of Ean Schuessler. Subsequently, Bruce would derive from it the famous “Open Source Definition”, removing all references to Debian from it. <ulink type="block" url="https://opensource.org/" />
zh-CN: Bruce Perens 是继 Ian Murdock 之后的 Debian 项目的第二位领导者。他的多样化和独裁化管理方式饱受争议。尽管如此，他依然是 Debian 项目的重要贡献者。特别是他编写的著名的 “Debian 自由软件指导方针” (该方针源自于 Ean Shuessler 的想法) 对于 Debian 项目帮助很大。随后，Bruce 又据此编写了著名的“开源定义”，并且移除了所有的 Debian 引用。<ulink type="block" url="https://opensource.org/" />

en: His departure from the project was quite emotional, but Bruce has remained strongly attached to Debian, since he continues to promote this distribution in political and economic spheres. He still sporadically appears on the e-mail lists to give his advice and present his latest initiatives in favor of Debian.
zh-CN: 当他离开项目时，是挺让人伤心的。然而 Bruce 依然和 Debian 保持着紧密的联系，因为他继续在政治界和金融界推广此发行版。他偶尔也出现在电子邮件列表中，表达他对 Debian 的建议以及其支持 Debian 的新举措。

en: <primary>codename</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>代号</primary>

en: <primary>name</primary><secondary>codename</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>名称</primary><secondary>代号</secondary>

en: <primary>Toy Story</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>玩具总动员</primary>

en: <primary>Pixar</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>皮克斯动画</primary>

en: The Inner Workings of the Debian Project
zh-CN: Debian 项目的内部工作

en: <primary>operations, internal</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>运作，内部</primary>

en: <primary>organization, internal</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>组织，内部</primary>

en: The abundant end results produced by the Debian project derive simultaneously from the work on the infrastructure performed by experienced Debian developers, from the individual or collective work of developers on Debian packages, and from user feedback.
zh-CN: 从有经验的 Debian 开发者、Debian 软件包里的个别或集体作品、以及用户的回馈，Debian 计划产出丰富的结果。

en: The Debian Developers
zh-CN: Debian 开发者

en: <primary>developers</primary><secondary>Debian developers</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>开发者</primary><secondary>Debian 开发者</secondary>

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> Developer's database
zh-CN: <emphasis>工具</emphasis>开发者的数据库

en: <primary>database</primary><secondary>developer's database</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>数据库</primary><secondary>开发者的数据库</secondary>

en: Debian has a database including all developers registered with the project, and their relevant information (address, telephone, geographical coordinates such as longitude and latitude, etc.). Some of the information (first and last name, country, username within the project, IRC username, GnuPG key, etc.) is public and available on the Web. <ulink type="block" url="https://db.debian.org/" />
zh-CN: Debian 维护一个记录所有登记在案的开发者的数据库，数据库中也存储了他们的相关信息（如地址、电话和经纬度等地理信息）。其中部分数据（姓名、国家、计划内使用的用户名、IRC 名称、GnuPG 公钥等）公开在网页上可查。<ulink type="block" url="https://db.debian.org/" />

en: The geographical coordinates allow the creation of a map locating all of the developers around the globe. Debian is truly an international project: its developers can be found on all continents, although the majority are in “Western countries”.
zh-CN: 地理信息用于创建开发者在全球的分布地图。Debian 是真正的国际计划：虽然主要在 '西方国家'，其开发者确实遍布各大洲。

en: World-wide distribution of Debian developers
zh-CN: Debian 开发者遍布全球

en: <primary>world-wide distribution</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>遍布全球</primary>

en: Package maintenance is a relatively regimented activity, very documented or even regulated. It must, in effect, comply with all the standards established by the <emphasis>Debian Policy</emphasis>. Fortunately, there are many tools that facilitate the maintainer's work. The developer can, thus, focus on the specifics of their package and on more complex tasks, such as squashing bugs. <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/doc/debian-policy/" />
zh-CN: 软件包维护是相当团队性的活动、极需要记录与规范。实际上，必须与 <emphasis>Debian 政策</emphasis> 的标准相符。幸运的，很多任务具可以协助维护者的工作。因此，开发者可以集中心力在其软件包及其他复杂的工作，诸如调试。<ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/doc/debian-policy/" />

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Package maintenance, the developer's work
zh-CN: <emphasis>基础知识</emphasis> 包的维护，开发者的工作

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>maintenance</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>软件包</primary><secondary>维护</secondary>

en: <primary>policy</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>政策</primary>

en: The Policy, an essential element of the Debian Project, establishes the norms ensuring both the quality of the packages and perfect interoperability of the distribution. Thanks to this Policy, Debian remains consistent despite its gigantic size. This Policy is not fixed in stone, but continuously evolves thanks to proposals formulated on the <email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email> mailing list. Amendments that are agreed upon by all interested parties are accepted and applied to the text by a small group of maintainers who have no editorial responsibility (they only include the modifications agreed upon by the Debian developers that are members of the above-mentioned list). You can read current amendment proposals on the bug tracking system: <ulink type="block" url="https://bugs.debian.org/debian-policy" />
zh-CN: 政策，是 Debian 项目中重要的元素，它是保障该发行版软件包品质与完美互通性的纲常。正因为有政策的约束，Debian 才能在愈来愈庞大的同时依然保持一致。然而，政策并非铭刻在石不能更改，要随着 <email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email> 邮件列表中型塑出的提案不断演进。修订案在所有关注的各方有所共识后，才会被一小群没有编辑责任的维护者编写 (他们只接纳前述邮件列表内众 Debian 开发者接受的修改提案)。目前臭虫追踪系统内的修订提案在此：<ulink type="block" url="https://bugs.debian.org/debian-policy" />

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Policy editorial process
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 政策的编辑流程

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: <emphasis>DEBIAN POLICY</emphasis> The documentation
zh-CN: <emphasis>DEBIAN 政策</emphasis> 文档

en: <primary>documentation</primary><secondary>location</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>文档</primary><secondary>位置</secondary>

en: <primary>location of the documentation</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>文档位置</primary>

en: <primary>constitution</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>宪章</primary>

en: <primary>leader</primary><secondary>role</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>领导人</primary><secondary>角色</secondary>

en: <primary>leader</primary><secondary>election</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>领导人</primary><secondary>选举</secondary>

en: Specifically, the leader has real authority; their vote resolves tie votes; they can make any decision which is not already under the authority of someone else and can delegate part of their responsibilities.
zh-CN: 特别地，领导人拥有真正的特权；他们的投票可以解决票数相等的问题；他们可以对某个尚未归属于任何人管辖名下的事件作出决定，同时可以将他们自己的一部分职责委托他人代为执行。

en: <primary>Jackson, Ian</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>伊恩·杰克逊（Jackson, Ian）</primary>

en: <primary>Akkerman, Wichert</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>阿克曼·维歇特（Akkerman, Wichert）</primary>

en: <primary>Collins, Ben</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>柯林斯，本（Collins, Ben）</primary>

en: <primary>Robinson, Branden</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>Robinson, Branden (布兰登·罗宾逊) </primary>

en: <primary>Hocevar, Sam</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>Hocevar, Sam（萨姆·霍瑟瓦尔） </primary>

en: <primary>McIntyre, Steve</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>McIntyre, Steve（斯蒂夫·麦金太尔）</primary>

en: The constitution also defines a “technical committee”. This committee's essential role is to decide on technical matters when the developers involved have not reached an agreement between themselves. Otherwise, this committee plays an advisory role for any developer who fails to make a decision for which they are responsible. It is important to note that they only get involved when invited to do so by one of the parties in question.
zh-CN: 宪章同样也定义了一个“技术委员会（technical committee）”。技术委员会的核心角色是对于那些在开发者之间尚未达成一致意见的技术事宜进行决策。除此以外，委员会则作为顾问角色，为任何无法为他们所负责的事宜作出决定的开发者提供帮助。值得一提的是，只有在相关问题方给委员会发送邀请时，委员会才会介入。

en: <primary>the project secretary</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>项目秘书</primary>

en: Finally, the constitution defines the position of “project secretary”, who is in charge of the organization of votes related to the various elections and general resolutions.
zh-CN: 最后，宪章定义了一个“项目秘书”的职位，这一角色负责组织各种选举和决议的投票。

en: <primary>general resolution</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>通用解决方案</primary>

en: <primary>vote</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>投票</primary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Flamewar, the discussion that catches fire
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis>网络舌战，引爆侮辱性攻击的讨论

en: <primary>flamewar</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>网络舌战</primary>

en: <primary>heated debate</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>白热化争论</primary>

en: A “flamewar” is an exceedingly impassioned debate, which frequently ends up with people attacking each other once all reasonable argumentation has been exhausted on both sides. Certain themes are more frequently subject to polemics than others (the choice of text editor, “do you prefer <command>vi</command> or <command>emacs</command>?”, is an old favorite). The matters often provoke very rapid e-mail exchanges due to the sheer number of people with an opinion on the matter (everyone) and the very personal nature of such questions.
zh-CN: '发火' 是极度不理性的争辩，双方都穷尽理论的辩论后转向人身攻击。部分议题较为论战式 (选择文本编辑器，'喜欢 <command>vi</command> 或 <command>emacs</command>？'，永远没有结论)。由于单方面 (每个人) 快速地交换电子邮件形成优势且极度地个人化此等议题。

en: Nothing particularly useful generally comes from such discussions; the general recommendation is to stay out of such debates, and maybe rapidly skim through their content, since reading them in full would be too time-consuming.
zh-CN: 这种讨论没什么特别；通常要远离这种争论，或者快速地略过其内容，因为阅读它们太费时了。

en: This is the only way to earn one's stripes: do something useful and show that one has worked well. Many Debian “administrative” teams operate by co-optation, preferring volunteers who have already effectively contributed and proved their competence. The public nature of the work of those teams makes it possible for new contributors to observe and start helping without any special privilege. This is why Debian is often described as a “meritocracy”.
zh-CN: 这就是升级的唯一方法：做有用的事且显示把事情做好。Debian '管理' 团体以增选方式管理，采用已有效奉献且证明其能力的志愿者。新的奉献者看到这些团队做了具有公共利益性质的工作就会主动加入协助。这就是 Debian 常被称为 '任人唯贤'。

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Meritocracy, the reign of knowledge
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> 任人唯贤，统治知识

en: <primary>meritocracy</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>任人唯贤</primary>

en: This effective operational method guarantees the quality of contributors in the “key” Debian teams. This method is by no means perfect and occasionally there are those who do not accept this way of operating. The selection of developers accepted in the teams may appear a bit arbitrary, or even unfair. Furthermore, not everybody has the same definition of the service expected from these teams. For some, it is unacceptable to have to wait eight days for inclusion of a new Debian package, while others will wait patiently for three weeks without a problem. As such, there are regular complaints from the disgruntled about the “quality of service” from some teams.
zh-CN: 这种有效的管理方法保证在 Debian '关键' 团队奉献者的品质。不见得是完美的且偶而凸搥。选择被团队接受的开发者是随兴的，甚至不公平的。而且，不是每个人对这些团队服务的期望是一样的。有些人受不了等8天才能收录新的 Debian 软件包，也有人耐心等待3周毫无怨言。所以，有些团队对 '服务品质' 经常不满。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Integration of new maintainers
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 新维护者的整合

en: <primary>maintainer</primary><secondary>new maintainer</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>维护者</primary><secondary>新维护者</secondary>

en: The team in charge of admitting new developers is the most regularly criticized. One must acknowledge that, throughout the years, the Debian project has become more and more demanding of the developers that it will accept. Some people may see some injustice in that, but we must confess that what were only little challenges at the beginning have become much greater in a community of over 1,000 people, when it comes to ensuring the quality and integrity of everything that Debian produces for its users.
zh-CN: 负责批准新开发者加入事项的团队是最经常受到批评的。人们需要承认的是，经过多年的发展，Debian 项目开始变得越来越因为需求而去接纳一些程序员。一些人可能会在其中看见一些不公正的情况，但我们必须要承认的是，当一个超过 1000 人的社区需要去保证它所提供给用户的所有东西的质量与完整性时，这会比它在刚刚起步的时候要有挑战的多。

en: Furthermore, the acceptance procedure is concluded by review of the candidacy by a small team, the Debian Account Managers. These managers are, thus, particularly exposed to criticism, since they have final say in the inclusion or rejection of a volunteer within the Debian developers community. In practice, sometimes they must delay the acceptance of a person until they have learned more about the operations of the project. One can, of course, contribute to Debian before being accepted as an official developer, by being sponsored by current developers.
zh-CN: 此外，由 Debian 客户经理这样一小群团队审核接受的进程 。特别容易被批评，因为在 Debian 开发者社区里说接受或拒绝的就是他们。实务上，必须多花点时间了解才能接受。当然，我们可以在被接受为正式的开发者前，先支持既有的开发者，做出实质的奉献。

en: The Active Role of Users
zh-CN: 用户的积极角色

en: One might wonder if it is relevant to mention the users among those who work within the Debian project, but the answer is a definite yes: they play a critical role in the project. Far from being “passive”, some users run development versions of Debian and regularly file bug reports to indicate problems. Others go even further and submit ideas for improvements, by filing a bug report with a severity level of “wishlist”, or even submit corrections to the source code, called “patches” (see <xref linkend="sect.patch" />).
zh-CN: 有的人可能会感到奇怪，不明白为什么要在讨论 Debian 计划内工作的成员时加入用户。答案是确定的：用户在整个计划中扮演了关键的角色。其中不只有“被动”的角色，更有部分用户会日常使用 Debian 的开发版本并定期提交错误报告以指出软件的缺陷和问题。还有一部分用户会更进一步提出改进的意见，以“愿望清单（wishlist）”等级的错误报告阐述自己的观点，甚至提交对源代码的修改提议，或称为“补丁”（参见 <xref linkend="sect.patch" />)。

en: Reporting bugs
zh-CN: 反馈缺陷

en: <primary>system</primary><secondary>Bug Tracking System</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>系统</primary><secondary>缺陷跟踪系统</secondary>

en: <primary>Bug Tracking System</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>缺陷跟踪系统</primary>

en: The fundamental tool for submitting bugs in Debian is the Debian Bug Tracking System (Debian BTS), which is used by large parts of the project. The public part (the web interface) allows users to view all bugs reported, with the option to display a sorted list of bugs selected according to various criteria, such as: affected package, severity, status, address of the reporter, address of the maintainer in charge of it, tag, etc. It is also possible to browse the complete historical listing of all discussions regarding each of the bugs.
zh-CN: Debian 中提交缺陷报告的最基础工具是 Debian 缺陷跟踪系统（Debian BTS）。它在项目的许多地方都有应用。其公开部分（网页界面）可以让用户查看所报告的问题，并提供选项以根据不同的筛选条件给出一个列表。这些条件包括：受影响的软件包、问题严重性、状态、报告者的电子邮件地址、负责维护软件包人员的电子邮件地址、标签，等等。用户也可以在线浏览与这些问题相关的所有讨论的历史记录。

en: Below the surface, the Debian BTS is e-mail based: all information that it stores comes from messages sent by the various persons involved. Any e-mail sent to <email>12345@bugs.debian.org</email> will, thus, be assigned to the history for bug number 12345. Authorized persons may “close” a bug by writing a message describing the reasons for the decision to close to <email>12345-done@bugs.debian.org</email> (a bug is closed when the indicated problem is resolved or no longer relevant). A new bug is reported by sending an e-mail to <email>submit@bugs.debian.org</email> according to a specific format which identifies the package in question. The address <email>control@bugs.debian.org</email> allows editing of all the “meta-information” related to a bug.
zh-CN: 表层下的 Debian BTS 系统以电子邮件为基础：保存参与者寄发的电子邮件做为信息。发送给<email>12345@bugs.debian.org</email> 的电子邮件，将被指定为编号 12345 的错误。有权限的人可以叙明理由寄发另个电子邮件 <email>12345-done@bugs.debian.org</email> '关闭' (表示该错误已解决或无关紧要) 该错误。新的错误应以指定的格式辨识有问题的软件包再发送电子邮件给 <email>submit@bugs.debian.org</email>。这个邮箱 <email>control@bugs.debian.org</email> 用于编辑与该错误有关的所有“元信息”。

en: The Debian BTS has other functional features, as well, such as the use of tags for labeling bugs. For more information, see <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/Bugs/" />
zh-CN: Debian BTS 还有其他功能特性，如使用标签标记不同的缺陷报告。如需了解更多信息，请参阅 <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/Bugs/" />

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Severity of a bug
zh-CN: <emphasis>词汇表</emphasis> 错误的严重度

en: <primary>severity</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>严重性</primary>

en: <primary>bug</primary><secondary>severity</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>错误</primary><secondary>严重度</secondary>

en: The severity of a bug formally assigns a degree of gravity to the reported problem. Effectively, not all bugs have the same importance; for instance, a typo in a manual page is not comparable to a security vulnerability in server software.
zh-CN: 报告问题时指定该错误的严重性。不是每个错误都具有相同的重要性；例如，手册内容的打字错误不能与服务器软件的安全漏洞相提并论。

en: Debian uses an extended scale to describe the severity of a bug. Each level is defined precisely in order to facilitate the selection thereof. <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/Bugs/Developer#severities" />
zh-CN: Debian 为描述缺陷和错误的严重性提供了相当广泛的尺度。每个级别都有精准的定义以协助后续的解决选择。<ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/Bugs/Developer#severities" />

en: This tool first targets the development versions, which is where the bugs will be fixed. Effectively, changes are not welcome in a stable version of Debian, with very few exceptions for security updates or other important updates (if, for example, a package is not working at all). A correction of a minor bug in a Debian package must, thus, wait for the next stable version.
zh-CN: 此工具最初针对 Debian 的开发版本设计，缺陷的修复也在开发版本上进行。自然地，Debian 的稳定发行版本则尽量不做改动；在此基础上存在一小部分例外，如安全更新或其它重要更新（例如，如果某个软件包突然完全无法工作）。因此，对 Debian 软件包中小问题的修复常常需要在下一个稳定发行版本中才能体现出来。

en: Translation and documentation
zh-CN: 翻译和文档

en: <primary>documentation</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>文档</primary>

en: <primary>translation</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>翻译</primary>

en: Additionally, numerous satisfied users of the service offered by Debian like to make a contribution of their own to the project. As not everyone has appropriate levels of expertise in programming, they may choose to assist with the translation and review of documentation. There are language-specific mailing lists to coordinate this work. <ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/i18n.html" /> <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/international/" />
zh-CN: 此外，很多对 Debian 满意的用户会为这个计划做出自己的贡献。因为不同贡献者的编程水平不尽相同，有些人会选择参与翻译与审核文档。不同语言有各自专门的邮件列表，用来协调相应的工作。<ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/i18n.html" /> <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/international/" />

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> What are i18n and l10n?
zh-CN: <emphasis>基础知识</emphasis> 什么是 i18n 与 l10n？

en: <primary>internationalization</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>国际化</primary>

en: <primary>localization</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>本地化</primary>

en: “i18n” and “l10n” are the abbreviations for the words “internationalization” and “localization”, respectively, preserving the initial and last letter of each word, and the number of letters in the middle.
zh-CN: 'i18n' 与 'l10n' 是国际化英文本 'internationalization' 与本地化英文本 'localization' 的缩写，保留第一个与最后一个字母，再加入省略字母的字数。

en: To “internationalize” a program consists of modifying it so that it can be translated (localized). This involves partially rewriting a program initially written to work in one language in order to be able to open it to all languages.
zh-CN: '国际化' 一个程序包括修改至可以翻译 (本地化) 的程度。涉及重写程序以便公开给所有的语系使用。

en: To “localize” a program consists of translating the original messages (frequently in English) to another language. For this, it must have already been internationalized.
zh-CN: '本地化' 一个程序包括翻译原语言 (通常是英文) 为另一种语言。因此，必须先国际化。

en: In summary, internationalization prepares the software for translation, which is then executed by localization.
zh-CN: 总之，国际化系把软件整备至可翻译的程度，然后再运行本地化。

en: Sending fixes
zh-CN: 发送修复和补丁

en: <primary><command>patch</command></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><command>补丁</command></primary>

en: <primary>patch</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>补丁</primary>

en: More advanced users might be able to provide a fix to a program by sending a patch.
zh-CN: 更多的进阶用户还可能通过发送补丁的方式来提供对程序问题的修复方法。

en: A patch is a file describing changes to be made to one or more reference files. Specifically, it will contain a list of lines to be removed or added to the code, as well as (sometimes) lines taken from the reference text, replacing the modifications in context (they allow identification of the placement of the changes if the line numbers have changed).
zh-CN: 补丁是描述文件修改的文件。准确来说，包括移除或添加的代码清单，以及 (有时) 从参考文档取得的内容，用以取代修改的内文 (可以辨识取代的内容)。

en: The tool used for applying the modifications given in such a file is simply called <command>patch</command>. The tool that creates it is called <command>diff</command>, and is used as follows:
zh-CN: 修改文件的工具名为 <command>patch</command>。创建补丁的工具名为 <command>diff</command>，用法如下：

en: The <filename>file.patch</filename> file contains the instructions for changing the content of <filename>file.old</filename> into <filename>file.new</filename>. We can send it to someone, who can then use it to recreate <filename>file.new</filename> from the two others, like this:
zh-CN: <filename>file.patch</filename> 文件包括变更 <filename>file.old</filename> 为 <filename>file.new</filename> 的指令。可以发送给其他人，用于从另外两个文件重新创建 <filename>file.new</filename>，如：

en: The file, <filename>file.old</filename>, is now identical to <filename>file.new</filename>.
zh-CN: 现在，文件 <filename>file.old</filename> 内容等同于 <filename>file.new</filename>。

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Git
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> Git

en: <primary>configuration management</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>配置管理</primary>

en: Git is a tool for collaborative work on multiple files, while maintaining a history of modifications. The files in question are generally text files, such as a program's source code. If several people work together on the same file, <command>git</command> can only merge the alterations made if they were made to different portions of the file. Otherwise, these “conflicts” must be resolved by hand.
zh-CN: Git 是在多个文件合作运作的工具，维护修订的记录。有问题的文件多半是纯文本档，程序的源代码。由多人共同处理一个文件时，<command>git</command> 可以把不同部分的文件合而为一。否则，其中的 '冲突' 必须以人工处理。

en: Git makes it easy to handle multiple concurrent versions of a project in development without them interfering with each other. These versions are called <emphasis>branches</emphasis>. This metaphor of a tree is fairly accurate, since a program is initially developed on a common trunk. When a milestone has been reached (such as version 1.0), development continues on two branches: the development branch prepares the next major release, and the maintenance branch manages updates and fixes for version 1.0.
zh-CN: Git 可处理发展中的多个版本而不互相干扰。这些版本称为 <emphasis>branches</emphasis>。以树木的分枝形容相当精确，因为程序本来就是从一个主干开始。有了成果 (诸如 1.0) 后，就有两个分枝：发展枝为下个版本做准备、维护枝管理 1.0 的更新与修订。

en: While the output of <command>git diff</command> is a file that can be shared with other developers, there are usually better ways to submit changes. If the developers prefer to get patches by email, they usually want patches generated with <command>git format-patch</command> so that they can be directly integrated in the repository with <command>git am</command>. This preserves commits meta-information and makes it possible to share multiple commits at once.
zh-CN: 虽然<command>git diff</command>命令的输出文件也可以直接分享给其他开发者，但通常还有更好的办法提交更改。如果开发者偏向于通过邮件获取补丁，他们通常希望获得<command>git format-patch</command>生成的补丁，这样他们就能直接用<command>git am</command>命令将更改整合到仓库中。这种做法保留了提交的元数据，也让同时分享多个提交成为可能。

en: This email-based workflow is still popular but it tends to be replaced by the usage of <emphasis>merge requests</emphasis> (or <emphasis>pull requests</emphasis>) whenever the software is hosted in a platform like GitHub or GitLab — and Debian is using GitLab on its <literal>salsa.debian.org</literal> server. On those systems, once you have created an account, you <emphasis>fork</emphasis> the repository, effectively creating a copy of the repository in your own account, and you can then clone that repository and push your own changes in it. From there, the web interface will suggest you to submit a merge request, notifying the developers of your changes, making it easy for them to review and accept your changes with a single click.
zh-CN: 基于邮件的工作流程仍然很流行，但它的使用正在逐渐被<emphasis>merge requests</emphasis>（或<emphasis>pull requests</emphasis>，只要软件是由 GitHub 或 GitLab 类似的平台托管——Debian 使用 GitLab 服务器<literal>alsa.debian.org</literal>）所取代。在这些平台上，一旦你创建一个账户，<emphasis>folk</emphasis>一个仓库，你就马上在自己的账户里获得了该仓库的一份拷贝，然后你就可以下载仓库并把更改提交到仓库了。这时候，网页界面会建议你提交一个合并请求，让开发者知道你的更改，让他们可以方便地检查更改并可以通过点击一下就接受你的更改。

en: Other ways of contributing
zh-CN: 其他贡献的方式

en: All of these contribution mechanisms are made more efficient by users' behavior. Far from being a collection of isolated persons, users are a true community within which numerous exchanges take place. We especially note the impressive activity on the user discussion mailing list, <email>debian-user@lists.debian.org</email> (<xref linkend="solving-problems" /> discusses this in greater detail). <ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/users.html" />
zh-CN: 正是随着用户的不断参与，这些贡献途径才能越来越有效。用户并不仅仅是孤立的个体所组成的一个集合，用户们实际上是一个真正的社区，伴随着个体之间持续的信息交换。我们尤其注意到我们的用户邮件列表，<email>debian-user@lists.debian.org</email>，有十分活跃的交流活动。（<xref linkend="solving-problems" /> 一节对此有详细描述。）<ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/users.html" />

en: Not only do users help themselves (and others) on technical issues that directly affect them, but they also discuss the best ways to contribute to the Debian project and help it move forward — discussions that frequently result in suggestions for improvements.
zh-CN: 用户们不仅会在直接影响他们的技术问题上自助（并帮助他人），也会讨论向 Debian 计划做出贡献以及使得计划继续前行的好方法——这些讨论经常能得出有用的改进建议。

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> how-can-i-help
zh-CN: <emphasis>工具</emphasis> how-can-i-help

en: <primary>orphaned packages</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>无人维护的（orphaned）软件包</primary>

en: Since Debian does not expend funds on any self-promoting marketing campaigns, its users play an essential role in its diffusion, ensuring its fame via word-of-mouth.
zh-CN: Debian 不仅持续自我推广，其用户在扩散方面也居功甚伟，口耳相传其名声。

en: This method works quite well, since Debian fans are found at all levels of the free software community: from install parties (workshops where seasoned users assist newcomers to install the system) organized by local <acronym>LUG</acronym>s or “Linux User Groups”, to association booths at large tech conventions dealing with Linux, etc.
zh-CN: 这些方法运作得不错，在自由软件社区的各个层面上都有 Debian 粉丝：从本地 Linux 用户社区（<acronym>LUG</acronym>s，即为“Linux 用户组”）组织的安装会（协助新手安装系统的工作坊）到大型技术会议中与 Linux 相关的展台，等等。

en: Volunteers make posters, brochures, stickers, and other useful promotional materials for the project, which they make available to everyone, and which Debian provides freely on its website and on its wiki: <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/events/material" />
zh-CN: 志愿者们制作海报、小册子、贴纸及其他的推广文宣，供社会大众取用；部分内容在 Debian 网站可自由取用：<ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/events/material" />

en: <primary>derivative distribution</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>衍生发行版</primary>

en: The development process for a derivative distribution consists in starting with a particular version of Debian and making a number of modifications to it. The infrastructure used for this work is completely external to the Debian project. There isn't necessarily a policy for contributing improvements. This difference explains how a derivative distribution may “diverge” from its origins, and why they have to regularly resynchronize with their source in order to benefit from improvements made upstream.
zh-CN: 所谓衍生发行版的开发进程，系根据某一特定版本的 Debian 做为起点，接着进行各种改造而成。其成品作成之基础建设完全在 Debian 项目之外。衍生版也不必有回馈自身改善的政策。这就是为何衍生发行版会「偏离」原版，并且必须定期与原版同步以便获取上游来的改善成果。

en: The most known distribution derived from Debian is, without a doubt, Ubuntu, but there are many. See <xref linkend="derivative-distributions" /> to learn about their particularities and their positioning in relationship to Debian.
zh-CN: Debian 的众多衍生发行版中，无庸置疑，最知名的当是 Ubuntu。请见 <xref linkend="derivative-distributions" /> 了解其特点，及其与 Debian 间的地位关系。

en: Debian Med, by Andreas Tille, dedicated to the medical field;
zh-CN: Debian Med，由 Andreas Tille 制作，专供医护领域使用;

en: DebiChem, targeted at Chemistry, provides chemical suites and programs.
zh-CN: DebiChem，目标是化学领域，提供了化学工具套装和程序。

en: Administrative Teams
zh-CN: 管理团队

en: Most administrative teams are relatively closed and recruit only by co-optation. The best means to become a part of one is to intelligently assist the current members, demonstrating that you have understood their objectives and methods of operation.
zh-CN: 大部分的管理团队以相对封闭的增选方式招募成员。最好的加入方法是先协助现有成员开展工作，展示出您了解该团体的目标与运作方式。

en: The <emphasis>ftpmasters</emphasis> are in charge of the official archive of Debian packages. They maintain the program that receives packages sent by developers and automatically stores them, after some checks, on the reference server (<literal>ftp-master.debian.org</literal>).
zh-CN: <emphasis>ftpmaster</emphasis> 管理员负责管理 Debian 软件包的官方仓库。他们维护用于接收开发者传来的软件包的程序；经过一些检查后，软件包将被保存在目标服务器上 (<literal>ftp-master.debian.org</literal>)。

en: They must also verify the licenses of all new packages, in order to ensure that Debian may distribute them, prior to including them in the corpus of existing packages. When a developer wishes to remove a package, they address this team through the bug tracking system and the <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> “pseudo-package”.
zh-CN: 他们也检查添加软件包的授权条款，确保在纳入它们之前，Debian 有权散布它们。被要求移除的软件包，由开发者经由错误追踪系统与 <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> '虚拟软件包' 向团队提出。

en: <primary>ftpmaster</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>ftpmaster（FTP 管理员）</primary>

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> The pseudo-package, a monitoring tool
zh-CN: <emphasis>术语</emphasis> 伪软件包，监测工具

en: <primary>pseudo-package</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>伪软件包</primary>

en: The bug tracking system, initially designed to associate bug reports with a Debian package, has proved very practical to manage other matters: lists of problems to be resolved or tasks to manage without any link to a particular Debian package. The “pseudo-packages” allow, thus, certain teams to use the bug tracking system without associating a real package with their team. Everyone can, thus, report issues that needs to be dealt with. For instance, the BTS has a <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> entry that is used to report and track problems on the official package archive or simply to request removal of a package. Likewise, the <emphasis>www.debian.org</emphasis> pseudo-package refers to errors on the Debian website, and <emphasis>lists.debian.org</emphasis> gathers all the problems concerning the mailing lists.
zh-CN: 错误追踪系统，原先系处理 Debian 软件包错误而设计，后来发现在其他事物上也很实用：列出 Debian 软件包内外的待处理问题或待管理工作。'虚拟软件包' 允许指定团队在未链接实际软件包的环境下使用错误追踪系统。每个人都可以报告错误。例如，BTS 有个 <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> 条目用于报告与追踪官方软件包的错误或要求移除软件包。同样的，<emphasis>www.debian.org</emphasis> 虚拟软件包则指向 Debian 网页的错误，且 <emphasis>lists.debian.org</emphasis> 汇集与邮件列表有关的问题。

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> GitLab, Git repository hosting and much more
zh-CN: <emphasis>工具</emphasis> GitLab、Git 仓库托管和相关事项

en: A GitLab instance, known as <literal>salsa.debian.org</literal>, is used by Debian to host the Git packaging repositories; but this software offers much more than simple hosting and Debian contributors have been quick to leverage the continuous integration features (running tests, or even building packages, on each push). Debian contributors also benefit from a cleaner contribution workflow thanks the well understood merge request process (similar to GitHub's pull requests).
zh-CN: 一个名为 <literal>salsa.debian.org</literal>的 Gitlab 实例是 Debian 用以托管 Git 软件包仓库的平台，但该平台提供远超托管以外其他服务。Debian 贡献者们很快就开始使用持续集成功能（运行测试，甚至在每次提交更改后构建软件包）。受益于合并请求的过程（类似于 Github 的拉取请求）已被广泛了解，Debian 贡献者也有了更清晰的贡献流程。

en: GitLab replaced FusionForge (which was running on a service known as <literal>alioth.debian.org</literal>) for collaborative package maintenance. This service is administered by Alexander Wirt, Bastian Blank and Jörg Jaspert. <ulink type="block" url="https://salsa.debian.org/" /> <ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/Salsa/Doc" />
zh-CN: GitLab 取代了 FusionForge（运行在一个名为<literal>alioth.debian.org</literal>的服务器上）成为软件包维护合作平台。这一服务由Alexander Wirt，Bastian Blank 和 Jörg Jaspert 管理。<ulink type="block" url="https://salsa.debian.org/" /> <ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/Salsa/Doc" />

en: The <emphasis>Debian System Administrators</emphasis> (<acronym>DSA</acronym>) team (<email>debian-admin@lists.debian.org</email>), as one might expect, is responsible for system administration of the many servers used by the project. They ensure optimal functioning of all base services (DNS, Web, e-mail, shell, etc.), install software requested by Debian developers, and take all precautions in regards to security. <ulink type="block" url="https://dsa.debian.org" />
zh-CN: 如众所期待，<emphasis>Debian 系统管理员</emphasis>（<acronym>DSA</acronym>）团队（<email>debian-admin@lists.debian.org</email>）对计划所使用的多个服务器负责。其职责包括确保所有的基础服务（DNS、Web、e-mail、shell 等）正常运作、按照 Debian 开发者的要求在机器上安装软件以及关注系统运行安全相关事宜。<ulink type="block" url="https://dsa.debian.org" />

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-admin@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-admin@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> Debian Package Tracker
zh-CN: <emphasis>工具</emphasis> Debian 软件包跟踪器

en: <primary>system</primary><secondary>package tracking system</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>系统</primary><secondary>软件包追踪系统</secondary>

en: <primary>tracker</primary><secondary>Debian Package Tracker</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>跟踪器</primary><secondary>Debian 软件包跟踪器</secondary>

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>Debian Package Tracker</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>软件包</primary><secondary>Debian 软件包跟踪器</secondary>

en: This is one of Raphaël's creations. The basic idea is, for a given package, to centralize as much information as possible on a single page. Thus, one can quickly check the status of a program, identify tasks to be completed, and offer one's assistance. This is why this page gathers all bug statistics, available versions in each distribution, progress of a package in the <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> distribution, the status of translations of descriptions and debconf templates, the possible availability of a new upstream version, notices of noncompliance with the latest version of the Debian Policy, information on the maintainer, and any other information that said maintainer wishes to include. <ulink type="block" url="https://tracker.debian.org/" />
zh-CN: 这是 Raphaël 的杰作之一。基本概念是，对于指明的软件包，尽可能将相关信息集结在同一页面中。这样一来，任何人都可以快速查看程序的状态、辨识待处理的事项、以及提供协助等。这就是为何这个页面会集结所有的漏洞统计数据、各个发行版中的可用版本、在 <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> 发行版中打包的进度、软件描述和 debconf 模板的翻译状态、是否有新的上游版本、是否未遵循最新版 Debian 政策的通知、维护者的信息、以及维护者期望纳入的其他信息等。<ulink type="block" url="https://tracker.debian.org/" />

en: An e-mail subscription service completes this web interface. It automatically sends the following selected information to the list: bugs and related discussions, availability of a new version on the Debian servers, new translations available for proofreading, etc.
zh-CN: 电子邮件订阅服务也在此网页接口。自动送出选定的信息到此清单：错误与相关的讨论、Debian 服务器内的新版本、待校对的新翻译等。

en: Advanced users can, thus, follow all of this information closely and even contribute to the project, once they have got a good enough understanding of how it works.
zh-CN: 因此，高级用户可以紧密地跟踪此类信息，或是在对内容有充分理解后对计划做出贡献。

en: These two websites are tools developed and managed by the group responsible for quality assurance within Debian (known as Debian QA).
zh-CN: 这两个网站由 Debian 的品质保证成员 (通称为 Debian QA) 开发与管理的工具。

en: <primary>assurance</primary><secondary>quality assurance</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>保证</primary><secondary>品质保证</secondary>

en: <primary>quality</primary><secondary>assurance</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>品质</primary><secondary>保证</secondary>

en: The <emphasis>listmasters</emphasis> administer the e-mail server that manages the mailing lists. They create new lists, handle bounces (delivery failure notices), and maintain spam filters (unsolicited bulk e-mail).
zh-CN: <emphasis>listmaster</emphasis> 管理邮件列表的电子邮件服务器。职责包括添加名单、处理送回 (无法送出的通知)、以及垃圾邮件过滤器 (未授权的邮件)。

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Traffic on the mailing lists: some figures
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> 邮件列表的流量：某些数据

en: <primary>lists</primary><secondary>mailing lists</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>名单</primary><secondary>邮件列表</secondary>

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary>

en: Development Teams, Transversal Teams
zh-CN: 开发团队、翻译团队

en: Unlike administrative teams, the development teams are rather widely open, even to outside contributors. Even if Debian does not have a vocation to create software, the project needs some specific programs to meet its goals. Of course, developed under a free software license, these tools make use of methods proven elsewhere in the free software world.
zh-CN: 不同于管理团队，开发团队较为开放，甚至可以说是置身于奉献者之外。Debian 自身不添加软件，计划仍需要外部软件满足其需要。当然，仍是在自由软件授权下发展，这些工具使用被自由软件世界验证的方法。

en: Debian has developed little software of its own, but certain programs have assumed a starring role, and their fame has spread beyond the scope of the project. Good examples are <command>dpkg</command>, the Debian package management program (it is, in fact, an abbreviation of Debian PacKaGe, and generally pronounced as “dee-package”), and <command>apt</command>, a tool to automatically install any Debian package, and its dependencies, guaranteeing the consistency of the system after an upgrade (its name is an acronym for Advanced Package Tool). Their teams are, however, much smaller, since a rather high level of programming skill is required to gain an overall understanding of the operations of these types of programs.
zh-CN: Debian 发展自己的小软件，但却是重要的软件，其名声远超越 Debian 计划本身。<command>dpkg</command> 是个例子，它是 Debian 软件包管理程序 (事实上，它是 Debian PacKaGe 的缩写，读成 'dee-package')，另一个是 <command>apt</command>，自动安装 Debian 软件包的工具，检查其相依性，保证安装后与系统一致 (其名称为 Advanced Package Tool 的缩写)。然而，它们都是由小团队撰写的，只需要高端程序技巧就能了解该程序的运作方式。

en: The most important team is probably that for the Debian installation program, <command>debian-installer</command>, which has accomplished a work of momentous proportions since its conception in 2001. Numerous contributors were needed, since it is difficult to write a single program able to install Debian on a dozen different architectures. Each one has its own mechanism for booting and its own bootloader. All of this work is coordinated on the <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email> mailing list, under the direction of Cyril Brulebois. <ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/devel/debian-installer/" /> <ulink type="block" url="https://joeyh.name/blog/entry/d-i_retrospective/" />
zh-CN: 最重要的团队可能是处理 Debian 安装程序（<command>debian-installer</command>）的团队；他们自2001年问世以来完成了许多重要的任务。以一个程序提供十多种架构的 Debian 安装支持不是件简单的事，需要很多奉献者共同完成。每个架构需有自己的启动程序与引导程序。所有工作使用 <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email> 邮件列表进行协调，在 Cyril Brulebois 领导下进行开发。<ulink type="block" url="https://www.debian.org/devel/debian-installer/" /> <ulink type="block" url="https://joeyh.name/blog/entry/d-i_retrospective/" />

en: The (very small) <command>debian-cd</command> program team has an even more modest objective. Many “small” contributors are responsible for their architecture, since the main developer can not know all the subtleties, nor the exact way to start the installer from the CD-ROM.
zh-CN: 这个 (极小的) <command>debian-cd</command> 程序团队的目标更谦虚。由很多 '小小' 的奉献者负责其架构，因为主要的开发者无法知道全部的细微之处，也不知道从CD-ROM 安装的正确方式。

en: Many teams must collaborate with others in the activity of packaging: <email>debian-qa@lists.debian.org</email> tries, for example, to ensure quality at all levels of the Debian project. The <email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email> list develops Debian Policy according to proposals from all over the place. The teams in charge of each architecture (<email>debian-<replaceable>architecture</replaceable>@lists.debian.org</email>) compile all packages, adapting them to their particular architecture, if needed.
zh-CN: 需要多个团队彼此合作才能够将程序包装起来：以<email>debian-qa@lists.debian.org</email> 为例，企图保证 Debian 计划的每个层面都达到既定的品质。<email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email> 根据各地的建议列出 Debian 政策。负责每个架构的团队 (<email>debian-<replaceable>architecture</replaceable>@lists.debian.org</email>) 编绎所有的软件包，若有需要，再改编供特定架构使用。

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-qa@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-qa@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-<replaceable>architecture</replaceable>@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-<replaceable>架构名称</replaceable>@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: Other teams manage the most important packages in order to ensure maintenance without placing too heavy a load on a single pair of shoulders; this is the case with the C library and <email>debian-glibc@lists.debian.org</email>, the C compiler on the <email>debian-gcc@lists.debian.org</email> list, or Xorg on the <email>debian-x@lists.debian.org</email> (this group is also known as the X Strike Force).
zh-CN: 其他的团队管理最重要的软件为避免将重担放在单一团队上；在 C 程序库 <email>debian-glibc@lists.debian.org</email>，C 编绎器 <email>debian-gcc@lists.debian.org</email> 邮件列表，或 Xorg <email>debian-x@lists.debian.org</email> (此社区以 X Strike Force 闻名)。

en: Follow Debian News
zh-CN: 跟踪 Debian 最新消息

en: As already mentioned, the Debian project evolves in a very distributed, very organic way. As a consequence, it may be difficult at times to stay in touch with what happens within the project without being overwhelmed with a never-ending flood of notifications.
zh-CN: 如前所述，Debian 计划以极为分散、有机的方式进行。结果是，必须痛苦地读取无止尽的消息才能保持与计划连系。

en: If you only want the most important news about Debian, you probably should subscribe to the <email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email> list. This is a very low-traffic list (around a dozen messages a year), and only gives the most important announcements, such as the availability of a new stable release, the election of a new Project Leader, or the yearly Debian Conference. <ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-announce/" />
zh-CN: 订阅 <email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email> 邮件列表是获知 Debian 重要消息的方法。此邮件列表的流量极低 (每年只有十来个消息)，只提供最重要的通知，诸如新版发布消息、选举新的计划领导人、或 Debian 年度会议。<ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-announce/" />

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: More general (and regular) news about Debian are sent to the <email>debian-news@lists.debian.org</email> list. The traffic on this list is quite reasonable too (usually around a handful of messages a month), and it includes the semi-regular “Debian Project News”, which is a compilation of various small bits of information about what happens in the project. <ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-news/" />
zh-CN: 有关 Debian 的一般（与定期）新闻会经由 <email>debian-news@lists.debian.org</email> 邮件列表发送。其流量尚可（通常每月数条消息），其中也包括半定期的“Debian 计划快讯”，它提供了对计划内发生的各种杂项事务的编集。<ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-news/" />

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-news@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-news@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> The publicity team
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 公关团队

en: Debian's official communication channels are managed by volunteers of the Debian publicity team. They are delegates of the Debian Project Leader and moderate news and announcements posted there. Many other volunteers contribute to the team, for example, by writing content for “Debian Project News”, Debian's official blog (<ulink url="https://bits.debian.org">bits.debian.org</ulink>) or the microblogging service (<ulink url="https://micronews.debian.org/">micronews.debian.org</ulink>), which supplies social networking sites with microblogging content. <ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/Teams/Publicity" />
zh-CN: Debian 的官方沟通渠道由公关团队的志愿者管理。团队作为 Debian 计划领导人的代表发布官方的新闻和通知。也有许多其他志愿者在为该团队作出贡献，例如编写“Debian 计划快讯”的内容、编写 Debian 官方博客（<ulink url="https://bits.debian.org">bits.debian.org</ulink>）或微博客（<ulink url="https://micronews.debian.org/">micronews.debian.org</ulink>）。微博客消息会同步发布在在社交媒体上。<ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/Teams/Publicity" />

en: For more information about the evolution of Debian and what is happening at some point in time in various teams, there is also the <email>debian-devel-announce@lists.debian.org</email> list. As its name implies, the announcements it carries will probably be more interesting to developers, but it also allows interested parties to keep an eye on what happens in more concrete terms than just when a stable version is released. While <email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email> gives news about the user-visible results, <email>debian-devel-announce@lists.debian.org</email> gives news about how these results are produced. As a side note, “d-d-a” (as it is sometimes referred to) is the only list that Debian developers must be subscribed to. <ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announce/" />
zh-CN: 如需了解 Debian 的演化过程与各团队的运作历史，请参见 <email>debian-devel-announce@lists.debian.org</email> 邮件列表。如其名称所示，其内容较适合开发者的口味，但也适合关心稳定版以外版本开发过程的人。<email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email> 提供用户可见的结果，<email>debian-devel-announce@lists.debian.org</email> 则提供开发信息告知这些结果的产生方式。另外，“d-d-a”列表（如其名所示）是 Debian 开发者必须订阅的邮件列表。<ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announce/" />

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary><secondary><email>debian-devel-announce@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>邮件列表</primary><secondary><email>debian-devel-announce@lists.debian.org</email></secondary>

en: Debian's official blog (<ulink url="https://bits.debian.org">bits.debian.org</ulink>) is also a good source of information. It conveys most of the interesting news that are published on the various mailing lists that we already covered and other important news contributed by community members. Since all Debian developers can contribute these news when they think they have something noteworthy to make public, Debian's blog gives a valuable insight while staying rather focused on the project as a whole.
zh-CN: Debian 的官方博客（<ulink url="https://bits.debian.org">bits.debian.org</ulink>）也是一个获取信息的好来源。这里会涵盖一些前面提到的邮件列表里的有趣的新闻以及其他社区成员贡献的重要的新闻。因为所有的 Debian 开发者都能把他们认为值得公开分享的内容贡献到这里，Debian 的官方博客在相对集中在总体项目的基础上又提供了有价值的洞见。

en: <primary>Planet Debian</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>Debian 星球</primary>

en: A more informal source of information can also be found on Planet Debian, which aggregates articles posted by Debian contributors on their respective blogs. While the contents do not deal exclusively with Debian development, they provide a view into what is happening in the community and what its members are up to. <ulink type="block" url="https://planet.debian.org/" />
zh-CN: 另外，还可以在 Planet Debian（Debian 星球）网站上找到更多非正式的信息来源。该网站聚合了 Debian 贡献者在他们各自博客上编写的文章。其内容不局限于 Debian 的开发，还包括了社区的活动与成员的动态。<ulink type="block" url="https://planet.debian.org/" />

en: <primary>microblog</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>微博客</primary>

en: <primary>social networks</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>社区网络</primary>

en: <primary>network</primary><secondary>social networks</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>网络</primary><secondary>社区网络</secondary>

en: The Role of Distributions
zh-CN: 发行版的角色

en: <primary>Linux distribution</primary><secondary>role</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>Linux 发行版</primary><secondary>角色</secondary>

en: A GNU/Linux distribution has two main objectives: install a free operating system on a computer (either with or without an existing system or systems), and provide a range of software covering all of the users' needs.
zh-CN: GNU/Linux 发行版的两个主要目标：在电脑上安装自由的操作系统 (单独存在，或是和其他操作系统同时存在)，以及提供满足用户需求的各种软件。

en: The Installer: <command>debian-installer</command>
zh-CN: 安装器：<command>debian-installer</command>

en: The <command>debian-installer</command>, designed to be extremely modular in order to be as generic as possible, targets the first objective. It covers a broad range of installation situations and in general, greatly facilitates the creation of a derivative installer corresponding to a particular case.
zh-CN: <command>debian-installer</command>，以极度模块化设计以便尽量通用，针对前述的第一个目标。含盖极为广泛的安装环境，能够支持特殊个案的安装器。

en: This modularity, which also makes it very complex, may be daunting for the developers discovering this tool; but whether used in graphical or text mode, the user's experience is still similar. Great efforts have been made to reduce the number of questions asked at installation time, in particular thanks to the inclusion of automatic hardware detection software.
zh-CN: 模块化，让情况很复杂，开发者极难发掘此工具；但在图书或文本模式下，用户的经验仍然差不多。花了极大的力气减少安装所需的问题，特别感谢自动侦测硬件的软件。

en: It is interesting to note that distributions derived from Debian differ greatly on this aspect, and provide a more limited installer (often confined to the i386 or amd64 architectures), but more user-friendly for the uninitiated. On the other hand, they usually refrain from straying too far from package contents in order to benefit as much as possible from the vast range of software offered without causing compatibility problems.
zh-CN: 值得注意的是 Debian 的衍生发行版在这个层面上有很大的不同，提供有限的安装方式 (通常只限 i386 或 amd64 架构两种)，但对初入门者更为友善。另一方面，它们通常会避免偏离太远的软件包，以便尽可能利用 Debian 提供的广大软件而不致于发生兼容性问题。

en: The Software Library
zh-CN: 软件库

en: Most new free software programs quickly find their way into the development version which allows them to be installed. If this requires too many updates due to their dependencies, the program can also be recompiled for the stable version of Debian (see <xref linkend="debian-packaging" /> for more information on this topic).
zh-CN: 大部分新软件自有办法找到门路在安装时自动纳入。若因依赖性的问题而需要太多的更新，可以为 Debian 的稳定版重新编译 (此议题的详情参见 <xref linkend="debian-packaging" />)。

en: Lifecycle of a Release
zh-CN: 发布周期

en: <primary>lifecycle</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>周期</primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">不稳定</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">测试</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">稳定</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">实验性</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">旧稳定版</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis></primary>
zh-CN: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">老旧稳定版</emphasis></primary>

en: The project will simultaneously have three to six different versions of each program, named <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis>, and even <emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis>. Each one corresponds to a different phase in development. For a good understanding, let us take a look at a program's journey, from its initial packaging to inclusion in a stable version of Debian.
zh-CN: Debian 计划的每个程序同时有 6 个不同版本，<emphasis role="distribution">实验</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">不稳定</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">测试</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">稳定</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">旧稳定</emphasis>、与 <emphasis role="distribution">极旧稳定</emphasis>。每个版本都有自己的发展流程。为了了解起见，先看看程序的发展过程，由最初的包装至纳入 Debian 的稳定版。

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Release
zh-CN: <emphasis>术语</emphasis> 发布

en: <primary>release</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>发布</primary>

en: The term “release”, in the Debian project, indicates a particular version of a distribution (e.g., “unstable release” means “the unstable version”). It also indicates the public announcement of the launch of any new version (stable).
zh-CN: 「release」一词，在 Debian 项目中，系指发行版的特定发行版本 (如：「unstable release」代表的是「尚未稳定的版本」)。这个词语也用于代表软件新版本 (stable 稳定版) 的初次公开发表。

en: The <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis> Status
zh-CN: <emphasis role="distribution">实验</emphasis>状态

en: First let us take a look at the particular case of the <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis> distribution: this is a group of Debian packages corresponding to the software currently in development, and not necessarily completed, explaining its name. Not everything passes through this step; some developers add packages here in order to get feedback from more experienced (or braver) users.
zh-CN: 首先看看 <emphasis role="distribution">实验</emphasis> 发行的特例：对应于还在开发中的 Debian 软件包，不必已做完，其名称已说明一切。还没有全部通过此阶段；部分开发者加入软件包为了得到有经验 (或勇敢) 用户的回馈。

en: Otherwise, this distribution frequently houses important modifications to base packages, whose integration into <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> with serious bugs would have critical repercussions. It is, thus, a completely isolated distribution, its packages never migrate to another version (except by direct, express intervention of the maintainer or the ftpmasters). It is also not self-contained: only a subset of the existing packages are present in <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis>, and it generally does not include the base system. This distribution is therefore mostly useful in combination with another, self-contained, distribution such as <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis>.
zh-CN: 否则，此发行版通常会将重大修改纳入基础软件软件包中，因为一旦集成进 <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> 不稳定版中的软件有重大漏洞，可能导致不堪设想的后果。因此，它是完全隔绝且独立的发行版，其软件包绝不会移入其他版本中 (除非有情况需要维护者或 ftp 管理者直接、快速干预)。它也不能自我纳入：仅既有软件包的部分子集具有 <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis> 实验版，通常不包括基础系统。此发行版因此会与其他能自我纳入的发行版一同搭配使用，例如 <emphasis role="distribution">Ustable</emphasis> 版。

en: The <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> Status
zh-CN: <emphasis role="distribution">不稳定</emphasis>状态

en: Let us turn back to the case of a typical package. The maintainer creates an initial package, which they compile for the <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> version and place on the <literal>ftp-master.debian.org</literal> server. This first event involves inspection and validation from the ftpmasters. The software is then available in the <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> distribution, which is the “cutting edge” distribution chosen by users who are more concerned with having up-to-date packages than worried about serious bugs. They discover the program and then test it.
zh-CN: 让我们回到典型软件软件包的例子。维护者制作出最初的软件包，编绎给 <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> 版使用并置于 <literal>ftp-master.debian.org</literal> 服务器上。这个动作会先经过 ftp 管理员的审阅与验证，再放到 <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> 发行版中；对于那些比起重大问题更关心软件是否处于最新状态的用户而言，这就是“时下最新”的发行版。他们会探索程序并协助测试。

en: If they encounter bugs, they report them to the package's maintainer. The maintainer then regularly prepares corrected versions, which they upload to the server.
zh-CN: 碰到错误后，向软件包维护者报告。维护者会定期准备修正版，然后再上传至服务器。

en: <primary>autobuilder</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>自动创建者</primary>

en: Compilation of a package by the autobuilders
zh-CN: 由自动创建者编译的软件包

en: <emphasis>QUICK LOOK</emphasis> <command>buildd</command>, the Debian package recompiler
zh-CN: <emphasis>快速查看</emphasis> <command>buildd</command>，Debian 软件包再编译者

en: <emphasis>buildd</emphasis> is the abbreviation of “build daemon”. This program automatically recompiles new versions of Debian packages on the architectures on which it is hosted (cross-compilation is avoided as much as possible).
zh-CN: <emphasis>buildd</emphasis>是 “build daemon” 的缩写。在指定的架构自动编译Debian软件包的程序(尽量避免跨平台)。

en: Thus, to produce binaries for the <literal>arm64</literal> architecture, the project has <literal>arm64</literal> machines available. The <emphasis>buildd</emphasis> program runs on them continuously and creates binary packages for <literal>arm64</literal> from source packages sent by Debian developers.
zh-CN: 因此，<literal>arm64</literal> 机器专门为 <literal>arm64</literal> 架构创建二进制文件。<emphasis>buildd</emphasis> 程序从 Debian 开发者的原始软件包里持续产生 <literal>arm64</literal> 架构的二进制软件包。

en: This software is used on all the computers serving as autobuilders for Debian. By extension, the term <emphasis>buildd</emphasis> frequently is used to refer to these machines, which are generally reserved solely for this purpose.
zh-CN: Debian所有的电脑都能使用此自动创建器。扩大而言，<emphasis>buildd</emphasis> 一词常用于这些机器，仅供此目的使用。

en: Migration to <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>
zh-CN: 迁移至<emphasis role="distribution">测试</emphasis>

en: A bit later, the package will have matured; compiled on all the architectures, it will not have undergone recent modifications. It is then a candidate for inclusion in the <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> distribution — a group of <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> packages chosen according to some quantifiable criteria. Every day a program automatically selects the packages to include in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>, according to elements guaranteeing a certain level of quality:
zh-CN: 稍后，软件包略为成熟后；编译全部的架构，不再发生新的修订。才能成为<emphasis role="distribution">测试</emphasis>版的候选 — 基于某些标准供<emphasis role="distribution">不稳定</emphasis>软件包使用。根据以下的品管保证细目，每天都有程序被自动选入<emphasis role="distribution">测试</emphasis>版：

en: successful compilation on all officially supported architectures;
zh-CN: 在所有官方支持的架构里编绎成功;

en: lack of critical bugs, or, at least fewer than the version currently included in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>;
zh-CN: 没有严重错误，或至少是比目前版本较少错误的将纳入到<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>;

en: at least 5 days spent in <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis>, which is usually sufficient time to find and report any serious problems (successfully passing the package's own test suite, if it has one, reduces that time);
zh-CN: 至少置于<emphasis role="distribution">不稳定</emphasis> 版中5天；这段时间通常足够发现与报告任何严重的问题（如软件包提供了测试样例且测试样例通过，所需时间可以更短）；

en: dependencies that can be satisfied in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>, or that can at least be moved there together with the package in question;
zh-CN: 满足<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>对依赖关系的要求，或至少能够与其他有问题的软件包共同迁移；

en: automatic quality tests of the package (<emphasis role="pkg">autopkgtest</emphasis>) — if defined — don't show any regression.
zh-CN: 自动化软件包质量测试（<emphasis role="pkg">autopkgtest</emphasis>）——如果已定义的话——未出现任何异常。

en: This system is clearly not infallible; critical bugs are regularly found in packages included in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>. Still, it is generally effective, and <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> poses far fewer problems than <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis>, being for many, a good compromise between stability and novelty.
zh-CN: 此系统不是万无一失的；在<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>中也经常发现软件包的严重错误。虽然如此，目前的整个流程还是很有效的，且<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>的问题远远少于<emphasis role="distribution">不稳定版</emphasis>。对很多人来说，是稳定与新鲜之间的折衷选择。

en: <emphasis>NOTE</emphasis> Limitations of <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>
zh-CN: <emphasis>说明</emphasis><emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>的局限性

en: While very interesting in principle, <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> does have some practical problems: the tangle of cross-dependencies between packages is such that a package can rarely move there completely on its own. With packages all depending upon each other, it is sometimes necessary to migrate a large number of packages simultaneously, which is impossible when some are uploading updates regularly. On the other hand, the script identifying the families of related packages works hard to create them (this would be an NP-complete problem, for which, fortunately, we know some good heuristics). This is why we can manually interact with and guide this script by suggesting groups of packages, or imposing the inclusion of certain packages in a group, even if this temporarily breaks some dependencies. This functionality is accessible to the Release Managers and their assistants.
zh-CN: 很有趣的原则，<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>应没有实际的问题：软件包的跨平台依赖性很难独立完成。软件包彼此依赖，必须同时殖入大量的软件包，事实上很难同时殖入定期更新的软件包。另一方面，很难制作用于辨认相关软件包系列的脚本(这是 NP 完备的问题，还好我们知道若干方法)。以手动方式与脚本交互并指引若干可能的软件包，或纳入指定软件包于群组内，即使此方法打破若干依赖性。这些功能由发布经理及其团队负责。

en: Recall that an NP-complete problem is of an exponential algorithmic complexity according to the size of the data, here being the length of the code (the number of figures) and the elements involved. The only way to resolve it is frequently to examine all possible configurations, which could require enormous means. A heuristic is an approximate, but satisfying, solution.
zh-CN: NP 完整性问题是复杂的指数算法，与数据量、代码长度(图表的量)与涉入的元素有关。唯一的解决方案是时时查看所有可能的配置，可能需要很多方法。尝试法是一种接近，但满意的，解决方案。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> The Release Manager
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis> 发布管理员

en: <primary>Release Manager</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>发布管理员</primary>

en: Release Manager is an important title, associated with heavy responsibilities. The bearer of this title must, in effect, manage the release of a new, stable version of Debian, and define the process for development of <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> until it meets the quality criteria for <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis>. They also define a tentative schedule (not always followed).
zh-CN: 发布管理员是个重要的职位，责任很重。担任此职的人将会处理 Debian 的新稳定版相关问题，并设置开发当前<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>的进程，直到其满足成为<emphasis role="distribution">稳定版</emphasis>的质量要求。管理员同时还会预设开发时间表（但并不总是严格遵守）。

en: The Promotion from <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> to <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis>
zh-CN: 从<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>至<emphasis role="distribution">稳定版</emphasis>

en: Let us suppose that our package is now included in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>. As long as it has room for improvement, its maintainer must continue to improve it and restart the process from <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> (but its later inclusion in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> is generally faster: unless it changed significantly, all of its dependencies are already available). When it reaches perfection, the maintainer has completed their work. The next step is the inclusion in the <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis> distribution, which is, in reality, a simple copy of <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> at a moment chosen by the Release Manager. Ideally, this decision is made when the installer is ready, and when no program in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> has any known critical bugs.
zh-CN: 假设我们的软件包已经纳入<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>。只要还有改进的空间，其维护者必然奋力改进之并从<emphasis role="distribution">不稳定版</emphasis>（以后纳入<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>就快多了：除非发生极大的变化，其依赖的其它软件包已存在而无需投入更多精力）重新来过。达到阶段性成果后，维护者便告一段落。下个步骤是将其纳入<emphasis role="distribution">稳定版</emphasis>发行；这实际上只是在某个发布管理员决定时间节点上将<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>的内容纳入而已。理想的情况下，在这个发布的时间节点上新版安装器已准备完成，且<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>没有严重的错误。

en: Since this moment never truly arrives, in practice, Debian must compromise: remove packages whose maintainer has failed to correct bugs on time, or agree to release a distribution with some bugs in the thousands of programs. The Release Manager will have previously announced a freeze period, during which each update to <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> must be approved. The goal here is to prevent any new version (and its new bugs), and to only approve updates fixing bugs.
zh-CN: 实际上，还没有真的进入稳定版，Debian 必须妥协：移除维护者无法更正错误的软件包、或容许在数千个程序中还有几个错误。发布经理曾声明冻结期间，想被纳入<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>更新必须通过认可的进程。其目标是避免新版本(及其新错误)，与只有被认可的错误修订。

en: A package's path through the various Debian versions
zh-CN: 软件包通过多个 Debian 版本的途径

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Freeze: the home straight
zh-CN: <emphasis>术语</emphasis> 冻结：最后一哩路

en: <primary>freeze</primary>
zh-CN: <primary>冻结</primary>

en: During the freeze period, development of the <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> distribution is blocked; no more automatic updates are allowed. Only the Release Managers are then authorized to change packages, according to their own criteria. The purpose is to prevent the appearance of new bugs by introducing new versions; only thoroughly examined updates are authorized when they correct significant bugs.
zh-CN: 在冻结期，停止<emphasis role="distribution">测试版</emphasis>的发展；不允许自动更新。只有发布经理授权的软件包，才能依照指示更新。其目的是避免新版本带新的错误；更正过的错误通过审查过的更新才能纳入。

en: At the end of the journey, our hypothetical package is now included in the stable distribution. This journey, not without its difficulties, explains the significant delays separating the Debian Stable releases. This contributes, over all, to its reputation for quality. Furthermore, the majority of users are satisfied using one of the three distributions simultaneously available. The system administrators, concerned above all about the stability of their servers, don't need the latest and greatest version of GNOME; they can choose Debian <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis>, and they will be satisfied. End users, more interested in the latest versions of GNOME or KDE Plasma than in rock-solid stability, will find Debian <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> to be a good compromise between a lack of serious problems and relatively up-to-date software. Finally, developers and more experienced users may blaze the trail, testing all the latest developments in Debian <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> right out of the gate, at the risk of suffering the headaches and bugs inherent in any new version of a program. To each their own Debian!
zh-CN: 最后，我们假设的软件包已经纳入稳定发行版中。这道进程，必须费上好一翻功夫，这正说明新 Debian 稳定发行版之间的间隔为何如此之久。毕竟也是如此，Debian 才能获得其高品质的名声。此外，同时间这三种发行版本都吸引了各自的用户群。比起最新版的 GNOME，服务器的系统管理员更在意系统稳不稳定，因此他们会选择 Debian <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis> 稳定版来满足其需求。至于比起坚若磐石的稳定性更在意是否为最新版 GNOME 或 KDE Plasma 的最终用户，或许会喜欢 Debian <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> 测试版，在相对新颖的软件版本和较少发生重大问题之间折衷。最后，开发者和有经验的用户，可能自愿在 Debian <emphasis role="distribution">Ustable</emphasis> 不稳定版中的丛林小径中披荆斩棘，一边测试 Debian 中的最新发展，一边承受感到头痛之苦与遭遇任何新程序漏洞的风险。各自选择各自的 Debian！

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> GNOME and KDE Plasma, graphical desktop environments
zh-CN: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> GNOME 与 KDE Plasma，图形桌面环境

en: Chronological path of a program packaged by Debian
zh-CN: Debian 所打包软件的时间顺序图表

en: The <emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis> and <emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis> Status
zh-CN: <emphasis role="distribution">旧稳定版</emphasis>与<emphasis role="distribution">老旧稳定版</emphasis>状态

en: <primary>support</primary><secondary>Long Term Support (LTS)</secondary>
zh-CN: <primary>支持</primary><secondary>长期支持 Long Term Support (LTS)</secondary>

en: Each <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis> release has an expected lifetime of about 5 years and given that releases tend to happen every 2 years, there can be up to 3 supported releases at a given point of time. When a new stable release happens, the former release becomes <emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis> and the one even before becomes <emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis>.
zh-CN: 每个<emphasis role="distribution">稳定版</emphasis>预计有五年寿命，每二年发行新的稳定版，同一时间最多可有三个支持的稳定版在流通。新的稳定版发布时，前个版本就变成<emphasis role="distribution">旧稳定版</emphasis>而更早的就成为<emphasis role="distribution">老旧稳定版</emphasis>。

en: This Long Term Support (LTS) of Debian releases is a recent initiative: individual contributors and companies joined forces to create the Debian LTS team. Older releases which are no longer supported by the Debian security team fall under the responsibility of this new team.
zh-CN: Debian 的长期支持版 (This Long Term Support, LTS) 是新的成员：由独立的奉献者及公司联合的 Debian LTS 团队完成。Debian 安全团队不再维护旧的版本。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Companies sponsoring the LTS effort
zh-CN: <emphasis>社区</emphasis>支持 LTS 的公司

en: To bring this project to life, the project counted on the fact that long term support was particularly relevant for companies and that they would be willing to mutualize the cost of this security support.
zh-CN: 长期支持版的问世，有赖于参与公司愿意分享安全维护的成本。

en: The project started in June 2014: some organizations allowed their employees to contribute part-time to Debian LTS while others preferred to sponsor the project with money so that Debian contributors get paid to do the work that they would not do for free. Most Debian contributors willing to be paid to work on LTS got together to create a clear sponsorship offer managed by Freexian (Raphaël Hertzog's company): <ulink type="block" url="https://www.freexian.com/services/debian-lts.html" />
zh-CN: 此计划始于2014年六月：部分组织同意雇员以兼职方式对 Debian 的长期支持版做出贡献；其他的赞助者则愿意付钱赞助，因此这些 Debian 的贡献者可以取得报酬而不是无偿工作。一部分愿意为长期支持版有偿工作的 Debian 贡献者组织了起来并在 Freexian（Raphaël Hertzog 的公司）的赞助下开展工作：<ulink type="block" url="http://www.freexian.com/services/debian-lts.html" />

en: In the Debian LTS team, the volunteers work on packages they care about while the paid contributors prioritize packages used by their sponsors.
zh-CN: 在 Debian 长期支持团队中，志愿者们针对在他们感兴趣的软件包开展工作。同时，受雇会得到报酬的贡献者会优先考虑处理赞助方所使用的软件包。

en: The project is always looking for new sponsors: What about your company? Can you let an employee work part-time on long term support? Can you allocate a small budget for security support? <ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/LTS/Funding" />
zh-CN: 此计划也在持续寻求新的赞助者：本书读者所在的公司有兴趣吗？愿意让雇员兼职为长期支持版工作吗？可以赞助安全维护的经费吗？<ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/LTS/Funding" />
