dasher master - en to zh translation catalogue (200 entries)

en: Dasher Manual
zh: Dasher 手册

en: The Dasher Project
zh: Dasher 项目

en: Permission is granted to make and distribute verbatim copies of this manual provided the copyright notice and this permission notice are preserved on all copies.
zh: 只要在所有副本中保留版权信息和本许可内容，您就可以制作和发行本手册的副本。

en: Permission is granted to copy and distribute modified versions of this manual under the conditions for verbatim copying, provided that the entire resulting derived work is distributed under the terms of a permission notice identical to this one.
zh: 对于本文档的复制、分发和／或修改必须遵循与本手册相同的许可声明，在许可内容不变的条件下，允许依据本文档创作和演绎作品。

en: Permission is granted to copy and distribute translations of this manual into another language, under the above conditions for modified versions, except that this permission notice may be stated in a translation approved by the Free Software Foundation.
zh: 除了本许可声明应该使用自由软件基金会批准的译文之外，允许按照与上述修改版本相同的条件复制和发行本手册的其它语言的译文。

en: UNIX is a trademark of X/Open Group.
zh: UNIX 是 X/Open Group 的商标。

en: Linux is a trademark of Linus Torvalds.
zh: Linux 是 Linus Torvalds 的商标。

en: X Window System is a trademark of X Consortium, Inc.
zh: X Window System 是 X Consortium, Inc 的商标。

en: Windows is a trademark of Microsoft Corp.
zh: Windows 是 Microsoft Corp 的商标。

en: Macintosh and Apple are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc.
zh: Macintosh 和 Apple 是 Apple Computer, Inc 的商标。

en: All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
zh: 所有其他商标均属于它们各自的拥有者。

en: Dasher is an accessible text entry application that uses pointing gestures rather than typing. It is designed to be fast while fun to use.
zh: Dasher 是一个辅助功能的文本输入程序，使用指针手势来代替键盘输入。它设计用意是有趣而快速地操作。

en: Introduction
zh: 介绍

en: <application>Dasher</application> is an information-efficient text-entry interface, driven by natural continuous pointing gestures. Dasher is a competitive text-entry system wherever a full-size keyboard cannot be used - for example on a palmtop or wearable computer, or when operating a computer one-handed (by joystick, touchscreen or mouse) or zero-handed (i.e. by head-mouse or eyetracker). This document describes version 4.2.0 of <application>Dasher</application>.
zh: <application>Dasher</application> 是一个高效的信息和文本录入接口，由自然连续的指针手势操作。当全尺寸键盘不能被使用时，Dasher 是不能使用完整键盘时的一个很好的文本录入系统 - 如在一个手持式计算机或佩带式电脑，或者单手(用手柄、触摸屏和鼠标)操作计算机，以及不需手控的头盔式鼠标和眼球跟踪器等。本文档讲述的是 <application>Dasher</application> 4.2.0 版。

en: <application>Dasher</application> can be started by selecting <guimenuitem>Dasher</guimenuitem> from the <guisubmenu>Accessibility </guisubmenu> submenu of the <guimenu>Main Menu</guimenu>, or by running the command <command>dasher</command> on the command line.
zh: 运行 <application>Dasher</application> 可以在 <guimenu>主菜单</guimenu> 的 <guisubmenu>辅助功能 </guisubmenu> 子菜单里选择  <guimenuitem>Dasher</guimenuitem>，或者在命令行中运行命令 <command>dasher</command>。

en: What's New
zh: 新功能

en: New features In version 4.2
zh: 4.2 版的新特性

en: There is an automatic speed control, which will speed up Dasher when it senses you are able to go faster.
zh: 具有自动速度控制功能，当 Dasher 感觉到您能更快操作时，它也会加快速度。

en: There is a new socket interface allowing Dasher to listen to head-trackers or gaze-trackers or EEG-interfaces without going through the mouse.
zh: 新的套接口允许 Dasher 监听不需要使用鼠标的头戴式追踪装置、眼球跟踪器或者脑电图接口。

en: There are several `button modes' for people who want to drive Dasher using one, two, three, or four switches.
zh: 对那些想在 Dasher 中，使用一个、二个、三个甚至是四个开关的人，具有多种“按钮模式”供选择。

en: There is a `click mode', for people who like to point where they want to go, and click to take a single step in that direction. This is aimed at beginners, in particular
zh: 对于那些喜欢用指针操作的用户，有一种“点击模式”，点一下前进一步。这通常给初学者使用。

en: What's coming in version 4.4
zh: 4.4 版会有哪些进步

en: We will implement a game-mode for Dasher: this will help novices learn to write. A teaching hand will guide the novice when he goes astray, and novices who write fast without needing much guidance will win lots of points.
zh: 我们将为 Dasher 添加一个游戏模式：帮助初学者学习书写，当他们陷入迷途时，有一个教学助手来帮助指导。没有请求帮助并且书写很快的初学者将能赢得许多积分。

en: New language models will be added, which will make predictions at the word level as well as the letter level.
zh: 添加新的语言模式，将会使词语级别的预测跟字母级别的预测一样好。

en: Japanese and Chinese will be fully supported.
zh: 完整支持中文和日文。

en: The Dasher team also hopes to create a free web-cam-based head tracker and gaze tracker, `FreeVIM', by December 2006.
zh: Dasher 团队也希望在 2006年12月之前创建一个开源的基于摄像头的头戴式追踪装置、眼球跟踪器，“FreeVIM”。

en: Dasher Basics
zh: Dasher 基础

en: On a palmtop computer;
zh: 在手持式计算机上；

en: on a wearable computer;
zh: 在佩带式计算机上；

en: when operating a computer one-handed, by joystick, touchscreen, trackball, or mouse;
zh: 当用一只手使用操纵杆、触摸屏、轨迹球或鼠标来操作计算机；

en: when operating a computer with zero hands (i.e., by head-mouse or by eyetracker).
zh: 不用手来操作计算机(例如，用头盔鼠标或眼球跟踪装置)。

en: Dasher is an information-efficient text-entry interface, driven by natural continuous pointing gestures. Dasher is a competitive text-entry system wherever a full-size keyboard cannot be used - for example, <placeholder-1/> The eyetracking version of Dasher allows an experienced user to write text as fast as normal handwriting - 29 words per minute; using a mouse, experienced users can write at 39 words per minute.
zh: <application>Dasher</application> 是一个高效的信息和文本录入接口，由自然连续的指针手势操作。当全尺寸键盘不能被使用时，Dasher 是一个很好的文本录入系统 - 如 <placeholder-1/> 眼球跟踪器版本的 Dasher 能让一个有经验的用户跟正常书写速度一样快 - 每分钟 29 个词。使用鼠标，有经验的用户可以达到每分钟39 个词。

en: Dasher can be used to write efficiently in any language.
zh: Dasher 能用于录入任何语言。

en: Dasher is fast and fun to learn.
zh: Dasher 学起来快速而有趣。

en: Dasher is <emphasis>free software</emphasis>. It's distributed under the same license as GNU/Linux, the GPL.
zh: Dasher 是 <emphasis>自由软件</emphasis>。它的分发使用和 GNU/Linux 同样的许可协议：GPL。

en: How does Dasher work?
zh: Dasher 是怎样工作的？

en: Financial Times, 5th February 2002
zh: 金融时报，2002年2月5日

en: Dasher is like an arcade game: `Attack of the killer alphabets', perhaps.
zh: Dasher 就像一个巷战游戏：“字母杀手的攻击”，或许。

en: Dasher is a zooming interface. You point where you want to go, and the display zooms in wherever you point. The world into which you are zooming is painted with letters, so that any point you zoom in on corresponds to a piece of text. The more you zoom in, the longer the piece of text you have written. You choose what you write by choosing where to zoom.
zh: Dasher是一个层层拉伸的界面，您的指针指向哪里 , 那个区域就会被指引过来，区域里面摆放有字母及下一层区域，所以你每次引导过来的区域，都对应于要输入文本的一部分，您指引过来的区域层次越多，那么输入的文本也越多。您通过层层选择引导过来的区域来达到输入想要的文本。

en: To make the interface efficient, we use the predictions of a language model to determine how much of the world is devoted to each piece of text. Probable pieces of text are given more space, so they are quick and easy to select. Improbable pieces of text (for example, text with spelling mistakes) are given less space, so they are harder to write. The language model learns all the time: if you use a novel word once, it is easier to write next time.
zh: 为了使界面更加有效，我们使用了一个预测语言模型来决定哪些文本输入机率高，可能性大的文本占的区域面积也较大，所以更容易被选中。而不太可能的文本内容(如：拼写错误)占的空间也较小，选择也相对困难。语言模型一直在自我学习：如果你输入了一个新词，在下次输入就会简单些。

en: A big advantage of Dasher over other predictive text-entry interfaces that offer word-completions to the user is that it is <emphasis>mode-free</emphasis>: the user does not need to switch from a writing mode to an <quote>accept-model-predictions</quote> mode.
zh: Dasher 相比其他预测式文本输入界面的一个优点是，它是 <emphasis>自由模式</emphasis> 的：用户不需要从一个输入模式切换到一个 <quote>接受-预测</quote> 模式。

en: Another advantage is that it is easy to train the model on any writing style: simply load up an example file, then write away!
zh: 另一个优点是，它很容易训练符合各种写作风格的模型：仅仅加载一个训练文件，然后开始训练！

en: It's quite hard to convey in words what Dasher looks like, so please visit <ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/" type="http">http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/</ulink> to see movies.
zh: 用文字表述 Dasher 是什么样子相当困难，所以请您访问 <ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/" type="http">http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/</ulink> 观看视频。

en: Dasher explained -- the library analogy
zh: Dasher 举例 -- 在图书馆查阅

en: Imagine <emphasis>a library containing all possible books</emphasis>, ordered alphabetically on a single shelf. Books in which the first letter is <quote>a</quote>; are at the left hand side. Books in which the first letter is <quote>z</quote>; are at the right. In picture (i) below, the shelf is shown vertically with <quote>left</quote>; (a) at the top and ,<quote>right</quote>; (z) at the bottom. The first book in the <quote>a</quote>; section reads <quote><computeroutput>aaaaaaaaaaaa</computeroutput>...</quote>; somewhere to its right are books that start <quote><computeroutput>all good things must come to an
              end</computeroutput>...</quote>; a tiny bit further to the right are books that start <quote><computeroutput>all good things must come to an
            enema</computeroutput>...</quote>.
zh: 假设 <emphasis>有一个包含所有书籍的图书馆</emphasis>，书箱按字母顺序放在一个个书架上。这样，书名第一个字母是 <quote>a</quote> 的，会放在最左边。而书名是 <quote>z</quote> 的，会放在最右边。下图(1)中，这个书架是竖着放的，把书名 <quote>左边</quote>(a) 的放在上面，<quote>右边</quote>(z) 的放下面。 在 <quote>a</quote> 这一行中排最前面的书应该是 <quote><computeroutput>aaaaaaaaaaaa</computeroutput>...</quote>，而 <quote><computeroutput>all good things must come to an
              end</computeroutput>...</quote> 应该排在它右边，<quote><computeroutput>all good things must come to an
            enema</computeroutput>...</quote> 要在更右边些。

en: When someone writes a piece of text, their choice of the text string can be viewed as a choice of a book from this library of all books - the book that contains exactly the chosen text. How do they choose that book? Let's imagine they want to write <quote><computeroutput>all good things</computeroutput>...</quote>;
zh: 当我们输入一段文本时，就像在这个图书馆中挑选一本书 - 书名包含要选择的全部文本。 我们该怎么来选择那本书？比如要输入 <quote><computeroutput>all good things</computeroutput>...</quote> 时的情况。

en: The library of all books.
zh: 图书馆全部的书

en: First, they walk into the <quote><computeroutput>a</computeroutput></quote>; section of the library. There, they are confronted by books starting <quote><computeroutput>aa</computeroutput></quote>;, <quote><computeroutput>ab</computeroutput></quote>, <quote><computeroutput>ac</computeroutput>...</quote>; <quote><computeroutput>az</computeroutput></quote>; [Picture (ii)]. Looking more closely at the <quote><computeroutput>al</computeroutput></quote>; section, they can find books starting <quote><computeroutput>ala</computeroutput></quote>;, <quote>;<computeroutput>alb</computeroutput></quote>;,...; <quote><computeroutput>alz</computeroutput></quote>; [Picture (iii)].
zh: 首先, 要找到图书馆 <quote><computeroutput>a</computeroutput></quote> 的书架。 在那里，可以看到  <quote><computeroutput>aa</computeroutput></quote>、<quote><computeroutput>ab</computeroutput></quote>、<quote><computeroutput>ac</computeroutput>... </quote><quote><computeroutput>az</computeroutput></quote> [图(2)]等一系列 a 开头的书箱。更进一步找到 <quote><computeroutput>al</computeroutput></quote> 的书架，这里是一系列以 al 开头的书箱 <quote><computeroutput>ala</computeroutput></quote>、<quote>;<computeroutput>alb</computeroutput></quote>，... <quote><computeroutput>alz</computeroutput></quote> [图(3)]。

en: By looking ever more closely at the shelf, the writer can find the book containing the text he wishes to write. Thus writing can be described as <emphasis>zooming in on an alphabetical library, steering as you go</emphasis>.
zh: 通过一级一级书架往下找，最终找到我们想要名称的书箱。这个过程可以描述为 <emphasis>在流动的字母图书馆中航行</emphasis>。

en: This is exactly how Dasher works, except for one crucial point: <emphasis>we alter the SIZE of the shelf space devoted to each book in proportion to the probability of the corresponding text.</emphasis> For example, not very many books start with an <quote><computeroutput>x</computeroutput></quote>;, so we devote less space to <quote><computeroutput>x</computeroutput>...;</quote>; books, and more to the more plausible books, thus making it easier to find books that contain probable text.
zh: 这就是 Dasher 工作方式，还有重要的一点：<emphasis>我们会用书架的大小来表示每个书名与文本对应的可能性</emphasis>。例如，大多数书名不会以 <quote><computeroutput>x</computeroutput></quote> 开头，所以我们会给 <quote><computeroutput>x</computeroutput>...</quote> 书架很少的空间，而给比较合理的书籍分多些空间，这样我们就更容易找到对应文本的书籍。

en: Here is the corresponding sequence of pictures of the library in Dasher. (The character <quote>_</quote>; denotes the space character.)
zh: 下面是在 Dasher 图书馆中对应关系的图片(<quote>_</quote> 表示空格)。

note: \begin{center} \begin{tabular}{ccc} \mbox{\psfig{figure=images/a-z.m.gif.50.ps}}& \mbox{\psfig{figure=images/aa-az.m.gif.50.ps}}& \mbox{\psfig{figure=images/ala-alz.m.gif.50.ps}}\#. (i)&(ii)&(iii)\#. \end{tabular} \end{center}
en: Dasher can be trained on examples of any writing style, and it learns all the time, picking up your personal turns of phrase.
zh: Dasher 能进行各种书写风格范文的训练，并且它一直在学习，总结您自己的表达习惯。

en: The image below shows the state of the Dasher interface while the user is writing the word `objection'; alternative words that could easily be written at this point include `objective', `objects_', and `object_oriented'.
zh: 下面的图片展示了当使用者输入单词“objection”时的 Dasher 界面，在这一区域还可以输入 “objective”、“objects_”，以及 “object_oriented”。

en: Writing `objection' in Dasher.
zh: 在 Dasher 中输入 “objection”。

en: If you find Dasher hard to imagine based on these static pictures, please take a look at the movies on <ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/" type="http">http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/</ulink>.
zh: 如果您看这个静态图片觉得很难想象出 Dasher，那就请您再看一下 <ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/" type="http">http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/</ulink> 上面的视频。

en: Tips for novices
zh: 新手提示

en: Don't give up if it takes you a minute or two to get started - within ten minutes, you'll be blazing along. It's a lot like driving a car. You should <emphasis>start by driving cautiously</emphasis>. If you can't tell where you are going, <emphasis>stop going</emphasis>. Indeed, you will probably learn Dasher fastest if you come to it with car-driving analogies in mind, rather than standard computer analogies. For example, the way navigation works is not by DRAGGING but by STEERING: if cars worked like windows computers, you would have to <quote>grab</quote> the piece of road you want, then ,<quote>drag</quote>; it towards you; but in a car, when you wish to drive right, you POINT RIGHT with your steering wheel. Dasher does not work by dragging either. <emphasis>Do not try to grab things and drag them. Just decide where you want to go, and point there.</emphasis>
zh: 如果您花了一两分钟才入门的话，请先不要放弃 - 在十分钟之内，你就能够上手了。它就好像开车一样，起初您 <emphasis>必须小心翼翼</emphasis>，如果还没想清楚去哪里，那就先 <emphasis>停一下</emphasis>。实际上，如果您把学习 Dasher 想像成开车，而不是一般的计算机操作，可能会学得更快些。例如，使用的方法不是靠拖拽，而是靠掌握方向：如果开汽车像操作计算机那样，您就不得不 <quote>点击</quote> 您想要走的一条路，再把它 <quote>拖拽</quote> 到合适地方。但在开汽车时，当您想要向右转时，只需将方向盘打向右边即可。Dasher 同样也不是通过拖拽来操作的， <emphasis>不要试图抓住字母并拖拽它们，只要设法引导它们过来即可。</emphasis>

en: <emphasis>The single most important concept</emphasis> that a novice user needs to understand is that one should always continue <emphasis>inside</emphasis> the text written so far: to select the book that contains <quote>all</quote>; as its first word, one does <emphasis>not</emphasis> enter the <quote>a</quote>; section of the library, then exit the <quote>;a</quote>; section, and enter the ,<quote>l</quote>; section. One enters the <quote>a</quote>; section, then finds the <quote>al</quote>; section that is <emphasis>within</emphasis> the <quote>a</quote>; section, then enters the <quote>all</quote>; section <emphasis>within</emphasis> the <quote>al</quote>; section.
zh: <emphasis>首先</emphasis> 新手需要明白的是，文本的书写要层层 <emphasis>深入</emphasis>：我们在图书馆里找一本 <quote>all</quote> 开头的书，<emphasis>不是</emphasis>先进到 <quote>a</quote> 部分，然后出来再进到 <quote>l</quote> 部分。而是进到 <quote>a</quote> 部分后，继续在 <quote>a</quote> 部分<emphasis>里面</emphasis>找到 <quote>al</quote> 部分，然后在 <quote>al</quote> 里面找到 <quote>all</quote>。

en: It's just like finding a name in a phonebook. To find <quote><computeroutput>Alison</computeroutput></quote>;, you don't go to the <quote><computeroutput>A</computeroutput></quote>; section of the phonebook, then the <quote>;<computeroutput>L</computeroutput></quote>; section: you go into the <quote><computeroutput>A</computeroutput></quote>; section, then find <emphasis>within it</emphasis> the <quote><computeroutput>Al</computeroutput></quote>; section, and so forth. Once you are in the <quote><computeroutput>Al</computeroutput></quote>; section, you never leave it.
zh: 这就好像在电话本里查找某个人一样，要找到 <quote><computeroutput>Alison</computeroutput></quote>，您不是找完 <quote><computeroutput>A</computeroutput></quote> 系列，再找 <quote><computeroutput>L</computeroutput></quote> 系列。 而是先查到 <quote><computeroutput>A</computeroutput></quote> 系列，再在它<emphasis>里面</emphasis>找到 <quote><computeroutput>Al</computeroutput></quote> 部分，然后以此类推。进入   <quote><computeroutput>Al</computeroutput></quote> 部分后，您没有出来，而是继续查找。

en: <emphasis>The second most important idea</emphasis> is that what you have written depends <emphasis>only</emphasis> on where you finally end up in the library, not on how you got there; so there is no need to steer accurately on your way to your destination. <emphasis>You are allowed to cut corners.</emphasis> (For example, in the previous image, if you wanted to write `objects_are', it would be fine to move the mouse straight towards the letters `are', even if this takes the mouse across the unwanted grey `i' square.)
zh: <emphasis>其次</emphasis> 输入的内容<emphasis>只</emphasis>取决于您停留的位置，跟经过的路线无关，所以您没必要小心选择到目的地的路线， <emphasis>您可以穿越其他方块</emphasis>(例如，在前面的图片中，如果您想输入 “objects_are”，可以将鼠标直接移向 “are”，不必担心是否穿过了不想输入的灰色 “i” 方块)。

en: <emphasis>Common errors.</emphasis> Often, a beginner who is trying to find a particular letter will drive the display forwards fast while hunting for the letter. The rule of the road for Dasher users is just like that for car-drivers: don't drive forwards until you have identified where you want to go! So, after you have found the first letter of your sentence, and zoomed towards it, please <emphasis>SLOW DOWN and don't proceed any further into this first letter's square until you have figured out where you should be steering towards</emphasis>. Your next letter <emphasis>is</emphasis> there, immediately inside the first square you have entered. The letters are ordered alphabetically. If you can't see your letter, figure out where it must be on the basis of the letters you <emphasis>can</emphasis> see. Then point to the right place and enter the second letter's square.
zh: <emphasis>常见错误</emphasis>。通常，初学者在寻找某个的字母时，会快速滚动屏幕来寻找。对 Dasher 用户来说这条规则就好像是开车一样：在没弄清楚要去的地方之前，先不要开动它！所以，在您找到句子的第一个字母，并将它指引过来后，请务必 <emphasis>放慢速度，不要过分深入到方框内部，在您确定下一个字母位置后再继续移动</emphasis>。您的下一个字母就<emphasis>在</emphasis>那里，就在您刚才进入的第一个方框里面。字母是按顺序排列的，如果您没找着想要的字母， <emphasis>可以</emphasis>根据看到的字母来推测它的位置，然后指向正确的位置并进入到第二个字母方块中。

en: Example
zh: 示例

en: Writing <quote><computeroutput>I once had a whim</computeroutput></quote>;. Where should the user steer now?
zh: 输入 <quote><computeroutput>I once had a whim</computeroutput></quote>。用户该怎样指引呢？

en: Imagine you want to write `<computeroutput>I once had a whim</computeroutput>'. You write `<computeroutput>I once ha...</computeroutput>' and the Dasher display looks like <xref linkend="figHad1"/>. You want to write `<computeroutput>had</computeroutput>'. What should you do? There are lots of letter <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>s on the screen, and all of them are rather small. The five arrows in <xref linkend="figHad1"/> show some of these <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>s. The purple arrow points to a <computeroutput>d</computeroutput> that we can't see yet, but we know it must be there because we can see `<computeroutput>a</computeroutput>', `<computeroutput>b</computeroutput>', and `<computeroutput>c</computeroutput>' above it.
zh: 假设您要输入 “<computeroutput>I once had a whim</computeroutput>”。您输入“<computeroutput>I once ha...</computeroutput>” 后，Dasher 界面类似 <xref linkend="figHad1"/>，此时您想要输入 “<computeroutput>had</computeroutput>”，这时该怎么做呢？屏幕上有许多字母 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，它们还都显示得很小。<xref linkend="figHad1"/> 里的五个箭头指示了一些 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，其中紫色箭头指示的 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，现在还看不出来，但我们肯定它在那儿，因为我们能够看到上面有 “<computeroutput>a</computeroutput>、<computeroutput>b</computeroutput> 和 <computeroutput>c</computeroutput>”。

en: Some alternative letter <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>s, with a beginner's error highlighted
zh: 圈出来的其它 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，是初学者容易犯错的地方

en: A common beginner's mistake is to keep rushing forward and spot <emphasis>any</emphasis> of these letter <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>s, and zoom into it. For example, <xref linkend="figHad3"/> shows what happens if the user zooms towards the <computeroutput>d</computeroutput> highlighted in <xref linkend="figHad2"/>.
zh: 初学者常常犯一个错误，就是无目的地跑向<emphasis>任意</emphasis>的字母 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，然后把它引过来，<xref linkend="figHad3"/> 示范了如果用户把 <xref linkend="figHad2"/> 中圈示的 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，指引过来后出现的情况。

en: What happens when you select the wrong <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>
zh: 当您选错字母 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput> 会发生的情况

en: If you go in this <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>, you are writing `<computeroutput>I
              once </computeroutput><emphasis>head</emphasis><computeroutput>...</computeroutput>'. The other two <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>s labelled by red arrows (in <xref linkend="figHad1"/>) correspond to writing `<computeroutput>I once
              </computeroutput><emphasis>heard</emphasis><computeroutput>...</computeroutput>' and `<computeroutput>I once
            </computeroutput><emphasis>hedge</emphasis><computeroutput>...</computeroutput>'.
zh: 如果您指向了这个 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，输入就变成 “<computeroutput>I
              once </computeroutput><emphasis>head</emphasis><computeroutput>...</computeroutput>”。而另外两个红色箭头指示的 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>(在<xref linkend="figHad1"/>中)，对应输入成了 “<computeroutput>I once
              </computeroutput><emphasis>heard</emphasis><computeroutput>...</computeroutput>” 和 “<computeroutput>I once
            </computeroutput><emphasis>hedge</emphasis><computeroutput>...</computeroutput>”。

en: It is crucial to understand that there is only one correct <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>, namely the <computeroutput>d</computeroutput> that is immediately inside the blue box corresponding to letter `<computeroutput>a</computeroutput>' in the sequence `<computeroutput>I once ha</computeroutput>'. That blue box is highlighted in <xref linkend="figHad4"/>.
zh: 明白只有一个正确的 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput> 是非常重要的，即 “<computeroutput>I once ha</computeroutput>” 之后的，字母 “<computeroutput>a</computeroutput>” 所在蓝色方框内的字母 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>。在 <xref linkend="figHad4"/> 中，圈示的那个蓝色方框。

en: The correct letter <computeroutput>d</computeroutput> is the one marked by the green arrow. This example illustrates the rule <quote>always keep going <emphasis>inside</emphasis> the box that you want</quote>; in this case, the blue box associated with the letter <computeroutput>a</computeroutput> of the word <quote><computeroutput>had</computeroutput></quote>;
zh: 正确的字母 <computeroutput>d</computeroutput>，用绿色箭头指示。这个例子说明了一条重要的规则：<quote>总是在方框<emphasis>内部</emphasis>找下一个字母</quote>。这样以来，蓝色方框 <computeroutput>a</computeroutput> 就与 <quote><computeroutput>had</computeroutput></quote> 相关

en: If you ever leave that blue box (as we did in <xref linkend="figHad3"/>) then we lose the letter `<computeroutput>a</computeroutput>'.
zh: 如果您离开了蓝色方框(如 <xref linkend="figHad3"/> 所示)，那么就会把字母 “<computeroutput>a</computeroutput>” 给弄丢了。

en: Summary
zh: 摘要

en: Don't click. Don't drag. And don't speed.
zh: 不要点击、不要拖拽，不要心急。

en: What do the colours mean?
zh: 颜色表示什么意思？

en: <emphasis>white</emphasis> squares contain the space characters (always placed at the bottom of the alphabet);
zh: <emphasis>白色</emphasis> 方块里是空格(总是放在字母表的最底部)；

en: a special <emphasis>yellow</emphasis> box contains the upper case characters [A-Z];
zh: <emphasis>黄色</emphasis> 方框里包含大写字母 [A-Z]；

en: a <emphasis>red</emphasis> box contains numerals [0-9] (if the full alphabet is enabled);
zh: <emphasis>红色</emphasis> 方框包含数字 [0-9] (如果启用完整字母表)；

en: a <emphasis>green</emphasis> box contains punctuation characters (with the characters most similar to the space character [.,;:-] placed at the bottom, next to the <emphasis>white</emphasis> space character. Within the punctuation section, letters with similar roles are coloured similarly: punctuation characters similar to the period [.,;:-] are coloured slate-blue;
zh: <emphasis>绿色</emphasis> 方框包含标点符号(跟空格相似的字符) [.,;:-]，挨着<emphasis>空格</emphasis>放在底部。在标点部分，类似作用的字符颜色也相似：跟句号相似的符号 [.,;:-] 标记为蓝灰色；

en: the other colours are included simply to discriminate the squares from each other.
zh: 其它颜色只是简单地区分各个方块。

en: In languages with accents (grave, acute, circumflex, etc), the accents are displayed in an <emphasis>orange</emphasis> box.
zh: 具有变音符的语言(闭音符、开音符、长音符等)，变音符显示在 <emphasis>橙色</emphasis> 方框里。

en: In the Japanese version of Dasher, colours are used to distinguish the different hiragana groups (eg ka,ki,ku,ke,ko are orange).
zh: 在 Dasher 的日文版中，颜色用于区分不同的平假名段(如 ka、ki、ku、ke、ko 是橙色）。

en: In the Korean version of Dasher, three different colours are used to distinguish initial consonants, vowels, and terminal consonants.
zh: 在 Dasher 的韩文版本中，用三种不同的颜色区分词首辅音、元音和词尾辅音。

en: In the English-language desktop version 3 of Dasher, <placeholder-1/>
zh: 在 Dasher 的英文桌面版中，<placeholder-1/>

en: You can alter the colour scheme by editing the <computeroutput>colour</computeroutput> and <computeroutput>alphabet</computeroutput> xml files, as described in <xref linkend="personalising"/>.
zh: 您可以通过编辑 <computeroutput>colour</computeroutput> 和 <computeroutput>alphabet</computeroutput> xml 文件来改变颜色方案，详细介绍请参阅 <xref linkend="personalising"/>。

en: How to start dasher (version 4)
zh: 如何启动 dasher (版本 4)

en: Set the dasher application running; when the dasher window comes up, either click the left mouse button or press the space bar to set it going. [One of these two will work.] Repeat this action (click or space), when you are finished, to stop dasher from dashing. Your computer's mouse controls Dasher.
zh: 打开 dasher 应用程序，当 dasher 窗口出现后，点击鼠标左键或按空格键就可以输入了[两种方法都可以] 。当你要结束时，重复这个操作(点击或按空格键)，使dasher停止运行。 您是使用鼠标来操作 Dasher 的。

en: Adjust the speed slider to fix the maximum speed Dasher will zoom at. A speed of 1 is good for a beginner, increasing to 2 after 5 minutes' practice, and to 4 when you are expert.
zh: 调整速度滑块，设置 Dasher 引导字母的最大速度。对初学者设为 1 比较好，经过 5 分钟的练习后可以设为 2，当您能够熟练操作时，可以设为 4。

en: How to start dasher (version 2) on pocket PC
zh: 在掌上电脑如何启动 dasher (版本 2)

en: Install, run (wait a few seconds for it to load up the training file), then touch the screen with the stylus to make dasher move.
zh: 安装、运行(稍等几秒以便它加载训练文件)，然后用手写笔在屏幕上移动来运行 dasher。

en: There are three special strongly-coloured squares in this version of Dasher, coloured yellow, red (in some releases only), and green; all three squares do not produce any character; these squares indicate sub-groupings of the alphabet. (Uppercase Alphabet, Numerals (in some releases only), and Punctuation.)
zh: 此版本的 Dasher 里有三种颜色特别明显的方块，分别是黄色、红色(仅某些发行版)和绿色。这三种颜色的方块都不产生字母，它们指示字母表的子分类(大写字母、数字和标点符号)。

en: How to use Dasher in real life
zh: 如何在生活实际中使用 Dasher

en: Dasher can be used to communicate through your computer, and (to some degree) to control your computer. Obviously, the simplest way to communicate with Dasher is to have the person you're talking to watch the screen as you write. But there are lots of other ways to communicate through Dasher.
zh: 使用 Dasher 可以通过计算机来进行交流，并且(一定程度上)可以控制计算机。显而易见，用 Dasher 最简单的交流方式是，让跟您交谈的这个人看着您输入的屏幕。当然还有许多通过 Dasher 的交流方法。

en: Copy to clipboard
zh: 复制到剪贴板

en: If you have the `copy on stop' feature switched on, then, every time you stop Dasher, the contents of Dasher's text box get copied directly to your computer's clipboard. You can then use the `Paste' function of another application to transfer what you've written.
zh: 如果您有“即停即复制”特性并启用它，那么，每次您停下时，Dasher 文本框里的内容会复制到剪贴板中，然后您可以用“粘贴”命令拷贝到其他程序中。

en: Speaking
zh: 朗读

en: Dasher connects to your computer's built-in text-to-speech system. There are several ways to use Dasher for speaking.
zh: Dasher 能连接到您系统内置的文本朗读系统，有好几种用 Dasher 朗读的方法。

en: You can choose to have Dasher `speak each word': every time you pass through the end of a word (by entering a space character for example), that word gets spoken immediately.
zh: 您可以选择让 Dasher “朗读词语”：每当您输入一个单词后(例如输入一个空格)，就会立即朗读它。

en: You can also choose to have Dasher `speak on stop': every time you stop Dasher moving, everything that is in the text box gets spoken.
zh: 您还可以选择让 Dasher “停止时朗读”：每当您停止移动时，就会朗读文本框里的内容。

en: Finally, you can speak exactly when you want to by switching on <emphasis>Control Mode</emphasis> (which is under the Options Menu in Dasher version 3). This mode brings up an extra box in the Dasher alphabet, coloured grey, which works a bit like an escape key on a keyboard. If you go inside the Control box, you will find several control-related options: Stop (red); pause (yellow); Move; Delete; and Speak. Inside the Speak box are the options to `speak everything', `speak new' (just the new words that you wrote since the last utterance), and `speak again' (which re-speaks whatever was last spoken).
zh: 最后，您可以切换到 <emphasis>控制模式</emphasis>(版本 3 在选项菜单里) 来控制何时朗读。这种模式下，Dasher 字母表中多出一个方框，颜色是灰色的，它的方式有些像键盘上的 Esc 键。如果您进入到控制方框，就会看到几个控制相关选项：停止(红色)、暂停(黄色)、移动、删除和朗读。进入朗读方框里，有几个选项分别是“朗读全部”、“朗读新词”(上次读完之后又输入的)，以及“重复朗读”(重新朗读刚才读过的内容)。

en: Save to file
zh: 保存到文件

en: You can save whatever is in the text box of Dasher as a plain text file by clicking the `Save file' icon in the icon bar, or using the menus at the top of the Dasher window (selecting File then Save).
zh: 您可以点击“保存”按钮，将 Dasher 文本框里的内容存储为一个文本文件，或者使用窗口顶部的菜单(选择文件 - 保存)。

en: Send text to other window
zh: 发送文本到其他窗口

en: You can also have whatever is written in Dasher be directly beamed to another window. Enable the `send text to other window' option under the options menu. Then the window that you select will get Dasher's output.
zh: 您也可以把 Dasher 中输入的内容，直接发送到其他窗口。在选项菜单中启用“发送文本到其他窗口”。然后在 Dasher 中输入内容将发送到您选中的窗口里。

en: Font sizes
zh: 字体大小

en: Dasher has a text box (where the text appears) and a Dasher canvas (where all the fun zooming action happens). You can change the font sizes of both these regions using the Dasher menus at the top of the Dasher window. The two fonts are called the `Edit font' (for the text box's font), and the `Dasher font', I think. (I forget the exact menu names in Dasher version 3, sorry.) To change the edit font size bring up the usual dialog box and change size. To change the Dasher canvas size, find the Dasher-size option, which offers three to choose from, named something like: small, medium, and large.
zh: Dasher 有一个文本框(输入的内容显示在这里)，和 Dasher 工作区(指引字母的有越场所)。您可以在窗口顶部的 Dasher 菜单中更改它们的字体大小。这两种字体称为“编辑框字体(用于文本框的字体)”和 “Dasher 字体”，我想是这两个(抱歉我不大记得在版本 3 里的确切菜单名)。要更改编辑框的字体，在常规对话框中更改，要更改 Dasher 工作区字体，找到 Dasher 字体大小选项，里面应该有三个选项：小、中、大。

en: Personalizing Dasher
zh: 个性化 Dasher

en: There are three classes of files you can tweak in order to make Dasher work better for you: <computeroutput>alphabet</computeroutput> files, <computeroutput>colour</computeroutput> files, and <computeroutput>training</computeroutput> files.
zh: 您可以配置三种文件，使得 Dasher 操作更加得心应手：<computeroutput>字母表</computeroutput> 文件、 <computeroutput>颜色</computeroutput> 文件，以及 <computeroutput>训练</computeroutput> 文件。

en: Personalizing the language model
zh: 个性化语言模型

en: Dasher's predictions (in version 3 of Dasher) are based not on a dictionary but on a training text of ordinary text. For example, when you download Dasher version 3, it comes with a file called <filename>training_english_GB.txt</filename>. This is 300 kbytes of ordinary English harvested from various documents on the Internet.
zh: Dasher 的预测(版本3)不是基于字典而是一个训练文本。例如，如果您下载的是版本 3，附带一个 <filename>training_english_GB.txt</filename> 文件，这是从网上搜集到的常用英语词汇，大约 300KB。

en: If possible, provide Dasher with a training text in your own style -- a plain text file made from documents you have written before, and containing your own pet phrases, friends' names, and so forth. Either append this file to the training file, or replace the original training file.
zh: 如果可能的话，请给 Dasher 提供一个您自己风格的训练文本 -- 您以前录入的文本文件，里面包含个人的常用语、好友姓名等等。既可以把它添加到训练文件中，也可以用它来替换训练文件。

en: If you think your personal training file may have become corrupted with rubbish text, edit it using any plain text editor. (Or ask a friend to do this for you.)
zh: 如果您觉得个人训练文件可能有许多错误词语，变得不太好用了，可以用一个常见的文本编辑器来编辑它(或者请您的朋友来帮您操作)。

en: If you use Dasher for many months, the personal training file may become so large that Dasher becomes slow to start up; if so, edit the training file using a plain text editor.
zh: 在您使用 Dasher 几个月后，个人训练文件可能会变得非常大，以至于影响到 Dasher 的启动速度，这时也可以用文本编辑器来修改它。

en: When you use Dasher, it stores everything you write in another personal file with the same name as the training file. Next time you use Dasher, it reads in the original training file and everything you wrote last time, to help it predict better. Dasher learns all the time. To get the best results from Dasher: <placeholder-1/>
zh: 在您使用 Dasher 过程中，它会把您输入的内容存储到一个跟训练文件同名的个人文件中。在您下次使用 Dasher 时，它会读取原来的训练文件和您自己的训练文件，以便预测得更好。Dasher 一直在学习，要获得最佳效果：<placeholder-1/>

en: Personalizing the alphabet
zh: 个性化字母表

en: Which characters are available to you, and their order, is determined by the alphabet file. For example, you might use <filename>alphabet.english.xml</filename>. Dasher comes with many alternative alphabets. You can edit alphabet files to change which characters are in the alphabet, or their order. When you edit this xml file, it might be a good idea to save the new file with a new name and change the name of the alphabets in the new file, to avoid confusion. Each field in the xml file specifies a symbol by three items: the character that should be <emphasis>displayed</emphasis> (<computeroutput>d=</computeroutput>...); the character that goes into the <emphasis>text</emphasis> when this symbol is selected (<computeroutput>t=</computeroutput>...); and the background colour number of the box for this symbol (<computeroutput>b=</computeroutput>...), of which more below.
zh: 字母表用来检测哪些字母可用、排列顺序如何。例如，您可以使用 <filename>alphabet.english.xml</filename>。Dasher 附带了多种其他字母表。您可以编辑字母表文件，设定字母表中包含哪些字符，或者它们的顺序。一个很好的建议是，重命名原先的字母表文件，再把新文件保存为字母表文件。为了防止混乱，xml 文件里的每个字段都指定了一个符号，有三项：用于 <emphasis>显示</emphasis> 的字符(<computeroutput>d=</computeroutput>...)，用于选中进入 <emphasis>文本框</emphasis> 的字符(<computeroutput>t=</computeroutput>...)，以及这个字符所在方框的颜色号(<computeroutput>b=</computeroutput>...)，在更下面。

en: Personalizing the colour scheme
zh: 个性化颜色方案

en: You can change the colours of the Dasher world in two ways. The colour file (for example <filename>colour.xml</filename> or <filename>colour.euroasian.xml</filename>) specifies the 200 colours in the palette that Dasher uses. Each line specifies red, green, blue values.
zh: 您可以用两种方法来更改 Dasher 单词的颜色：颜色文件(如 <filename>colour.xml</filename> 或 <filename>colour.euroasian.xml</filename>)指定了 200 种 Dasher 使用的颜色，每行指定了红、绿、蓝的值。

en: These colours are used to colour multiple objects in dasher. If for example you want to change the colour of the <quote>red line</quote>;, change the second colour line of the colour file, which reads <computeroutput>&lt;colour r="255"
              g="0" b="0"/&gt;</computeroutput>.
zh: 这些颜色用于在 dasher 中标识多个对象。如果您想更改 <quote>红色线</quote>，在颜色文件中更改第二行，也就是 <computeroutput>&lt;colour r="255"
              g="0" b="0"/&gt;</computeroutput>。

en: You can change which of these colours is used for each symbol's box by changing the <quote>b</quote>; field for that symbol in the alphabet file.
zh: 您可以更改那些用于各个字符所在方框的颜色，在字母表文件中更改那个字符的 <quote>b</quote> 字段。

en: Languages
zh: 语言

en: Dasher works in hundreds of languages.
zh: Dasher 可以用几百种语言工作。

en: For each language there is an alphabet file (or possibly more than one alphabet file). On the Dasher website we aim to supply at least one training text for each language. If we don't have a good training text for your language, please help us by making one and sending it to us.
zh: 对于每一种语言都有一个字母表文件(或许更多)。在 Dasher 网站上，我们为每种语言至少提供了一个训练文件。如果上面的没有适合您语言的训练文本，请帮助我们制作一个，并发送给我们。

en: See the Dasher website for the list of languages supported by Dasher. As of October 2005, all the major languages of the world are well supported, with the exception of Japanese and Chinese, for which Dasher version 3 offers only phonetic support (hiragana and pin-yin). In Dasher version 4, we will provide full support for Japanese and Chinese.
zh: 看一下 Dasher 网站止的语言支持列表。到2005年10月，除了中文和日文之外，所有世界上的主要语种都得到很好地支持，Dasher V3 只支持语音(平假名和拼音)。在 Dasher V4，我们提供了中文和日文的完整支持。

en: Dasher Special Needs Guide
zh: Dasher 特殊用品手册

en: Dasher is designed on the principle of getting <emphasis>as much information as possible</emphasis> from the gestures you can make.
zh: Dasher 设计原则是，为您使用的手势 <emphasis>提供尽可能多的信息</emphasis>。

en: <emphasis>Continuous</emphasis> gestures (conveyed via a joystick, trackpad, head mouse, or gaze tracker, for example) often achieve the highest rates of writing.
zh: <emphasis>连续的</emphasis> 手势(例如，使用操纵杆、触摸板、头盔式鼠标或者眼动仪)，常常能够达到高效的输入操作。

en: <emphasis>Discrete</emphasis> gestures (switches, button presses) may be able to convey information in three different ways:
zh: <emphasis>不连续</emphasis> 手势(开关、按钮操作)，可以用三种不同方法传送信息：

en: The <emphasis>time</emphasis> at which you press a button can convey information. (This idea is used in grid systems controlled by a single button.)
zh: 您按下一个可以传输信息按钮的 <emphasis>时间</emphasis>(这一般是用在单按钮控制的网格系统中)。

en: <emphasis>How long</emphasis> you press a button for can convey information. (This idea is used in Morse code, where two durations are distinguished.)
zh: 您按下一个可以传输信息按钮 <emphasis>多长时间</emphasis>(这一般是用在莫尔斯电码，两个著名的点划)。

en: The <emphasis>choice</emphasis> of <emphasis>which</emphasis> button you press can convey information. (This idea is used in ordinary keyboards.)
zh: <emphasis>选择</emphasis> 您按下的 <emphasis>哪一个</emphasis> 按钮可以传输信息(这一般用在普通键盘上)。

en: We can get information from whichever of the following is easiest for you: <placeholder-1/>
zh: 我们从下面任意一个都可以获得最简信息： <placeholder-1/>

en: Continuous gestures
zh: 连续手势

en: Dasher's normal mode (<emphasis>mouse mode</emphasis>) is driven by a two-dimensional continuous steering gesture. Dasher also has a <emphasis>one-dimensional mode</emphasis>, for users who can control only one dimension.
zh: Dasher 普通模式(<emphasis>鼠标模式</emphasis>) 是由二维连续的手势来指引操作。Dasher 对于那些只能进行一维控制的用户，也可以使用 <emphasis>一维模式</emphasis>。

en: Can you make one or two continuous gestures? If you can operate a joystick, mouse, trackpad, or rollerball, then you have a two-dimensional control. If you can point on a touch-screen then that's perfect too. Can you move your nose around? If you can shake your head, that's a one-dimensional control; if you can nod, that's two. A head-mouse can be quite cheap, and it is a convenient way to drive Dasher. (We recommend the <emphasis>SmartNav3</emphasis> from NaturalPoint, which costs about $200, and works under microsoft windows only; this device used to be called the NavPoint TrackIR until 2002, when that brand name was transferred to a different device. We also recommend the Origin instruments <emphasis>Headmouse Extreme</emphasis>, which costs about $1000; it works as a USB mouse on any computer.) Can you waggle one finger or one foot? These head-mice can be used to track fingers and feet as well as heads. For a detailed comparison of SmartNav3 with Headmouse Extreme, please see <ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/Headmouse.html" type="http">http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/Headmouse.html</ulink>.
zh: 您能够进行一个或两个连续的手势吗？如果您能够使用一个操纵杆、鼠标、触摸板或者轨迹球，那么您可以使用二维模式控制。如果您点画触摸屏，那么也是很好的。您能够点头或者摇头吗？如果您能够摇头，那就是一维控制模式，如果能点头，那也是。头戴式鼠标可能会便宜，它可以很方便地控制 Dasher。(推荐 NaturalPoint 的<emphasis>SmartNav3</emphasis>，大约200美元，只能在 Microsoft Windows 下使用，在2002年以前被称作 NavPoint TrackIR，后来这个商标名给了另一个设备。我们也推荐 Origin 工具 <emphasis>Headmouse Extreme</emphasis>，大约1000美元，它在计算机上使用一个 USB 鼠标)。您是否有手或脚的震颤？头戴式鼠标可以跟手操作一样好。关于 SmartNav3 和 Headmouse Extreme 的对比，请参阅 <ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/Headmouse.html" type="http">http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/Headmouse.html</ulink>。"

en: If you are severely paralysed, the best option may be a gaze tracker. Do you have control of where your eyes are looking? With a gaze tracker we can write at 25 words per minute. Gaze trackers are quite expensive: we paid $2000 for the QuickGlance from EyeTech Digital Systems, and the Tobii eyetracker costs about $20,000. [We recommend both of these systems. You attach QuickGlance to an existing computer; Quickglance II costs about $4000. Tobii is a complete computer with built-in eyetracking cameras.] Dasher also works with the Eye response <emphasis>Erica</emphasis>, with LC's <emphasis>Eyegaze</emphasis>, and with Metrovision's gaze-tracker. All three of these systems are complete computers with eye-tracking cameras attached.
zh: 如果您有严重的麻痹症，最好是选用眼动仪。您试过用眼睛来控制吗？使用眼动仪我们每分钟可以输入25个词语。眼动仪有些贵：EyeTech Digital Systems 的  QuickGlance 要2000美元，Tobii 眼动仪大概要20000美元[推荐使用这些系统，连接QuickGlance 到一个计算机上，Quickglance II 大约4000美元。Tobii 本身是一台计算机，内置眼动仪摄像头]。Dasher 也可以与眼球响应的 <emphasis>Erica</emphasis>，与 LC 的 <emphasis>Eyegaze</emphasis>，还与 Metrovision 的眼动仪一同工作。这三个系统本身都是计算机与眼动仪摄像头组合在一起。

en: If joysticks, mice, rollerballs, and gaze trackers don't work, there may be a few other ways to convey a continuous one-dimensional signal. Lips and eyebrows should both work, though we don't know of any manufacturer selling appropriate devices. Breath is a one-dimensional signal too. If you can control your breath, it should be possible to make a breath mouse for you. We made our $22 breath mouse using a USB optical mouse, a belt, and some elastic, and our most experienced user can write at 15 words per minute by breath alone.
zh: 如果操纵杆、鼠标、轨迹球和眼动仪都不能工作，还有一些其他方法可以传输连续的一维信号。嘴唇和眉毛应该可以工作，即使我们不知道一些厂商生产的合适的设备。呼吸也是一维信号。如果您能够控制呼吸，也有可能为您制作一个呼吸鼠标。我们花22美元制作了一个 USB 光电鼠标，一个带子，一些橡皮筋，并且只使用呼吸，最熟练的用户可以每分钟输入15个词语。

en: Starting and stopping
zh: 开始和停止

en: There are several ways of starting and stopping Dasher. Pressing a button (for example, the left mouse button or the space bar) is one option. But if you can not press any buttons, it's possible to start and stop using only continuous gestures: in the options menu, select <quote>start on position</quote>; and switch on <quote>control mode</quote>;. When control mode is switched on, the Dasher alphabet includes a special Control node (a bit like an <computeroutput>Esc</computeroutput> key on a keyboard), within which various control functions are available. When you are inside the control node, Dasher moves more slowly than normal, for safety. The control node options include `pause' and `stop'. Use `pause' if you are half-way through writing something, and want to pause for a moment. Use `stop' when you have finished. <command>Pause</command> and <command>stop</command> produce the same behaviour, except <command>stop</command> may cause other automatic actions, such as `speak on stop', or `copy the text on stop'.
zh: 有多种方法可以启动和停止 Dasher。可以按一下按钮(如，鼠标左键或空格键)。还可以用一个连续的手势来启动和停止：在选项菜单里，选中 <quote>在一个位置启动</quote>，选择一个 <quote>控制模式</quote>，选好控制模式后，Dasher 的字母表中出现一个控制点(就像键盘上的 Esc 键)，里面包含不同的控制功能。当进入这个控制点后，Dasher 的移动比平时要慢，这样操作会安全些。控制点选项包括“暂停”和“停止”。如果您写了一半想暂停一会，可以使用“暂停”功能。如果写完了，就可以使用“停止”功能。 <command>暂停</command> 和 <command>停止</command> 产生相同的效果，只是 <command>停止</command> 可能导致其他自动操作，比如“停止时朗读” 或 “停止时复制”。

en: When Dasher is paused or stopped, it can be restarted using any of the starting methods that are enabled. If `start on position' is enabled, then whenever Dasher is stopped a sequence of large targets will be displayed; you restart Dasher by pointing at (or looking at) the first (red) target, then the second (yellow) target. (We use two targets in sequence to make it difficult to start Dasher by accident.)
zh: Dasher 暂停或停止后，可以使用任何一种可用的启动方法来重新开始输入。如果选中了“在一个位置开始”，那么每当 Dasher 停止时，会显示一个大的目标区域，您可以把指针移到(或者注视)这个目标(红色)，等它变成第二个目标(黄色)。我们用两个顺序目标区域来防止无意中启动了 Dasher。

en: Recommendations for head-tracking
zh: 介绍头部跟踪器

en: Many trackers have `smoothing' options, which determine the frequency with which the mouse position is updated; these options are normally used to smooth and damp down the mouse motion. For Dasher, we don't want such smoothing. We like instant, live, raw and jerky mouse coordinates. If there is a `smoothing' control, turn it right down.
zh: 许多跟踪器都有一个“平滑”选项，用以设定鼠标位置变化的频率，这个选项通常用于平滑和抑制鼠标的运动。对于 Dasehr，我们不要求那样的平滑。我们想要立即、实时、准确和快速的鼠标位置。如果有“平滑”控制，请立刻关闭它。

en: The `gain' (sometimes called the `speed') of the head-tracker is also an important setting to adjust. Some trackers' gains can be adjusted in software. You can also adjust the gain by changing the geometry of your tracker: if you move the tracked dot from your forehead to the brim of a baseball cap, for example, then you roughly double the gain. Sitting closer to the tracker may also increase the gain. Find a gain setting that is comfortable. I like high gain because it allows me to steer with very small head motions.
zh: 头部跟踪器的“增益”(有时叫“速度”)，也是一个重要的设置选项。一些跟踪器的“增益”可以用软件来调节。您也可以通过跟踪器的三角测量来调节增益：如果您把跟踪点从额头移到头盔的边缘，粗略可以得到两倍增益，设置跟踪器更近也可以增大它。找到一个最合适的增益设置。我喜欢较高的增益，因为这样就可以用很小的头部动作来指引输入。

en: Recommendations for gaze-tracking
zh: 介绍眼动仪

en: For good results with gaze trackers, we strongly recommend that the gaze-tracker be made to be as responsive as possible. Many trackers have `smoothing' options, which determine the frequency with which the mouse position is updated and the number of successive gaze images used to estimate the mouse position. These options are normally used to smooth and damp down the mouse motion. For Dasher, we don't want such smoothing. We like instant, live, raw and jerky mouse coordinates. When you are navigating, your eye moves very quickly to the target you are interested in, and we want Dasher to respond instantly. The ideal settings for Dasher may be very different from the ideal settings for other software. Ask your eyetracker manufacturer to make it easy to change the settings when switching application.
zh: 为了让眼动仪得到好的效果，我们强烈建议眼动仪是应答式的。许多跟踪器都有一个“平滑”选项，用以设定鼠标位置变化的频率，以及连续注视图片用于估算鼠标位置的时间。这个选项通常用于平滑和抑制鼠标的运动。对于 Dasehr，我们不要求那样的平滑。我们想要立即、实时、准确和快速的鼠标位置。在您操纵时，您的眼睛会非常快地移到感兴趣的目标，我们要求 Dasher 能迅速响应。想要完美地设置 Dasher，可能与其他软件的完美设置非常不同，在切换应用程序时，请咨询您的厂商让更改设置变得容易些。

en: Dasher has several options designed for use with gaze-trackers. We recommend using <emphasis>eyetracker mode</emphasis> (under Options/Preferences/Control). In this mode, the dynamics of Dasher are slightly different from standard dynamics, making error-correction easier by gaze.
zh: Dasher 有一些用于眼动仪的选项，我们建议使用 <emphasis>眼动仪模式</emphasis> (选项/首选项/控制)。在这个模式中，Dasher 的动态与标准动态略有不同，让注视的纠错变得更容易。

en: If your gaze-tracker's calibration drifts with time, for example when your head moves, then you should select the <emphasis>Autocalibrate eyetracker</emphasis> feature. When this feature is switched on, Dasher keeps track of your steering and infers the vertical calibration error, and corrects for it. You can see this correction taking effect by noticing the vertical offset between the mouse position as displayed by Dasher (by the tip of the red line) and the gaze-tracker's mouse position (shown by the system's mouse cursor).
zh: 如果您是用时间来校准漂移，例如，当您的头部移动头时，您应当选择 <emphasis>自动校准眼动仪</emphasis> 特性。当开启这个特性后，Dasher 会一直跟踪您的操作，推测出垂直校准错误并纠正它。您可以通过 Dasher 显示的(通过红线的提示)鼠标位置和眼动仪鼠标位置(通过系统鼠标指针)之间的垂直偏移来观察效果。

en: To avoid difficulties with the mouse being bounded by the top and bottom of the screen, we recommend choosing a window size for Dasher that is <emphasis>not</emphasis> full-screen in size. Place the Dasher window so that there is a margin above and below the Dasher canvas.
zh: 为了避免鼠标在屏幕顶部和底部之间来回移动的困难，我们推荐 <emphasis>不要</emphasis> 为 Dasher 选择全屏幕大小。让 Dasher 在窗口中运行，以便在工作区的上边和下边有空白区。

en: <emphasis>Technical note:</emphasis> As well as through mouse emulation, Dasher is able to receive tracking information from gaze trackers, head trackers, or similar systems directly by means of a system socket. This option can be configured in the 'Input Device' section of the 'preferences' dialogue.
zh: <emphasis>技术要点：</emphasis> 同鼠标移动相同，Dasher 也可以从眼动仪、头部跟踪器或直接依靠一个系统插座的简单系统来接收轨迹信息。这个选项可以配置 “首选项” 对话框的 “输入设备” 区段。

en: Discrete Gestures
zh: 不连续的手势

en: We have several versions of <emphasis>button Dasher</emphasis>, available in Dasher Version 4.
zh: 我们在 Dasher V4 中，有多个 <emphasis>按钮 Dasher</emphasis> 的版本。

en: Are time-critical gestures not an option?
zh: 没有时序手势选项吗？

en: Some ways of conveying information make use of the <emphasis>timing</emphasis> of gestures. However, some people can't make gestures at a required instant. For example, spastics find it very difficult to do an action `exactly now!'
zh: 有一些传输信息的方法是根据手势的 <emphasis>定时性</emphasis>。比如，有些人不能让手势立即跟上自己的想法，痉挛患者往往很难“立即”做到一个动作。

en: If time-critical gestures are not an option, go to <xref linkend="no_time_critical"/>.
zh: 如果没有时序手势这个选项，请转到 <xref linkend="no_time_critical"/>。

en: If you <emphasis>can</emphasis> convey information by <emphasis>precisely timed</emphasis> gestures, go to section <xref linkend="timed"/>.
zh: 如果您<emphasis>能够</emphasis>通过 <emphasis>精确时间</emphasis> 的手势传输信息，请转到 <xref linkend="timed"/>。

en: `Timeless' choices of Dasher
zh: Dasher 的“不受时间约束”模式

en: If so, try <emphasis>click mode</emphasis>. Go to <xref linkend="time_critical_button"/>.
zh: 如果那样，试试 <emphasis>点击模式</emphasis>。请转到 <xref linkend="time_critical_button"/>。

en: Otherwise try <emphasis>direct button mode</emphasis> or <emphasis>menu button mode</emphasis>. Go to <xref linkend="no_time_critical_button"/>.
zh: 否则请尝试 <emphasis>直接按钮模式</emphasis> 或者 <emphasis>菜单按钮模式</emphasis>。请转到 <xref linkend="no_time_critical_button"/>。

en: So, you want to steer Dasher at your own pace. Can you make fairly-accurate continuous gestures, given time? For example, can you position a pointer accurately on a screen, then press a button to indicate that you are ready? Or can you touch a touch-screen fairly accurately? <placeholder-1/>
zh: 因此，如果您想用自己的速度来操控 Dashe，请确认您可以轻松自如做出连续的手势吗？例如，您能够精确将指针移到屏幕任意点，并且点击鼠标表明自己已经准备好了？或者您能够精确感触触摸屏吗？ <placeholder-1/>

en: `Timeless' continuous Dasher: click mode
zh: “不受时间影响”的 Dasher 操控：点击模式

en: In <emphasis>click mode</emphasis>, you position the mouse pointer where you want to go, then press a button when you are ready. Dasher then zooms in on the position you chose.
zh: 在 <emphasis>点击模式</emphasis> 中，把鼠标移到想去地方，准备好以后就按一下。Dasher 会从您放鼠标的位置开始引导字母。

en: Alternatively, if you have a touch screen, a single touch on the screen initiates a zoom to that position.
zh: 另外，如果你使用触摸屏，点触一下屏幕，就会从所在位置引导字母。

en: `Timeless' choices of Button Dasher
zh: Dasher “不受时间约束”模式的按钮选择

en: How many different switches, keys, or buttons can you easily operate?
zh: 您可以轻松操作多少种开关、按键、按钮？

en: With just one button, the only timeless way to convey information is by the <emphasis>duration</emphasis> of your button-presses. Can you make a distinction between short presses and long presses? If so, you can use <emphasis>menu button-Dasher</emphasis>. Connect up your short press to the `menu' action, and your long press to the `select' action.
zh: 对于只用一个按钮的不受时间约束模式，唯一方法是用您按住按钮的 <emphasis>持续时间</emphasis> 来传输信息，您能够分别操作短按和长按吗？如果行的话，您可以使用 <emphasis>Dasher 菜单按钮模式</emphasis>，短按关联“菜单”动作，长按关联“选择”动作。

en: You can use <emphasis>menu button-Dasher</emphasis>. Connect one button to the `menu' action, and the other to the `select' action. If one button is easier to press, make that button the `menu' button.
zh: 您可以使用 <emphasis>Dasher 按钮菜单模式</emphasis>。一个按钮关联到“菜单”动作，另一个关联到“选择”动作，把能轻松按的按钮，关联到“菜单”按钮上。

en: If you can easily press two buttons, and, for special occasions, you are able to press a third button, you can use <emphasis>menu button-Dasher</emphasis> or <emphasis>direct button-Dasher</emphasis>.
zh: 如果您能够轻松按两个按钮，并且，在特别场合，您可以按第三个按钮，您既可以用 <emphasis>Dasher 按钮菜单模式</emphasis>，也可以用 <emphasis>Dasher 直接按钮模式</emphasis>。

en: Set up <emphasis>menu button-Dasher</emphasis> as described above, and use the third button as your escape key -- to make Dasher go away, for example. [This feature is not currently provided within Dasher.]
zh: 设置 <emphasis>Dasher 按钮菜单模式</emphasis> 在前面已经讲过，而使用第三个按钮作为您的退出键 -- 例如，这可以让 Dasher 离开。[当前 Dasher 还没有提供此特性]

en: In <emphasis>direct button-Dasher</emphasis>, each button produces a particular navigation action such as `up', `down', or `back'. If you have 2.5 buttons, map the convenient two to `up' and `down', and the inconvenient button to `back'.
zh: 在 <emphasis>Dasher 直接按钮模式</emphasis> 中，每个按钮产生一个特定的访问动作，比如“上”、“下”或“后退”。如果您有2.5个按钮，映射方便的两个为“上”和“下”，不太方便的映射为“后退”。

en: You can use <emphasis>direct button-Dasher</emphasis> or <emphasis>menu button-Dasher</emphasis> as described above.
zh: 您可以使用上面描述的 <emphasis>Dasher 直接按钮模式</emphasis> 或 <emphasis>Dasher 菜单按钮模式</emphasis>。

en: 4, 5, 6, or 7
zh: 4、5、6 或 7

en: With more than three buttons, you have the option to use <emphasis>direct button-Dasher</emphasis> with three, four, five, or six `forward' directions. Please try <emphasis>menu button-Dasher</emphasis> too, even though it uses only two buttons.
zh: 对于多于三个按钮的情况，您可以使用 <emphasis>Dasher 直接按钮模式</emphasis>。对于三、四、五 或 六个“前进”方向，也请试试 <emphasis>Dasher 按钮菜单模式</emphasis>，甚至可以考虑仅使用两个按钮。

en: 8 or more
zh: 8 或更多

en: Try <emphasis>direct button-Dasher</emphasis> and <emphasis>menu button-Dasher</emphasis>. With this many buttons, you also have the option of using a system like T9 -- the predictive-text system found on many mobile phones. You may wish to investigate <emphasis>Tapir</emphasis>, a disambiguating on-screen keyboard from the developers of Dasher.
zh: 试试 <emphasis>Dasher 直接按钮模式</emphasis> 和 <emphasis>Dasher 按钮菜单模式</emphasis>。对于这种多按钮，您也可以使用像 T9 这样的系统 -- 基于多种移动电话的文本预测系统，一个来自 Dasher 开发者的高分辨屏幕键盘。

en: Button Dashers that exploit timing
zh: 利用定时的 Dasher 模式

en: There are two Dasher modes which make use of precise timing information, and generally require fewer button presses than the nn-time-critical modes:
zh: Dasehr 有两种利用精确定时的模式，与无时序手势模式相比，通常只需要很少的按钮：

en: (One button) dynamic mode
zh: (单按钮)动态模式

en: When started, Dasher will zoom towards a point towards the top or bottom of the display. A short button press will switch the point of zoom to the opposite side. Text can be entered by pressing the button when the desired phrase reaches the edge of the display.
zh: 运行时，Dasher 将朝着显示区的顶部或底部的一个指针引导。短按一下将切换指针到相反的方向。当想要的文本到达显示区的边缘时，按一下按钮就可以输入。

en: Two button dynamic mode
zh: 两个按钮的动态模式

en: Dasher zooms continuously towards the centre of the screen, with the two buttons being used to shift the display up and down. The buttons should be pressed whenever the desired text is aligned with the two markers.
zh: Dasher 不断朝屏幕中心引导，两个按钮用于切换上下显示。当想要的文本与两个标记对齐时，就应该按下按钮。

en: Correcting errors
zh: 纠错

en: In either dynamic mode, there are three options for error correction: using an additional button, long presses or multiple presses. In all cases these actions will switch to a mode where Dasher unzooms at a fixed rate. In this mode, one more press will stop Dasher and a second press will return Dasher to forward zooming.
zh: 在这两种动态模式中，有三个纠错选项：使用额外的按钮、长按或多次按下。在这种情况下，这些动作 Dasher 将以一个固定速度切换到向后引导的模式。在这个模式下，按一下或几下将会使 Dasher 停止，再按一下 Dasher 又回到向前引导的模式。

en: Summary of Dasher Modes
zh: Dasher 模式摘要

en: The various modes of <application>Dasher</application> are listed below. The mode may be changed via the <emphasis><quote>edit</quote></emphasis> menu. Select <emphasis><quote>Preferences</quote></emphasis> and then <emphasis><quote>Control</quote></emphasis>. Each mode has a number of variable parameters associated with it which can be adjusted using the <emphasis>options</emphasis> button located below the mode menu.
zh: 下面列出了 <application>Dasher</application> 的各种模式，可以通过 <emphasis><quote>编辑</quote></emphasis> 菜单来更改，点菜单 <emphasis><quote>首选项</quote></emphasis>，然后选 <emphasis><quote>控制</quote></emphasis>。每种模式都有一些可用的相关参数，可以在模式下面的 <emphasis>选项</emphasis> 里进行调整。

en: Normal
zh: 普通模式

en: The original <application>Dasher</application> mode. Functions using a two dimensional steering gesture, from a mouse, say. A one-dimensional mode is also available, for those who may not be able to control two-dimensions, and a special eyetracker mode is available for those using Dasher with a gaze or head tracker. Dasher can be started using mouse position alone if clicking is not possible - select 'Start on Mouse Position' and 'Circle Start' to allow starting and stopping by dwelling in the circle in the centre of the display. The 'Two Box' start mode starts Dasher by dwelling in the two boxes in sequence. In the latter case stopping must be done through control mode.
zh: <application>Dasher</application> 的最初模式。一般说，是通过鼠标手势的二维模式来完成引导功能。对于那些不能控制二维模式，一维模式也可用，并且对那些使用眼动仪或头部跟踪器控制 Dasher 的用户，有一个专门的的跟踪器模式。如果不能使用点击，Dasher 可以只使用鼠标位置来开始 - 选择“从鼠标位置开始”和“中心圆”，就可以设定只要将指针悬停在显示区中间的圆圈里，就可以开始和停止 Dasher。“两个方框”开始模式的启动，是通过将鼠标悬停在顺序的两个方框里。在后一模式中，停止必须要通过控制模式来完成。

en: Click Mode
zh: 点击模式

en: In <emphasis>click mode</emphasis> you position the mouse pointer where you want to go, then press the button when you are ready. <application>Dasher</application> then zooms into the place where you clicked.
zh: <emphasis>点击模式</emphasis> 将指针放到您想要去的地方，准备好以后按下按钮。<application>Dasher</application> 就会引导点击的地方。

en: Menu Mode
zh: 菜单模式

en: One button is used to select a location, and once a second button is pressed <application>Dasher</application> zooms to that location. The large box occurring last in the cycle is used to zoom out.
zh: 一个按钮用于选择位置，按另一个的时候 <application>Dasher</application> 引导选中的位置。当选择完一圈，停在大方框里，则是用于向后引导纠正错误。

en: Direct Mode
zh: 直接模式

en: Direct mode is similar to menu mode, except boxes are assigned directly to each button rather than being selected in sequence.
zh: 直接模式是简化的菜单模式，方框直接关联到每个按钮，而不是先在区域中选择。

en: Compass Mode
zh: 罗盘模式

en: Compass mode makes use of four buttons. Two buttons are used to control vertical position. When the required vertical position has been reached a third button is pressed to zoom in. After zooming in on the location, the user once more selects vertical position. A forth button zooms out if an error is made.
zh: 罗盘模式使用四个按钮。两个按钮用于控制垂直方位。当到达需要的垂直位置后，按第三个按钮向前引导。引导到位后，用户再次选择垂直位置。第四个按钮用于向后引导纠正错误。

en: (One Button) Dynamic Mode
zh: (单按钮)动态模式

en: <application>Dasher</application> continually zooms in and a single button may be used to move <quote>up</quote> and <quote>down</quote>. There is also a <emphasis>Two Button Dynamic Mode</emphasis> where two buttons are used to control motions <quote>up</quote> and <quote>down</quote>. A third button, long presses or multiple presses can be used to unzoom and correct errors.
zh: <application>Dasher</application> 不断地向前引导，这个按钮用于控制 <quote>向上</quote> 和 <quote>向下</quote>。也有 <emphasis>两个按钮动态模式</emphasis>，二个按钮分别用于 <quote>向上</quote> 和 <quote>向下</quote>。第三个按钮、长按或多按几次，可用于向后引导纠错。

en: Two Button Dynamic Mode
zh: 两个按钮动态模式

en: <application>Dasher</application> continually zooms in, whilst two buttons are used to control vertical motion. Correction is performed in the same way as One button dynamic mode.
zh: <application>Dasher</application> 不断向前引导，同时两个按钮用于控制垂直移动。纠错方法跟单按钮动态模式相同。

en: Authors
zh: 作者

en: <application>Dasher</application> was written by the members of The Dasher Project (<email>dasher@inf.phy.cam.ac.uk</email>). To find more information about it, please visit <application>Dasher's</application><ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/" type="http"> Web page</ulink>. Please send all comments, suggestions, and bug reports to the <ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=dasher" type="http">GNOME bug tracking database</ulink>. Instructions for submitting bug reports can be found on-line at <ulink url="http://bugs.gnome.org/Reporting.html" type="http"> http://bugs.gnome.org/Reporting.html</ulink>. If you are using GNOME 1.1 or later, you can also use command <command>bug-buddy</command> for submitting bug reports.
zh: <application>Dasher</application> 由 Dasher 项目组成员开发(<email>dasher@inf.phy.cam.ac.uk</email>)。更多它的相关信息，请访问 <application>Dasher </application><ulink url="http://www.inference.phy.cam.ac.uk/dasher/" type="http">项目主页</ulink>。请将评论、建议、错误报告发送至 <ulink url="http://bugzilla.gnome.org/enter_bug.cgi?product=dasher" type="http">GNOME bug 跟踪数据库</ulink>。关于提交错误报告的在线指导，可以在 <ulink url="http://bugs.gnome.org/Reporting.html" type="http">http://bugs.gnome.org/Reporting.html</ulink> 上找到。如果您使用 GNOME 1.1 或更早版本，您也可以用 <command>bug-buddy</command> 命令提交错误报告。

en: This manual was written by The Dasher Project (<email>dasher@inf.phy.cam.ac.uk</email>). Please send all comments and suggestions regarding the manual to the GNOME Documentation Project at <email>docs@gnome.org</email>. You can also add your comments online by using <ulink type="http" url="http://www.gnome.org/gdp/doctable/">GNOME Documentation Status Table</ulink>.
zh: 本手册由 Dasher 项目组(<email>dasher@inf.phy.cam.ac.uk</email>)编写。请发送关于本手册的意见和建议到 GNOME 文档项目 <email>docs@gnome.org</email>。您也可以把建议在线添加到 <ulink type="http" url="http://www.gnome.org/gdp/doctable/">GNOME 文档状态表</ulink>。
