0 - en to ko-KR translation catalogue (69 entries)

en: Objective
ko-KR: 목표

en: Means
ko-KR: 의미

en: Operation
ko-KR: 활동

en: Volunteer
ko-KR: 참여

en: The Debian Project
ko-KR: 데비안 프로젝트

en: Before diving right into the technology, let us have a look at what the Debian Project is, its objectives, its means, and its operations.
ko-KR: 세부적인 기술에 대해서 알아보기 전에, 데비안 프로젝트가 무엇인지, 그리고 목적, 의미, 활동에 대해서 알아봅시다.

en: What Is Debian?
ko-KR: 데비안은 무엇입니까?

en: <primary>association</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>협회</primary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Origin of the Debian name
ko-KR: <emphasis>문화</emphasis> 데비안 이름의 기원

en: Look no further: Debian is not an acronym. This name is, in reality, a contraction of two first names: that of Ian Murdock, and his girlfriend at the time, Debra. Debra + Ian = Debian.
ko-KR: 더 자세히 들여다 볼 필요없습니다, Debian은 두음문자가 아니거든요. 이 이름은 두 이름을 합쳐서 만든겁니다. Ian Murdock(데비안 개발자)의 Ian, 그리고 그 당시 그의 여자 친구 이름 Debra를 합친겁니다. Debra + Ian = Debian.

en: Debian is a GNU/Linux distribution. We will discuss what a distribution is in further detail in <xref linkend="sect.role-of-distributions" />, but for now, we will simply state that it is a complete operating system, including software and systems for installation and management, all based on the Linux kernel and free software (especially those from the GNU project).
ko-KR: 데비안은 GNU/Linux 계열입니다. GNU/Linux 계열에 대해서는 <xref linkend="sect.role-of-distributions" />에 대해서 자세히 보실 수 있습니다. 우선 데비안에 대해 간단히 말하자면, 하나의 완전한 운영체제이며, 설치와 관리를 위한 프로그램들이 포함되어 있고, 리눅스 커널과 자유 소프트웨어(GNU 프로젝트) 기반으로 만들어졌습니다.

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> GNU, the project of the FSF
ko-KR: <emphasis>문화</emphasis> FSF의 프로젝트 GNU

en: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary>is Not Unix</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary>는 Unix가 아닙니다</secondary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Richard Stallman
ko-KR: <emphasis>문화</emphasis>리차드 스톨만

en: <primary>Stallman, Richard</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>스톨만, 리차드</primary>

en: A Multi-Platform Operating System
ko-KR: 멀티 플렛폼 운영체제

en: <primary>meta-distribution</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>메타 분포</primary>

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Ian Murdock's journey
ko-KR: <emphasis>단체</emphasis> 이안 머독의 여정

en: <primary>Ian Murdock</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>이안 머독</primary>

en: <primary>Murdock, Ian</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>이안 머독</primary>

en: <primary>Progeny</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>자손</primary>

en: Ian Murdock, founder of the Debian project, was its first leader, from 1993 to 1996. After passing the baton to Bruce Perens, Ian took a less public role. He returned to working behind the scenes of the free software community, creating the Progeny company, with the intention of marketing a distribution derived from Debian. This venture was, sadly, a commercial failure, and development was abandoned. The company, after several years of scraping by, simply as a service provider, eventually filed for bankruptcy in April of 2007. Of the various projects initiated by Progeny, only <emphasis>discover</emphasis> still remains. It is an automatic hardware detection tool.
ko-KR: 데비안 프로젝트의 설립자인 이안 머독은 1993년부터 1996년간 첫 번째 지도자였습니다. 브루스 패랜스에게 그 자리를 넘긴 후에 이안 머독은 덜 대중적인 일을 했습니다. 그는 다시 자유 소프트웨어 재단에서 일을 하면서 은밀히 데비안 계열 프로그램을 마케팅할 자회사를 만들었습니다. 이 모험은 안타갑게도 상업적으로 실패했으며, 그가 해왔던 것은 아무짝에 의미가 없었습니다.  자회사가 이후 몇년간 서비스 제공을 하는 작은 회사로 쪼개지면서, 결국 2007년 4월에 파산신청을 했습니다. 이 회사가 진행한 프로젝트 중에서 자동으로 하드웨어를 감지하는 <emphasis>discover</emphasis> 소프트웨어만이 현재까지 존재합니다.

en: These partial views of Debian are organized in a well-defined framework, thus guaranteeing hassle-free compatibility between the various “sub-distributions”. All of them follow the general planning for release of new versions. And since they build on the same foundations, they can be easily extended, completed, and personalized with applications available in the Debian repositories.
ko-KR: 데비안은 다양한 용도로 개발된 운영체제가 있음에도 불구하고 잘 정돈된 구조를 갖추고 있습니다. 데비안의 모든 버전은 새 배포판의 개발 일정에 맞춰 업데이트 됩니다. 그리고 모두 하나의 데비안으로부터 파생된 버전이기 때문에, 데비안 저장소(Debian repositories)에서 구할 수 있는 프로그램을 통해 쉽게 기능을 확장하거나 개인의 필요에 따라 이용할 수 있습니다.

en: All the Debian tools operate in this direction: <command>debian-cd</command> has for a long time now allowed the creation of a set of CD-ROMs containing only a pre-selected set of packages; <command>debian-installer</command> is also a modular installer, easily adapted to special needs. <command>APT</command> will install packages from various origins, while guaranteeing the overall consistency of the system.
ko-KR: 모든 데비안 툴은 다음과 같은 방식에 따라 작동합니다 : <command>데비안-CD</command>는 오랜 기간 선택된 패키지만 담은 CD만을 사용할 수 밖에 없었습니다. <command>데비안-설치 프로그램</command>는 모듈형 설치 프로그램이며, 특수한 목적에 무리없이 쓰일 수 있습니다. <command>APT</command>는 시스템의 안정성을 유지하면서 패키지를 설치할 것입니다.

en: <primary><command>debian-cd</command></primary>
ko-KR: <primary><command>데비안-CD</command></primary>

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> To each computer, its architecture
ko-KR: <emphasis>차근 차근 배워봅시다!</emphasis> 컴퓨터의 아키텍처

en: <primary>architecture</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>아키텍처</primary>

en: <primary>processor</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>프로세서</primary>

en: <primary>binary code</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>바이너리 코드</primary>

en: <primary>compilation</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>모음</primary>

en: <primary>compiler</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>컴파일러</primary>

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> Installer
ko-KR: <emphasis>도구</emphasis>설치 프로그램

en: <primary><command>debian-installer</command></primary>
ko-KR: <primary><command>데비안 설치 프로그램</command></primary>

en: <command>debian-installer</command> is the name of the Debian installation program. Its modular design allows it to be used in a broad range of installation scenarios. The development work is coordinated on the <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email> mailing list under the direction of Cyril Brulebois.
ko-KR: <command>데비안-installer</command>는 데비안 설치 프로그램입니다. 모듈형으로 제작된 방식덕분에 다양한 방식으로도 쓰일 수 있습니다. 개발 작업은 <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email>에서 자세히 알아보실 수 있습니다(팀장 :  Cyril Brulebois).

en: The Quality of Free Software
ko-KR: 자유 소프트웨어의 질

en: The Legal Framework: A Non-Profit Organization
ko-KR: 법체계 : 비영리 단체

en: Legally speaking, Debian is a project managed by an American not-for-profit, volunteer association. The project has around a thousand <emphasis>Debian developers</emphasis>, but brings together a far greater number of contributors (translators, bug reporters, artists, casual developers, etc.).
ko-KR: 법적으로 데비안 프로젝트는 "American not-for-profit" 자선재단으로부터 관리를 받고 있습니다. 데비안 프로젝트에 약 천명의 <emphasis>데비안 전문 개발자</emphasis>들이 참여하고 있으며, 번역, 버그 제보, 간단한 개발, 등 참여하는 사람들까지 포함하면 매우 많습니다.

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Behind Debian, the SPI association, and local branches
ko-KR: <emphasis>커뮤니티</emphasis> 데비안의 뒷 이야기, SPI 재단 그리고 지역 지점들

en: <primary>Debian France</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>데비안 프랑스</primary>

en: In addition to SPI, various local associations collaborate closely with Debian in order to generate funds for Debian, without centralizing everything in the USA: they are known as “Trusted Organizations” in the Debian jargon. This setup avoids prohibitive international transfer costs, and fits well with the decentralized nature of the project.
ko-KR: SPI는 데비안을 위한 자금을 마련하기 위해서, 미국의 모든 재단을 중앙집권하기보다 다양한 지역 재단과 함께 협력하면서 노력하고 있습니다. 이렇게 모인 재단들은 데비안이 "신뢰된 기관들(Trusted Organizations)"이라고 부릅니다. 이러한 방식은 재단의 국가권 간에 이동 비용(현지화)을 줄일 수 있는 장점이 있으며, 분산된 시스템이라는 성격이 데비안 프로젝트 정신에 어올리기도합니다.

en: The Foundation Documents
ko-KR: 재단 기록(Documents)

en: <primary>Foundation Documents</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>재단의 원칙</primary>

en: A few years after its initial launch, Debian formalized the principles that it should follow as a free software project. This deliberately activist decision allows orderly and peaceful growth by ensuring that all members progress in the same direction. To become a Debian developer, any candidate must confirm and prove their support and adherence to the principles established in the project's Foundation Documents.
ko-KR: 데비안이 설립되고 몇년 후, 자유 소프트웨어 프로젝트의 원칙을 따라야한다고 규정화했습니다. 의도된 이 결정은 데비안 프로젝트의 회원들이 분쟁없이 같은 지향점을 따르도록 해줬습니다. 데비안 개발자가 되고 싶다면, 반드시 자신의 협력을 증명하고 재단의 문서(Foundation Documents)에 명시된 원칙을 따라야합니다.

en: The Commitment towards Users
ko-KR: 사용자에 대한 약속

en: <primary>social contract</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>사회적 계약</primary>

en: <primary>contract, social</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>계약 그리고 사회</primary>

en: Debian will remain 100% free.
ko-KR: 데비안은 100% 무료로 유지될 것입니다.

en: This is Rule No. 1. Debian is and will remain composed entirely and exclusively of free software. Additionally, all software development within the Debian project, itself, will be free.
ko-KR: 규칙 제 1항. 데비안은 완전히 무료이며, 앞으로도 무료로 제공될 것입니다. 또한데비안 프로젝트의 소프트웨어 또한 무료로 제공될 것입니다.

en: <emphasis>PERSPECTIVE</emphasis> Beyond software
ko-KR: <emphasis>관점</emphasis> 소프트웨어 그 이상

en: This change, which was only intended as editorial, has, in reality, had numerous consequences, especially with the removal of some problematic documentation. Furthermore, the increasing use of firmware in drivers poses problems: many are non-free, yet they are necessary for proper operation of the corresponding hardware.
ko-KR: 이 의도된 편집은 엄청난 영향을 끼쳤으며, 특히 몇몇 데비안의 철학에 거스르는 문서를 제거할 수 있게 되었습니다.  더 나아가서, 드라이버에 펌웨어를 사용하는 것이 문제가 되곤 했습니다. 다수의 펌웨어가 유료였고, 하드웨어에 알맞는 작동을 위해서 필수적이었기 때문입니다.

en: We will give back to the free software community.
ko-KR: 데비안은 유료 부품들을 자유 소프트웨어 단체에게 돌려줄 것입니다.

en: Any improvement contributed by the Debian project to a work integrated in the distribution is sent back to the author of the work (called “upstream”). In general, Debian will cooperate with the community rather than work in isolation.
ko-KR: 데비안 프로젝트가 발전하도록 각각의 데비안 계열에 기여하는 부분은 원작자(핵심 개발자)에게 전달됩니다(업 스트림, upstream). 전박적으로 데비안은 베타적으로 일하기 보단, 커뮤니티와 함께 협력할 것입니다.

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Upstream author, or Debian developer?
ko-KR: <emphasis>커뮤니티</emphasis> 업스트림, 제작자에게? 데비안 개발자에게?

en: <primary>upstream author</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>업스트림 원작자</primary>

en: <primary>author, upstream</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>원작자, 그리고 업스트림</primary>

en: <primary>upstream</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>업스트림</primary>

en: We will not hide problems.
ko-KR: 데비안은 문제를 숨기지 않겠습니다.

en: Our priorities are our users and free software.
ko-KR: 데비안의 최우선 고려사항은 사용자와 자유 소프트웨어입니다.

en: This commitment is more difficult to define. Debian imposes, thus, a bias when a decision must be made, and will discard an easy solution for the developers that will jeopardize the user experience, opting for a more elegant solution, even if it is more difficult to implement. This means to take into account, as a priority, the interests of the users and free software.
ko-KR: 이 부분에 대해서 똑부러지게 정의하기 어렵습니다.  하지만, 결정을 내려야할 때는 내리고 사용자의 이용성을 해치는 개발자들의 요행은 막을 것이며, 아무리 어렵다고 한들 최선의 결과와 해결책을 위해 노력할 것입니다. 즉, 데비안은 사용자와 자유 소프트웨어의 이익을 최우선 가치로 두는 것을 의미합니다.

en: Works that do not meet our free software standards.
ko-KR: 데비안의 자유 소프트웨어 표준을 따르지 않는 작업 및 행위의 경우.

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> For or against the non-free section?
ko-KR: <emphasis>커뮤니티</emphasis> 비자유 소프트웨어에 대해 친화적일까요?

en: The commitment to maintain a structure to accommodate non-free software (i.e. the “non-free” section, see the sidebar <xref linkend="sidebar.sections" />) is frequently a subject of debate within the Debian community.
ko-KR: 비자유 소프트웨어를 데비안에서 사용할 수 있도록 개발자들이 기여를 하는 부분은 (즉 비자유 부분, 다음 부분을 참고하세요 <xref linkend="sidebar.sections" />) 데비안 커뮤니티의 자주 언급되는 화제입니다.

en: Detractors argue that it turns people away from free software equivalents, and contradicts the principle of serving only the free software cause. Supporters flatly state that most of the non-free packages are “nearly free”, and held back by only one or two annoying restrictions (the most common being the prohibition against commercial usage of the software). By distributing these works in the non-free branch, we indirectly explain to the author that their creation would be better known and more widely used if they could be included in the main section. They are, thus, politely invited to alter their license to serve this purpose.
ko-KR: 비자유 소프트웨어 지원에 반대하는 측면에서는 자유 소프트웨어만을 지원하는 원칙을 어긴다는 점과 자유 소프트웨어의 가치를 폄하한다는 점을 들어 주장하고 있습니다. 반면에 찬성하는 측면에서는 비자유 소프트웨어는 대부분 "거의 무료"이며, 단지 두 규정에 대해서만 (상업적 소프트웨어를 금지하는 라이선스 사항들) 위반한다고 반박하고 있습니다. 그리고 비자유 소프트웨어 지원을 할 때,  데비안은 비자유 소프트웨어 항목에 있는 것보다 자유 소프트웨어 항목에 들어있으면 해당 소프트웨어가 더 널리 알려질 수 있고, 더 많이 활용될 수 있다는 점을 간접적으로 언급하여 제작자에게 설득을 합니다. 그래서 대부분 제작자들은 이러한 제안을 받아들이며, 제시한 조건을 이행하기 위해 소프트웨어의 라이선스를 바꿔줍니다 (상업적 -> 자유 소프트웨어 라이선스).

en: The continued existence of the non-free section is a source of occasional friction with the Free Software Foundation, and is the main reason it refuses to officially recommend Debian as an operating system.
ko-KR: 비자유 소프트웨어 항목이 데비안에 있는 것에 대한 부분은 자유 소프트웨어 재단에 있어 언제나 논쟁이 있는 부분입니다. 이 때문에 데비안을 운영체제로 많이 쓰이지 않기도 하죠 (지속적인 상업 소프트웨어 지원이 확실하지 않기 때문).

en: The Debian Free Software Guidelines
ko-KR: 데비안 자유 소프트웨어 가이드라인

en: <primary>free software principles</primary>
ko-KR: <primary>자유 소프트웨어 원칙</primary>

en: <primary>free</primary><secondary>software</secondary>
ko-KR: <primary>자유</primary><secondary>소프트웨어</secondary>

en: More than a selection criteria for Debian, this text has become an authority on the subject of free software, and has served as the basis for the “Open Source Definition”. Historically, it is therefore one of the first formal definitions of the concept of “free software”.
ko-KR: 데비안을 위한 표준을 넘어서, 이 문서는 "오픈소스 정의"의 기초가 된것 만큼 자유 소프트웨어에 대한 권위를 갖게되었습니다. 이는 역사적으로 "자유 소프트웨어"에 대한 형식을 갖추고 내린 첫 정의입니다.

en: Free redistribution.
ko-KR: 무료 재배포.
