0 - en to zh-TW translation catalogue (58 entries)

en: Foreword
zh-TW: 前言

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Linux distribution, Linux kernel
zh-TW: <emphasis>基礎知識</emphasis> Linux 散佈版與 Linux 核心

en: <primary>Linux</primary><secondary>kernel</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>Linux</primary><secondary> 核心</secondary>

en: <primary>Linux</primary><secondary>distribution</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>Linux</primary><secondary>散佈版</secondary>

en: <primary>distribution</primary><secondary>Linux distribution</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>散佈版</primary><secondary>Linux 散佈版</secondary>

en: Strictly speaking, Linux is only a kernel, the core piece of software which sits between the hardware and the applications.
zh-TW: 嚴格說，Linux 只是一個核心，是處於硬體與應用程序之間的核心軟體。

en: Debian GNU/Linux is a “generic” Linux distribution that fits most users. The purpose of this book is to show its many aspects so that you can make an informed decision when choosing.
zh-TW: Debian GNU/Linux 是個適合於大多數使用者的 「泛用型」Linux 散佈版。本書的目的便是介紹它，從而幫助你明智地抉擇。

en: Why This Book?
zh-TW: 為什麼寫這本書？

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Commercial distributions
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化：</emphasis> 商業散佈版

en: <primary>distribution</primary><secondary>commercial distribution</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>散佈版</primary><secondary>商業散佈版</secondary>

en: At the other end of the spectrum lie the likes of Debian and the Apache Software Foundation (which hosts the development for the Apache web server). Debian is above all a project in the Free Software world, implemented by volunteers working together through the Internet. While some of them do work on Debian as part of their paid job in various companies, the project as a whole is not attached to any company in particular, nor does any one company have a greater say in the project's affairs than what purely volunteer contributors have.
zh-TW: 另一方面也存在著 Debian 和 Apache 軟體基金會 (主持 Apache 網頁伺服器的開發) 等單位。Debian 是自由軟體世界的領導者，志願者經由網際網路共同開發它。部份的志願者在不同的公司中帶薪為 Debian 工作，可是 Debian 計畫本身不附屬於任何公司，也沒有任何公司在計畫的事務上擁有更重要的話語權。

en: The first edition of this book (in 2004) served to fill a gaping hole: it was the first French-language book that focused exclusively on Debian. At that time, many other books were written on the topic both for French-speaking and English-speaking readers. Unfortunately almost none of them got updated, and over the years the situation slipped back to one where there were very few good books on Debian. We hope that this book, which has started a new life with its translation into English (and several translations from English into various other languages), will fill this gap and help many users.
zh-TW: 本書的第一版 (2004年) 填補了一個空白：完全專注於 Debian 的法語書。當時，還有為法語和英語讀者寫的其他圖書。不幸的是它們幾乎沒有更新過，如今我們再次發現關於 Debian 的好書實在是太少了。我們真誠地希望，本次的英文譯本 (以及包括繁體在內的譯本)，可填補這一空窗並幫助更多使用者。

en: Who Is this Book For?
zh-TW: 為誰而寫？

en: We tried to make this book useful for many categories of readers. First, systems administrators (both beginners and experienced) will find explanations about the installation and deployment of Debian on many computers. They will also get a glimpse of most of the services available on Debian, along with matching configuration instructions and a description of the specifics coming from the distribution. Understanding the mechanisms involved in Debian's development will enable them to deal with unforeseen problems, knowing that they can always find help within the community.
zh-TW: 我們試圖讓本書適用於各種類型的讀者。首先，系統管理員 (初學者與老手) 將會在書中找到關於在多種電腦安裝和部署 Debian 的說明。他們也可一瞥 Debian 所能提供的多數服務，以及與該散佈版相關的組態指令與描述規格。了解 Debian 開發中涉及的機制將使讀者得以應付未預期的問題，並且讓他們知道總能從社群中得到幫助。

en: Users of another Linux distribution, or of another Unix variant, will discover the specifics of Debian, and should become operational very quickly while benefiting fully from the unique advantages of this distribution.
zh-TW: 其它 Linux 散佈版，或其他 Unix 變化版的使用者，將會在書中發現 Debian 的特點，並能在充分受益於此散佈版獨特優勢的同時快速投入實用。

en: Finally, readers who already have some knowledge of Debian and want to know more about the community behind it should see their expectations fulfilled. This book should make them much closer to joining us as contributors.
zh-TW: 最後，對於已經具備一些 Debian 知識的讀者，且想揭開 Debian 背後社區的神秘面紗，本書將能滿足這個願望。本書可該他們更願意加入為開發者。

en: General Approach
zh-TW: 一般方法

en: All of the generic documentation you can find about GNU/Linux also applies to Debian, since Debian includes most common free software. However, the distribution brings many enhancements, which is why we chose to primarily describe the “Debian way” of doing things.
zh-TW: 所有你能找到的適用於 GNU/Linux 的通用文件也適用於 Debian，因為 Debian 包括最常見的自由軟體。不過，作為一個散佈版， Debian 帶來了許多改進，這就是為什么我們寫本書時着重說明如何以「Debian 之道」行事。

en: It is interesting to follow the Debian recommendations, but it is even better to understand their rationale. Therefore, we won't restrict ourselves to practical explanations only; we will also describe the project's workings, so as to provide you with comprehensive and consistent knowledge.
zh-TW: 按照 Debian 建議的方式做事是很有意思的，但若能理解其基本原理則更好。因此，我們不會僅局限於作業說明上，我們也將說明項目內部的運作機制，以便提供讀者全面和一致的認知。

en: Book Structure
zh-TW: 本書架構

en: <emphasis>NOTE</emphasis> Web site, authors' email
zh-TW: <emphasis>y說明</emphasis> 網站、讀者的電子郵件

en: <emphasis role="strong">Chapter 1</emphasis> focuses on a non-technical presentation of the Debian project and describes its goals and organization. These aspects are important because they define a general framework that other chapters will complete with more concrete information.
zh-TW: <emphasis role="strong">第一章</emphasis>介紹 Debian 計畫的非技術性面並描述其目標與組織。先定義大範圍的框架其他章節才能夠填入更具體的資訊。

en: <emphasis role="strong">Chapters 2 and 3</emphasis> provide a broad outline of the case study. At this point, novice readers can take the time to read <emphasis role="strong">appendix B</emphasis>, where they will find a short remedial course explaining a number of basic computing notions, as well as concepts inherent to any Unix system.
zh-TW: <emphasis role="strong">第二和第三章</emphasis>提供個案式的大綱。建議新手，先閱讀<emphasis role="strong">附錄 B</emphasis>，簡短的補習式課程解釋若干基礎的電腦概念，以及與 Unix 系統有關的概念。

en: To get on with our real subject matter, we will quite naturally start with the installation process (<emphasis role="strong">chapter 4</emphasis>); <emphasis role="strong">chapters 5 and 6</emphasis> will unveil basic tools that any Debian administrator will use, such as those of the <emphasis role="strong">APT</emphasis> family, which is largely responsible for the distribution's excellent reputation. These chapters are in no way restricted to professionals, since everyone is their own administrator at home.
zh-TW: 真正的主題，自然是從安裝開始 (<emphasis role="strong">第 4 章</emphasis>)；<emphasis role="strong">第 5 和第 6 章</emphasis>揭示 Debian 管理者常用的基本工具，諸如 <emphasis role="strong">APT</emphasis> 系列工具，讓此散佈版受眾人讚譽有加。這幾章的目標讀者不限專業人員，因為每個人都是家裡的管理者。

en: <emphasis role="strong">Chapter 7</emphasis> will be an important parenthesis; it describes workflows to efficiently use documentation and to quickly gain an understanding of problems in order to solve them.
zh-TW: <emphasis role="strong">第7章</emphasis>是個重要的章；它描述有效地使用文件以及快速理解問題本質以便解決它們的流程。

en: The next chapters will be a more detailed tour of the system, starting with basic infrastructure and services (<emphasis role="strong">chapters 8 to 10</emphasis>) and going progressively up the stack to reach the user applications in <emphasis role="strong">chapter 13</emphasis>. <emphasis role="strong">Chapter 12</emphasis> deals with more advanced subjects that will most directly concern administrators of large sets of computers (including servers), while <emphasis role="strong">chapter 14</emphasis> is a brief introduction to the wider subject of computer security and gives a few keys to avoid most problems.
zh-TW: 接下來的幾章詳述系統的內容，從基礎架構與服務(<emphasis role="strong">第8至第10章</emphasis>)開始然後進入使用者應用軟體<emphasis role="strong">第13章</emphasis>。<emphasis role="strong">第12章</emphasis>介紹有關大規模電腦管理者所需知道的進階主題，<emphasis role="strong">第14章</emphasis>簡介電腦安全的主題並介紹幾招避免被駭客攻擊。

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Debian package
zh-TW: <emphasis>術語</emphasis> Debian 套件

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>Debian package</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>套件</primary><secondary>Debian 套件</secondary>

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>binary package</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>套件</primary><secondary>執行檔套件</secondary>

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>source package</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>套件</primary><secondary>原始套件</secondary>

en: A Debian package is an archive containing all the files required to install a piece of software. It is generally a file with a <filename>.deb</filename> extension, and it can be handled with the <command>dpkg</command> command. Also called a <emphasis>binary package</emphasis>, it contains files that can be directly used (such as programs or documentation). On the other hand, a <emphasis>source package</emphasis> contains the source code for the software and the instructions required for building the binary package.
zh-TW: Debian 套件是包含安裝特定軟體所需檔案的壓縮檔。延伸檔名是<filename>.deb</filename>，可以用<command>dpkg</command>指令處理。也被稱為<emphasis>二進位套件</emphasis>，包括可以直接處理的檔案 (例如程式或文件)。換句話說，<emphasis>原始套件</emphasis>包括軟體的原始碼需以指令建立其二進位套件。

en: We have added some notes and remarks in sidebars. They have a variety of roles: they can draw attention to a difficult point, complete a notion of the case study, define some terms, or serve as reminders. Here is a list of the most common of these sidebars:
zh-TW: 在邊欄加了筆記和評註。它們有很多作用：讓難點引起您的注意、對實例研究作個備註、定義術語、或者只是提醒一下。常用的邊欄如下：

en: BACK TO BASICS: a reminder of some information that is supposed to be known;
zh-TW: 基本：提醒應該已瞭解該等資訊；

en: VOCABULARY: defines a technical term, sometimes Debian specific;
zh-TW: 術語：定義技術用語，有時是 Debian 專用語；

en: COMMUNITY: highlights important persons or roles within the project;
zh-TW: 社群：在計畫內重要的人或角色；

en: TOOL: presents a relevant tool or service;
zh-TW: 工具：代表相關的工具或服務；

en: IN PRACTICE: theory and practice do not always match; these sidebars contain advice resulting from our experience. They can also give detailed and concrete examples;
zh-TW: 實踐：理論和實踐不見得總是對應的；這類的邊欄註記我們檢驗的結果。也給詳細而具體的例子；

en: other more or less frequent sidebars are rather explicit: CULTURE, TIP, CAUTION, GOING FURTHER, SECURITY, and so on.
zh-TW: 其他的邊欄本身就很明顯：文化、技巧、注意、更多、安全，等。

en: Acknowledgments
zh-TW: 致謝

en: A Bit of History
zh-TW: 簡史

en: In 2003, Nat Makarévitch contacted Raphaël because he wanted to publish a book on Debian in the <foreignphrase>Cahier de l'Admin</foreignphrase> (Admin's Handbook) collection that he was managing for Eyrolles, a leading French editor of technical books. Raphaël immediately accepted to write it. The first edition came out on 14th October 2004 and was a huge success — it was sold out barely four months later.
zh-TW: 2003年，為了出版與 Debian 相關的書<foreignphrase>Cahier de l'Admin</foreignphrase> (Admin's Handbook)，在知名的法國出版社 Eyrolles 擔任編輯的 Nat Makarévitch 主動與 Raphaël 連繫。 Raphaël 立即答應撰寫此書。第一版是在2004年10月14日上市相當成功 — 4個月內銷售一空。

en: While we were obviously satisfied with the book's success, we always hoped that Eyrolles would convince an international editor to translate it into English. We had received numerous comments explaining how the book helped people to get started with Debian, and we were keen to have the book benefit more people in the same way.
zh-TW: 我們對本書的成功感到滿意，所以也經常希望 Eyrolles 能找人它譯成英文。我們收到海量的評論說本書如何幫助他們開始使用 Debian，所以我們也熱衷於讓本書以同樣的方式造福更多的人。

en: Special Thanks to Contributors
zh-TW: 對貢獻者的感謝

en: We benefited from the generous help of proofreaders: Daniel Phillips, Gerold Rupprecht, Gordon Dey, Jacob Owens, and Tom Syroid. They each reviewed many chapters. Thank you very much!
zh-TW: 從校對者得到很多幫助：Daniel Phillips、Gerold Rupprecht、Gordon Dey、Jacob Owens 和 Tom Syroid。他們每個人都檢視多個章節。非常感謝！

en: We would also like to thank the readers of the French book who provided us some nice quotes to confirm that the book was really worth being translated: thank you Christian Perrier, David Bercot, Étienne Liétart, and Gilles Roussi. Stefano Zacchiroli — who was Debian Project Leader during the crowdfunding campaign — also deserves a big thank you, he kindly endorsed the project with a quote explaining that free (as in freedom) books were more than needed.
zh-TW: 也要感謝法文版的讀者給了不錯的評價確認翻譯是值得的：感謝你們 Christian Perrier、David Bercot、Étienne Liétart 和 Gilles Roussi。 Stefano Zacchiroli — 是群眾募資料時的 Debian 計畫領導者 — 值得大大的感謝，解釋了自由 (真的自由) 圖書是非常必需的。

en: If you have the pleasure to read these lines in a paperback copy of the book, then you should join us to thank Benoît Guillon, Jean-Côme Charpentier, and Sébastien Mengin who worked on the interior book design. Benoît is the upstream author of <ulink url="http://dblatex.sourceforge.net">dblatex</ulink> — the tool we used to convert DocBook into LaTeX (and then PDF). Sébastien is the designer who created this nice book layout and Jean-Côme is the LaTeX expert who implemented it as a stylesheet usable with dblatex. Thank you guys for all the hard work!
zh-TW: 如果您有幸閱讀印本，那麼要感謝 Benoît Guillon、Jean-Côme Charpentier 和 Sébastien Mengin 為書本內頁做了設計。 Benoît 是 <ulink url="http://dblatex.sourceforge.net">dblatex</ulink> 的上游作者 — 用它來把 DocBook 格式轉換成 LaTeX 格式 (再轉成 PDF 格式)。Sébastien 是此優美佈局的設計師而Jean-Côme 則是 LaTeX 專家以 dblatex 把它轉換為可用的樣式表 。感謝你們的辛勤工作！

en: Finally, thank you to Thierry Stempfel for the nice pictures introducing each chapter, and thank you to Doru Patrascu for the beautiful book cover.
zh-TW: 最後，感謝 Thierry Stempfel 為每一章帶來的精美圖片，感謝 Doru Patrascu 的漂亮封面。

en: Thanks to Translators
zh-TW: 感謝翻譯者

en: We would like to thank all the translators and translation reviewers. Your work is highly appreciated because it brings Debian into the hands of millions of persons who cannot read English.
zh-TW: 感謝譯者及其校閱者。您的努力把 Debian 帶給數百萬無法閱讀英文的人。

en: Personal Acknowledgments from Raphaël
zh-TW: Raphaël 的個人謝辭

en: Last but not least, thank you to my wife, Sophie. She has been very supportive of my work on this book and on Debian in general. There have been too many days (and nights) when I left her alone with our 2 sons to make some progress on the book. I am grateful for her support and know how lucky I am to have her.
zh-TW: 最後但不是最不重要，謝謝內人，Sophie。他支持我寫這本書也支持我用 Debian。常常拋下他們母子三人 (夜以繼日) 就為了寫書。感謝他的支持並知道自己很幸運擁有他。

en: Personal Acknowledgments from Roland
zh-TW: 對 Roland 的致謝

en: Well, Raphaël preempted most of my “external” thank-yous already. I am still going to emphasize my personal gratitude to the good folks at Eyrolles, with whom collaboration has always been pleasant and smooth. Hopefully the results of their excellent advice hasn't been lost in translation.
zh-TW: 好吧，Raphaël 把很多我的 ‘對外’ 的感謝都先說了。但還是要強調個人對 Eyrolles 的好伙伴們的感激，和他們的合作總是那麼地愉快而順暢。希望他們的優秀建議並沒有在翻譯中被埋沒。

en: I am extremely grateful to Raphaël for taking on the administrative part of this English edition. From organizing the funding campaign to the last details of the book layout, producing a translated book is so much more than just translating and proofreading, and Raphaël did (or delegated and supervised) it all. So thanks.
zh-TW: 我極度感謝 Raphaël 負責英文版的管理工作。從組織募款活動到書本版面的細節，製作一本譯本比翻譯和校對要多很多工作，Raphaël 把這些工作都做了 (或委派、監督其他人做了)。太感謝了。

en: Thanks also to all who more or less directly contributed to this book, by providing clarifications or explanations, or translating advice. They are too many to mention, but most of them can usually be found on various #debian-* IRC channels.
zh-TW: 也感謝那些對本書直接貢獻的人，例如那些提供澄清和解釋、或者提供翻譯建議。他們多到不勝枚舉，但都能在各個 #debian-* 的 IRC 頻道裡找到。

en: There is of course some overlap with the previous set of people, but specific thanks are still in order for the people who actually do Debian. There wouldn't be much of a book without them, and I am still amazed at what the Debian project as a whole produces and makes available to any and all.
zh-TW: 當然前面這幾部分的人肯定有重複的，但接下來還是要特別感謝直接為 Debian 努力的。沒有他們就沒洧這本書， Debian 作為一個對任何人和所有人開放計畫，至今我依然讚歎不已。

en: More personal thanks go to my friends and my clients, for their understanding when I was less responsive because I was working on this book, and also for their constant support, encouragement and egging on. You know who you are; thanks.
zh-TW: 更多的感謝給予我的朋友和客戶，感謝他們諒解我為了這本書而不太理會其他事情，也感謝他們一貫的支持、鼓勵和鼓動。是誰你懂的；謝謝。

en: And finally; I am sure they would be surprised by being mentioned here, but I would like to extend my gratitude to Terry Pratchett, Jasper Fforde, Tom Holt, William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and of course the late Douglas Adams. The countless hours I spent enjoying their books are directly responsible for my being able to take part in translating one first and writing new parts later.
zh-TW: 最後；我要謝謝那些被我提及而吃驚的人，還是要把我的感謝加給 Terry Pratchett、Jasper Fforde、Tom Holt、William Gibson、Neal Stephenson，與已故的 Douglas Adams。無止盡地享受他們的書使我有能力直接翻譯本書並續寫新的篇章。
