0 - en to zh-TW translation catalogue (277 entries)

en: Objective
zh-TW: 目標

en: Means
zh-TW: 方法

en: Operation
zh-TW: 運作

en: Volunteer
zh-TW: 志工

en: The Debian Project
zh-TW: Debian 專案

en: Before diving right into the technology, let us have a look at what the Debian Project is, its objectives, its means, and its operations.
zh-TW: 進入科技層面前，先看看 Debian 專案本身、其目標、方法、以及運作。

en: What Is Debian?
zh-TW: Debian 是什麼？

en: <primary>association</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>協會</primary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Origin of the Debian name
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> Debian 名稱的來源

en: Look no further: Debian is not an acronym. This name is, in reality, a contraction of two first names: that of Ian Murdock, and his girlfriend at the time, Debra. Debra + Ian = Debian.
zh-TW: 近點看：Debian 不是縮寫字。其名稱是，真實的，結合兩個名字：Ian Murdock 與當時的女朋友 Debra。Debra + Ian = Debian。

en: Debian is a GNU/Linux distribution. We will discuss what a distribution is in further detail in <xref linkend="sect.role-of-distributions" />, but for now, we will simply state that it is a complete operating system, including software and systems for installation and management, all based on the Linux kernel and free software (especially those from the GNU project).
zh-TW: Debian 是一套 GNU/Linux 散佈版。我們會在 <xref linkend="sect.role-of-distributions" /> 討論散佈版的定義，但不是現在，目前只須知道 Debian 是個完整的作業系統，其中包括安裝與管理所需的軟體與系統，而且全都以 Linux 核心與自由軟體 (特別是來自 GNU 專案的自由軟體) 為基礎。

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> GNU, the project of the FSF
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> GNU，自由軟體基金會的計畫

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Richard Stallman
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> Richard Stallman

en: A Multi-Platform Operating System
zh-TW: 跨平台作業系統

en: <primary>meta-distribution</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>中介散佈版</primary>

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Ian Murdock's journey
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> Ian Murdock 的旅程

en: <primary>Progeny</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>成果</primary>

en: Ian Murdock, founder of the Debian project, was its first leader, from 1993 to 1996. After passing the baton to Bruce Perens, Ian took a less public role. He returned to working behind the scenes of the free software community, creating the Progeny company, with the intention of marketing a distribution derived from Debian. This venture was, sadly, a commercial failure, and development was abandoned. The company, after several years of scraping by, simply as a service provider, eventually filed for bankruptcy in April of 2007. Of the various projects initiated by Progeny, only <emphasis>discover</emphasis> still remains. It is an automatic hardware detection tool.
zh-TW: Ian Murdock 創立 Debian 專案，1993年至1996年的第一任領導者。然後交棒給 Bruce Perens，Ian 扮演較不公開的角色。回到自由軟體社群的幕後，創立 Progeny 公司，意圖行銷 Debian 的衍生版。很不幸，此創投失敗、最後放棄了。做為服務供應者，掙扎幾年後，在 2007 年4月宣告破産。祗有 <emphasis>discover</emphasis> 計畫還活著。它是自動偵測硬體的工具。

en: These partial views of Debian are organized in a well-defined framework, thus guaranteeing hassle-free compatibility between the various “sub-distributions”. All of them follow the general planning for release of new versions. And since they build on the same foundations, they can be easily extended, completed, and personalized with applications available in the Debian repositories.
zh-TW: 這些 Debian 的分門觀係根據定義完善的框架整理而來，因此能保證這些「次散佈版」間沒有煩人的相容性問題。它們皆遵循通用的版本發行規劃。也因為基礎相同，它們皆能利用 Debian 軟體庫中收錄的應用程式輕鬆擴充、補全、與客製化。

en: All the Debian tools operate in this direction: <command>debian-cd</command> has for a long time now allowed the creation of a set of CD-ROMs containing only a pre-selected set of packages; <command>debian-installer</command> is also a modular installer, easily adapted to special needs. <command>APT</command> will install packages from various origins, while guaranteeing the overall consistency of the system.
zh-TW: 所有的 Debian 工具以此方式運作：<command>debian-cd</command> 運作多時由一組 CD-ROMs 納入預選的套件；<command>debian-installer</command> 也是模組化安裝器，容易改裝符合特定需要。<command>APT</command> 從其他來源安裝套件，保證彼此的一致性。

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> To each computer, its architecture
zh-TW: <emphasis>基礎</emphasis> 對每部電腦、其架構

en: <primary>architecture</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>架構</primary>

en: <primary>processor</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>處理器</primary>

en: <primary>binary code</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>二進位碼</primary>

en: <primary>compilation</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>編譯</primary>

en: <primary>compiler</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>編譯器</primary>

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> Installer
zh-TW: <emphasis>工具</emphasis> 安裝器

en: <command>debian-installer</command> is the name of the Debian installation program. Its modular design allows it to be used in a broad range of installation scenarios. The development work is coordinated on the <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email> mailing list under the direction of Cyril Brulebois.
zh-TW: <command>debian-installer</command> 是 Debian 安裝程式的名字。它的模組化設計允許在多種安裝環境下使用。由Cyril Brulebois 主持的 <email>debian-boot@lists.debian.org</email> 郵寄名單協調其發展。

en: The Quality of Free Software
zh-TW: 自由軟體的品質

en: The Legal Framework: A Non-Profit Organization
zh-TW: 法律框架：非營利組織

en: Legally speaking, Debian is a project managed by an American not-for-profit, volunteer association. The project has around a thousand <emphasis>Debian developers</emphasis>, but brings together a far greater number of contributors (translators, bug reporters, artists, casual developers, etc.).
zh-TW: 就法而言，Debian 是美國非營利、志願組織的一個計畫。此計畫由數千名 <emphasis>Debian 發展者</emphasis> 組成，再加上其他貢獻者 (譯者、錯誤報告者、藝術者、插花的發展者等)。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Behind Debian, the SPI association, and local branches
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> Debian 背後、SPI 協會、與在地分會

en: <primary>Debian France</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>Debian 法國</primary>

en: In addition to SPI, various local associations collaborate closely with Debian in order to generate funds for Debian, without centralizing everything in the USA: they are known as “Trusted Organizations” in the Debian jargon. This setup avoids prohibitive international transfer costs, and fits well with the decentralized nature of the project.
zh-TW: 在公共利益的軟體協會 SPI 之外，還有很多協會與 Debian 密切合作為其募款，不必把重心全部放在 USA：以 Debian 的話語來說就是 '信任的組織'。此做法避免國際轉帳的成本，也符合此計畫去中央化的本質。

en: The Foundation Documents
zh-TW: 基金會文件

en: <primary>Foundation Documents</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>基金會文件</primary>

en: A few years after its initial launch, Debian formalized the principles that it should follow as a free software project. This deliberately activist decision allows orderly and peaceful growth by ensuring that all members progress in the same direction. To become a Debian developer, any candidate must confirm and prove their support and adherence to the principles established in the project's Foundation Documents.
zh-TW: 釋出幾年後，Debian 整理其做為自由軟體計畫應遵守的原則。確保其成員都能夠朝著同個方向前進。成為 Debian 發展者之前，必須確認且證明其對於 Debian 基金會文件的支援與執著。

en: The Commitment towards Users
zh-TW: 使用者的承諾

en: <primary>social contract</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>社群契約</primary>

en: <primary>contract, social</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>契約，社群</primary>

en: Debian will remain 100% free.
zh-TW: Debian 將始終是 100% 自由的。

en: This is Rule No. 1. Debian is and will remain composed entirely and exclusively of free software. Additionally, all software development within the Debian project, itself, will be free.
zh-TW: 做為第一個信條 Debian 現在及未來永遠全部且祗由自由軟體構成。而且，由 Debian 專案發展的軟體，本身，將是自由的。

en: <emphasis>PERSPECTIVE</emphasis> Beyond software
zh-TW: <emphasis>遠景</emphasis> 軟體之外

en: This change, which was only intended as editorial, has, in reality, had numerous consequences, especially with the removal of some problematic documentation. Furthermore, the increasing use of firmware in drivers poses problems: many are non-free, yet they are necessary for proper operation of the corresponding hardware.
zh-TW: 此改變，雖然祗是編輯上的，實際上，卻產生很多影響，特別是移除很多有問題的文件。尤其是，驅動程式的韌體造成的問題：很多是不自由的，卻是相對硬體不可或缺的一部份。

en: We will give back to the free software community.
zh-TW: 我們將回報自由軟體社羣。

en: Any improvement contributed by the Debian project to a work integrated in the distribution is sent back to the author of the work (called “upstream”). In general, Debian will cooperate with the community rather than work in isolation.
zh-TW: 任何 Debian 專案整合在散佈版中的成品，只要有做出任何改善便必定送回原作者 (稱之為「上游」) 手中。也就是說，Debian 與社群攜手合作，而非獨善其身。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Upstream author, or Debian developer?
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> 上游著者、或 Debian 發展者？

en: <primary>upstream author</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>上游著者</primary>

en: <primary>author, upstream</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>著者，上游</primary>

en: <primary>upstream</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>上游</primary>

en: We will not hide problems.
zh-TW: 我們絕不隱瞞問題。

en: Our priorities are our users and free software.
zh-TW: 優先考慮我們的使用者及自由軟體。

en: This commitment is more difficult to define. Debian imposes, thus, a bias when a decision must be made, and will discard an easy solution for the developers that will jeopardize the user experience, opting for a more elegant solution, even if it is more difficult to implement. This means to take into account, as a priority, the interests of the users and free software.
zh-TW: 很難定義此承諾。從某個角度來說，Debian 的決定都是有主見的，廢止發展者提出的輕鬆解決方案若有礙使用者，轉而採用複雜難以執行的。也就是說，使用者與自由軟體的利益，放在第一位。

en: Works that do not meet our free software standards.
zh-TW: 不符合我們自由軟體規範的作品。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> For or against the non-free section?
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> 贊成或反對非自由的部份？

en: The commitment to maintain a structure to accommodate non-free software (i.e. the “non-free” section, see the sidebar <xref linkend="sidebar.sections" />) is frequently a subject of debate within the Debian community.
zh-TW: Debian 社群經常爭論納入不自由軟體的結構 (即 '不自由' 區塊，見邊欄 <xref linkend="sidebar.sections" />)。

en: Detractors argue that it turns people away from free software equivalents, and contradicts the principle of serving only the free software cause. Supporters flatly state that most of the non-free packages are “nearly free”, and held back by only one or two annoying restrictions (the most common being the prohibition against commercial usage of the software). By distributing these works in the non-free branch, we indirectly explain to the author that their creation would be better known and more widely used if they could be included in the main section. They are, thus, politely invited to alter their license to serve this purpose.
zh-TW: 批評者認為等同於把人驅離自由軟體，違反祗服務自由軟體的原則。支持者則指出大部份的不自由套件已 '接近自由'，祗多了一兩個惱人的限制 (最常見的是禁止商業使用)。在不自由區塊發行這些作品，我們向著者解釋被納入的作品可擴大其知名度與散布面。然後，客氣地請求變更授權以達成其目標。

en: The continued existence of the non-free section is a source of occasional friction with the Free Software Foundation, and is the main reason it refuses to officially recommend Debian as an operating system.
zh-TW: 自由軟體基金會痛恨非自由區塊，成為拒絕正式推薦 Debian 為自由軟體作業系統的主因。

en: The Debian Free Software Guidelines
zh-TW: Debian 自由軟體指導方針

en: <primary>free software principles</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>自由軟體原則</primary>

en: <primary>free</primary><secondary>software</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>自</primary><secondary>軟體</secondary>

en: More than a selection criteria for Debian, this text has become an authority on the subject of free software, and has served as the basis for the “Open Source Definition”. Historically, it is therefore one of the first formal definitions of the concept of “free software”.
zh-TW: 在區隔 Debian 納入的軟體類型外，此文件成為權威的自由軟體說明，做為 '自由軟體定義' 的基礎。從時間序來說，此文件為對 '自由軟體' 概念的第一個正式定義。

en: Free redistribution.
zh-TW: 自由的再次散佈。

en: The license of a Debian component may not restrict any party from selling or giving away the software as a component of an aggregate software distribution containing programs from several different sources. The license may not require a royalty or other fee for such sale.
zh-TW: Debian 元件的許可証不得限制任何一方將此軟體作爲含有 若幹不同來源的程式的一套軟體集合中的一個元件用於銷售或者捐贈。該許可證不得向諸如此類銷售行爲的銷售方索取 專利費或者其它費用。

en: Source code.
zh-TW: 原始碼。

en: The program must include source code, and must allow distribution in source code as well as compiled form.
zh-TW: 程序必須包括原始碼，而且必須允許以原始碼以及預先編譯好的形式散佈。

en: Derived works.
zh-TW: 衍生作品。

en: The license must allow modifications and derived works, and must allow them to be distributed under the same terms as the license of the original software.
zh-TW: 授權必須允許對其所屬作品的修改以及衍生，而且必須允許這些作品在原始軟體的授權條款下散佈。

en: Integrity of the author's source code.
zh-TW: 作者原始碼的完整性。

en: The license may restrict source code from being distributed in modified form <emphasis>only</emphasis> if the license allows the distribution of “patch files” with the source code for the purpose of modifying the program at build time. The license must explicitly permit distribution of software built from modified source code. The license may require derived works to carry a different name or version number from the original software (<emphasis>This is a compromise. The Debian group encourages all authors not to restrict any files, source or binary, from being modified</emphasis>).
zh-TW: 此授權限制散布修改的原始碼 <emphasis>祗限</emphasis> 在編譯時才能納入發行的 '補丁' 做為修改程式之用。此授權必須明示允許在編譯時納入修改的原始碼。此授權可能要求衍生作品使用不同於原始軟體(<emphasis>這是妥協的做法。Debian 鼓勵所有的著者不要限制任何檔案，原始碼或二進位檔案，的修改作為</emphasis>)的名稱或產品編號。

en: No discrimination against persons or groups.
zh-TW: 禁止歧視人或團體。

en: The license must not discriminate against any person or group of persons.
zh-TW: 授權不能歧視任何人或團體。

en: No discrimination against fields of endeavor.
zh-TW: 禁止歧視各領域貢獻者。

en: The license must not restrict anyone from making use of the program in a specific field of endeavor. For example, it may not restrict the program from being used in a business, or from being used for genetic research.
zh-TW: 授權不能歧視把程式應用於的任何領域的人。例如，限制程式不得用於商業，或基因研究。

en: Distribution of license.
zh-TW: 許可證的散佈。

en: The rights attached to the program must apply to all to whom the program is redistributed without the need for execution of an additional license by those parties.
zh-TW: 程式附帶的權利必須適用於程式的再散布無需加上其他的授權。

en: License must not be specific to Debian.
zh-TW: 許可證不能特定於 Debian。

en: The rights attached to the program must not depend on the program being part of a Debian system. If the program is extracted from Debian and used or distributed without Debian but otherwise within the terms of the program's license, all parties to whom the program is redistributed should have the same rights as those that are granted in conjunction with the Debian system.
zh-TW: 程式的權利不能由是否爲 Debian 的一部分來決定。如果該程式從 Debian 中摘取出來使用或散布於 Debian 之外，再次發行的每個受衆都將擁有與 Debian 系統結合時完全相同的權利。

en: License must not contaminate other software.
zh-TW: 授權不得污染其他軟體。

en: The license must not place restrictions on other software that is distributed along with the licensed software. For example, the license must not insist that all other programs distributed on the same medium must be free software.
zh-TW: 不得限制與此軟體一起散布的軟體。例如，不得要求與其在一同散布的軟體必須是自由軟體。

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Copyleft
zh-TW: <emphasis>基礎</emphasis> 著佐權

en: <primary>copyleft</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>著佐權</primary>

en: <primary>copyrights</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>著作權</primary>

en: Copyleft is a principle that consists in using copyrights to guarantee the freedom of a work and its derivatives, rather than restrict the rights of uses, as is the case with proprietary software. It is, also, a play of words on the term “copyright”. Richard Stallman discovered the idea when a friend of his, fond of puns, wrote on an envelope addressed to him: “copyleft: all rights reversed”. Copyleft imposes preservation of all initial liberties upon distribution of an original or modified version of a work (usually a program). It is, thus, not possible to distribute a program as proprietary software if it is derived from code from a copyleft released program.
zh-TW: 著佐權是使用著作權保護自由作品及其衍生作品的原則。其實是對 '著作權' 一詞的雙關語。一個喜歡雙關語的人，告訴理查德·斯托曼：'著佐權：版權回覆'。著佐權強制保留發行原著或衍生著作 (通常是程式) 原來的自由。源自著佐權的程式碼，不能把散布成專屬軟體。

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Free licenses
zh-TW: <emphasis>基本</emphasis> 自由授權

en: <primary>license</primary><secondary>BSD</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>授權</primary><secondary>BSD</secondary>

en: <primary>BSD license</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>BSD 授權</primary>

en: <primary>license</primary><secondary>GPL</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>授權</primary><secondary>GPL</secondary>

en: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary>General Public License</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>GNU</primary><secondary>通用公共授權</secondary>

en: <primary>General Public License</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>通用公共授權</primary>

en: The GNU GPL, the BSD license, and the Artistic License all comply with the Debian Free Software Guidelines, even though they are very different.
zh-TW: GNU 通用公共授權、BSD 授權、與Artistic 授權都是與 Debian 自由軟體授權指導方針相容的授權，即使他們彼此並不相同。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Bruce Perens, a controversial leader
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> 布魯斯·佩倫斯，另類的領導者

en: <primary>Bruce Perens</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>布魯斯·佩倫斯</primary>

en: <primary>Perens, Bruce</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>佩倫斯，布魯斯</primary>

en: <primary>Open Source</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>開放原始碼</primary>

en: His departure from the project was quite emotional, but Bruce has remained strongly attached to Debian, since he continues to promote this distribution in political and economic spheres. He still sporadically appears on the e-mail lists to give his advice and present his latest initiatives in favor of Debian.
zh-TW: 離開 Debian 頗為激動，但布魯斯仍與 Debian 保持連繫，在政治與經濟層面持續推動 Debian。偶而電子郵件清單中提供意見流露對 Debian 初衷的支持。

en: <primary>codename</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>代號</primary>

en: <primary>name</primary><secondary>codename</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>名稱</primary><secondary>代號</secondary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Rex</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">抱抱龍</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Buzz</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">巴斯</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Bo</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">寶貝</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Hamm</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">火腿</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Slink</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">彈簧狗</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Potato</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">蛋頭</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Woody</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">胡迪</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Sarge</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">綠色士兵</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Etch</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">畫板</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Lenny</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">雷尼</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Squeeze</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">三眼仔</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Wheezy</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">企鵝吱吱</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Jessie</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">翠絲</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Stretch</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">大章魚</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Buster</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">臭小子</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Sid</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">阿薛</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary>Toy Story</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>玩具總動員</primary>

en: <primary>Pixar</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>皮克斯</primary>

en: The Inner Workings of the Debian Project
zh-TW: Debian 的內部作業

en: <primary>operations, internal</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>作業，內部</primary>

en: <primary>organization, internal</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>組織，內部</primary>

en: The abundant end results produced by the Debian project derive simultaneously from the work on the infrastructure performed by experienced Debian developers, from the individual or collective work of developers on Debian packages, and from user feedback.
zh-TW: 從有經驗的 Debian 發展者、Debian 套件裡的個別或集體作品、以及使用者的回饋，Debian 專案產出豐富的結果。

en: The Debian Developers
zh-TW: Debian 發展者

en: <primary>developers</primary><secondary>Debian developers</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>發展者</primary><secondary>Debian 發展者</secondary>

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> Developer's database
zh-TW: <emphasis>工具</emphasis> 發展者的資料庫

en: <primary>database</primary><secondary>developer's database</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>資料庫</primary><secondary>發展者的資料庫</secondary>

en: The geographical coordinates allow the creation of a map locating all of the developers around the globe. Debian is truly an international project: its developers can be found on all continents, although the majority are in “Western countries”.
zh-TW: 地理資訊用於建立發展者在全球的分布地圖。Debian 是真正的國際計畫：雖然主要在 '西方國家'，其發展者確實遍布各大洲。

en: World-wide distribution of Debian developers
zh-TW: Debian 發展者遍布全球

en: <primary>world-wide distribution</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>遍布全球</primary>

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Package maintenance, the developer's work
zh-TW: <emphasis>基礎</emphasis> 維護套件，發展者的工作

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>maintenance</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>套件</primary><secondary>維護</secondary>

en: <primary>policy</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>政策</primary>

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Policy editorial process
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> 政策編輯程序

en: <emphasis>DEBIAN POLICY</emphasis> The documentation
zh-TW: <emphasis>DEBIAN 政策</emphasis> 文件

en: <primary>documentation</primary><secondary>location</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>文件</primary><secondary>位置</secondary>

en: <primary>location of the documentation</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>文件的位置</primary>

en: <primary>constitution</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>憲法</primary>

en: <primary>leader</primary><secondary>role</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>領導人</primary><secondary>角色</secondary>

en: <primary>leader</primary><secondary>election</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>領導人</primary><secondary>選舉</secondary>

en: Specifically, the leader has real authority; their vote resolves tie votes; they can make any decision which is not already under the authority of someone else and can delegate part of their responsibilities.
zh-TW: 嚴格說來，領導人有絕對的權威；投票解決投票的問題；還沒有人負責的事都由領導人決定且可授權給他人。

en: The constitution also defines a “technical committee”. This committee's essential role is to decide on technical matters when the developers involved have not reached an agreement between themselves. Otherwise, this committee plays an advisory role for any developer who fails to make a decision for which they are responsible. It is important to note that they only get involved when invited to do so by one of the parties in question.
zh-TW: 憲法也設立 '技術委員會'。發展者自身無法達成共識時由此委員會決策技術事宜。此外，當發展者無法解決自身職責所有的問題時，委員會就扮演顧問角色。祗有被爭議一方邀請後，才能涉入。

en: <primary>the project secretary</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>計畫秘書</primary>

en: Finally, the constitution defines the position of “project secretary”, who is in charge of the organization of votes related to the various elections and general resolutions.
zh-TW: 最後，憲法設立 '計畫秘書' 職位，負責各種選舉與爭議的投票事宜。

en: <primary>general resolution</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>爭議</primary>

en: <primary>vote</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>投票</primary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Flamewar, the discussion that catches fire
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> 發火，討論引起的

en: <primary>flamewar</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>發火</primary>

en: <primary>heated debate</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>激辯</primary>

en: A “flamewar” is an exceedingly impassioned debate, which frequently ends up with people attacking each other once all reasonable argumentation has been exhausted on both sides. Certain themes are more frequently subject to polemics than others (the choice of text editor, “do you prefer <command>vi</command> or <command>emacs</command>?”, is an old favorite). The matters often provoke very rapid e-mail exchanges due to the sheer number of people with an opinion on the matter (everyone) and the very personal nature of such questions.
zh-TW: '發火' 是極度不理性的爭辯，雙方都窮盡理論的辯論後轉向人身攻擊。部份議題較為論戰式 (選擇文字編輯器，'喜歡 <command>vi</command> 或 <command>emacs</command>？'，永遠沒有結論)。由於單方面 (每個人) 快速地交換電子郵件形成優勢且極度地個人化此等議題。

en: Nothing particularly useful generally comes from such discussions; the general recommendation is to stay out of such debates, and maybe rapidly skim through their content, since reading them in full would be too time-consuming.
zh-TW: 這種討論沒什麼特別；通常要遠離這種爭論，或者快速地略過其內容，因為閱讀它們太費時了。

en: This is the only way to earn one's stripes: do something useful and show that one has worked well. Many Debian “administrative” teams operate by co-optation, preferring volunteers who have already effectively contributed and proved their competence. The public nature of the work of those teams makes it possible for new contributors to observe and start helping without any special privilege. This is why Debian is often described as a “meritocracy”.
zh-TW: 這就是升級的唯一方法：做有用的事且顯示把事情做好。Debian '管理' 團體以增選方式管理，採用已有效奉獻且證明其能力的志願者。新的奉獻者看到這些團隊做了具有公共利益性質的工作就會主動加入協助。這就是 Debian 常被稱為 '任人唯賢'。

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Meritocracy, the reign of knowledge
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> 任人唯賢，統治知識

en: <primary>meritocracy</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>任人唯賢</primary>

en: This effective operational method guarantees the quality of contributors in the “key” Debian teams. This method is by no means perfect and occasionally there are those who do not accept this way of operating. The selection of developers accepted in the teams may appear a bit arbitrary, or even unfair. Furthermore, not everybody has the same definition of the service expected from these teams. For some, it is unacceptable to have to wait eight days for inclusion of a new Debian package, while others will wait patiently for three weeks without a problem. As such, there are regular complaints from the disgruntled about the “quality of service” from some teams.
zh-TW: 這種有效的管理方法保證在 Debian '關鍵' 團隊奉獻者的品質。不見得是完美的且偶而凸搥。選擇被團隊接受的發展者是隨興的，甚至不公平的。而且，不是每個人對這些團隊服務的期望是一樣的。有些人受不了等8天才能收錄新的 Debian 套件，也有人耐心等待3週毫無怨言。所以，有些團隊對 '服務品質' 經常不滿。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Integration of new maintainers
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> 新進維護者的積分

en: <primary>maintainer</primary><secondary>new maintainer</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>維護者</primary><secondary>新進維護者</secondary>

en: The team in charge of admitting new developers is the most regularly criticized. One must acknowledge that, throughout the years, the Debian project has become more and more demanding of the developers that it will accept. Some people may see some injustice in that, but we must confess that what were only little challenges at the beginning have become much greater in a community of over 1,000 people, when it comes to ensuring the quality and integrity of everything that Debian produces for its users.
zh-TW: 負責核准新進發展者的團隊受到最多的批評。經過這麼多年，必須承認，Debian 專案發展者粥多僧少。有些人看到不正平之處，我們必須坦白社群成長到 1,000 人以後開始的小挑戰變成大麻煩，確保品質與整合愈來愈難。

en: Furthermore, the acceptance procedure is concluded by review of the candidacy by a small team, the Debian Account Managers. These managers are, thus, particularly exposed to criticism, since they have final say in the inclusion or rejection of a volunteer within the Debian developers community. In practice, sometimes they must delay the acceptance of a person until they have learned more about the operations of the project. One can, of course, contribute to Debian before being accepted as an official developer, by being sponsored by current developers.
zh-TW: 此外，由 Debian 客戶經理這樣一小群團隊審核接受的程序 。特別容易被批評，因為在 Debian 發展者社群裡說接受或拒絕的就是他們。實務上，必須多花點時間瞭解才能接受。當然，我們可以在被接受為正式的發展者前，先支持既有的發展者，做出實質的奉獻。

en: The Active Role of Users
zh-TW: 使用者的積極角色

en: <primary>system</primary><secondary>Bug Tracking System</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>系統</primary><secondary>錯誤追蹤系統</secondary>

en: <primary>Bug Tracking System</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>錯誤追蹤系統</primary>

en: Below the surface, the Debian BTS is e-mail based: all information that it stores comes from messages sent by the various persons involved. Any e-mail sent to <email>12345@bugs.debian.org</email> will, thus, be assigned to the history for bug number 12345. Authorized persons may “close” a bug by writing a message describing the reasons for the decision to close to <email>12345-done@bugs.debian.org</email> (a bug is closed when the indicated problem is resolved or no longer relevant). A new bug is reported by sending an e-mail to <email>submit@bugs.debian.org</email> according to a specific format which identifies the package in question. The address <email>control@bugs.debian.org</email> allows editing of all the “meta-information” related to a bug.
zh-TW: 表層下的 Debian BTS，以電子郵件為基礎：儲存參與者寄發的電子郵件做為資訊。發送給<email>12345@bugs.debian.org</email> 的電子郵件，將被指定為編號 12345 的錯誤。有權限的人可以敘明理由寄發另個電子郵件 <email>12345-done@bugs.debian.org</email> '關閉' (表示該錯誤已解決或無關緊要) 該錯誤。新的錯誤應以指定的格式辨識有問題的套件再發送電子郵件給 <email>submit@bugs.debian.org</email>。這個信箱 <email>control@bugs.debian.org</email> 用於編輯與該錯誤有關的所有  '中介資訊'。

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Severity of a bug
zh-TW: <emphasis>術語</emphasis> 錯誤的嚴重性

en: <primary>severity</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>嚴重性</primary>

en: <primary>bug</primary><secondary>severity</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>錯誤</primary><secondary>嚴重性</secondary>

en: The severity of a bug formally assigns a degree of gravity to the reported problem. Effectively, not all bugs have the same importance; for instance, a typo in a manual page is not comparable to a security vulnerability in server software.
zh-TW: 報告問題時指定該錯誤的嚴重性。不是每個錯誤都具有相同的重要性；例如，手冊內容的打字錯誤不能與伺服器軟體的安全漏洞相提並論。

en: This tool first targets the development versions, which is where the bugs will be fixed. Effectively, changes are not welcome in a stable version of Debian, with very few exceptions for security updates or other important updates (if, for example, a package is not working at all). A correction of a minor bug in a Debian package must, thus, wait for the next stable version.
zh-TW: 此工具原先係供發展版使用，做為修正錯誤之用。後來發現，Debian 的穩定版也需要它，安全更新或重要更新 (或完全無效的套件)。因此，Debian 套件的次要錯誤的修訂，在下個穩定版才納入。

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> What are i18n and l10n?
zh-TW: <emphasis>基礎</emphasis> 什麼是 i18n 與 l10n？

en: <primary>internationalization</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>國際化</primary>

en: <primary>localization</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>在地化</primary>

en: “i18n” and “l10n” are the abbreviations for the words “internationalization” and “localization”, respectively, preserving the initial and last letter of each word, and the number of letters in the middle.
zh-TW: 'i18n' 與 'l10n' 是國際化英文字 'internationalization' 與在地化英文字 'localization' 的縮寫，保留第一個與最後一個字母，再加入省略字母的字數。

en: To “internationalize” a program consists of modifying it so that it can be translated (localized). This involves partially rewriting a program initially written to work in one language in order to be able to open it to all languages.
zh-TW: '國際化' 一個程式包括修改至可以翻譯 (在地化) 的程度。涉及重寫程式的語文以便公開給所有的語系使用。

en: To “localize” a program consists of translating the original messages (frequently in English) to another language. For this, it must have already been internationalized.
zh-TW: '在地化' 一個程式包括翻譯原語文 (通常是英文) 為另一個語文。因此，必須先國際化。

en: In summary, internationalization prepares the software for translation, which is then executed by localization.
zh-TW: 總之，國際化係把軟體整備至可翻譯的程度，然後再執行在地化。

en: <primary><command>patch</command></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><command>補丁</command></primary>

en: <primary>patch</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>補丁</primary>

en: A patch is a file describing changes to be made to one or more reference files. Specifically, it will contain a list of lines to be removed or added to the code, as well as (sometimes) lines taken from the reference text, replacing the modifications in context (they allow identification of the placement of the changes if the line numbers have changed).
zh-TW: 補丁是描述檔案修改的檔案。準確來說，包括移除或新增的程式碼清單，以及 (有時) 從參考文件取得的內容，用以取代修改的內文 (可以辨識取代的內容)。

en: The tool used for applying the modifications given in such a file is simply called <command>patch</command>. The tool that creates it is called <command>diff</command>, and is used as follows:
zh-TW: 修改該等檔案的工具名稱就是 <command>patch</command>。新增為 <command>diff</command>，用法如下：

en: The <filename>file.patch</filename> file contains the instructions for changing the content of <filename>file.old</filename> into <filename>file.new</filename>. We can send it to someone, who can then use it to recreate <filename>file.new</filename> from the two others, like this:
zh-TW: <filename>file.patch</filename> 檔案包括變更 <filename>file.old</filename> 為 <filename>file.new</filename> 的指令。可以發送給其他人，用於從兩個檔案新增 <filename>file.new</filename>，如：

en: The file, <filename>file.old</filename>, is now identical to <filename>file.new</filename>.
zh-TW: 現在，此檔案 <filename>file.old</filename> 內容等同於 <filename>file.new</filename>。

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Git
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> Git

en: <primary>configuration management</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>組態管理</primary>

en: Git is a tool for collaborative work on multiple files, while maintaining a history of modifications. The files in question are generally text files, such as a program's source code. If several people work together on the same file, <command>git</command> can only merge the alterations made if they were made to different portions of the file. Otherwise, these “conflicts” must be resolved by hand.
zh-TW: Git 是在多個檔案合作運作的工具，維護修訂的記錄。有問題的檔案多半是純文字檔，程式的原始碼。由多人共同處理一個檔案時，<command>git</command> 可以把不同部份的檔案合而為一。否則，其中的 '衝突' 必須以人工處理。

en: Git makes it easy to handle multiple concurrent versions of a project in development without them interfering with each other. These versions are called <emphasis>branches</emphasis>. This metaphor of a tree is fairly accurate, since a program is initially developed on a common trunk. When a milestone has been reached (such as version 1.0), development continues on two branches: the development branch prepares the next major release, and the maintenance branch manages updates and fixes for version 1.0.
zh-TW: Git 可處理發展中的多個版本而不互相干擾。這些版本稱為 <emphasis>branches</emphasis>。以樹木的分枝形容相當精確，因為程式本來就是從一個主幹開始。有了成果 (諸如 1.0) 後，就有兩個分枝：發展枝為下個釋做準備、維護枝管理 1.0 的更新與修訂。

en: Not only do users help themselves (and others) on technical issues that directly affect them, but they also discuss the best ways to contribute to the Debian project and help it move forward — discussions that frequently result in suggestions for improvements.
zh-TW: 使用者不僅自助 (也助人) 於直接影響他們的技術面，也討論奉獻 Debian 專案的最佳途徑與協助其向前行 — 經常出現改進的建議。

en: Since Debian does not expend funds on any self-promoting marketing campaigns, its users play an essential role in its diffusion, ensuring its fame via word-of-mouth.
zh-TW: Debian 不僅持續自我推廣，其使用者在擴散方面也居功甚偉，口耳相傳其名聲。

en: <primary>derivative distribution</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>衍生散佈版</primary>

en: The development process for a derivative distribution consists in starting with a particular version of Debian and making a number of modifications to it. The infrastructure used for this work is completely external to the Debian project. There isn't necessarily a policy for contributing improvements. This difference explains how a derivative distribution may “diverge” from its origins, and why they have to regularly resynchronize with their source in order to benefit from improvements made upstream.
zh-TW: 所謂衍生散佈版的開發程序，係根據某一特定版本的 Debian 做為起點，接著進行各種改造而成。其成品作成之基礎建設完全在 Debian 專案之外。衍生版也不必有回饋自身改善的政策。這就是為何衍生散佈版會「偏離」原版，並且必須定期與原版同步以便獲取上游來的改善成果。

en: The most known distribution derived from Debian is, without a doubt, Ubuntu, but there are many. See <xref linkend="derivative-distributions" /> to learn about their particularities and their positioning in relationship to Debian.
zh-TW: Debian 的眾多衍生散佈版中，無庸置疑，最知名的當是 Ubuntu。請見 <xref linkend="derivative-distributions" /> 瞭解其特點，及其與 Debian 間的地位關係。

en: Debian Med, by Andreas Tille, dedicated to the medical field;
zh-TW: Debian Med，由 Andreas Tille 製作，專供醫護領域使用；

en: Administrative Teams
zh-TW: 管理團隊

en: They must also verify the licenses of all new packages, in order to ensure that Debian may distribute them, prior to including them in the corpus of existing packages. When a developer wishes to remove a package, they address this team through the bug tracking system and the <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> “pseudo-package”.
zh-TW: 他們也檢查新增套件的授權條款，確保在納入它們之前，Debian 有權散布它們。被要求移除的套件，由發展者經由錯誤追蹤系統與 <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> '虛擬套件' 向團隊提出。

en: <primary>ftpmaster</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>檔案頭兒</primary>

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> The pseudo-package, a monitoring tool
zh-TW: <emphasis>術語</emphasis> 虛擬套件，監測工具

en: <primary>pseudo-package</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>虛擬套件</primary>

en: The bug tracking system, initially designed to associate bug reports with a Debian package, has proved very practical to manage other matters: lists of problems to be resolved or tasks to manage without any link to a particular Debian package. The “pseudo-packages” allow, thus, certain teams to use the bug tracking system without associating a real package with their team. Everyone can, thus, report issues that needs to be dealt with. For instance, the BTS has a <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> entry that is used to report and track problems on the official package archive or simply to request removal of a package. Likewise, the <emphasis>www.debian.org</emphasis> pseudo-package refers to errors on the Debian website, and <emphasis>lists.debian.org</emphasis> gathers all the problems concerning the mailing lists.
zh-TW: 錯誤追蹤系統，原先係處理 Debian 套件錯誤而設計，後來發現在其他事物上也很實用：列出 Debian 套件內外的待處理問題或待管理工作。'虛擬套件' 允許，指定團隊在未連結實際套件的環境下使用錯誤追蹤系統。每個人都可以報告錯誤。例如，BTS 有個 <emphasis>ftp.debian.org</emphasis> 條目用於報告與追蹤官方套件的錯誤或要求移除套件。同樣的，<emphasis>www.debian.org</emphasis> 虛擬套件則指向 Debian 網頁的錯誤，且 <emphasis>lists.debian.org</emphasis> 匯集與郵寄名單有關的問題。

en: <emphasis>TOOL</emphasis> Debian Package Tracker
zh-TW: <emphasis>工具</emphasis> Debian 套件追蹤器

en: <primary>system</primary><secondary>package tracking system</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>系統</primary><secondary>套件追蹤系統</secondary>

en: <primary>tracker</primary><secondary>Debian Package Tracker</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>追蹤器</primary><secondary>Debian 套件追蹤器</secondary>

en: <primary>package</primary><secondary>Debian Package Tracker</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>套件</primary><secondary>Debian 套件追蹤器</secondary>

en: This is one of Raphaël's creations. The basic idea is, for a given package, to centralize as much information as possible on a single page. Thus, one can quickly check the status of a program, identify tasks to be completed, and offer one's assistance. This is why this page gathers all bug statistics, available versions in each distribution, progress of a package in the <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> distribution, the status of translations of descriptions and debconf templates, the possible availability of a new upstream version, notices of noncompliance with the latest version of the Debian Policy, information on the maintainer, and any other information that said maintainer wishes to include. <ulink type="block" url="https://tracker.debian.org/" />
zh-TW: 這是 Raphaël 的傑作之一。基本概念是，對於指明的套件，儘可能將相關資訊集結在同一頁面中。這樣一來，任何人都可以快速查看程式的狀態、辦識待處理的事項、以及提供協助等。這就是為何這個頁面會集結所有的臭蟲統計資料、各個散佈版中的可用版本、在 <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> 散佈版中打包的進度、軟體描述和 debconf 模板的翻譯狀態、是否有新的上游版本、是否未遵循最新版 Debian 政策的通知、維護者的資訊、以及維護者期望納入的其他資訊等。<ulink type="block" url="https://tracker.debian.org/" />

en: An e-mail subscription service completes this web interface. It automatically sends the following selected information to the list: bugs and related discussions, availability of a new version on the Debian servers, new translations available for proofreading, etc.
zh-TW: 電子郵件訂閱服務也在此網頁介面。自動送出選定的資訊給此清單：錯誤與相關的討論、Debian 伺服器內的新版本、待校對的新翻譯等。

en: These two websites are tools developed and managed by the group responsible for quality assurance within Debian (known as Debian QA).
zh-TW: 這兩個網站由 Debian 的品質保證成員 (通稱為 Debian QA) 發展與管理的工具。

en: <primary>assurance</primary><secondary>quality assurance</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>保證</primary><secondary>品質保證</secondary>

en: <primary>quality</primary><secondary>assurance</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>品質</primary><secondary>保證</secondary>

en: The <emphasis>listmasters</emphasis> administer the e-mail server that manages the mailing lists. They create new lists, handle bounces (delivery failure notices), and maintain spam filters (unsolicited bulk e-mail).
zh-TW: 此 <emphasis>名單大師</emphasis> 管理郵寄名單的電子郵件伺服器。職責包括新增名單、處理送回 (無法送出的育知)、以及垃圾郵件過濾器 (未授權的批次郵件)。

en: <primary>listmaster</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>名單大師</primary>

en: <emphasis>CULTURE</emphasis> Traffic on the mailing lists: some figures
zh-TW: <emphasis>文化</emphasis> 郵寄名單的流量：某些數據

en: <primary>lists</primary><secondary>mailing lists</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>名單</primary><secondary>郵寄名單</secondary>

en: <primary>mailing lists</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>郵件列表</primary>

en: Development Teams, Transversal Teams
zh-TW: 發展團隊、轉換團隊

en: Unlike administrative teams, the development teams are rather widely open, even to outside contributors. Even if Debian does not have a vocation to create software, the project needs some specific programs to meet its goals. Of course, developed under a free software license, these tools make use of methods proven elsewhere in the free software world.
zh-TW: 不同於管理團隊，發展團隊較為開放，甚至可以說是置身於奉獻者之外。Debian 自身不新增軟體，計畫仍需要外部軟體滿足其需要。當然，仍是在自由軟體授權下發展，這些工具使用被自由軟體世界驗證的方法。

en: Debian has developed little software of its own, but certain programs have assumed a starring role, and their fame has spread beyond the scope of the project. Good examples are <command>dpkg</command>, the Debian package management program (it is, in fact, an abbreviation of Debian PacKaGe, and generally pronounced as “dee-package”), and <command>apt</command>, a tool to automatically install any Debian package, and its dependencies, guaranteeing the consistency of the system after an upgrade (its name is an acronym for Advanced Package Tool). Their teams are, however, much smaller, since a rather high level of programming skill is required to gain an overall understanding of the operations of these types of programs.
zh-TW: Debian 發展自己的小軟體，但卻是重要的軟體，其名聲遠超越 Debian 專案本身。<command>dpkg</command> 是個例子，它是 Debian 套件管理程式 (事實上，它是 Debian PacKaGe 的縮寫，讀成 'dee-package')，另一個是 <command>apt</command>，自動安裝 Debian 套件的工具，檢查其相依性，保證安裝後與系統一致 (其名稱為 Advanced Package Tool 的縮寫)。然而，它們都是由小團隊撰寫的，祗需要高階程式技巧就能瞭解該等程式的運作方式。

en: The (very small) <command>debian-cd</command> program team has an even more modest objective. Many “small” contributors are responsible for their architecture, since the main developer can not know all the subtleties, nor the exact way to start the installer from the CD-ROM.
zh-TW: 這個 (極小的) <command>debian-cd</command> 程式團隊的目標更謙虛。由很多 '小小' 的奉獻者負責其架構，因為主要的發展者無法知道全部的細微之處，也不知道從CD-ROM 安裝的正確方式。

en: Many teams must collaborate with others in the activity of packaging: <email>debian-qa@lists.debian.org</email> tries, for example, to ensure quality at all levels of the Debian project. The <email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email> list develops Debian Policy according to proposals from all over the place. The teams in charge of each architecture (<email>debian-<replaceable>architecture</replaceable>@lists.debian.org</email>) compile all packages, adapting them to their particular architecture, if needed.
zh-TW: 需要多個團隊彼此合作才能夠將程式包裝起來：以<email>debian-qa@lists.debian.org</email> 為例，企圖保證 Debian 專案的每個層面都達到既定的品質。<email>debian-policy@lists.debian.org</email> 根據各地的建議列出 Debian 政策。負責每個架構的團隊 (<email>debian-<replaceable>architecture</replaceable>@lists.debian.org</email>) 編繹所有的套件，若有需要，再改編供特定架構使用。

en: Other teams manage the most important packages in order to ensure maintenance without placing too heavy a load on a single pair of shoulders; this is the case with the C library and <email>debian-glibc@lists.debian.org</email>, the C compiler on the <email>debian-gcc@lists.debian.org</email> list, or Xorg on the <email>debian-x@lists.debian.org</email> (this group is also known as the X Strike Force).
zh-TW: 其他的團隊管理最重要的套件以免重擔放在單一團隊的肩上；在 C 程式庫與 <email>debian-glibc@lists.debian.org</email>，C 編繹器 <email>debian-gcc@lists.debian.org</email> 郵寄名單，或 Xorg 在 <email>debian-x@lists.debian.org</email> (此社群以 X Strike Force 聞名)。

en: Follow Debian News
zh-TW: 跟著 Debian 最新消息

en: As already mentioned, the Debian project evolves in a very distributed, very organic way. As a consequence, it may be difficult at times to stay in touch with what happens within the project without being overwhelmed with a never-ending flood of notifications.
zh-TW: 如前所述，Debian 專案以極為分散、有機的方式進行。結果是，必須痛苦地讀取無止盡的訊息才能保持與計畫連繫。

en: If you only want the most important news about Debian, you probably should subscribe to the <email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email> list. This is a very low-traffic list (around a dozen messages a year), and only gives the most important announcements, such as the availability of a new stable release, the election of a new Project Leader, or the yearly Debian Conference. <ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-announce/" />
zh-TW: 訂閱 <email>debian-announce@lists.debian.org</email> 郵寄名單是獲知 Debian 重要訊息的方法。此郵寄名單的流量極低 (每年祗有十來個訊息)，祗提供最重要的通知，諸如新版釋出消息、選舉新的計畫領導人、或 Debian 年度會議。<ulink type="block" url="https://lists.debian.org/debian-announce/" />

en: <primary>Planet Debian</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>Debian 星球</primary>

en: <primary>microblog</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>微部落格</primary>

en: <primary>social networks</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>社群網路</primary>

en: <primary>network</primary><secondary>social networks</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>網路</primary><secondary>社群網路</secondary>

en: The Role of Distributions
zh-TW: 散佈版的角色

en: <primary>Linux distribution</primary><secondary>role</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>Linux 散佈版</primary><secondary>角色</secondary>

en: A GNU/Linux distribution has two main objectives: install a free operating system on a computer (either with or without an existing system or systems), and provide a range of software covering all of the users' needs.
zh-TW: GNU/Linux 散佈版的兩個主要目標：在電腦上安裝自由的作業系統 (單獨存在，或是和其他作業系統同時存在)，以及提供滿足使用者需求的各種軟體。

en: The Installer: <command>debian-installer</command>
zh-TW: 安裝器：<command>debian-installer</command>

en: The <command>debian-installer</command>, designed to be extremely modular in order to be as generic as possible, targets the first objective. It covers a broad range of installation situations and in general, greatly facilitates the creation of a derivative installer corresponding to a particular case.
zh-TW: <command>debian-installer</command>，以極度模組化設計以便儘量通用，針對前述的第一個目標。含蓋極為廣泛的安裝環境，能夠支援特殊個案的安裝器。

en: This modularity, which also makes it very complex, may be daunting for the developers discovering this tool; but whether used in graphical or text mode, the user's experience is still similar. Great efforts have been made to reduce the number of questions asked at installation time, in particular thanks to the inclusion of automatic hardware detection software.
zh-TW: 模組化，讓情況很複雜，發展者極難發掘此工具；但在圖書或文字模式下，使用者的經驗仍然差不多。花了極大的力氣減少安裝所需的問題，特別感謝自動偵測硬體的軟體。

en: It is interesting to note that distributions derived from Debian differ greatly on this aspect, and provide a more limited installer (often confined to the i386 or amd64 architectures), but more user-friendly for the uninitiated. On the other hand, they usually refrain from straying too far from package contents in order to benefit as much as possible from the vast range of software offered without causing compatibility problems.
zh-TW: 值得注意的是 Debian 的衍生散佈版在這個層面上有很大的不同，提供有限的安裝方式 (通常祗限 i386 或 amd64 架構兩種)，但對初入門者更為友善。另一方面，它們通常不會讓軟體套件的內容離太遠，以便盡可能利用 Debian 提供的廣大軟體而不致於發生相容性問題。

en: The Software Library
zh-TW: 軟體程式庫

en: Most new free software programs quickly find their way into the development version which allows them to be installed. If this requires too many updates due to their dependencies, the program can also be recompiled for the stable version of Debian (see <xref linkend="debian-packaging" /> for more information on this topic).
zh-TW: 大部份新軟體自有辦法找到門路在安裝時自動納入。若因相依性的問題而需要太多的更新，可以為 Debian 的穩定版重新編譯 (此議題的詳情參見 <xref linkend="debian-packaging" />)。

en: Lifecycle of a Release
zh-TW: 釋出週期

en: <primary>lifecycle</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>週期</primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">不穩定</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">測試</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">穩定</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">實驗性</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">過期穩定</emphasis></primary>

en: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis></primary>
zh-TW: <primary><emphasis role="distribution">極舊穩定</emphasis></primary>

en: The project will simultaneously have three to six different versions of each program, named <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis>, <emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis>, and even <emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis>. Each one corresponds to a different phase in development. For a good understanding, let us take a look at a program's journey, from its initial packaging to inclusion in a stable version of Debian.
zh-TW: Debian 專案的每個程式同時有 6 個不同版本，<emphasis role="distribution">實驗</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">不穩定</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">測試</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">穩定</emphasis>、<emphasis role="distribution">舊穩定</emphasis>、與 <emphasis role="distribution">極舊穩定</emphasis>。每個版本都有自己的發展流程。為了瞭解起見，先看看程式的發展過程，由最初的包裝至納入 Debian 的穩定版。

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Release
zh-TW: <emphasis>術語</emphasis> 釋出

en: <primary>release</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>釋出</primary>

en: The term “release”, in the Debian project, indicates a particular version of a distribution (e.g., “unstable release” means “the unstable version”). It also indicates the public announcement of the launch of any new version (stable).
zh-TW: 「release」一詞，在 Debian 專案中，係指散佈版的特定發行版本 (如：「unstable release」代表的是「尚未穩定的版本」)。這個詞語也用於代表軟體新版本 (stable 穩定版) 的初次公開發表。

en: The <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis> Status
zh-TW: <emphasis role="distribution">實驗</emphasis>狀態

en: First let us take a look at the particular case of the <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis> distribution: this is a group of Debian packages corresponding to the software currently in development, and not necessarily completed, explaining its name. Not everything passes through this step; some developers add packages here in order to get feedback from more experienced (or braver) users.
zh-TW: 首先看看 <emphasis role="distribution">實驗</emphasis> 發行的特例：對應於還在發展中軟體的 Debian 套件，不必已做完，其名稱已說明一切。還沒有全部通過此階段；部份發展者加入套件為了得到有經驗 (或勇敢) 使用者的回饋。

en: Otherwise, this distribution frequently houses important modifications to base packages, whose integration into <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> with serious bugs would have critical repercussions. It is, thus, a completely isolated distribution, its packages never migrate to another version (except by direct, express intervention of the maintainer or the ftpmasters). It is also not self-contained: only a subset of the existing packages are present in <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis>, and it generally does not include the base system. This distribution is therefore mostly useful in combination with another, self-contained, distribution such as <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis>.
zh-TW: 否則，此散佈版通常會將重大修改納入基礎軟體套件中，因為一旦整合進 <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> 不穩定版中的軟體有重大臭蟲，可能導致後果不堪設想。因此，它是完全隔絕且獨立的散佈版，其軟體套件絕不會移入其他版本中 (除非有情況需要維護者或 ftp 管理者直接、快速干預)。它也不能自我納入：僅既有軟體套件的部分子集具有 <emphasis role="distribution">Experimental</emphasis> 實驗版，通常不包括基礎系統。此散佈版因此會與其他能自我納入的散佈版一同搭配使用，例如 <emphasis role="distribution">Ustable</emphasis> 版。

en: The <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> Status
zh-TW: <emphasis role="distribution">不穩定</emphasis>狀態

en: If they encounter bugs, they report them to the package's maintainer. The maintainer then regularly prepares corrected versions, which they upload to the server.
zh-TW: 碰到錯誤後，向套件維護者報告。維護者會定期準備修正版，然後再上傳至伺服器。

en: <primary>autobuilder</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>自動建立者</primary>

en: Compilation of a package by the autobuilders
zh-TW: 由自動建立者編譯的套件

en: <emphasis>QUICK LOOK</emphasis> <command>buildd</command>, the Debian package recompiler
zh-TW: <emphasis>快速查看</emphasis> <command>buildd</command>，Debian 套件再編譯者

en: <emphasis>buildd</emphasis> is the abbreviation of “build daemon”. This program automatically recompiles new versions of Debian packages on the architectures on which it is hosted (cross-compilation is avoided as much as possible).
zh-TW: <emphasis>buildd</emphasis>是 “build daemon” 的縮寫，意思是魔鬼建立器。在指定的架構自動編譯Debian套件的程式(儘量避免跨平台)。

en: Thus, to produce binaries for the <literal>arm64</literal> architecture, the project has <literal>arm64</literal> machines available. The <emphasis>buildd</emphasis> program runs on them continuously and creates binary packages for <literal>arm64</literal> from source packages sent by Debian developers.
zh-TW: 因此，<literal>arm64</literal>機器專門為<literal>arm64</literal>架構建立二元檔案。<emphasis>buildd</emphasis>程式從Debian發展者的原始套件裡持續產生<literal>arm64</literal>架構的二元套件。

en: This software is used on all the computers serving as autobuilders for Debian. By extension, the term <emphasis>buildd</emphasis> frequently is used to refer to these machines, which are generally reserved solely for this purpose.
zh-TW: Debian所有的電腦都能使用此自動建立器。擴大而言，<emphasis>buildd</emphasis>一辭常用於這些機器，僅供此目的使用。

en: Migration to <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>
zh-TW: 移殖至<emphasis role="distribution">測試</emphasis>

en: A bit later, the package will have matured; compiled on all the architectures, it will not have undergone recent modifications. It is then a candidate for inclusion in the <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> distribution — a group of <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis> packages chosen according to some quantifiable criteria. Every day a program automatically selects the packages to include in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>, according to elements guaranteeing a certain level of quality:
zh-TW: 稍後，套件略為成熟後；編譯全部的架構，不再發生新的修訂。才能成為<emphasis role="distribution">測試</emphasis>版的候選 — 基於某些標準供<emphasis role="distribution">不穩定</emphasis>套件使用。根據以下的品管保證細目，每天都有程式被自動選入<emphasis role="distribution">測試</emphasis>版：

en: successful compilation on all officially supported architectures;
zh-TW: 在所有官方支援的架構裡編繹成功；

en: lack of critical bugs, or, at least fewer than the version currently included in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>;
zh-TW: 沒有嚴重錯誤，或，少於當前<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>；

en: This system is clearly not infallible; critical bugs are regularly found in packages included in <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>. Still, it is generally effective, and <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> poses far fewer problems than <emphasis role="distribution">Unstable</emphasis>, being for many, a good compromise between stability and novelty.
zh-TW: 此系統不是萬無一失；在<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>經常發現套件的嚴重錯誤。不過，還是很有效果的，而且<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>的問題遠遠少於<emphasis role="distribution">
    不穩定版</emphasis>，對很多人來說，是穩定與新鮮之間的折衷選擇。

en: <emphasis>NOTE</emphasis> Limitations of <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis>
zh-TW: <emphasis>說明</emphasis>被限制的<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>

en: While very interesting in principle, <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> does have some practical problems: the tangle of cross-dependencies between packages is such that a package can rarely move there completely on its own. With packages all depending upon each other, it is sometimes necessary to migrate a large number of packages simultaneously, which is impossible when some are uploading updates regularly. On the other hand, the script identifying the families of related packages works hard to create them (this would be an NP-complete problem, for which, fortunately, we know some good heuristics). This is why we can manually interact with and guide this script by suggesting groups of packages, or imposing the inclusion of certain packages in a group, even if this temporarily breaks some dependencies. This functionality is accessible to the Release Managers and their assistants.
zh-TW: 很有趣的原則，<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>應沒有實際的問題：套件的跨平台相依性很難獨立完成。套件彼此相依，必須同時殖入大量的套件，事實上很難同時殖入定期更新的套件。另一方面，很難製作用於辨認相關套件家族的腳本(這是NP完備的問題，還好我們知道若干路徑)。以手動方式與腳本互動並指引若干可能的套件，或納入指定套件於群組內，即使此方法打破若干相依性。這些功能由釋出經理及其團隊負責。

en: Recall that an NP-complete problem is of an exponential algorithmic complexity according to the size of the data, here being the length of the code (the number of figures) and the elements involved. The only way to resolve it is frequently to examine all possible configurations, which could require enormous means. A heuristic is an approximate, but satisfying, solution.
zh-TW: NP完備的召出率是複雜的指數演算法，與資料量、程式碼長度(圖表的量)與涉入的元素有關。唯一的解決方案是時時檢視所有可能的組態，可能需要很多方法。啟發式是一種接近，但滿意的，解決方案。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> The Release Manager
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis> 釋出經理

en: <primary>Release Manager</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>釋出經理</primary>

en: Release Manager is an important title, associated with heavy responsibilities. The bearer of this title must, in effect, manage the release of a new, stable version of Debian, and define the process for development of <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> until it meets the quality criteria for <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis>. They also define a tentative schedule (not always followed).
zh-TW: 釋出經理是個重要的職位，責任很重。擔任此職的人，必須管理 Debian 新的、穩定版，並設定發展<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>的程序，直到進入<emphasis role="distribution">穩定版</emphasis>的品質。同時設定暫行進度 (不見得遵守它)。

en: The Promotion from <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> to <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis>
zh-TW: 從<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>至<emphasis role="distribution">穩定版</emphasis>

en: Since this moment never truly arrives, in practice, Debian must compromise: remove packages whose maintainer has failed to correct bugs on time, or agree to release a distribution with some bugs in the thousands of programs. The Release Manager will have previously announced a freeze period, during which each update to <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> must be approved. The goal here is to prevent any new version (and its new bugs), and to only approve updates fixing bugs.
zh-TW: 實際上，還沒有真的進入穩定版，Debian 必須妥協：移除維護者無法更正錯誤的套件、或容許在數千個程式中還有幾個錯誤。釋出經理曾宣告凍結期間，想被納入<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>更新必須通過認可的程序。其目標是避免新版本(及其新錯誤)，與祗有被認可的錯誤修訂。

en: A package's path through the various Debian versions
zh-TW: 套件通過多個 Debian 版本的途徑

en: <emphasis>VOCABULARY</emphasis> Freeze: the home straight
zh-TW: <emphasis>術語</emphasis> 凍結：最後一哩路

en: <primary>freeze</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>凍結</primary>

en: During the freeze period, development of the <emphasis role="distribution">Testing</emphasis> distribution is blocked; no more automatic updates are allowed. Only the Release Managers are then authorized to change packages, according to their own criteria. The purpose is to prevent the appearance of new bugs by introducing new versions; only thoroughly examined updates are authorized when they correct significant bugs.
zh-TW: 在冷凍期，停止<emphasis role="distribution">測試版</emphasis>的發展；不允許自動更新。祗有釋出經理授權的套件，才能依照指示更新。其目的是避免新版本帶新的錯誤；更正過的錯誤通過審查過的更新才能納入。

en: Chronological path of a program packaged by Debian
zh-TW: Debian 包裝程式的圖徑

en: The <emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis> and <emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis> Status
zh-TW: <emphasis role="distribution">舊穩定版</emphasis>與<emphasis role="distribution">更舊穩定版</emphasis>狀態

en: <primary>support</primary><secondary>Long Term Support (LTS)</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>支援</primary><secondary>長期支援版(LTS)</secondary>

en: Each <emphasis role="distribution">Stable</emphasis> release has an expected lifetime of about 5 years and given that releases tend to happen every 2 years, there can be up to 3 supported releases at a given point of time. When a new stable release happens, the former release becomes <emphasis role="distribution">Oldstable</emphasis> and the one even before becomes <emphasis role="distribution">Oldoldstable</emphasis>.
zh-TW: 每個<emphasis role="distribution">穩定版</emphasis>預計有五年壽命每二年發行新的穩定版，同一時間最多可有三個支援的穩定版在流通。新的穩定版釋出時，前個版本就變成<emphasis role="distribution">舊穩定版</emphasis>而更早的就成為<emphasis role="distribution">更舊穩定版</emphasis>。

en: This Long Term Support (LTS) of Debian releases is a recent initiative: individual contributors and companies joined forces to create the Debian LTS team. Older releases which are no longer supported by the Debian security team fall under the responsibility of this new team.
zh-TW: Debian 的長期支援版 (This Long Term Support, LTS) 是新的成員：由獨立的奉獻者及公司聯合的 Debian LTS 團隊完成。Debian 安全團體不在維護舊的版本。

en: <emphasis>COMMUNITY</emphasis> Companies sponsoring the LTS effort
zh-TW: <emphasis>社群</emphasis>支援 LTS 的公司

en: To bring this project to life, the project counted on the fact that long term support was particularly relevant for companies and that they would be willing to mutualize the cost of this security support.
zh-TW: 長期支援版的問世，有賴於參與公司願意分享安全維護的成本。
