0 - en to zh-TW translation catalogue (45 entries)

en: Falcot Corp
zh-TW: Falcot 公司

en: Strong Growth
zh-TW: 強力成長

en: Master Plan
zh-TW: 總體規畫

en: Migration
zh-TW: 移殖

en: Cost Reduction
zh-TW: 降低成本

en: Presenting the Case Study
zh-TW: 個案呈現

en: We have envisioned this case study to approach all modern information system services currently used in a medium sized company. After reading this book, you will have all of the elements necessary to install Debian on your servers and fly on your own wings. You will also learn how to efficiently find information in the event of difficulties.
zh-TW: 這些個案是中小企業的資訊系統。閱讀此書後，您將具備安裝 Debian 於伺服器的能力可以單飛了。您也將學會在困難時有效地找尋資訊。

en: Fast Growing IT Needs
zh-TW: 高速成長的資訊科技需求

en: Falcot Corp is a manufacturer of high quality audio equipment. The company is growing strongly, and has two facilities, one in Saint-Étienne, and another in Montpellier. The former has around 150 employees; it hosts a factory for the manufacturing of speakers, a design lab, and all administrative office. The Montpellier site is smaller, with only about 50 workers, and produces amplifiers.
zh-TW: Falcot 公司是高品質揚聲器材的製造商。公司的成長極為強勁，擁有兩處設施，一個在法國羅亞爾省的首府聖艾蒂安，另一個在法國埃羅省的首府蒙佩利爾，相距300多公里。前者有150多名員工；及生產揚聲器的工廠、設計實驗室、以及行政辦公室。蒙佩利爾較小，只有約50名員工，生產擴大器。

en: <emphasis>NOTE</emphasis> Fictional company created for case study
zh-TW: <emphasis>說明</emphasis>個案學習用的虛擬公司

en: The Falcot Corp company used as an example here is completely fictional. Any resemblance to an existing company is purely coincidental. Likewise, some example data throughout this book may be fictional.
zh-TW: Falcot 公司是完全虛構的。如有雷同純屬巧合。同樣的，本書的其他資料也是虛構的。

en: modern, easily scalable infrastructure;
zh-TW: 現代化、容易擴展的架構；

en: reducing cost of software licenses thanks to use of Open Source software;
zh-TW: 使用開源軟體減少軟體授權費用；

en: installation of an e-commerce website, possibly B2B (business to business, i.e. linking of information systems between different companies, such as a supplier and its clients);
zh-TW: 安裝電子商務網站，可能是 B2B (商業對商業模式，即連結不同公司的資訊系統，諸如供應商及其客戶)；

en: significant improvement in security to better protect trade secrets related to new products.
zh-TW: 顯著改善安全性以保護新產生的商業機密。

en: The entire information system will be overhauled with these goals in mind.
zh-TW: 在此等目標之下重新建置整個資訊系統。

en: <primary>master plan</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>總體規畫</primary>

en: <primary>migration</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>移殖</primary>

en: With your collaboration, IT management has conducted a slightly more extensive study, identifying some constraints and defining a plan for migration to the chosen Open Source system, Debian.
zh-TW: 在您的協助下，資訊科技管理部門做了略為廣泛的研究，辨識出限制並規畫移殖計畫選定 Debian 這個開放源碼系統。

en: A significant constraint identified is that the accounting department uses specific software, which only runs on <trademark>Microsoft Windows</trademark>. The laboratory, for its part, uses computer aided design software that runs on <trademark>OS X</trademark>.
zh-TW: 最大的限制是會計部門使用祗在<trademark>Microsoft 視窗</trademark>環境運行的特定軟體。以及，實驗室人員使用祗在<trademark>OS X</trademark>環境執行的電腦輔助設計軟體。

en: Overview of the Falcot Corp network
zh-TW: 檢視 Falcot 公司的網路

en: The switch to Debian will be gradual; a small business, with limited means, cannot reasonably change everything overnight. For starters, the IT staff must be trained in Debian administration. The servers will then be converted, starting with the network infrastructure (routers, firewalls, etc.) followed by the user services (file sharing, Web, SMTP, etc.). Then the office computers will be gradually migrated to Debian, for each department to be trained (internally) during the deployment of the new system.
zh-TW: 將逐步轉換至 Debian；中小企業的工具有限，不能瞬間改變一切。資訊科技部門員工，必須先接受 Debian 管理的訓練。然後轉換伺服器，從網路架構開始 (路由器、防火牆等) 然後是使用者的服務 (檔案共享、網頁、電子郵件傳輸協定等)。再把辦公室的電腦逐步移殖至 Debian，於布建新系統時訓練每個部門 (內部)。

en: Why a GNU/Linux Distribution?
zh-TW: 為什麼選擇 GNU/Linux 發行版？

en: <emphasis>BACK TO BASICS</emphasis> Linux or GNU/Linux?
zh-TW: <emphasis>基本</emphasis>Linux 或 GNU/Linux？

en: Linux, as you already know, is only a kernel. The expressions, “Linux distribution” and “Linux system” are, thus, incorrect: they are, in reality, distributions or systems <emphasis>based on</emphasis> Linux. These expressions fail to mention the software that always completes this kernel, among which are the programs developed by the GNU Project. Dr. Richard Stallman, founder of this project, insists that the expression “GNU/Linux” be systematically used, in order to better recognize the important contributions made by the GNU Project and the principles of freedom upon which they are founded.
zh-TW: 如您所知，Linux，祗是一個核心程式。所以，“Linux 發行版” 與 “Linux 系統”，都是不正確的稱呼：實際上是，以 Linux 為<emphasis>基礎</emphasis>發行版或系統。這種表示法未能提及搭配於核心之外的軟體，就是由 GNU 計畫發展出來的程式。理察·馬修·斯托曼博士創始該計畫，堅持使用 “GNU/Linux”，才能辨識出 GNU 計畫的重要貢獻及其自由的原則。

en: Several factors have dictated this choice. The system administrator, who was familiar with this distribution, ensured it was listed among the candidates for the computer system overhaul. Difficult economic conditions and ferocious competition have limited the budget for this operation, despite its critical importance for the future of the company. This is why Open Source solutions were swiftly chosen: several recent studies indicate they are less expensive than proprietary solutions while providing equal or better quality of service so long as qualified personnel are available to run them.
zh-TW: 很多因素影響此抉擇。熟悉此發行版的系統管理員，確認 Debian 在全新電腦系統候選名單之內。儘管對公司的未來極為重要，困難的經濟情況與殘酷的競爭還是限制此作業的預算。這就是開放源碼方案勝出的原因：若干最近的研究指出，祗要有合格的人員執行，在相同或更佳服務品質的前提下，Debian 的花費小於專屬軟體。

en: <primary>Total Cost of Ownership</primary>
zh-TW: <primary>整體擁有成本</primary>

en: This TCO, which varies according to the criteria chosen in the assessment thereof, is rarely significant when taken in isolation. However, it is very interesting to compare TCOs for different options if they are calculated according to the same rules. This assessment table is, thus, of paramount importance, and it is easy to manipulate it in order to draw a predefined conclusion. Thus, the TCO for a single machine doesn't make sense, since the cost of an administrator is also reflected in the total number of machines they manage, a number which obviously depends on the operating system and tools proposed.
zh-TW: 整體擁有成本係根據現況而來，抽離環境單獨來看就沒有意義。然而，在相同規則下，可以計算各選擇的整體擁有成本。此估價表是最重要的，很容易依此得出結論。所以，單個機器的整體擁有成本沒有意義，管理員的成本可以攤入其能管理的機器數，其數量與作業系統和工具有關。

en: Among free operating systems, the IT department looked at the free BSD systems (OpenBSD, FreeBSD, and NetBSD), GNU Hurd, and Linux distributions. GNU Hurd, which has not yet released a stable version, was immediately rejected. The choice is simpler between BSD and Linux. The former have many merits, especially on servers. Pragmatism, however, led to choosing a Linux system, since its installed base and popularity are both very significant and have many positive consequences. One of these consequences is that it is easier to find qualified personnel to administer Linux machines than technicians experienced with BSD. Furthermore, Linux adapts to newer hardware faster than BSD (although they are often neck and neck in this race). Finally, Linux distributions are often more adapted to user-friendly graphical user interfaces, indispensable for beginners during migration of all office machines to a new system.
zh-TW: 眾多作業系統中，被IT部門列入候選名單的包括自由的 BSD 系統 (OpenBSD、FreeBSD、與 NetBSD)、GNU Hurd、與 Linux 發行版。GNU Hurd 還沒有釋出穩定版，立即被排除。祗剩下 BDS 與 Linux 可選。前者的優點很多，尤其在伺服器領域。然而，從實用的角度看，還是選擇 Linux 系統，因為它的安裝基礎與流行度都相當不錯而且也有很多正面的意義。其中包括很容易找到管理 Linux 機器的合格人員。尤有甚者，Linux 採用更新更快的硬體 (雖然差距不大)。最後，Linux 發行版多半伴隨親切的圖形使用者介面，初學者最需要它。

en: <emphasis>ALTERNATIVE</emphasis> Debian GNU/kFreeBSD
zh-TW: <emphasis>其他選擇</emphasis> Debian GNU/kFreeBSD

en: These architectures may be an appropriate choice for Falcot Corp administrators, especially for a firewall (the kernel supports three different firewalls: IPF, IPFW, PF) or for a NAS (network attached storage system, for which the ZFS filesystem has been tested and approved).
zh-TW: 這種架構可能是 Falcot 公司管理者的恰當選擇，特別在防火牆 (核心程式支援三種不同的防火牆：IPF、IPFW、PF) 或 NAS (網路附加儲存系統，已測試及認可 ZFS 檔案系統) 方面。

en: Why the Debian Distribution?
zh-TW: 為什麼選擇 Debian 發行版？

en: Once the Linux family has been selected, a more specific option must be chosen. Again, there are plenty of criteria to consider. The chosen distribution must be able to operate for several years, since the migration from one to another would entail additional costs (although less than if the migration were between two totally different operating systems, such as Windows or OS X).
zh-TW: 選定 Linux 系列後，還要選發行版。同樣的，選擇很多。必須能夠使用多年，因為轉換系統極為費時費力又費錢 (雖然比在完全不同的系統間切換較為省事，如 Windows 或 OS X)。

en: Commercial and Community Driven Distributions
zh-TW: 商業與社群推動的發行版

en: A community distribution doesn't follow any schedule but its own. Like the Linux kernel, new versions are released when they are stable, never before. Its survival is guaranteed, as long as it has enough individual developers or third party companies to support it.
zh-TW: 社群發行版祗有自己的更新時間表。如同 Linux 核心，穩定後就發布新的發行版，永遠不會發布不穩定的版本。只要有足夠的個人發展者或第三方公司支援它，就能保證其存在。

en: <primary>distribution</primary><secondary>community Linux distribution</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>發行版</primary><secondary>社群 Linux 發行版</secondary>

en: <primary>distribution</primary><secondary>commercial Linux distribution</secondary>
zh-TW: <primary>發行版</primary><secondary>商業 Linux 發行版</secondary>

en: A comparison of various Linux distributions led to the choice of Debian for various reasons:
zh-TW: 從眾多發行版裡選取 Debian 的理由如下：

en: It is a community distribution, with development ensured independently from any commercial constraints; its objectives are, thus, essentially of a technical nature, which seem to favor the overall quality of the product.
zh-TW: 它是社群發行版，不受任何商業行為限制；它的目標是技術導向，偏向控制產品的品質。

en: Of all community distributions, it is the most significant from many perspectives: in number of contributors, number of software packages available, and years of continuous existence. The size of its community is an incontestable witness to its continuity.
zh-TW: 在社群發行版中，各方面都是最優的：奉獻者、可用的套件數、以及持續存在的年限。社群的規模更是無可匹敵的。

en: Statistically, new versions are released every 18 to 24 months, and they are supported for 5 years, a schedule which is agreeable to administrators.
zh-TW: 從過去的資訊分析，每隔 18 至 24 個月就有新的版本，都支援 5 年，管理者都贊同的時間表。

en: A survey of several French service companies specialized in free software has shown that all of them provide technical assistance for Debian; it is also, for many of them, their chosen distribution, internally. This diversity of potential providers is a major asset for Falcot Corp's independence.
zh-TW: 針對法國自由軟體服務公司的調查發現，參與調查的公司都提供 Debian 的技術支援；同時，也是它們內部所使用的發行版。在服務提供者的多樣性是保持 Falcot 公司獨立不受特定廠商控制的重要原因。

en: Finally, Debian is available on a multitude of architectures, including ppc64el for OpenPOWER processors; it will, thus, be possible to install it on Falcot Corp's latest IBM servers.
zh-TW: 最後，Debian 支援眾多架構，包括 OpenPOWER 處理器的 ppc64el；因此，它可以裝載於 Falcot 公司最新的 IBM 伺服器上。

en: <emphasis>IN PRACTICE</emphasis> Debian Long Term Support
zh-TW: <emphasis>實務</emphasis> Debian 長期支援

en: The Debian Long Term Support (LTS) project started in 2014 and aims to provide 5 years of security support to all stable Debian releases. As LTS is of primary importance to organizations with large deployments, the project tries to pool resources from Debian-using companies. <ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/LTS" />
zh-TW: Debian 長期支援 (Long Term Support, LTS) 計畫始於2014年，旨在為所有的 Debian 穩定發行版提供 5 年的安全支援。由於 LTS 對大量部署 Debian 的組織極其重要，此計畫試圖從使用 Debian 的公司彙集資源。<ulink type="block" url="https://wiki.debian.org/LTS" />
