Freeciv 2.1 - en to ko translation catalogue (1894 entries)

en: Abkhaz
ko: 아브하지아인

en: ?plural:Abkhazians
ko: 아브하지아인

en: Ancestors of Abkhazians have lived in the western Caucasus since time immemorial. Short periods of independence alternated with domination by the Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Turks, Russians and Georgians. Nowadays Abkhazia is a partially recognized republic.
ko: 아브하지아인의 조상은 아주 오랜 옛날부터 서부 카프카스에서 살아왔습니다. 짧은 독립 시기와 그리스, 로마, 비잔틴, 튀르크, 러시아, 조지아의 지배가 번갈아 이어졌습니다. 오늘날 아브하지아는 부분적으로 승인된 공화국입니다.

en: Imam %s
ko: 이맘 %s

en: Imama %s
ko: 여이맘 %s

en: Australian Aboriginal
ko: 호주 원주민

en: ?plural:Aborigines
ko: 호주 원주민

en: Australian Aborigines is a collective term for the original inhabitants of the Australian continent. Aborigines from different parts of Australia refer to themselves with different names, including Koori, Yamaji, Nunga, and Murri.
ko: 호주 원주민은 호주 대륙의 원주민을 통칭하는 말입니다. 호주 각지의 원주민들은 쿠리, 야마지, 눙가, 머리 등 서로 다른 이름으로 자신들을 부릅니다.

en: Principal Chief %s
ko: 수석 추장 %s

en: ?female:Principal Chief %s
ko: 수석 여추장 %s

en: Elder %s
ko: 원로 %s

en: ?female:Elder %s
ko: 여원로 %s

en: Great Chief %s
ko: 대족장 %s

en: ?female:Great Chief %s
ko: 여대족장 %s

en: Abyssinian
ko: 아비시니아인

en: ?plural:Abyssinians
ko: 아비시니아인

en: Abyssinians - also known as Habesha or Ethiopians - are a Semitic people who ruled historical states in the Horn of Africa, the most prominent being the Aksumite Kingdom and the Ethiopian Empire.
ko: 아비시니아인은 하베샤 또는 에티오피아인으로도 알려진 셈계 민족으로, 아프리카의 뿔 지역에서 악숨 왕국과 에티오피아 제국 같은 역사적 국가를 다스렸습니다.

en: Patriarch %s
ko: 총대주교 %s

en: Matriarch %s
ko: 여총대주교 %s

en: Emperor %s
ko: 황제 %s

en: Empress %s
ko: 여제 %s

en: Acadian
ko: 아카디아인

en: ?plural:Acadians
ko: 아카디아인

en: Acadia was first founded in 1604 as the first French colony in North America. It was soon caught in the crossfire of French-English wars, leading Acadia to change hands frequently. This led Acadians to develop a separate identity and a form of self-government. Their lack of support for any side in these wars earned them the title of French neutrals, but also the distrust of British colonial authorities who would forcefully deport them in 1755. Acadians have since returned to their land and rebuilt.
ko: 아카디아는 1604년 북아메리카 최초의 프랑스 식민지로 세워졌습니다. 곧 프랑스와 영국 전쟁의 소용돌이에 휘말리면서 지배자가 자주 바뀌었습니다. 그 과정에서 아카디아인들은 독자적인 정체성과 자치 형태를 발전시켰습니다. 이들은 전쟁에서 어느 한쪽도 지지하지 않아 프랑스계 중립인이라는 이름을 얻었지만, 영국 식민 당국의 불신도 샀고 1755년에 강제 추방되었습니다. 이후 아카디아인들은 고향으로 돌아와 재건했습니다.

en: Premier %s
ko: 수상 %s

en: Premiere %s
ko: 여수상 %s

en: Abbot %s
ko: 수도원장 %s

en: Mother Superior %s
ko: 수녀원장 %s

en: Acehnese
ko: 아체인

en: ?plural:Acehnese
ko: 아체인

en: The Sultanate of Aceh located on the western tip of the island of Sumatra was a regional power in the 16th and 17th centuries, controlling much of the trade through the Strait of Malacca. Aceh was subjugated by the Dutch in the bloody Aceh War of 1873-1903.
ko: 수마트라섬 서쪽 끝에 있던 아체 술탄국은 16~17세기에 말라카 해협을 지나는 무역의 상당 부분을 장악한 지역 강국이었습니다. 아체는 1873~1903년의 피비린내 나는 아체 전쟁에서 네덜란드에 정복되었습니다.

en: Sultan %s
ko: 술탄 %s

en: Sultana %s
ko: 술타나 %s

en: Governor %s
ko: 총독 %s

en: ?female:Governor %s
ko: 여총독 %s

en: Acrean
ko: 아크리인

en: ?plural:Acreans
ko: 아크리인

en: Acre is the westernmost state of Brazil. The region was part of Bolivia until 1899, when Brazilian settlers revolted and declared an Independent State of Acre. Bolivia gave up its claims to the territory in the Treaty of Petropolis of 1903, after which Acre was annexed to Brazil. Acre is one of the world's most important rubber producing regions.
ko: 아크리는 브라질 최서단의 주입니다. 이 지역은 브라질 정착민들이 반란을 일으켜 독립 아크리국을 선포한 1899년까지 볼리비아의 일부였습니다. 볼리비아는 1903년 페트로폴리스 조약에서 이 지역에 대한 영유권을 포기했고, 이후 아크리는 브라질에 병합되었습니다. 아크리는 세계에서 가장 중요한 고무 생산지 중 하나입니다.

en: Baron %s
ko: 남작 %s

en: Baroness %s
ko: 여남작 %s

en: Padre %s
ko: 파드레 %s

en: Madre %s
ko: 마드레 %s

en: Afghani
ko: 아프가니스탄인

en: ?plural:Afghanis
ko: 아프가니스탄인

en: Afghanistan, often called the crossroads of Central Asia, has had a very turbulent history. Through the ages, the country has been occupied by many forces including the Persian Empire, Genghis Khan and Alexander the Great. The Afghanistan nation-state as it is known today came into existence in 1746 when Ahmad Shah founded the Durrani Empire.
ko: 중앙아시아의 교차로라고 불리는 아프가니스탄은 매우 격동적인 역사를 거쳤습니다. 오랜 세월 동안 페르시아 제국, 칭기즈 칸, 알렉산더 대왕을 비롯한 여러 세력에게 점령되었습니다. 오늘날 알려진 아프가니스탄 민족 국가는 1746년 아흐마드 샤가 두라니 제국을 세우면서 형성되었습니다.

en: Emir %s
ko: 군주 %s

en: Emira %s
ko: 여군주 %s

en: General Secretary %s
ko: 서기장 %s

en: ?female:General Secretary %s
ko: 여서기장 %s

en: Mullah %s
ko: 물라 %s

en: ?female:Mullah %s
ko: 여물라 %s

en: African
ko: 아프리카인

en: ?plural:Africans
ko: 아프리카인

en: Africa: the cradle of humanity. It is the world's second largest continent and also its second most populous.
ko: 아프리카: 인류의 발상지. 세계에서 두 번째로 큰 대륙이자 두 번째로 인구가 많은 대륙입니다.

en: Ainu
ko: 아이누인

en: ?plural:Ainu
ko: 아이누인

en: The Ainu are the indigenous people of northern Japan, the Kuril islands, Sakhalin, and the southern part of the Kamchatka peninsula.
ko: 아이누는 일본 북부, 쿠릴 열도, 사할린, 캄차카반도 남부의 토착민입니다.

en: Akwe
ko: 악위인

en: ?plural:Akwe
ko: 악위인

en: The Akwe are also known by three different tribal names in Portuguese, Xavante, Xakriaba and Xerente. They have a patrilineal clan system and live in Mato Grosso and Tocantins states of Brazil, though they have been forced to move by Brazilians several times through their history. Traditionally, they are ruled by councils of elders who elect a chief and have likely lived in large ring villages since about the 9th century CE. They are Ge speakers who farm maize, manioc, sweet potatoes and yams.
ko: 악위는 포르투갈어로 샤반치, 샤크리아바, 셰렌치라는 세 부족명으로도 알려져 있습니다. 이들은 부계 씨족 체계를 가지고 브라질의 마투그로수주와 토칸칭스주에 살지만, 역사적으로 브라질인들에 의해 여러 차례 강제 이주를 당했습니다. 전통적으로 족장을 선출하는 장로 회의가 이들을 다스렸으며, 서기 9세기 무렵부터 큰 원형 마을에서 살았을 가능성이 큽니다. 이들은 제어군 언어를 쓰며 옥수수, 마니옥, 고구마, 얌을 재배합니다.

en: Andalusi
ko: 안달루시인

en: ?plural:Andalusis
ko: 안달루시인

en: Al-Andalus was the parts of the Iberian peninsula that was under Muslim control during the Middle Ages. Muslim Andalusians are noted for their splendid architectural heritage. During the Reconquista the Christian kingdoms gradually pushed back the Islamic states of Al-Andalus. Their last city on the Iberian peninsula, Granada, fell in 1492.
ko: 알안달루스는 중세에 무슬림의 지배를 받았던 이베리아반도 지역을 가리킵니다. 무슬림 안달루시인들은 화려한 건축 유산으로 유명합니다. 레콩키스타 동안 기독교 왕국들은 알안달루스의 이슬람 국가들을 점차 밀어냈습니다. 이베리아반도에 남은 마지막 도시 그라나다는 1492년에 함락되었습니다.

en: Sheikh %s
ko: 셰이크 %s

en: Shaykha %s
ko: 셰이카 %s

en: Caliph %s
ko: 칼리프 %s

en: Calipha %s
ko: 여칼리프 %s

en: Vizier %s
ko: 재상 %s

en: ?female:Vizier %s
ko: 여재상 %s

en: Ålander
ko: 올란드인

en: ?plural:Ålanders
ko: 올란드인

en: Åland is an archipelago in the Baltic Sea, located between Sweden and Finland. The islands' inhabitants are Swedish speaking, but Åland is an autonomous province in Finland, a status that was reached in 1921 after a long period in which the islands were contested between Sweden and Finland. Åland's special and demilitarized status is protected by international law.
ko: 올란드는 스웨덴과 핀란드 사이의 발트해에 있는 군도입니다. 주민들은 스웨덴어를 사용하지만, 올란드는 핀란드의 자치주입니다. 이 지위는 스웨덴과 핀란드가 오랫동안 섬을 두고 다툰 뒤 1921년에 확정되었습니다. 올란드의 특별 지위와 비무장 지위는 국제법으로 보호됩니다.

en: Earl %s
ko: 백작 %s

en: ?female:Earl %s
ko: 여백작 %s

en: Vicar %s
ko: 대리사제 %s

en: ?female:Vicar %s
ko: 여대리사제 %s

en: Alaska
ko: 알래스카인

en: ?plural:Alaskans
ko: 알래스카인

en: Alaska is a state in the United States of America that was purchased from the Russian Empire in 1867, it became an organized territory on May 11th, 1912 and eventually gained statehood as the 49th state on January 3rd, 1959. The question of Alaskan independence became more relevant with the election of Wally Hickel in 1990.
ko: 알래스카는 미국의 주로, 1867년에 러시아 제국으로부터 매입되었습니다. 1912년 5월 11일 편입 준주가 되었고, 1959년 1월 3일 마침내 49번째 주가 되었습니다. 1990년 월리 히컬이 당선되면서 알래스카 독립 문제는 더욱 주목받게 되었습니다.

en: Sheriff %s
ko: 보안관 %s

en: ?female:Sheriff %s
ko: 여보안관 %s

en: Reverend %s
ko: 목사 %s

en: ?female:Reverend %s
ko: 여목사 %s

en: Albanian
ko: 알바니아인

en: ?plural:Albanians
ko: 알바니아인

en: Inhabitants of the Balkan peninsula, the ethnic origins of the Albanians are uncertain, though it has been suggested they descend from the Illyrians of Classical Antiquity. Albania changed hands several times during its history. It has been an independent state again since 1912. For much of the 20th century Albania was ruled by communist dictator Envër Hoxha.
ko: 발칸반도의 주민인 알바니아인의 민족적 기원은 확실하지 않지만, 고전 고대의 일리리아인에게서 내려왔다는 설이 있습니다. 알바니아는 역사 속에서 여러 차례 지배자가 바뀌었습니다. 1912년부터 다시 독립국이 되었고, 20세기 대부분 동안 공산주의 독재자 엔베르 호자의 지배를 받았습니다.

en: Prince %s
ko: 왕자 %s

en: Princess %s
ko: 공주 %s

en: First Secretary %s
ko: 제1서기 %s

en: ?female:First Secretary %s
ko: 여제1서기 %s

en: Aleut
ko: 알류트족

en: ?plural:Aleuts
ko: 알류트족

en: The Unangan, or Aleut, lived in permanent subterranean homes in their hunting and fishing villages. They lived in the Aleutian islands for thousands of years prior to European contact. Unangan people developed ties to Russian missionaries and traders many converting to Russian Orthodox Christianity and intermarrying with Russians, and some even accompanied Russians to their other colonial entrepots such as Ft. Ross in northern California and Ft. Elizabeth in Hawai'i.
ko: 언안간(Unangan), 또는 알류트는 그들이 사냥하고 낚시하는 영구적인 지하의 집에서 들어가 삽니다. 그들은 알류산 열도에서 유럽인의 접촉 이전에 수천년 동안을 살았습니다. 대부분 언안간 사람은 러시안 정통 기독교에 개종시키고 러시아인과 결혼시키는, 러시아 선교사와 상인에게 의지하도록 발달하고, 심지어 몇몇은 북부의 캘리포니아의 요새, 로스(Ft. Ross)와 하와이의 요새, 엘리자베스(Ft. Elizabeth)와 같은 그들의 다른 식민지의 창고에 러시아인과 동행했습니다.

en: Shaman %s
ko: 샤먼 %s

en: ?female:Shaman %s
ko: 여샤먼 %s

en: Algerian
ko: 알제리인

en: ?plural:Algerians
ko: 알제리인

en: Algeria is an Arabic nation in North Africa. It is historically inhabited by the Berber people.
ko: 알제리는 북아프리카의 아랍어의 나라입니다. 이곳은 베르베르 사람에 의해서 역사적으로 살았습니다.

en: Secretary General %s
ko: 사무총장 %s

en: ?female:Secretary General %s
ko: 여사무총장 %s

en: %s Dey
ko: %s 데이

en: ?female:%s Dey
ko: %s 여데이

en: Alsatian
ko: 알자스인

en: ?plural:Alsatians
ko: 알자스인

en: Alsace is a region in Europe, on the border of France and Germany. During the Middle Ages Alsace was part of the Holy Roman Empire, and consisted of several quite wealthy city-states. In the 17th and 18th century the Alsatian cities were annexed by France one by one, but after that the region became one of the most contested parts of Europe, changing hands between Germany and France 4 times in less than a century. Since 1944 it has been in French hands.
ko: 알자스는 프랑스와 독일의 국경에 있는 유럽의 지역입니다. 중세에는 신성 로마 제국의 일부였으며, 상당히 부유한 여러 도시국가로 이루어져 있었습니다. 17~18세기에 알자스의 도시들은 하나씩 프랑스에 병합되었지만, 이후 이 지역은 한 세기도 안 되는 기간에 독일과 프랑스 사이에서 네 차례나 지배자가 바뀐 유럽의 대표적인 분쟁 지역이 되었습니다. 1944년 이후로는 프랑스에 속해 있습니다.

en: Minister-President %s
ko: 주총리 %s

en: ?female:Minister-President %s
ko: 여주총리 %s

en: Bailiff %s
ko: 집행관 %s

en: ?female:Bailiff %s
ko: 여집행관 %s

en: Bishop %s
ko: 주교 %s

en: ?female:Bishop %s
ko: 여주교 %s

en: Burgomaster %s
ko: 시장 %s

en: ?female:Burgomaster %s
ko: 여시장 %s

en: Amazigh
ko: 아마지흐인

en: ?plural:Imazighen
ko: 아마지흐인

en: The Amazigh civilization is one of the oldest in the Mediterranean Basin, co-existing with ancient Egypt. The Imazighen people, which means "free men", are sturdy and strong but cheerful and generous with a great consideration for family and tribe. Every tribe has its own traditions and culture, which is the reason for the countless diversity of traditions in modern Morocco, Algeria, and Tunisia. The Imazighen speak old languages such as Tamazirt, Tachelhit or Tarifit, collectively known as Berber languages, using an age-old writing system called Tifinagh.
ko: 아마지흐(Amazigh) 문명은 고대 이집트와 공존하는, 지중해에서 가장 오래된 문명 중 하나입니다. "자유 사람"을 의마하는 아마지흐(The Imazighen) 사람은, 튼튼하고 강하지만 발랄하고 가족과 부족을 위한 큰 사려에 관대합니다. 모든 부족은 자신의 전통과 문화를 가지는데, 현대 모로코, 알제리아, 그리고 튀니지에서 셀 수 없이 많은 전통의 다양성이 그 이유입니다. 아마지흐 사람은 타마저트(Tamazirt), 타칠힛(Tachelhit), 또는 타리핏(Tarifit)과 같은, 티피나흐(Tifinagh)라 불리는 아주 오래된 문자체계를 사용하는 베르베르 언어로 총괄하여 알려진 고대 언어를 구사합니다.

en: Amazonian
ko: 아마존인

en: ?plural:Amazons
ko: 아마존인

en: The Amazons are a fictional nation of women warriors which appear in Classical Greek writing and art. Authors have located them in the Ukraine, Asia Minor, or Libya. The Amazons were reported to remove their right breasts in order to better use the bow and other weapons.
ko: 아마존은 고대 그리스 문학과 미술에 등장하는 여성 전사들의 전설적 집단입니다. 고대 저자들은 이들을 우크라이나, 소아시아, 리비아 등 여러 지역에 두었습니다. 아마존 전사들이 활과 다른 무기를 더 잘 다루기 위해 오른쪽 가슴을 제거했다는 이야기도 전해집니다.

en: Andorran
ko: 안도라인

en: ?plural:Andorrans
ko: 안도라인

en: Andorra is a small country in the eastern Pyrenees. In 1278, a dispute between the bishop of Urgell and the Count of Foix ended with an agreement to share the sovereignty of Andorra. This arrangement is still in effect and their successors - the current bishop of Urgell and the President of the French Republic - bear the (mostly honorific) title of co-prince of Andorra.
ko: 안도라는 동부 피레네 산맥의 작은 국가입니다. 1278년, 우르헬의 주교와 푸아의 백작 사이에서 분쟁은 안도라의 통치권을 나누는 것으로 끝냈습니다. 이 협의는 여전히 유효하고, 그들의 계승자들 - 현재 우르헬의 주교와 프랑스 공화국의 대통령 - 은 안도라의 협동-군주라는 (주로 경칭의) 명칭을 가지고 있습니다.

en: Dictator %s
ko: 독재자 %s

en: ?female:Dictator %s
ko: 여독재자 %s

en: Co-Prince %s
ko: 공동공 %s

en: Co-Princess %s
ko: 공동공주 %s

en: Angolan
ko: 앙골라인

en: ?plural:Angolans
ko: 앙골라인

en: When the Portuguese arrived in Angola in the 15th century the region was controlled by several Bantu kingdoms. Angola became an important source of slave traders until well into the 19th century. After two decades of guerrilla war against the Portuguese colonial authorities Angola finally achieved independence in 1975. Soon the various guerilla groups started fighting each other. After half a century of war a peace agreement was finally reached in 2002.
ko: 포르투갈인이 15세기에 앙골라에 도착했을 때, 그 지역은 몇몇의 반투 족 왕국에게 통제되고 있었다. 앙골라는 줄곧 19세기까지 노예 상인의 중요한 근원이 되었습니다. 포르투갈 식인지의 정부당국에 대한 20년 동안의 유격전 후에, 앙골라는 마침내 1975년에 독립을 성취했습니다. 이내 다양한 게릴라 무리들이 서로 싸우기 시작했습니다. 반 세기 동안의 전쟁 후에, 평화 협정은 마침내 2002년에 이루어졌습니다.

en: Anhaltian
ko: 안할트인

en: ?plural:Anhaltians
ko: 안할트인

en: Anhalt was a German state. Initially a county, it was split from Saxony in 1212. For most of its history, it was partitioned into several territories that were ruled by the same family. The counts of Anhalt were raised to dukes upon the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire by Napoleon in 1806. Anhalt was reunited into a single duchy in 1863. Upon the downfall of the German monarchies in 1918, it became a free state. After World War II, Anhalt finally ceased to exist when the allies decided to merge it with the former Prussian Province of Saxony to form the state of Saxony-Anhalt.
ko: 안할트는 독일의 국가였습니다. 처음에는 백국이었으며 1212년에 작센에서 분리되었습니다. 역사 대부분 동안 같은 가문이 다스리는 여러 영지로 나뉘어 있었습니다. 1806년 나폴레옹에 의해 신성 로마 제국이 해체되자 안할트의 백작들은 공작으로 승격되었습니다. 안할트는 1863년에 하나의 공국으로 재통합되었습니다. 1918년 독일 군주제 붕괴 뒤에는 자유주가 되었습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 연합국이 옛 프로이센 작센주와 합쳐 작센안할트주를 만들기로 하면서 안할트는 결국 소멸했습니다.

en: Count %s
ko: 백작 %s

en: Countess %s
ko: 여백작 %s

en: Grand Duke %s
ko: 대공 %s

en: Grand Duchess %s
ko: 여대공 %s

en: Anishinaabe
ko: 아니시나베족

en: ?plural:Anishinaabeg
ko: 아니시나베족

en: The Anishinaabeg are a group of closely related Native American tribes in the North American Great Lakes region, including the Ottawa, Ojibwe, Algonkin and Potawatomi. They speak Algonquian languages. Together they are one of the most numerous indigenous peoples of North America.
ko: 아니시나베 족은 오타와, 오지브웨, 알곤킨, 그리고 포타와토미 족을 포함하여 북아메리카 대서양 지역에서, 토종의 아메리칸 부족과 밀접하게 관련된 집단입니다. 그들은 알곤킨 말을 구사합니다. 동시에 그들은 북아메리카의 가장 많은 토착 민족 중 하나입니다.

en: Great Shaman %s
ko: 대샤먼 %s

en: ?female:Great Shaman %s
ko: 여대샤먼 %s

en: Antarctican
ko: 남극인

en: ?plural:Antarcticans
ko: 남극인

en: Independent South Pole, land of penguins.
ko: 펭귄의 땅, 독립된 남극입니다.

en: Antiguan and Barbudan
ko: 앤티가 바부다인

en: ?plural:Antiguans and Barbudans
ko: 앤티가 바부다인

en: Antigua and Barbuda is a country in the Eastern Caribbean consisting of the two eponymous islands as well as a number of smaller islets. The country has been independent from the United Kingdom since 1981.
ko: 앤티가 바부다는 더 작고 많은 섬 뿐만 아니라 둘 다 동일한 이름을 가진 섬들도 존재하는 동부 카리브해 지역의 국가입니다. 그 국가는 1981년 이후로 영국으로 부터 독립되었습니다.

en: Antillean
ko: 앤틸리스인

en: ?plural:Antilleans
ko: 앤틸리스인

en: The islands of Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Saint Martin and Saint Eustatius were colonized by the Dutch in the 17th century. Their population is of mixed European, African and Latin American heritage. The Netherlands Antilles gained internal self governance in 1954, and were subsequently dissolved in 2010. Aruba, Curacao and Saint Martin are countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands; the other three islands have been directly integrated into the Netherlands as special municipalities.
ko: 아루바, 보네르, 퀴라소, 사바, 세인트마틴, 신트외스타티위스 섬은 17세기에 네덜란드의 식민지가 되었습니다. 주민들은 유럽, 아프리카, 라틴아메리카계가 섞인 혈통을 지니고 있습니다. 네덜란드령 앤틸리스는 1954년에 내부 자치를 얻었고 2010년에 해체되었습니다. 아루바, 퀴라소, 세인트마틴은 네덜란드 왕국 내의 국가이며, 나머지 세 섬은 특별 자치단체로 네덜란드에 직접 편입되었습니다.

en: Aragonese
ko: 아라곤인

en: ?plural:Aragonese
ko: 아라곤인

en: Aragon was formed as a Frankish county and was elevated to a kingdom in the 11th century. It expanded its territory southwards during the reconquista and subsequently managed to control a large part of the Mediterranean. In 1469 king Fernando II married Isabella of Castile, a union that would form the base of the Spanish unification. The kingdom was legally dissolved in 1707 but today Aragon continues to exist as an autonomous community of Spain.
ko: 아라곤은 프랑크 족의 국가로서 형성되었고, 11세기에 왕국으로 승격하였습니다. 이것은 국토회복운동 동안 남쪽을 향해 영토를 확장하였고, 나중에 지중해의 광범위한 부분을 통제하게되었습니다. 1469년 왕 페르난도 2세가 카스티야의 이사벨라와 결혼하고, 그 결혼은 스페인의 통합의 기반을 형성하였습니다. 그 왕국은 법률적으로 1707년에 사라졌지만, 오늘날 아라곤은 스페인의 자주적인 공동체로서 계속해서 존재합니다.

en: Aramean
ko: 아람인

en: ?plural:Arameans
ko: 아람인

en: According to legend, the Aramean people are the descendants of Aram, the grandson of Noah.
ko: 전설에 의하면, 아람 사람들은 노아의 손자인, 아람의 후손입니다.

en: Argentine
ko: 아르헨티나인

en: ?plural:Argentines
ko: 아르헨티나인

en: Argentina is located on the south-eastern coast of South America. Since independence from Spain in 1816, it has been plagued by several internal and external conflicts. In the decades after World War II, the country's politics was dominated by Juan Perón and his charismatic wife Eva "Evita" Perón.
ko: 아르헨티나는 남아메리카 남동부 해안에 있습니다. 1816년 스페인으로부터 독립한 뒤 여러 내외부 갈등에 시달렸습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 이후 수십 년 동안 이 나라의 정치는 후안 페론과 그의 카리스마 있는 아내 에바 “에비타” 페론이 주도했습니다.

en: Comandante %s
ko: 코만단테 %s

en: Comandanta %s
ko: 코만단타 %s

en: Caudillo %s
ko: 카우디요 %s

en: Caudilla %s
ko: 카우디야 %s

en: Cardinal %s
ko: 추기경 %s

en: Viceroy %s
ko: 부왕 %s

en: Vicereine %s
ko: 여부왕 %s

en: Armenian
ko: 아르메니아인

en: ?plural:Armenians
ko: 아르메니아인

en: According to legend, the Armenian people are the descendants of Haik - the great-great-grandson of Noah. The modern Republic of Armenia gained independence from the Soviet Union in 1991.
ko: 전설에 따르면 아르메니아인은 노아의 현손인 하이크의 후손입니다. 현대의 아르메니아 공화국은 1991년에 소련으로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Usurper %s
ko: 찬탈자 %s

en: ?female:Usurper %s
ko: 여찬탈자 %s

en: Ashanti
ko: 아샨티인

en: ?plural:Ashantis
ko: 아샨티인

en: The Ashanti were an ancient kingdom in a region that is currently a part of Ghana. The first Ashanti kingdom was founded in the 11th century.
ko: 아샨티는 현재 가나의 일부인 지역에 있던 고대 왕국입니다. 최초의 아샨티 왕국은 11세기에 세워졌습니다.

en: Councillor %s
ko: 평의원 %s

en: ?female:Councillor %s
ko: 여평의원 %s

en: Asantehene %s
ko: 아산테헤네 %s

en: ?female:Asantehene %s
ko: 여아산테헤네 %s

en: Assamese
ko: 아삼인

en: ?plural:Assamese
ko: 아삼인

en: The Assam (Ahom) kingdom was founded in 1228 on the southeastern foothills of the Himalayas by a group of Shan people emigrating from what is today northeastern Burma. The Assamese kings famously defeated several expeditions by the mighty Mughal Empire, effectively halting the Mughals' eastward expansion.
ko: 아삼(아홈) 왕국은 오늘날 미얀마 북동부에서 이주한 샨족 집단이 1228년에 히말라야 남동쪽 산기슭에 세웠습니다. 아삼의 왕들은 강대한 무굴 제국의 여러 원정을 물리친 것으로 유명하며, 사실상 무굴의 동진을 저지했습니다.

en: Assyrian
ko: 아시리아인

en: ?plural:Assyrians
ko: 아시리아인

en: Assyria was an empire in northern Mesopotamia, named after its capital Ashur.
ko: 아시리아는 북부 메소포타미아의 제국으로, 수도 아슈르의 이름을 따서 불렸습니다.

en: Asturian
ko: 아스투리아인

en: ?plural:Asturians
ko: 아스투리아인

en: The Astures were a Celtic people which occupied most of the northern coast of Spain. They battled against the Roman Empire until their defeat by Caesar Augustus' legions between 29 and 19 BCE. Under the Visigothic kingdom of Toledo, there were uneasy relations between Visigoths and Asturians. In 722 CE, king Pelayo defeated the Umayyad Muslim troops at Covadonga, establishing the Asturian Kingdom, which lasted until 910 CE, when the capital town was moved from Oviedo to Leon. Nowadays, Asturias is an autonomous community of Spain.
ko: 아스투레스인은 스페인 북부 해안 대부분에 살던 켈트계 민족입니다. 기원전 29~19년에 카이사르 아우구스투스의 군단에 패배할 때까지 로마 제국과 싸웠습니다. 톨레도 서고트 왕국 아래에서 서고트인과 아스투리아인 사이의 관계는 불안정했습니다. 서기 722년 펠라요 왕은 코바동가에서 우마이야 무슬림 군대를 물리치고 아스투리아스 왕국을 세웠습니다. 이 왕국은 수도가 오비에도에서 레온으로 옮겨진 910년까지 존속했습니다. 오늘날 아스투리아스는 스페인의 자치 지방입니다.

en: Atlantean
ko: 아틀란티스인

en: ?plural:Atlantean
ko: 아틀란티스인

en: The mythical continent of Atlantis
ko: 신화 속 아틀란티스 대륙

en: High King %s
ko: 고왕 %s

en: High Queen %s
ko: 고여왕 %s

en: Australian
ko: 호주인

en: ?plural:Australians
ko: 호주인

en: Australia was founded as a British penal colony in 1788 CE. Originally comprising several colonies (New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania) it became a single country in 1902. It is the only country on Earth to occupy an entire continent.
ko: 오스트레일리아는 서기 1788년에 영국의 유배 식민지로 세워졌습니다. 처음에는 뉴사우스웨일스, 빅토리아, 퀸즐랜드, 남오스트레일리아, 서오스트레일리아, 태즈메이니아 등 여러 식민지로 이루어져 있었으나 1902년에 하나의 나라가 되었습니다. 지구상에서 대륙 전체를 차지한 유일한 국가입니다.

en: Avar
ko: 아바르인

en: ?plural:Avars
ko: 아바르인

en: The Avars or Eurasian Avars were an ancient nomadic confederation of mixed origin. The dominant language of this group was presumably Proto-Bulgarian within the Turkic Oghuz language subgroup, but the true origin of the Avars is unknown. It is possible they were originally a Rouran or Hephthalite group. After settling in Pannonia they subjugated the local Slavic tribes. Gradually they lost power and political importance and eventually the Avars blended with Slavic peoples.
ko: 아바르, 또는 유라시아 아바르는 기원이 뒤섞인 고대 유목 연맹체였습니다. 이 집단의 주된 언어는 튀르크계 오구즈어 하위 집단에 속한 원시 불가르어였던 것으로 추정되지만, 아바르의 실제 기원은 알려져 있지 않습니다. 본래 유연 또는 에프탈계 집단이었을 가능성도 있습니다. 판노니아에 정착한 뒤 이들은 현지 슬라브 부족들을 복속시켰습니다. 점차 권력과 정치적 중요성을 잃었고, 결국 아바르인은 슬라브 민족들과 섞였습니다.

en: %s Khan
ko: %s 칸

en: %s Khatan
ko: %s 카툰

en: %s Khagan
ko: %s 카간

en: ?female:%s Khagan
ko: %s 여카간

en: Aymara
ko: 아이마라인

en: ?plural:Aymaras
ko: 아이마라인

en: After the collapse of the Tiwanaku civilization in the Andes, their heirs reorganized into a set of culturally close Aymara kingdoms that thrived around the Titicaca lake until they were conquered by the Incas.
ko: 안데스의 티와나쿠 문명이 붕괴한 뒤 그 후계자들은 문화적으로 가까운 여러 아이마라 왕국으로 재편되었습니다. 이 왕국들은 티티카카호 주변에서 번영하다가 잉카에게 정복되었습니다.

en: Azeri
ko: 아제리인

en: ?plural:Azeris
ko: 아제리인

en: The Azeris are the people of Azerbaijan. The territory of modern Azerbaijan was the scene of rises and falls of different ancient states of the Caucasus region. In 1813 Azerbaijan became part of the Russian Empire, which was followed by a short period of independence in 1918-1920 - as the first Islamic republic in history. Then Azerbaijan became part of the Soviet Union until its dissolution in 1991.
ko: 아제리인은 아제르바이잔의 사람들입니다. 현대 아제르바이잔의 영토는 카프카스 지역 여러 고대 국가의 흥망이 펼쳐진 무대였습니다. 1813년 아제르바이잔은 러시아 제국의 일부가 되었고, 1918~1920년에는 역사상 최초의 이슬람 공화국으로 짧은 독립 시기를 누렸습니다. 이후 아제르바이잔은 1991년 소련 해체 때까지 소련의 일부였습니다.

en: %s Shah
ko: %s 샤

en: %s Shahbanu
ko: %s 샤바누

en: Badian
ko: 바덴인

en: ?plural:Badians
ko: 바덴인

en: Baden was a country in Swabia, in southwestern Germany. After World War II it was merged with Wuerttemberg and Hohenzollern to form the land of Baden-Wuerttemberg.
ko: 바덴은 독일 남서부 슈바벤에 있던 나라였습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 뷔르템베르크, 호엔촐레른과 합쳐져 바덴뷔르템베르크 주가 되었습니다.

en: Margrave %s
ko: 변경백 %s

en: Margravine %s
ko: 여변경백 %s

en: Bahamian
ko: 바하마인

en: ?plural:Bahamians
ko: 바하마인

en: The Bahamas are an island group in North America. It was somewhere in the Bahamas that Columbus first set foot on American soil. The Islands were subsequently depopulated and mostly ignored until they were settled by British colonists in the 17th century. The Bahamas have been an independent country within the Commonwealth since 1973. Nowadays the Bahamas are mostly famous for their beaches but it is also a major offshore financial center. The Bahamas are the most developed country of Latin America and the Caribbean as well as the world's wealthiest black-majority country.
ko: 바하마는 북아메리카의 섬들로 이루어진 군도입니다. 콜럼버스가 처음으로 아메리카 땅을 밟은 곳은 바하마 어딘가였습니다. 이후 이 섬들의 인구는 사라졌고 17세기에 영국 식민자들이 정착할 때까지 대체로 방치되었습니다. 바하마는 1973년부터 영연방 내의 독립국입니다. 오늘날 바하마는 해변으로 가장 유명하지만, 주요 역외 금융 중심지이기도 합니다. 바하마는 라틴아메리카와 카리브해에서 가장 발달한 나라이고, 흑인이 다수인 국가 중 세계에서 가장 부유한 나라입니다.

en: Bahraini
ko: 바레인인

en: ?plural:Bahrainis
ko: 바레인인

en: Bahrain is an island country in the Persian Gulf and the smallest country of the Middle East. Bahrain has been independent from Persia since the 18th century, although it was a British protectorate until 1971. The country became a constitutional monarchy in 2001 but a pro-democracy uprising in 2011 was violently crushed.
ko: 바레인은 페르시아만에 있는 섬나라로 중동에서 가장 작은 나라입니다. 1971년까지 영국 보호령이었지만, 18세기부터 페르시아로부터 독립해 있었습니다. 2001년에 입헌군주국이 되었으나 2011년의 민주화 봉기는 폭력적으로 진압되었습니다.

en: Mahdi %s
ko: 마흐디 %s

en: ?female:Mahdi %s
ko: 여마흐디 %s

en: Bangladeshi
ko: 방글라데시인

en: ?plural:Bangladeshis
ko: 방글라데시인

en: The People's Republic of Bangladesh was formed from the former Pakistani territory of East Bengal following a war of independence.
ko: 방글라데시 인민공화국은 독립 전쟁 뒤 옛 파키스탄 영토였던 동벵골에서 형성되었습니다.

en: Raja %s
ko: 라자 %s

en: Rani %s
ko: 라니 %s

en: Maharaja %s
ko: 마하라자 %s

en: Maharani %s
ko: 마하라니 %s

en: Nabob %s
ko: 나보브 %s

en: ?female:Nabob %s
ko: 여나보브 %s

en: Barbadian
ko: 바베이도스인

en: ?plural:Barbadians
ko: 바베이도스인

en: Barbados is an island country in the Atlantic Ocean, about 100 km east of the Windward Islands in the Caribbean. Originally inhabited by Arawaks, the island was discovered by the Portuguese around 1500. When the English first settled Barbados in 1627 they found the island depopulated. The island has been independent since 1966. Barbados is a major international tourist destination and one of the most developed countries of the Caribbean.
ko: 바베이도스는 카리브해 윈드워드 제도에서 동쪽으로 약 100km 떨어진 대서양의 섬나라입니다. 원래 아라와크인이 살던 이 섬은 1500년 무렵 포르투갈인에게 발견되었습니다. 1627년 영국인이 처음 정착했을 때 섬에는 주민이 거의 없었습니다. 이 섬은 1966년부터 독립국입니다. 바베이도스는 주요 국제 관광지이며 카리브해에서 가장 발달한 나라 중 하나입니다.

en: Bashkir
ko: 바시키르인

en: ?plural:Bashkirs
ko: 바시키르인

en: The Bashkirs are a Turkic-speaking nation in the southern Urals. Since the end of the 16th century, the Bashkirs were vassals of the Russian tsar, but have since participated in several uprisings against the Russian government. Today most of the Bashkirs live in the Bashkortostan Republic which is part of the Russian Federation.
ko: 바시키르인은 남부 우랄의 튀르크어계 민족입니다. 16세기 말부터 러시아 차르의 봉신이었지만, 이후 러시아 정부에 맞선 여러 봉기에 참여했습니다. 오늘날 대부분의 바시키르인은 러시아 연방의 일부인 바시키르 공화국에 살고 있습니다.

en: Basque
ko: 바스크인

en: ?plural:Basques
ko: 바스크인

en: The Basques have lived since ancient times by the western foothills of the Pyrenees. The Kingdom of Navarre was the last independent Basque state, which fell to Aragon in the 16th century. Today, the Basque Country, or "Euskal Herria", lays right in the borderlands between Spain and France, divided into seven historical provinces. Their language, Euskara, has no known relatives and its origins are unknown.
ko: 바스크인은 고대부터 피레네산맥 서쪽 기슭에 살아왔습니다. 나바라 왕국은 마지막 독립 바스크 국가였으며 16세기에 아라곤에 넘어갔습니다. 오늘날 바스크 지방, 곧 “에우스칼 에리아”는 스페인과 프랑스의 접경지에 있으며 일곱 역사 지방으로 나뉩니다. 이들의 언어인 에우스카라는 알려진 친족 언어가 없고 그 기원도 알려져 있지 않습니다.

en: Leader %s
ko: 지도자 %s

en: ?female:Leader %s
ko: 여지도자 %s

en: Lehendakari %s
ko: 레헨다카리 %s

en: ?female:Lehendakari %s
ko: 여레헨다카리 %s

en: Bavarian
ko: 바이에른인

en: ?plural:Bavarians
ko: 바이에른인

en: Bavaria, before national unification in 1870 CE, was one of the largest of the German kingdoms.
ko: 바이에른은 서기 1870년 독일 통일 이전에 가장 큰 독일 왕국 중 하나였습니다.

en: Duke %s
ko: 공작 %s

en: Duchess %s
ko: 여공작 %s

en: Belarusian
ko: 벨라루스인

en: ?plural:Belarusians
ko: 벨라루스인

en: Belarus was part of the ancient Slavic state of Kievan Rus', then subsequently Lithuania, Rzeczpospolita, the Russian Empire and the Soviet Union. Belarus became independent in 1991 with the dissolution of the Soviet Union.
ko: 벨라루스는 고대 슬라브 국가 키이우 루스의 일부였고, 이후 리투아니아, 폴란드-리투아니아 연방, 러시아 제국, 소련에 속했습니다. 벨라루스는 1991년 소련 해체와 함께 독립했습니다.

en: Tsar %s
ko: 차르 %s

en: Tsaritsa %s
ko: 차리차 %s

en: Belgian
ko: 벨기에인

en: ?plural:Belgians
ko: 벨기에인

en: Belgium gained independence from the Dutch Kingdom in 1830. Belgium is mainly characterized by its movement from a unified state to a federal one. This is the result of the Flemish and the Walloon's nationalist (almost) peaceful fights.
ko: 벨기에는 1830년에 네덜란드 왕국으로부터 독립했습니다. 벨기에의 주요 특징은 단일 국가에서 연방 국가로 이동해 왔다는 점입니다. 이는 플랑드르인과 왈롱인의 민족주의적이고 거의 평화적인 투쟁의 결과입니다.

en: Prime Minister %s
ko: 총리 %s

en: ?female:Prime Minister %s
ko: 여총리 %s

en: Stadtholder %s
ko: 스타트하우더 %s

en: Stadtholdress %s
ko: 여스타트하우더 %s

en: Belgic
ko: 벨가이인

en: ?plural:Belgae
ko: 벨가이인

en: The Belgae were an Ancient Celtic tribe that inhabited the area that would later become the Roman province of Gallia Belgica. Their origin was perhaps mixed Celtic and Germanic, because they had come to Gaul from behind the Rhine and included some Germanic elements, but the names of their chiefs were Gallic. Julius Caesar famously called the Belgae the bravest amongst the inhabitants of Gaul. They put up stiff resistance against Caesar's legions but eventually succumbed to the Romans. The modern country of Belgium derives its name from the Belgae.
ko: 벨가이인은 훗날 로마 속주 갈리아 벨기카가 되는 지역에 살던 고대 켈트 부족이었습니다. 이들은 라인강 너머에서 갈리아로 들어왔고 일부 게르만 요소도 포함했으므로 켈트와 게르만이 섞인 기원이었을 가능성이 있지만, 족장들의 이름은 갈리아식이었습니다. 율리우스 카이사르는 벨가이인을 갈리아 주민 가운데 가장 용감하다고 유명하게 평가했습니다. 이들은 카이사르의 군단에 강하게 저항했지만 결국 로마에 굴복했습니다. 현대 국가 벨기에의 이름은 벨가이에서 유래했습니다.

en: High Druid %s
ko: 고위 드루이드 %s

en: ?female:High Druid %s
ko: 고위 여드루이드 %s

en: Brother %s
ko: 수사 %s

en: Sister %s
ko: 수녀 %s

en: Spokesman %s
ko: 대변인 %s

en: Spokeswoman %s
ko: 여대변인 %s

en: Speaker %s
ko: 의장 %s

en: ?female:Speaker %s
ko: 여의장 %s

en: Belizean
ko: 벨리즈인

en: ?plural:Belizeans
ko: 벨리즈인

en: Belize is the smallest country of Central America. Once part of the Maya region, it was settled by British pirates and loggers in the 17th century. Belize, then known as British Honduras, became a crown colony in 1862. It has been an independent country since 1981. Belize is ethnically extremely diverse, its population consisting of Creoles, Mayans, Spanish-speaking mestizos, Garifunas, Chinese, Mennonites, and Indians.
ko: 벨리즈는 중앙아메리카에서 가장 작은 나라입니다. 한때 마야 지역의 일부였고, 17세기에 영국 해적과 벌목꾼들이 정착했습니다. 당시 영국령 온두라스로 알려졌던 벨리즈는 1862년에 왕령 식민지가 되었습니다. 1981년부터 독립국입니다. 벨리즈는 크리올, 마야, 스페인어권 메스티소, 가리푸나, 중국계, 메노파, 인도계로 이루어진 매우 다양한 민족 구성을 지니고 있습니다.

en: Superintendent %s
ko: 감독관 %s

en: ?female:Superintendent %s
ko: 여감독관 %s

en: Bengali
ko: 벵골인

en: ?plural:Bengalis
ko: 벵골인

en: Bengal is a region in the easternmost part of the Indian subcontinent. The first recorded independent king of the Bengali is Shashanka who reigned around 606 CE. Today the People's Republic of Bangladesh occupies the eastern part of the region, while the western part is the Indian state of West Bengal.
ko: 벵골은 인도 아대륙의 가장 동쪽에 있는 지역입니다. 기록상 최초의 독립 벵골 왕은 서기 606년 무렵 다스린 샤샨카입니다. 오늘날 이 지역의 동부는 방글라데시 인민공화국이, 서부는 인도의 서벵골주가 차지하고 있습니다.

en: Beninese
ko: 베냉인

en: ?plural:Beninese
ko: 베냉인

en: Once the site of the Dahomey kingdom, the country was colonized by France in the 19th century. Dahomey became independent in 1960. Marxists seized power in 1972 and renamed the country Benin three years later. Multiparty rule returned in 1990.
ko: 한때 다호메이 왕국이 있던 이 나라는 19세기에 프랑스의 식민지가 되었습니다. 다호메이는 1960년에 독립했습니다. 1972년 마르크스주의자들이 권력을 장악했고, 3년 뒤 나라 이름을 베냉으로 바꾸었습니다. 다당제 통치는 1990년에 돌아왔습니다.

en: Benin
ko: 베닌 왕국

en: ?plural:Benin
ko: 베닌인

en: Not to be confused with the modern republic of Benin, the Kingdom of Benin was founded by Edo speakers sometime between the 12th and 14th centuries. Benin united a large area of land west of the Niger river delta, reaching its peak in the 16th century. Eweka I founded the Uzama, or Councilors of State, to aid in the accession of a new Oba, or king. Its fortunes waned as Europeans chose other kingdoms to trade with after Benin's main port silted up. The Kingdom finally ended in 1897 when the British assumed control.
ko: 현대의 베냉 공화국과 혼동해서는 안 됩니다. 베닌 왕국은 12세기에서 14세기 사이 에도어 화자들에 의해 세워졌습니다. 베닌은 니제르강 삼각주 서쪽의 넓은 지역을 통합했고, 16세기에 전성기를 맞았습니다. 에웨카 1세는 새 오바, 곧 왕의 즉위를 돕기 위해 우자마라는 국정 고문단을 만들었습니다. 베닌의 주요 항구가 토사로 막힌 뒤 유럽인들이 다른 왕국들과 교역하게 되면서 국세는 쇠퇴했습니다. 왕국은 1897년 영국이 지배권을 장악하면서 끝났습니다.

en: Bhutanese
ko: 부탄인

en: ?plural:Bhutanese
ko: 부탄인

en: Located in the Himalayas, Bhutan is one of the most isolated countries in the world. Bhutan has not been conquered or occupied by foreign invaders for a millennium if not more. In the 17th century Bhutan became a unified nation under Shabdrung Ngawang Namgyal, who repelled a Mongol invasion and united the rivaling Bhutanese tribes.
ko: 히말라야에 위치한 부탄은 세계에서 가장 고립된 나라 중 하나입니다. 부탄은 천 년 이상 외국 침략자에게 정복되거나 점령된 적이 없습니다. 17세기에 부탄은 몽골의 침입을 물리치고 경쟁하던 부탄 부족들을 통합한 샤브드룽 응아왕 남걀 아래 하나의 나라가 되었습니다.

en: Lama %s
ko: 라마 %s

en: ?female:Lama %s
ko: 여라마 %s

en: Dragon King %s
ko: 용왕 %s

en: Dragon Queen %s
ko: 용여왕 %s

en: Biafran
ko: 비아프라인

en: ?plural:Biafrans
ko: 비아프라인

en: Biafra declared independence from Nigeria in 1967 after years of ethnic, religious and economic tensions in newly independent Nigeria. A war between Nigeria and Biafra followed, which claimed up to two million lives, mostly because of famine and disease caused by the blockade of Biafran ports. Biafra surrendered in 1970.
ko: 비아프라는 새로 독립한 나이지리아에서 수년간 이어진 민족, 종교, 경제적 긴장 끝에 1967년 나이지리아로부터 독립을 선언했습니다. 이후 나이지리아와 비아프라 사이에 전쟁이 벌어졌고, 비아프라 항구 봉쇄로 인한 기근과 질병 때문에 최대 200만 명이 목숨을 잃었습니다. 비아프라는 1970년에 항복했습니다.

en: Colonel %s
ko: 대령 %s

en: ?female:Colonel %s
ko: 여대령 %s

en: Bissau-Guinean
ko: 기니비사우인

en: ?plural:Bissau-Guineans
ko: 기니비사우인

en: Guinea-Bissau is a country in West Africa. Formerly known as Portuguese Guinea, it declared independence in 1973.
ko: 기니비사우는 서아프리카의 나라입니다. 예전에는 포르투갈령 기니로 알려졌으며, 1973년에 독립을 선언했습니다.

en: Captain-Major %s
ko: 대장 %s

en: ?female:Captain-Major %s
ko: 여대장 %s

en: Boer
ko: 보어인

en: ?plural:Boers
ko: 보어인

en: The Boers were descendants of Dutch colonists who settled in South Africa after 1650 CE. After migrating into the hinterland after the British takeover of South Africa, they briefly controlled a number of republics, including the Transvaal and the Orange Free State, before being defeated by the British in the war of 1899-1902.
ko: 보어인은 서기 1650년 이후 남아프리카에 정착한 네덜란드 식민자의 후손입니다. 영국이 남아프리카를 장악한 뒤 내륙으로 이주한 이들은 트란스발과 오렌지 자유국을 비롯한 여러 공화국을 한때 지배했으나, 1899~1902년 전쟁에서 영국에 패배했습니다.

en: General %s
ko: 장군 %s

en: ?female:General %s
ko: 여장군 %s

en: State President %s
ko: 국가 대통령 %s

en: ?female:State President %s
ko: 여국가 대통령 %s

en: Boian
ko: 보이인

en: ?plural:Boii
ko: 보이인

en: The Boii were an ancient Celtic tribe or tribal confederation inhabiting Central Europe and Northern Italy. The names of both Bohemia and Bavaria probably derive from this people.
ko: 보이인은 중앙유럽과 북부 이탈리아에 살던 고대 켈트 부족 또는 부족 연맹이었습니다. 보헤미아와 바이에른의 이름은 아마 이 민족에서 유래했을 것입니다.

en: Bolivian
ko: 볼리비아인

en: ?plural:Bolivians
ko: 볼리비아인

en: Bolivia is a landlocked country in South America with a large indigenous heritage. The country is named after Simón Bolivar. Independent since 1825, the country was wrecked by instability and lost its Pacific coast to Chile. The 1932-1936 Chaco war against Paraguay led to another humiliating defeat. Discontent with Bolivia's oligarchic regime led to a revolution in 1952. After a series of military coups in the 1970s the country returned to democratic rule in the 1980s. In 2006 Evo Morales became the country's first indigenous president.
ko: 볼리비아는 남아메리카의 내륙국으로 풍부한 원주민 유산을 지니고 있습니다. 나라 이름은 시몬 볼리바르에서 따왔습니다. 1825년 독립 이후 불안정에 시달렸고, 태평양 연안을 칠레에 잃었습니다. 1932~1936년 파라과이와의 차코 전쟁은 또 하나의 굴욕적인 패배로 이어졌습니다. 볼리비아 과두정권에 대한 불만은 1952년 혁명으로 이어졌습니다. 1970년대 여러 차례의 군사 쿠데타 뒤 1980년대에 민주 통치로 돌아왔습니다. 2006년 에보 모랄레스가 이 나라 최초의 원주민 대통령이 되었습니다.

en: Archbishop %s
ko: 대주교 %s

en: Bosnian-Herzegovinian
ko: 보스니아인

en: ?plural:Bosnians
ko: 보스니아인

en: Bosnia and Herzegovina is a country in south-east Europe, and the home of three constituent peoples: Bosniaks, Serbs, and Croats.
ko: 보스니아 헤르체고비나는 동남유럽의 나라로, 보슈냐크인, 세르비아인, 크로아티아인이라는 세 구성 민족의 고향입니다.

note: TRANS: Ban = Duke
en: Ban %s
ko: 반 %s

en: ?female:Ban %s
ko: 여반 %s

en: Bosporan
ko: 보스포루스인

en: ?plural:Bosporans
ko: 보스포루스인

en: The Bosporan Kingdom was an ancient state in eastern Crimea and the Taman Peninsula on the shores of the Cimmerian Bosporus.
ko: 보스포루스 왕국은 킴메리아 보스포루스 해안의 동부 크림과 타만반도에 있던 고대 국가였습니다.

en: Despot %s
ko: 전제군주 %s

en: ?female:Despot %s
ko: 여전제군주 %s

en: Consul %s
ko: 집정관 %s

en: ?female:Consul %s
ko: 여집정관 %s

en: Botswanan
ko: 보츠와나인

en: ?plural:Botswanans
ko: 보츠와나인

en: The Republic of Botswana is a country in Southern Africa. It gained independence from the UK in 1966. Botswana is considered the least corrupt country in Africa and it has a rapidly developing economy.
ko: 보츠와나 공화국은 남부 아프리카의 나라입니다. 1966년에 영국으로부터 독립했습니다. 보츠와나는 아프리카에서 부패가 가장 적은 나라로 여겨지며, 경제가 빠르게 발전하고 있습니다.

en: Brandenburgian
ko: 브란덴부르크인

en: ?plural:Brandenburgians
ko: 브란덴부르크인

en: Formerly the Northern March of East Francia, Brandenburg became an electorate of the Holy Roman Empire in the 12th century. The rulers of Brandenburg acquired Prussia in 1618 and was absorbed by Prussia in 1701. Brandenburg kept its nominal independence until 1806, when it became a province of Prussia. Currently it is one of the states of the Federal Republic of Germany.
ko: 동프랑크의 북방 변경이었던 브란덴부르크는 12세기에 신성 로마 제국의 선제후국이 되었습니다. 브란덴부르크의 통치자들은 1618년에 프로이센을 획득했고, 1701년에 프로이센에 흡수되었습니다. 브란덴부르크는 1806년 프로이센의 주가 될 때까지 명목상의 독립을 유지했습니다. 현재는 독일 연방공화국의 한 주입니다.

en: Elector %s
ko: 선제후 %s

en: Electress %s
ko: 여선제후 %s

en: Breton
ko: 브르타뉴인

en: ?plural:Bretons
ko: 브르타뉴인

en: Known to the Romans as Armorica, Brittany had been Celtic speaking for many centuries before Britons arrived in the peninsula as mercenaries, colonists and refugees in response to the chaos in Gaul and the invasion of Britain by Germanic tribes in the fifth century CE. Over the centuries, use of the Breton language has been pushed towards the west of the peninsula, with people speaking French instead. The Dukedom of Brittany itself was formally annexed to France in 1491.
ko: 로마인에게 아르모리카로 알려진 브르타뉴는, 서기 5세기에 갈리아의 혼란과 게르만 부족의 브리튼 침입을 피해 브리튼인들이 용병, 식민자, 난민으로 반도에 들어오기 전부터 수세기 동안 켈트어권이었습니다. 여러 세기를 거치며 브르타뉴어 사용은 반도 서쪽으로 밀려났고 사람들은 대신 프랑스어를 쓰게 되었습니다. 브르타뉴 공국 자체는 1491년에 공식적으로 프랑스에 병합되었습니다.

en: British
ko: 영국인

en: ?plural:British
ko: 영국인

en: The United Kingdom was created in 1707 as a negotiated agreement between the kingdom of England and the kingdom of Scotland. The country - also known as Great Britain - became the leading industrial and maritime power in the 19th century.
ko: 영국은 1707년에 잉글랜드 왕국과 스코틀랜드 왕국 사이의 합의로 만들어졌습니다. 그레이트브리튼으로도 알려진 이 나라는 19세기에 선도적인 산업 및 해양 강국이 되었습니다.

en: Pretender %s
ko: 왕위 요구자 %s

en: ?female:Pretender %s
ko: 여왕위 요구자 %s

en: Lord %s
ko: 로드 %s

en: Lady %s
ko: 레이디 %s

en: Lord Protector %s
ko: 호국경 %s

en: Lady Protector %s
ko: 여호국경 %s

en: Briton
ko: 영국인

en: ?plural:Britons
ko: 영국인

en: The Britons were the inhabitants of most of Great Britain during the Iron Age. They spoke Brythonic Celtic languages and are the ancestors of the modern Welsh, Cornish and Breton people.
ko: 브리튼인은 철기 시대에 그레이트브리튼 대부분 지역에 살던 주민이었습니다. 이들은 브리튼계 켈트어를 사용했으며 현대 웨일스인, 콘월인, 브르타뉴인의 조상입니다.

en: Chieftain %s
ko: 추장 %s

en: ?female:Chieftain %s
ko: 여추장 %s

en: Druid %s
ko: 드루이드 %s

en: ?female:Druid %s
ko: 여드루이드 %s

en: Bruneian
ko: 브루나이인

en: ?plural:Bruneians
ko: 브루나이인

en: Brunei Darussalam is a country on Borneo in the Malay achipelago. The sultanate dates from the 14th century and became a fairly powerful state a century later thanks to its control of the maritime trade in much of Southeast Asia. Brunei was a British protectorate from 1888 to 1984.
ko: 브루나이 다루살람은 말레이 제도 보르네오섬에 있는 나라입니다. 이 술탄국은 14세기까지 거슬러 올라가며, 동남아시아 상당 지역의 해상 무역을 통제한 덕분에 한 세기 뒤 제법 강력한 국가가 되었습니다. 브루나이는 1888년부터 1984년까지 영국 보호령이었습니다.

en: Grand Mufti %s
ko: 대무프티 %s

en: ?female:Grand Mufti %s
ko: 여대무프티 %s

en: Bulgarian
ko: 불가리아인

en: ?plural:Bulgarians
ko: 불가리아인

en: Bulgar leader Khan Asparukh led his people into the northern Balkans, and founded Bulgaria in 681. This was the first Slavic nation-state in history.
ko: 불가르 지도자 아스파루흐 칸은 그의 백성을 북부 발칸으로 이끌고 681년에 불가리아를 세웠습니다. 이는 역사상 최초의 슬라브 민족 국가였습니다.

en: Burgundian
ko: 부르고뉴인

en: ?plural:Burgundians
ko: 부르고뉴인

en: After the fall of the Western Roman Empire, a Germanic people known as the Burgundians settled in the river valleys of eastern Gaul, lending their name to the region. Centuries later, the Duchy of Burgundy was a prosperous country with the court in Dijon outshining that of Paris. Today, it is one of the regions of France.
ko: 서로마 제국이 멸망한 뒤 부르군트인으로 알려진 게르만계 민족이 동부 갈리아의 강 계곡에 정착했고, 그 지역에 자신들의 이름을 남겼습니다. 수세기 뒤 부르고뉴 공국은 디종의 궁정이 파리의 궁정보다 더 빛날 만큼 번영한 나라였습니다. 오늘날 이곳은 프랑스의 한 지역입니다.

en: Chancellor %s
ko: 수상 %s

en: ?female:Chancellor %s
ko: 여수상 %s

en: Burgundic
ko: 부르군트인

en: ?plural:Burgunds
ko: 부르군트인

en: The Burgundians were an ancient East Germanic people who probably originated on Bornholm island. After leaving Bornholm they lived between the Oder and Vistula rivers. During the Migration Period, along with other Germanic peoples they invaded the Roman Empire, and in 472 CE, some of them sacked Rome. Their first kingdom was founded in Worms, but after its destruction by the Huns they moved to what is today Savoy and Burgundy, where they founded their second kingdom. Eventually they were subordinated by the Frankish Kingdom. The Burgundians gave their name to the later Romance nation and region of Burgundy.
ko: 부르군트인은 본래 보른홀름섬에서 기원했을 가능성이 큰 고대 동게르만 민족입니다. 보른홀름을 떠난 뒤 오데르강과 비스와강 사이에 살았습니다. 민족 대이동 시기에 다른 게르만 민족들과 함께 로마 제국을 침입했고, 서기 472년에는 그중 일부가 로마를 약탈했습니다. 이들의 첫 왕국은 보름스에 세워졌지만 훈족에게 파괴된 뒤 오늘날의 사부아와 부르고뉴로 이동하여 두 번째 왕국을 세웠습니다. 결국 프랑크 왕국에 종속되었습니다. 부르군트인은 훗날 로망스계 민족과 부르고뉴 지역에 이름을 남겼습니다.

en: Burkinabé
ko: 부르키나파소인

en: ?plural:Burkinabés
ko: 부르키나파소인

en: Formerly Upper Volta, Burkina Faso is a country in inland West Africa. It achieved its independence from France in 1960.
ko: 예전에 오트볼타였던 부르키나파소는 서아프리카 내륙의 나라입니다. 1960년에 프랑스로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Burmese
ko: 미얀마인

en: ?plural:Burmese
ko: 미얀마인

en: The Union of Burma (officially "Myanmar") is the largest country in mainland Southeast Asia.
ko: 버마 연방(공식 명칭 “미얀마”)은 동남아시아 본토에서 가장 큰 나라입니다.

en: Burundian
ko: 부룬디인

en: ?plural:Burundians
ko: 부룬디인

en: A monarchy emerged in the Great Lakes region of East Africa in the 1100s, ruled by a Mwami (king) and several Ganwa (princes). It went through a period of expansion until the 1600s when it encompassed approximately the area of modern-day Burundi. In the late 1700s and early 1800s a succession dispute weakened the monarchy, and by the end of the century it had become a German colony. In the aftermath of World War I the colony fell to Belgium. Following international pressure after World War II, Burundi became an independent nation in January 1962.
ko: 1100년대에 동아프리카 오대호 지역에서 므와미(왕)와 여러 간와(왕자)가 다스리는 군주국이 등장했습니다. 이 나라는 1600년대까지 팽창하여 오늘날 부룬디와 비슷한 영역을 차지했습니다. 1700년대 말과 1800년대 초의 왕위 계승 분쟁으로 군주제가 약화되었고, 세기 말에는 독일 식민지가 되었습니다. 제1차 세계 대전 뒤 이 식민지는 벨기에로 넘어갔습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 이후 국제적 압력 속에서 부룬디는 1962년 1월 독립국이 되었습니다.

en: Buryat
ko: 부랴트인

en: ?plural:Buryats
ko: 부랴트인

en: According to Mongolian historical annals, the Buryats were forest dwelling Mongolian tribes living around Lake Baikal. In 1207 they were subjugated by Jochi, the eldest son of Genghis Khan. When the Buryat homeland was annexed to Russia through treaties in 1689 and 1728, they became politically separated from other Mongolians and started developing a distinct national identity. Today, the Buryat Republic is home to the majority of the roughly half-million Buryats in the world as well as the center of Buddhism in Russia.
ko: 몽골 역사 연대기에 따르면 부랴트인은 바이칼호 주변 숲에 살던 몽골계 부족이었습니다. 1207년에 칭기즈 칸의 장남 조치에게 복속되었습니다. 1689년과 1728년의 조약으로 부랴트인의 고향이 러시아에 병합되자, 이들은 다른 몽골인들과 정치적으로 분리되어 독자적인 민족 정체성을 발전시키기 시작했습니다. 오늘날 부랴트 공화국은 전 세계 약 50만 부랴트인의 다수가 사는 곳이자 러시아 불교의 중심지입니다.

en: Californian
ko: 캘리포니아인

en: ?plural:Californians
ko: 캘리포니아인

en: California is the largest US state by population and economy. First populated by Native Americans, it was colonized by Spanish missionaries in the 18th century. California became a territory of Mexico upon that country's independence. During the Mexican-American War local American settlers proclaimed the 'Bear Flag Republic', which was incorporated into the United States shortly thereafter. The 1848 Gold Rush brought massive numbers of immigrants to California. In the 20th century the state became a center of the world's entertainment and technology industries.
ko: 캘리포니아는 인구와 경제 규모에서 미국 최대의 주입니다. 처음에는 아메리카 원주민이 살았고, 18세기에 스페인 선교사들이 식민화했습니다. 멕시코가 독립하자 캘리포니아는 멕시코의 영토가 되었습니다. 멕시코-미국 전쟁 동안 현지 미국 정착민들은 “베어 플래그 공화국”을 선포했고, 곧 미국에 편입되었습니다. 1848년 골드러시는 막대한 수의 이민자를 캘리포니아로 끌어들였습니다. 20세기에 이 주는 세계 엔터테인먼트와 기술 산업의 중심지가 되었습니다.

en: Cambodian
ko: 캄보디아인

en: ?plural:Cambodians
ko: 캄보디아인

en: Kampuchea (known in English as Cambodia) is the modern successor state of the mighty Khmer Empire, which ruled most of the Indochinese Peninsula between the 11th and 14th centuries.
ko: 캄푸치아(영어로 캄보디아)는 11~14세기에 인도차이나반도 대부분을 지배한 강대한 크메르 제국의 현대적 후계 국가입니다.

en: Cameroonian
ko: 카메룬인

en: ?plural:Cameroonians
ko: 카메룬인

en: Cameroon is a country in West Central Africa. Colonized by the Germans, it was divided between Britain and France after World War I. It has been independent since 1960.
ko: 카메룬은 중서부 아프리카의 나라입니다. 독일의 식민지가 되었고, 제1차 세계 대전 뒤 영국과 프랑스 사이에 분할되었습니다. 1960년부터 독립국입니다.

en: Canadian
ko: 캐나다인

en: ?plural:Canadians
ko: 캐나다인

en: Geographically, Canada is the second largest country in world. The magnetic north pole currently lies on Canadian territory.
ko: 지리적으로 캐나다는 세계에서 두 번째로 큰 나라입니다. 현재 자북극은 캐나다 영토 안에 있습니다.

en: Cañari
ko: 카냐리인

en: ?plural:Cañaris
ko: 카냐리인

en: The Cañaris were a pre-Columbian civilization in what is now Ecuador, whose existence can be traced from the 6th century onwards. They were one of the few Andean cultures not to worship the sun. The Cañari language was probably related to the Mochica language of Peru, but by the time of the Spanish conquest the Cañaris had mostly switched to Quechua. The Cañaris formed a loose confederation with their main political center in Guapdondelig, currently the city of Cuenca, capital of the province of Azuay. They were subjugated by the Incas in the late 15th century, though they put up a fierce resistance. They rebelled during the Incan civil war and sided with the Spanish during their conquest of the Inca empire.
ko: 카냐리인은 오늘날 에콰도르에 있던 콜럼버스 이전 문명으로, 그 존재는 6세기 이후까지 거슬러 올라갑니다. 이들은 태양을 숭배하지 않은 몇 안 되는 안데스 문화 중 하나였습니다. 카냐리어는 페루의 모치카어와 관련이 있었을 가능성이 크지만, 스페인 정복 시기에는 카냐리인이 대부분 케추아어로 전환해 있었습니다. 카냐리인은 주요 정치 중심지인 과프돈델리그, 오늘날 아수아이주의 주도 쿠엥카를 중심으로 느슨한 연맹을 이루었습니다. 15세기 말 잉카에게 복속되었지만 격렬히 저항했습니다. 잉카 내전 때 반란을 일으켰고, 스페인이 잉카 제국을 정복할 때 스페인 편에 섰습니다.

en: Cantonese
ko: 광둥인

en: ?plural:Cantonese
ko: 광둥인

en: The Cantonese are a sub-group of the Chinese people originating from Guangdong Province in Southern China comprising about 70 million people. The Cantonese are renowned for their music and food and constitute an important element in Overseas Chinese communities worldwide. They also form a majority of the population in the Special Autonomous Regions of Hong Kong and Macao. In the second century BCE, the Cantonese-dominated kingdom of Nanyue ruled over much of Southern China and dominated Vietnam. In 111 BCE Nanyue was incorporated into Han Dynasty China. Cantonese is the second most spoken Chinese language after Mandarin.
ko: 광둥인은 중국 남부 광둥성에서 기원한 한족의 하위 집단으로 약 7천만 명에 이릅니다. 광둥인은 음악과 음식으로 유명하며, 전 세계 화교 사회의 중요한 구성원입니다. 또한 홍콩과 마카오 특별행정구 인구의 다수를 이룹니다. 기원전 2세기에 광둥인이 주도한 남월 왕국은 중국 남부의 많은 지역을 지배하고 베트남에 영향력을 행사했습니다. 기원전 111년에 남월은 한나라 중국에 편입되었습니다. 광둥어는 표준중국어 다음으로 많이 쓰이는 중국어입니다.

en: Cape Verdean
ko: 카보베르데인

en: ?plural:Cape Verdean
ko: 카보베르데인

en: Cape Verde is an archipelago off the coast of West Africa. Before the islands were settled by the Portuguese in the 15th century they were probably uninhabited. Cape Verde subsequently became a major center for the Atlantic slave trade. The islands declared independence from Portugal in 1975. The Cape Verdean population is of mixed European and African descent.
ko: 카보베르데는 서아프리카 해안 앞바다의 군도입니다. 15세기에 포르투갈인이 정착하기 전에는 아마 무인도였을 것입니다. 이후 카보베르데는 대서양 노예무역의 주요 중심지가 되었습니다. 이 섬들은 1975년에 포르투갈로부터 독립을 선언했습니다. 카보베르데 인구는 유럽계와 아프리카계가 섞인 혈통입니다.

en: Admiral %s
ko: 제독 %s

en: ?female:Admiral %s
ko: 여제독 %s

en: Carantanian
ko: 카라니타니아인

en: ?plural:Carantanians
ko: 카라니타니아인

en: The Carantanians or Alpine Slavs were an Early Medieval confederation of South West Slavic tribes who settled in modern-day Austria. The Duchy of Carantania was one of the earliest Slav states, existing since the seventh century CE. In the eighth century, it fell into dependence on the Frankish kingdom, which led to the adoption of Christianity in the Latin rite by duke Gorazd. In 819 years Carantania joined the revolt of the Croatian duke Ljudevit Posavski. After its fall in 822 the state was abolished and incorporated directly into the realm of the Franks. Slovenians are the modern descendants of the Carantanians.
ko: 카라니타니아인, 또는 알프스 슬라브인은 오늘날 오스트리아에 정착한 남서슬라브 부족들의 초기 중세 연맹체였습니다. 카라니타니아 공국은 서기 7세기부터 존재한 가장 이른 슬라브 국가 중 하나였습니다. 8세기에는 프랑크 왕국에 의존하게 되었고, 고라즈드 공작 아래 라틴 전례의 기독교를 받아들이게 되었습니다. 819년에 카라니타니아는 크로아티아 공작 류데비트 포사브스키의 반란에 가담했습니다. 822년 반란이 실패한 뒤 국가는 폐지되어 프랑크 왕국 영토에 직접 편입되었습니다. 슬로베니아인은 카라니타니아인의 현대 후손입니다.

en: Castilian
ko: 카스티야인

en: ?plural:Castilians
ko: 카스티야인

en: Castile emerged to become the most powerful of the medieval Spanish kingdoms. It absorbed Leon and later formed a personal union with Aragon. Its current territory is divided over several autonomous communities of Spain.
ko: 카스티야는 중세 스페인 왕국들 가운데 가장 강력한 왕국으로 떠올랐습니다. 레온을 흡수했고 나중에는 아라곤과 동군연합을 이루었습니다. 현재 그 영토는 스페인의 여러 자치 지방으로 나뉘어 있습니다.

en: Catalan
ko: 카탈로니아인

en: ?plural:Catalans
ko: 카탈로니아인

en: During the Middle Ages, Catalan kings conquered and presided over several kingdoms on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea, from the Iberian peninsula to parts of Italy and Greece. This confederation/empire became a major naval and trading power in the Mediterranean area. Catalans kept their self-rule after a dynastic union with the neighboring kingdom of Castile, and sided with England and Austria against France and Castile in the Spanish Succession War. In 1713, England signed the Treaty of Utrecht and dropped out of the alliance, and the Catalans were finally defeated in 1714, losing their national rights as a result.
ko: 중세에 카탈루냐의 왕들은 이베리아반도에서 이탈리아와 그리스 일부에 이르는 지중해 연안의 여러 왕국을 정복하고 다스렸습니다. 이 연맹 또는 제국은 지중해 지역의 주요 해군 및 무역 세력이 되었습니다. 카탈루냐인은 이웃한 카스티야 왕국과 왕조 연합을 이룬 뒤에도 자치를 유지했고, 스페인 왕위 계승 전쟁에서는 프랑스와 카스티야에 맞서 잉글랜드와 오스트리아 편에 섰습니다. 1713년 잉글랜드가 위트레흐트 조약에 서명하고 동맹에서 이탈하자, 카탈루냐인은 결국 1714년에 패배하여 그 결과 민족적 권리를 잃었습니다.

en: Celtiberian
ko: 켈티베리아인

en: ?plural:Celtiberians
ko: 켈티베리아인

en: The Celtiberians were a people from East-Central Spain that lived during the last millennium BCE. They were of mixed Celtic and Iberian descent and were defeated by Rome in the Numantian War.
ko: 켈티베리아인은 기원전 마지막 천년기에 스페인 중동부에 살던 민족입니다. 켈트계와 이베리아계가 섞인 혈통이었으며 누만티아 전쟁에서 로마에 패배했습니다.

en: Central African
ko: 중앙아프리카인

en: ?plural:Central Africans
ko: 중앙아프리카인

en: The Central African Republic is a country in Central Africa, formerly known as the French African territory of Ubangi-Shari. It was ruled briefly as a dictatorship in the 70s under Emperor Bokassa I during which it was called the Central African Empire.
ko: 중앙아프리카 공화국은 중앙아프리카의 나라로, 과거에는 프랑스령 아프리카 영토 우방기샤리로 알려졌습니다. 1970년대 보카사 1세 황제 아래 잠시 독재 체제로 통치되었으며, 이 시기에는 중앙아프리카 제국이라 불렸습니다.

en: Central American
ko: 중앙아메리카인

en: ?plural:Central Americans
ko: 중앙아메리카인

en: During the colonial era Central America formed the Captaincy General of Guatemala. Central America declared independence from Spain in 1821, shortly joined Mexico, and then formed a federal republic. Struggles between Guatemala and the other provinces and between liberals and conservatives led to the federation's demise. By 1840 the federation had ceased to exist. Later attempts of reunification all failed, though since 1993 the Central American republics cooperate in the Central American Integration System (SICA).
ko: 식민지 시대에 중앙아메리카는 과테말라 총독령을 이루었습니다. 중앙아메리카는 1821년에 스페인으로부터 독립을 선언했고, 잠시 멕시코에 합류한 뒤 연방 공화국을 세웠습니다. 과테말라와 다른 주들 사이의 갈등, 그리고 자유주의자와 보수주의자 사이의 갈등은 연방의 몰락으로 이어졌습니다. 1840년에는 연방이 더 이상 존재하지 않게 되었습니다. 이후의 재통일 시도는 모두 실패했지만, 1993년부터 중앙아메리카 공화국들은 중앙아메리카 통합 체제(SICA)에서 협력하고 있습니다.

en: Supreme Director %s
ko: 최고지도관 %s

en: Supreme Directrice %s
ko: 여최고지도관 %s

en: Central Lithuanian
ko: 중앙리투아니아인

en: ?plural:Central Lithuanians
ko: 중앙리투아니아인

en: Lithuanian Poles are an ethnic minority in Lithuania, mainly in the Aukshtota region. They are a remnant of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth - the Commonwealth of Two Nations, which was founded with the Union of Lublin in 1569. This state united the Kingdom of Poland with the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and was founded by the Lithuanian grand duke Jogaila, who was baptized with the name Władysław. The presence of the first Polish community in Lithuania dates back to duke Mindaugas of Lithuania. The first Poles came to Lithuania as prisoners of war taken during raids on the frontier lands (mainly to Mazovia). After uniting the two countries there was a very strong Polonization of the Lithuanian nobility. The Polish-speaking community in Lithuania survived the collapse and partition of the Polish state, co-existing with Lithuanian-speaking people. In 1920, the rebellious general Żeligowski announced the creation of a Republic of Central Lithuania, which was then incorporated into Poland. After World War II most of the Lithuanian Poles were displaced to Poland's new western territories.
ko: 리투아니아 폴란드인은 리투아니아의 소수민족으로, 주로 아욱슈토타 지역에 살고 있습니다. 이들은 1569년 루블린 연합으로 세워진 폴란드-리투아니아 연방, 곧 양국 연방의 흔적입니다. 이 국가는 폴란드 왕국과 리투아니아 대공국을 통합했으며, 세례명 브와디스와프를 받은 리투아니아 대공 요가일라가 세웠습니다. 리투아니아 최초의 폴란드인 공동체의 존재는 리투아니아의 민다우가스 공작 시기까지 거슬러 올라갑니다. 최초의 폴란드인들은 국경 지대, 주로 마조비아에 대한 습격 중 사로잡힌 전쟁 포로로 리투아니아에 왔습니다. 두 나라가 통합된 뒤 리투아니아 귀족들 사이에는 강한 폴란드화가 일어났습니다. 리투아니아의 폴란드어 공동체는 폴란드 국가의 붕괴와 분할을 견뎌냈고, 리투아니아어 사용자들과 공존했습니다. 1920년 반란 장군 젤리고프스키는 중앙리투아니아 공화국의 수립을 선포했고, 이 공화국은 이후 폴란드에 편입되었습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 리투아니아 폴란드인 대부분은 폴란드의 새로운 서부 영토로 이주당했습니다.

en: People's Commissar %s
ko: 인민위원 %s

en: ?female:People's Commissar %s
ko: 여인민위원 %s

en: Chadian
ko: 차드인

en: ?plural:Chadians
ko: 차드인

en: Chad is a landlocked country in Africa. Once the site of the Kanem-Bornu Empire, Chad was colonized by France in 1900. Independent since 1960, Chad remains one of the poorest countries of the world. From 1982 to 1990 Hissene Habré led a notoriously brutal dictatorship.
ko: 차드는 아프리카의 내륙국입니다. 한때 카넴-보르누 제국이 있던 곳이며, 1900년에 프랑스의 식민지가 되었습니다. 1960년부터 독립국이었지만 차드는 여전히 세계에서 가장 가난한 나라 중 하나입니다. 1982년부터 1990년까지 히센 아브레가 악명 높은 잔혹한 독재를 이끌었습니다.

en: Cham
ko: 참인

en: ?plural:Chams
ko: 참인

en: Champa was the name of a group of closely related polities in what is now the southern half of Vietnam. From the time of the earliest historical records, the Champa kings were Hindus who worshipped Shiva in particular. Involved with conflicts with the neighboring Khmer and Dai Viet states for centuries, Champa was essentially subdued by Dai Viet in the late 15th century. By this time, most of the Cham nobility had converted to Islam. The majority of Muslims in modern Vietnam are of Cham ethnicity.
ko: 참파는 오늘날 베트남 남부에 있던 밀접하게 관련된 여러 정치체의 이름입니다. 가장 이른 역사 기록 시기부터 참파의 왕들은 특히 시바를 숭배하는 힌두교도였습니다. 수세기 동안 이웃한 크메르와 다이비엣 국가들과 충돌했고, 15세기 말에는 사실상 다이비엣에 복속되었습니다. 이 무렵 참 귀족 대부분은 이슬람으로 개종했습니다. 현대 베트남의 무슬림 다수는 참족입니다.

en: Chananean
ko: 카나네아인

en: ?plural:Chananeans
ko: 카나네아인

en: Reports of chynocephaly (having the head of a dog or jackal) can be traced to Greek Antiquity. The physician Ctesias and the traveler Megasthenes placed them in India. In the middle ages, Giovanni da Pian and Marco Polo made reference to them, while the theologian Ratramnus debated whether they should be considered human or not. Various stories have placed them in Scotland, Canaan, Cyrenaica, and the Andaman Islands. The country 'Chananea' comes from the German poet Walter of Speyer. In the account by Sir John Mandeville, the people were known as the Nacumerians.
ko: 키노케팔리, 곧 개나 자칼의 머리를 가진 존재에 대한 기록은 고대 그리스까지 거슬러 올라갑니다. 의사 크테시아스와 여행가 메가스테네스는 이들을 인도에 두었습니다. 중세에는 조반니 다 피안과 마르코 폴로가 이들을 언급했고, 신학자 라트람누스는 이들을 인간으로 보아야 하는지를 논했습니다. 여러 이야기는 이들을 스코틀랜드, 가나안, 키레나이카, 안다만 제도에 두었습니다. “카나네아”라는 나라는 독일 시인 슈파이어의 발터에게서 나온 것입니다. 존 맨더빌 경의 기록에서는 이 사람들이 나쿠메리아인으로 알려졌습니다.

en: %s Alpha
ko: %s 알파

en: ?female:%s Alpha
ko: %s 여알파

en: Chechen
ko: 체첸인

en: ?plural:Chechens
ko: 체첸인

en: Chechnya is an ancient nation in the Caucasus, currently part of the Russian Federation. In 1588, the Chechens voluntarily subjected themselves as vassals to the Moscovite tsar. Nevertheless, they have repeatedly waged war against Russia. In the 1990s, after the breakup of the Soviet Union, a civil war erupted when Chechen separatists proclaimed an independent Chechen Republic of Ichkeria.
ko: 체첸은 카프카스의 오래된 민족으로, 현재는 러시아 연방의 일부입니다. 1588년에 체첸인들은 자발적으로 모스크바 차르의 봉신이 되었습니다. 그럼에도 러시아와 반복적으로 전쟁을 벌였습니다. 1990년대 소련 해체 뒤 체첸 분리주의자들이 독립 이치케리아 체첸 공화국을 선포하면서 내전이 일어났습니다.

en: Chiapanec
ko: 치아파네크인

en: ?plural:Chiapanecs
ko: 치아파네크인

en: Chiapas is a state in southern Mexico. It was governed from Guatemala during the colonial era, but in 1824, after a brief independence, it chose to join Mexico. Chiapas has a sizeable indigenous (predominantly Mayan) population. Much of Chiapas' history has been characterized by struggles between indigenous peasants and the mostly Ladino elite. The state's colonial cities, Mayan peoples and natural wealth have made it one of Mexico's major tourist destinations.
ko: 치아파스는 멕시코 남부의 주입니다. 식민지 시대에는 과테말라에서 통치되었지만, 짧은 독립 뒤 1824년에 멕시코에 합류하기로 선택했습니다. 치아파스에는 상당한 규모의 원주민, 주로 마야계 인구가 있습니다. 치아파스 역사의 많은 부분은 원주민 농민과 주로 라디노 엘리트 사이의 투쟁으로 특징지어집니다. 식민지 도시, 마야 민족, 자연적 풍요로움 덕분에 이 주는 멕시코의 주요 관광지 중 하나가 되었습니다.

en: Chickasaw
ko: 치카소인

en: ?plural:Chickasaws
ko: 치카소인

en: One of the so-called Five Civilized Tribes, the Chickasaw occupied primarily what is today the northern part of the U.S. state of Mississippi at the time of first contact with Europeans. The name "Mississippi" itself originates from a Chickasaw word meaning "Without Source."
ko: 이른바 문명화된 다섯 부족 중 하나인 치카소인은 유럽인과 처음 접촉했을 때 오늘날 미국 미시시피주 북부에 주로 살고 있었습니다. “미시시피”라는 이름 자체도 “근원이 없는”이라는 뜻의 치카소어에서 유래했습니다.

en: Chilean
ko: 칠레인

en: ?plural:Chileans
ko: 칠레인

en: Chile is located on the south-western coast of South America. Chile declared its independence from Spain in 1810. At the expense of Bolivia, Peru and the indigenous Mapuche people, Chile more than doubled its territory in the 19th century. Often having been more stable and prosperous than its neighbors, Chile currently is the most developed country of Latin America.
ko: 칠레는 남아메리카 남서부 해안에 있습니다. 칠레는 1810년에 스페인으로부터 독립을 선언했습니다. 19세기에 볼리비아, 페루, 원주민 마푸체인의 희생을 바탕으로 영토를 두 배 이상 넓혔습니다. 이웃 나라들보다 더 안정적이고 번영한 경우가 많았던 칠레는 현재 라틴아메리카에서 가장 발달한 나라입니다.

en: Captain General %s
ko: 총사령관 %s

en: ?female:Captain General %s
ko: 여총사령관 %s

en: Chimu
ko: 치무인

en: ?plural:Chimu
ko: 치무인

en: Inheritors of the Moche cultural tradition, Chimor began its expansion in the 12th century from the Moche river valley in what is now northern Peru. Their expansion continued until they were halted and conquered by the rising Inka Empire in 1470. Their last king, Minchancaman, was captured and led to the Inka capital Qosqo. Chimu artisans contributed greatly to the manufacture of Inka artistic wares. Until its fall, Chimor controlled perhaps 2/3 of the population of the northern Andes.
ko: 모체 문화 전통의 계승자인 치모르는 12세기에 오늘날 페루 북부의 모체강 계곡에서 팽창을 시작했습니다. 그 팽창은 1470년 떠오르던 잉카 제국에 저지되고 정복될 때까지 계속되었습니다. 마지막 왕 민찬카만은 붙잡혀 잉카의 수도 쿠스코로 끌려갔습니다. 치무 장인들은 잉카 예술품 제작에 크게 기여했습니다. 멸망하기 전 치모르는 북부 안데스 인구의 약 3분의 2를 지배했을 가능성이 있습니다.

en: Chinook
ko: 치누크인

en: ?plural:Chinooks
ko: 치누크인

en: The Chinook Confederacy was a group of communities with common customs and language. They were a sedentary people living along the Columbia river in present-day Oregon and Washington in the United States. Chinook regional influence can be seen in the fact that their tongue became the base of a pidgin language for trade and communication between Native Americans and Whites throughout Oregon, Washington, British Columbia and all the way to Alaska.
ko: 치누크 연맹은 공통의 관습과 언어를 가진 공동체들의 집단이었습니다. 이들은 오늘날 미국 오리건주와 워싱턴주의 컬럼비아강을 따라 살던 정착민이었습니다. 치누크의 지역적 영향력은 이들의 언어가 오리건, 워싱턴, 브리티시컬럼비아, 그리고 알래스카에 이르기까지 원주민과 백인 사이의 무역과 의사소통을 위한 피진어의 기반이 되었다는 사실에서 볼 수 있습니다.

en: Choctaw
ko: 촉토인

en: ?plural:Choctaws
ko: 촉토인

en: One of the so-called Five Civilized Tribes, the Choctaw traditionally occupied much of the middle and south of today's U.S. state of Mississippi. First encountered by Spanish explorers in the 16th century, they became long-time French allies before siding with the Confederate States during the American Civil War. The majority of Choctaw today live in Oklahoma following forced removal from their homeland under president Andrew Jackson in 1831, but there is also a vibrant band in Mississippi made up of Choctaw who managed to escape removal and stay behind. The word "Oklahoma" itself is derived from a Choctaw language term meaning "red people".
ko: 이른바 문명화된 다섯 부족 중 하나인 촉토인은 전통적으로 오늘날 미국 미시시피주 중부와 남부의 많은 지역에 살았습니다. 16세기에 스페인 탐험가와 처음 접촉한 뒤 오랫동안 프랑스의 동맹이 되었고, 미국 남북전쟁 때는 남부연합 편에 섰습니다. 오늘날 촉토인 다수는 1831년 앤드루 잭슨 대통령 아래 고향에서 강제 이주된 뒤 오클라호마에 살고 있지만, 이주를 피해 남아 있던 촉토인으로 이루어진 활발한 공동체도 미시시피에 있습니다. “오클라호마”라는 말 자체는 “붉은 사람들”을 뜻하는 촉토어에서 유래했습니다.

en: Chola
ko: 촐라인

en: ?plural:Cholas
ko: 촐라인

en: The Cholas were a Tamil dynasty centered in southern India that was unusually influential in northern India. They began as a tributary state to the Pallavas, but in the 9th century their power began to grow. During the 11th century, they led expeditions against other Indian states as far north as Bengal, as well as against the Maldives, Sri Lanka and even the Indonesian kingdom of Sri Vijaya. They collapsed, however, in the 1250s as other southern Indian states rose up.
ko: 촐라는 남인도를 중심으로 한 타밀 왕조였지만 북인도에도 이례적으로 큰 영향력을 행사했습니다. 처음에는 팔라바의 조공국으로 시작했으나 9세기에 세력이 커지기 시작했습니다. 11세기에는 북쪽으로 벵골에 이르는 다른 인도 국가들뿐 아니라 몰디브, 스리랑카, 심지어 인도네시아의 스리비자야 왕국을 상대로 원정을 이끌었습니다. 그러나 1250년대에 다른 남인도 국가들이 부상하면서 붕괴했습니다.

en: Chrobatian
ko: 크로바티아인

en: ?plural:Chrobatians
ko: 크로바티아인

en: Chrobatia was an Early Medieval, semi-legendary Slavic state organized by the White Croats in a part of Central Europe that can not be conclusively identified today. The main source of the existence of a White Croatian state is a mention by the Byzantine Emperor Constantine VII Porphyrogennetos. White Croatia is sometimes associated with a prince Slavnik, lord of Libice, whose influence extended to the region of Silesia and the land of Krakow.
ko: 크로바티아는 오늘날 정확히 특정할 수 없는 중앙유럽 일부에서 백크로아트인이 세운 초기 중세의 반전설적 슬라브 국가였습니다. 백크로아티아 국가의 존재를 보여 주는 주요 근거는 비잔틴 황제 콘스탄티노스 7세 포르피로게네토스의 언급입니다. 백크로아티아는 때때로 리비체의 영주였던 슬라브니크 공과 관련되며, 그의 영향력은 실레시아 지역과 크라쿠프 땅까지 미쳤습니다.

en: Voivode %s
ko: 보이보드 %s

en: ?female:Voivode %s
ko: 여보이보드 %s

en: Priestess %s
ko: 여사제 %s

en: Grand Prince %s
ko: 대공 %s

en: Grand Princess %s
ko: 대공녀 %s

en: Chumash
ko: 추마시인

en: ?plural:Chumash
ko: 추마시인

en: Inhabiting the Santa Barbara Channel Islands and the southern California coastline between Malibu and Paso Robles inland towards the San Joaquin valley, the Chumash lived in large permanent villages and maintained a semi-monetized economy. These villages came to be ruled by hereditary chiefs, who could be male or female. At time of contact, the population was likely 8-18,000 people, though perhaps as high as 22,000. The Spanish established five missions in Chumash land. As a result of disease and other byproducts of colonial rule, the population fell to less than 3,000 in 1831.
ko: 추마시인은 산타바버라 해협 제도와 남부 캘리포니아 해안, 말리부에서 파소로블레스 사이와 내륙의 샌호아킨 계곡 쪽에 살았습니다. 이들은 큰 영구 마을에서 살며 반화폐 경제를 유지했습니다. 이 마을들은 남녀 모두 될 수 있는 세습 추장이 다스리게 되었습니다. 접촉 당시 인구는 8천~1만 8천 명, 어쩌면 2만 2천 명에 이르렀을 가능성이 있습니다. 스페인은 추마시 땅에 다섯 개의 선교소를 세웠습니다. 질병과 식민 통치의 다른 부산물로 인해 인구는 1831년에 3천 명 미만으로 줄었습니다.

en: Chuvash
ko: 추바시인

en: ?plural:Chuvashes
ko: 추바시인

en: Chuvashes are a Turkic ethnic group in Eastern European Russia and Western Siberia. They may be descendants of Old Bulgarian Turkic tribes and possibly Huns. Today there are about 1.8 million Chuvashes, about half of them in the Republic of Chuvashia, which is part of the Russian Federation.
ko: 추바시인은 동유럽 러시아와 서시베리아의 튀르크계 민족입니다. 이들은 옛 불가르 튀르크 부족, 어쩌면 훈족의 후손일 수 있습니다. 오늘날 추바시인은 약 180만 명이며, 그중 절반가량이 러시아 연방의 일부인 추바시 공화국에 살고 있습니다.

en: Circassian
ko: 체르케스인

en: ?plural:Circassians
ko: 체르케스인

en: The Circassians are the indigenous peoples of the Northwest Caucasus. The Circassian or Adyghe language is part of the Northwest Caucasian language family, related to Kabardian, Abkhaz and Ubykh. The Circassians first emerged as a coherent entity some 6000 years ago. They were rarely politically united; nevertheless they successfully managed to resist countless invasions from great empires throughout their history. Circassians were never fully subjugated in their long history until the middle of the 19th century, when they were defeated and subjected to genocide at the hands of the Russian Empire. Today less than 10% of the Circassian population lives in their original homeland.
ko: 체르케스인은 북서 카프카스의 토착 민족입니다. 체르케스어 또는 아디게어는 북서카프카스어족에 속하며 카바르다어, 아브하지아어, 우비흐어와 관련이 있습니다. 체르케스인은 약 6천 년 전에 처음 하나의 뚜렷한 집단으로 등장했습니다. 이들은 정치적으로 통합되는 경우가 드물었지만, 역사 내내 대제국들의 수많은 침입에 성공적으로 저항했습니다. 오랜 역사 동안 체르케스인은 완전히 복속된 적이 없었으나, 19세기 중반 러시아 제국에 패배하고 집단 학살을 당했습니다. 오늘날 체르케스 인구의 10% 미만만이 원래의 고향에 살고 있습니다.

en: %s Bey
ko: %s 베이

en: ?female:%s Bey
ko: %s 여베이

en: Colombian
ko: 콜롬비아인

en: ?plural:Colombians
ko: 콜롬비아인

en: Colombia is a country in northern South America. The region was an Amerindian cultural center in pre-European time. The Spanish began settling Colombia's north coast around 1500. In 1819 the Republic of Colombia gained independence.
ko: 콜롬비아는 남아메리카 북부의 나라입니다. 이 지역은 유럽인 도래 이전에 아메리카 원주민 문화의 중심지였습니다. 스페인인은 1500년 무렵 콜롬비아 북부 해안에 정착하기 시작했습니다. 1819년에 콜롬비아 공화국은 독립을 얻었습니다.

en: Comanche
ko: 코만치인

en: ?plural:Comanches
ko: 코만치인

en: The Comanche or Numunu are a Native American ethnic group whose historic range (the Comancheria) consisted of present-day eastern New Mexico, southern Colorado, northeastern Arizona, southern Kansas, all of Oklahoma, and most of northwest Texas.
ko: 코만치, 또는 누무누는 역사적 영역인 코만체리아가 오늘날 뉴멕시코 동부, 콜로라도 남부, 애리조나 북동부, 캔자스 남부, 오클라호마 전역, 텍사스 북서부 대부분에 걸쳐 있던 아메리카 원주민 민족입니다.

en: Comorian
ko: 코모로인

en: ?plural:Comorians
ko: 코모로인

en: The Comoros is an island country in the Mozambique channel, consisting of Grande Comore, Moheli and Anjouan, although the Comoran government also claims Mayotte, which is currently a French overseas departement. Having been under Arab influence since the 8th century, the Comoros is the southernmost Muslim-majority country in the world.
ko: 코모로는 모잠비크 해협의 섬나라로, 그랑드코모르, 모엘리, 앙주앙으로 이루어져 있습니다. 코모로 정부는 현재 프랑스 해외 데파르트망인 마요트도 영유권을 주장합니다. 8세기부터 아랍의 영향을 받아 온 코모로는 세계에서 가장 남쪽에 있는 무슬림 다수 국가입니다.

en: Chairman %s
ko: 의장 %s

en: Chairwoman %s
ko: 여의장 %s

en: Conch
ko: 콩크인

en: ?plural:Conch
ko: 콩크인

en: In 1982, as part of a protest to a US Border Patrol station near Monroe County, Florida, the city of Key West declared that they were seceding from the US as the Conch Republic. They then declared war against the US, by breaking a loaf of stale Cuban bread over the head of a man dressed as a sailor. They surrendered after one minute, and then requested one billion dollars of foreign aid. The faux-secession of the Conch Republic helped bring awareness to issues of the Florida Keys, and the border patrol station was quietly removed. To this day, Key West sells Conch Republic memorabilia to tourists, and the Conch Republic has been involved in other protests by Key West and the Florida Keys.
ko: 1982년 플로리다 먼로 카운티 근처의 미국 국경순찰대 초소에 항의하는 뜻으로, 키웨스트시는 자신들이 미국에서 분리되어 콩크 공화국이 되었다고 선언했습니다. 이어 선원 복장을 한 남자의 머리에 오래된 쿠바식 빵 한 덩이를 내리쳐 미국에 선전포고했습니다. 그들은 1분 뒤 항복하고 10억 달러의 대외 원조를 요청했습니다. 콩크 공화국의 가짜 분리 독립은 플로리다키스의 문제를 알리는 데 도움이 되었고, 국경순찰대 초소는 조용히 철거되었습니다. 오늘날에도 키웨스트는 관광객에게 콩크 공화국 기념품을 판매하며, 콩크 공화국은 키웨스트와 플로리다키스의 다른 항의 활동에도 관여해 왔습니다.

en: Confederate
ko: 남부동맹인

en: ?plural:Confederates
ko: 남부동맹인

en: The Confederate States of America was a splinter nation of the United States, formed by eleven Southern states, existing from 1861 to 1865. The states seceded from the United States because of political and cultural differences with the North, most prominently the issue of slavery, which they feared the government of the recently elected United States president Abraham Lincoln would abolish. The Confederate capital was Richmond, Virginia, and Jefferson Davis was the country's only president. The American Civil War pitted the Confederacy against the United States. After several military defeats by United States troops the southern states had to abandon their claims of independence; much of their territory laid in ruins. Furthermore, the Union victory in the Civil War opened the way for the abolition of slavery in the United States.
ko: 아메리카 남부연합은 미국에서 갈라져 나온 국가로, 11개의 남부 주가 결성했으며 1861년부터 1865년까지 존재했습니다. 이 주들은 북부와의 정치·문화적 차이, 특히 새로 선출된 미국 대통령 에이브러햄 링컨의 정부가 폐지할 것을 우려한 노예제 문제 때문에 미국에서 탈퇴했습니다. 남부연합의 수도는 버지니아주 리치먼드였고, 제퍼슨 데이비스가 이 나라의 유일한 대통령이었습니다. 미국 남북전쟁에서 남부연합은 미국과 맞섰습니다. 미군에게 여러 차례 군사적으로 패배한 뒤 남부 주들은 독립 주장을 포기해야 했고, 영토의 상당 부분이 폐허가 되었습니다. 또한 남북전쟁에서 연방이 승리하면서 미국에서 노예제를 폐지할 길이 열렸습니다.

en: Brazzaville-Congolese
ko: 브라자빌콩고인

en: ?plural:Brazzaville-Congolese
ko: 브라자빌콩고인

en: The Republic of the Congo is a country in Central Africa, not to be confused with the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Congo has been independent from France since 1960. From 1970 to 1991 it was governed as a Marxist-Leninist one party state; in this period the country was known as the People's Republic of the Congo. The country's economy relies heavily on the export of petroleum.
ko: 콩고 공화국은 중앙아프리카의 나라로, 콩고 민주 공화국과 혼동해서는 안 됩니다. 콩고는 1960년부터 프랑스에서 독립해 왔습니다. 1970년부터 1991년까지 마르크스-레닌주의 일당 국가로 통치되었으며, 이 시기에 이 나라는 콩고 인민 공화국으로 알려졌습니다. 이 나라의 경제는 석유 수출에 크게 의존합니다.

en: Congolese
ko: 콩고인

en: ?plural:Congolese
ko: 콩고인

en: The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a big country in Central Africa. Despite (or because of) its wealth of natural resources it has been in ruins for most of its modern history. In 1885 Congo was awarded to Léopold II of Belgium as his personal possession, the Congo Free State, which turned the country into a slaughterhouse. At least twenty per cent of the population perished and after an international outcry it became a Belgian colony in 1906. It achieved independence in 1960. The Mobutu dictatorship started a new round of pillaging. When Mobutu was toppled the country sank into a civil war, causing five million deaths, the bloodiest event since World War II.
ko: 콩고 민주 공화국은 중앙아프리카의 큰 나라입니다. 풍부한 천연자원에도 불구하고, 또는 바로 그 때문에, 이 나라는 현대사의 대부분 동안 폐허 상태에 놓여 있었습니다. 1885년 콩고는 벨기에의 레오폴드 2세에게 개인 소유지인 콩고 자유국으로 주어졌고, 이 나라는 도살장으로 변했습니다. 인구의 최소 20퍼센트가 목숨을 잃었으며, 국제적 비난이 일어난 뒤 1906년에 벨기에 식민지가 되었습니다. 1960년에 독립했지만 모부투 독재는 새로운 약탈의 시대를 열었습니다. 모부투가 축출되자 이 나라는 내전에 빠졌고, 500만 명이 사망하여 제2차 세계 대전 이후 가장 참혹한 사건이 되었습니다.

en: Cornish
ko: 콘월인

en: ?plural:Cornish
ko: 콘월인

en: Cornwall is a region in the extreme southwest of England, traditionally the home of the legendary King Arthur.
ko: 콘월은 잉글랜드 최남서단의 지역으로, 전통적으로 전설적인 아서 왕의 고향으로 여겨집니다.

en: Corsican
ko: 코르시카인

en: ?plural:Corsicans
ko: 코르시카인

en: For most of its history, Corsica has been ruled by foreign powers. Greeks, Etruscans, Romans, Vandals, Visigoths, Byzantines, Saracens, Lombards, the Papal States and Genoese all held sway over Corsica at one time or another. The 18th century saw a war of independence inspired by Enlightenment values. Pasquale Paoli managed to kick out the Genoese and from 1755 to 1769 Corsica was an independent republic with the first modern constitution in the world. Genoa sold its claim to France, after which a French invasion force defeated the Corsicans and Corsica was incorporated into France.
ko: 코르시카는 역사 대부분 동안 외세의 지배를 받았습니다. 그리스인, 에트루리아인, 로마인, 반달인, 서고트인, 비잔틴인, 사라센인, 롬바르드인, 교황령, 제노바인이 저마다 한때 코르시카를 지배했습니다. 18세기에는 계몽주의 가치에서 영감을 받은 독립 전쟁이 일어났습니다. 파스콸레 파올리는 제노바인을 몰아내는 데 성공했고, 1755년부터 1769년까지 코르시카는 세계 최초의 근대 헌법을 가진 독립 공화국이었습니다. 제노바는 프랑스에 자신의 권리를 팔았고, 이후 프랑스 침공군이 코르시카인을 물리치면서 코르시카는 프랑스에 편입되었습니다.

en: General-in-Chief %s
ko: 총사령관 %s

en: ?female:General-in-Chief %s
ko: 여총사령관 %s

en: Cossack
ko: 코사크인

en: ?plural:Cossacks
ko: 코사크인

en: The Zaporozhian Cossacks lived in Zaporozhia, in Central Ukraine. They were a multi-ethnic community with Ruthenians being the dominant element, organized in a military manner.
ko: 자포로지아 코사크는 중앙 우크라이나의 자포로지아에 살았습니다. 이들은 루테니아인이 주축을 이룬 다민족 공동체였으며, 군사적인 방식으로 조직되었습니다.

en: Hetman %s
ko: 헤트만 %s

en: ?female:Hetman %s
ko: 여헤트만 %s

en: Costa Rican
ko: 코스타리카인

en: ?plural:Costa Ricans
ko: 코스타리카인

en: Costa Rica became an independent republic in 1840. It has been without an army since 1949 and is one of the most democratic and wealthy countries of Latin America.
ko: 코스타리카는 1840년에 독립 공화국이 되었습니다. 1949년부터 군대를 두지 않았으며, 라틴아메리카에서 가장 민주적이고 부유한 나라 중 하나입니다.

en: Cree
ko: 크리인

en: ?plural:Cree
ko: 크리인

en: The Cree are the largest native group in Canada with over 200,000 members who speak an Algonquian language and often call themselves "Iiyiyuu" or "Iinuu," meaning "people." They originally inhabited much of Quebec, Labrador, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario and Manitoba.
ko: 크리인은 캐나다에서 가장 큰 원주민 집단으로, 알곤킨어족 언어를 쓰는 구성원이 20만 명이 넘습니다. 이들은 자신들을 흔히 “사람”을 뜻하는 “이이이유” 또는 “이누”라고 부릅니다. 이들은 원래 퀘벡, 래브라도, 앨버타, 서스캐처원, 온타리오, 매니토바의 넓은 지역에 살았습니다.

en: Cretan
ko: 크레타인

en: ?plural:Cretans
ko: 크레타인

en: Crete is an island in the Mediterranean Sea, the largest of the Greek Archipelago. In the 3rd and 2nd millennia BCE Crete was the site of Europe's first advanced civilization, the Minoan culture. An eruption of nearby Thera destroyed the Minoan civilization. Crete then became part of the Greek cultural realm, and was subsequently conquered by the Romans, Arabs, Byzantines, Venetians and Ottoman Turks. After having been a semi-independent state for 15 years, Crete finally became part of Greece in 1913.
ko: 크레타는 지중해에 있는 섬으로, 그리스 제도에서 가장 큽니다. 기원전 3천년기와 2천년기에 크레타는 유럽 최초의 고등 문명인 미노아 문화의 중심지였습니다. 인근 테라의 분화로 미노아 문명은 파괴되었습니다. 이후 크레타는 그리스 문화권의 일부가 되었고, 로마인, 아랍인, 비잔틴인, 베네치아인, 오스만 튀르크에게 차례로 정복되었습니다. 15년 동안 반독립 국가로 존재한 뒤, 크레타는 1913년에 마침내 그리스의 일부가 되었습니다.

en: Crimean Tatar
ko: 크림 타타르인

en: ?plural:Crimean Tatars
ko: 크림 타타르인

en: Historical feudal state on the Crimean Peninsula, existing from the 15th to the 18th century. Crimean Tatars invaded Poland and Russia, which caused wars with Turkey.
ko: 15세기부터 18세기까지 크림반도에 존재했던 역사적 봉건 국가입니다. 크림 타타르인은 폴란드와 러시아를 침공했고, 이는 튀르키예와의 전쟁을 불러왔습니다.

en: Croatian
ko: 크로아티아인

en: ?plural:Croatians
ko: 크로아티아인

en: Croatia is a country in Southeast Europe. In the 7th century they migrated into the region and established a duchy which evolved to a kingdom in the 10th century under Tomislav. After the Trpimirović dynasty followed a period of symbiotic regimes with varying foreign powers, mostly notably with Austria-Hungary and the Ottoman Empire. In 1918, Croatia proclaimed independence from Austria-Hungary alongside other Southeast European nations. In World War II, the Axis installed a fascist puppet government that was later dismantled by resistance. Croatia was a member state of the newfound Yugoslav Federation until 1991 when they proclaimed independence leading to four years long conflict resulting in Croatia securing its autonomy.
ko: 크로아티아는 동남유럽의 나라입니다. 7세기에 이들은 이 지역으로 이주해 공국을 세웠고, 10세기에 토미슬라브 치하에서 왕국으로 발전했습니다. 트르피미로비치 왕조 이후에는 여러 외세, 특히 오스트리아-헝가리와 오스만 제국과 얽힌 공존적 통치 체제가 이어졌습니다. 1918년 크로아티아는 다른 동남유럽 민족들과 함께 오스트리아-헝가리로부터 독립을 선포했습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 중 추축국은 파시스트 괴뢰 정부를 세웠으나, 이는 저항 운동에 의해 해체되었습니다. 크로아티아는 새로 세워진 유고슬라비아 연방의 구성국이었다가 1991년에 독립을 선포했고, 4년에 걸친 분쟁 끝에 자치를 확보했습니다.

en: Crusader
ko: 십자군

en: ?plural:Crusaders
ko: 십자군

en: The Crusades were a series of wars in which European armies tried to re-establish Christian control over the Holy Land. The First Crusade was called by Pope Urban II in 1095. The crusaders managed to wrestle control of much of the Levant from Muslim hands and established a number of states led by noblemen from European Christian dynasties. The most powerful of crusader states was the Kingdom of Jerusalem; other states included the County of Tripoli, the Principality of Antioch and the Country of Edessa. Later crusades were less successful. Muslim (Arab and Turkic) armies managed to push back the Crusaders and the last Crusader controlled city, Acre, fell to the Mamluks in 1291.
ko: 십자군 전쟁은 유럽 군대가 성지에 대한 기독교의 지배를 다시 세우려 했던 일련의 전쟁이었습니다. 제1차 십자군은 1095년 교황 우르바누스 2세가 호소하면서 시작되었습니다. 십자군은 레반트의 많은 지역을 무슬림의 손에서 빼앗는 데 성공했고, 유럽 기독교 왕조 출신 귀족들이 이끄는 여러 국가를 세웠습니다. 가장 강력한 십자군 국가는 예루살렘 왕국이었고, 그 밖에 트리폴리 백국, 안티오키아 공국, 에데사 백국이 있었습니다. 이후의 십자군은 덜 성공적이었습니다. 무슬림 아랍·튀르크 군대는 십자군을 밀어냈고, 십자군이 지배하던 마지막 도시 아크레는 1291년에 맘루크에게 함락되었습니다.

en: Cuban
ko: 쿠바인

en: ?plural:Cubans
ko: 쿠바인

en: Cuba came under Spanish control in the 16th century. In the following centuries, the island became one of the leading producers of tobacco, sugar and coffee in the world. Cuba was granted nominal independence in 1902.
ko: 쿠바는 16세기에 스페인의 지배를 받게 되었습니다. 이후 몇 세기 동안 이 섬은 세계적인 담배, 설탕, 커피 생산지 중 하나가 되었습니다. 쿠바는 1902년에 명목상의 독립을 얻었습니다.

en: Curonian
ko: 쿠로니아인

en: ?plural:Curonians
ko: 쿠로니아인

en: The Duchy of Courland and Semigallia was created as the result of the secularization of the Teutonic Order State. The dukes of Courland were vassals of Poland until its collapse. Duke Jakob Kettler led the failed attempts of colonization in South America and Africa.
ko: 쿠를란트-젬갈렌 공국은 튜턴 기사단 국가가 세속화된 결과로 만들어졌습니다. 쿠를란트 공작들은 폴란드가 붕괴할 때까지 폴란드의 봉신이었습니다. 야코프 케틀러 공작은 남아메리카와 아프리카 식민지 건설을 시도했지만 실패했습니다.

en: Cuyavian
ko: 쿠야비아인

en: ?plural:Cuyavians
ko: 쿠야비아인

en: Cuyavia is a historical region in Northern-Central Poland, bordered to the East by Masovia, on the West by Greater Poland and on the North by Pomerania.
ko: 쿠야비아는 폴란드 중북부의 역사적 지역으로, 동쪽으로 마조비아, 서쪽으로 대폴란드, 북쪽으로 포메라니아와 접합니다.

en: Cypriot
ko: 키프로스인

en: ?plural:Cypriots
ko: 키프로스인

en: Cyprus became an independent republic on 16th August 1960. It is a Eurasian island country located in the eastern Mediterranean, south of Turkey and west of Syria and Lebanon.
ko: 키프로스는 1960년 8월 16일 독립 공화국이 되었습니다. 지중해 동부, 튀르키예 남쪽과 시리아·레바논 서쪽에 있는 유라시아 섬나라입니다.

en: Cyrenaican
ko: 키레나이카인

en: ?plural:Cyrenaicans
ko: 키레나이카인

en: Cyrenaica is a historical region in Eastern Libya. In Classical Antiquity the region was part of the Greek cultural realm. From the 7th century onwards the region was controlled by various Arab dynasties. Cyrenaica was occupied by Italy in 1911. After World War II a short-lived Emirate of Cyrenaica existed, of which the ruling Senussi dynasty established a united Libyan Kingdom in 1951. Cyrenaica has been a hotbed of resistance against the Gaddafi regime. The site of much of Libya's oil reserves, Cyrenaica has seen renewed calls for autonomy following the overthrow of Gaddafi.
ko: 키레나이카는 동부 리비아의 역사적 지역입니다. 고전 고대에 이 지역은 그리스 문화권의 일부였습니다. 7세기 이후 여러 아랍 왕조의 지배를 받았습니다. 키레나이카는 1911년에 이탈리아에 점령되었습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 잠시 키레나이카 토후국이 존재했으며, 그 통치 가문인 세누시 왕조는 1951년에 통일 리비아 왕국을 세웠습니다. 키레나이카는 카다피 정권에 대한 저항의 중심지였습니다. 리비아 석유 매장량의 상당 부분이 있는 이 지역에서는 카다피 축출 이후 자치 요구가 다시 제기되었습니다.

en: Czechoslovakian
ko: 체코슬로바키아인

en: ?plural:Czechoslovakians
ko: 체코슬로바키아인

en: Czechoslovakia was founded in 1918. It was long the only democracy in Eastern Europe until it was overrun by the Nazis in 1939 and the Soviet Union in 1948. Four years after the fall of communism it was split into the Czech and Slovak republics.
ko: 체코슬로바키아는 1918년에 세워졌습니다. 1939년 나치와 1948년 소련에 장악되기 전까지 오랫동안 동유럽의 유일한 민주국가였습니다. 공산주의가 무너진 지 4년 뒤 체코 공화국과 슬로바키아 공화국으로 분리되었습니다.

en: Czech
ko: 체코인

en: ?plural:Czechs
ko: 체코인

en: Today's Czech Republic was until 1993 part of Czechoslovakia, which had been until 1918 part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.
ko: 오늘날의 체코 공화국은 1993년까지 체코슬로바키아의 일부였고, 체코슬로바키아는 1918년까지 오스트리아-헝가리 제국의 일부였습니다.

en: Prophet %s
ko: 예언자 %s

en: Prophetess %s
ko: 여예언자 %s

en: Dacian
ko: 다키아인

en: ?plural:Dacians
ko: 다키아인

en: The Dacians were ancient tribes who lived on the left bank of the Lower Danube in Dacia in what is now Romania. They were probably related to the Thracians and other Paleo-Balkanic tribes. The unification of Dacian tribes occurred during the reign of king Burebista. After the wars with Rome, they were defeated in 106 CE. Dacia became a Roman province and succumbed to Roman colonization. The remains of the Dacians mingled with East Germanic tribes and later with Slavs.
ko: 다키아인은 오늘날 루마니아에 해당하는 다키아의 도나우 하류 왼쪽 강변에 살던 고대 부족들이었습니다. 이들은 아마 트라키아인과 다른 고발칸 부족들과 관련이 있었을 것입니다. 다키아 부족의 통합은 부레비스타 왕의 통치기에 이루어졌습니다. 로마와의 전쟁 뒤 이들은 서기 106년에 패배했습니다. 다키아는 로마 속주가 되었고 로마 식민화에 편입되었습니다. 남은 다키아인들은 동게르만 부족들과, 이후에는 슬라브인들과 섞였습니다.

en: Dagestan
ko: 다게스탄인

en: ?plural:Dagestani
ko: 다게스탄인

en: Dagestan is a republic of Russia situated in North Caucausus along the Caspian sea, it is one of the most ethnically diverse of Russia's republics, it was one of the first people within the modern borders of Russia to become Muslims after the Arab conquest of the region in 643. Dagestan was later raided by the Mongols in 1221. Dagestan eventually came under the control of Russia in 1813 and was firmly in the control of Imperial Russia as of 1828. Due to high taxation and general dissatisfaction with the Russian government, it rose up multiple times against Russia, once in 1828, and again in 1917, it eventually became an autonomous republic under the Soviet Union in 1921.
ko: 다게스탄은 카스피해를 따라 북카프카스에 자리한 러시아의 공화국으로, 러시아 공화국들 가운데 민족적으로 가장 다양한 곳 중 하나입니다. 643년 아랍이 이 지역을 정복한 뒤, 오늘날 러시아 국경 안에서 가장 먼저 이슬람을 받아들인 지역 중 하나였습니다. 이후 1221년에는 몽골의 침입을 받았습니다. 다게스탄은 1813년에 결국 러시아의 지배 아래 들어갔고, 1828년에는 제정 러시아의 확고한 지배를 받게 되었습니다. 높은 세금과 러시아 정부에 대한 전반적인 불만 때문에 1828년과 1917년 등 여러 차례 러시아에 맞서 봉기했으며, 1921년에 소련 아래 자치 공화국이 되었습니다.

en: Dahomean
ko: 다호메이인

en: ?plural:Dahomeans
ko: 다호메이인

en: The southern third of modern Benin was once a historic kingdom known variously as Agbome (c. 1600 - c. 1700), Danhome (c. 1700 - 1730), and Dahomey (1730 - 1894). In 1730 the country became a tributary of the neighboring kingdom of Oyo. It was conquered by France in the second Franco-Dahomean war (1892 - 1894) and was split into Agbome and Alada.  In the 18th and 19th centuries Dahomey was known for its fierce ahosi (gbeto) warriors: an army of women who were the king's official bodyguards and celibate wives.
ko: 오늘날 베냉 남부 3분의 1 지역은 한때 아그보메(약 1600~1700년), 단호메(약 1700~1730년), 다호메이(1730~1894년) 등으로 불린 역사적 왕국이었습니다. 1730년에 이 나라는 이웃 오요 왕국의 조공국이 되었습니다. 제2차 프랑스-다호메이 전쟁(1892~1894년)에서 프랑스에 정복되었고, 아그보메와 알라다로 분할되었습니다. 18~19세기 다호메이는 왕의 공식 친위대이자 독신 아내들인 사나운 아호시(그베토) 여전사 군대로 유명했습니다.

en: Darfuri
ko: 다르푸르인

en: ?plural:Darfuris
ko: 다르푸르인

en: The Sultanate of Darfur was an eastern so-called Sahelian state that from its location in the region just south of the Sahara benefited and prospered from trans-Saharan trade. The region had previously been dominated by the Daju and Tunjur ethnic groups, the latter of which is traditionally thought to have introduced Islam to the region. By the 16th century CE an ethnic group known as the Fur had gained the upper hand and under Sultan Sulayman established a long-lasting sultanate. The word Darfur means the Land of the Fur.
ko: 다르푸르 술탄국은 사하라 바로 남쪽 지역에 자리해 사하라 횡단 무역의 혜택을 받아 번영한 동부 사헬계 국가였습니다. 이 지역은 이전에 다주족과 툰주르족이 지배했으며, 전통적으로 후자가 이 지역에 이슬람을 전한 것으로 여겨집니다. 서기 16세기에는 푸르족으로 알려진 민족 집단이 우위를 차지했고, 술탄 술레이만 아래 오래 지속된 술탄국을 세웠습니다. 다르푸르라는 말은 푸르의 땅을 뜻합니다.

en: Djiboutian
ko: 지부티인

en: ?plural:Djiboutians
ko: 지부티인

en: Djibouti is one of the smallest countries of Africa, located on the Gulf of Aden. It has been independent from France since 1977. Djibouti's main ethnic groups are the Afar and the Somalis. The country has one of the hottest climates in the world.
ko: 지부티는 아덴만에 위치한 아프리카의 가장 작은 나라 중 하나입니다. 1977년부터 프랑스에서 독립해 왔습니다. 지부티의 주요 민족 집단은 아파르인과 소말리인입니다. 이 나라는 세계에서 가장 더운 기후 중 하나를 가지고 있습니다.

en: Dominicano
ko: 도미니카 공화국인

en: ?plural:Dominicanos
ko: 도미니카 공화국인

en: The Dominican Republic is located on the eastern two thirds of the Caribbean island of Hispaniola. Its capital - Santo Domingo - became the first permanent European settlement in the Americas when it was founded by Bartholomew Columbus in 1498.
ko: 도미니카 공화국은 카리브해의 히스파니올라섬 동쪽 3분의 2에 자리하고 있습니다. 수도 산토도밍고는 1498년 바르톨로메오 콜럼버스가 세우면서 아메리카 최초의 영구 유럽인 정착지가 되었습니다.

en: Dominican
ko: 도미니카인

en: ?plural:Dominicans
ko: 도미니카인

en: The island of Dominica was first sighted by Europeans, including Christopher Columbus, in 1493. Legend has it that the island was named so since the day of its first sighting was a Sunday. Officially the "Commonwealth of Dominica", the country should not be confused with the Dominican Republic, another Caribbean nation.
ko: 도미니카섬은 1493년 크리스토퍼 콜럼버스를 비롯한 유럽인들에게 처음 목격되었습니다. 전설에 따르면 처음 발견된 날이 일요일이었기 때문에 이런 이름이 붙었다고 합니다. 공식 명칭은 “도미니카 연방”이며, 또 다른 카리브해 국가인 도미니카 공화국과 혼동해서는 안 됩니다.

en: Donetsk
ko: 도네츠크인

en: ?plural:Donchyani
ko: 도네츠크인

en: The Donetsk People's Republic is an unrecognised republic of Russia in the occupied parts of eastern Ukraine's Donetsk Oblast, with its capital in Donetsk. The DPR was created by Russian-backed aramilitaries in 2014, and it initially operated as a breakaway state Until it was annexed by Russia in 2022. Following Ukraine's Revolution of Dignity in 2014, pro-Russian, counter-revolutionary unrest erupted in the eastern part of the country. Russia annexed Crimea from Ukraine, while the armed separatists seized government buildings and proclaimed the Donetsk People's Republic and Luhansk People's Republic as independent states. This sparked the war in Donbas, part of the wider Russo-Ukrainian War. The DPR and LPR are sometimes described as puppet states of Russia during this conflict. They received no international recognition from United Nations member states before 2022. On 21 February 2022, Russia recognised the DPR and LPR as sovereign states. Three days later, Russia launched a full-scale invasion of Ukraine, partially under the pretext of protecting the republics. Russian forces captured more of Donetsk Oblast, which became part of the DPR. In September 2022, Russia proclaimed the annexation of the DPR and other occupied territories, following illegitimate referendums. The United Nations General Assembly passed a resolution calling on countries not to recognise what it called the "attempted illegal annexation" and demanded that Russia "immediately, completely and unconditionally withdraw."
ko: 도네츠크 인민공화국은 우크라이나 동부 도네츠크주의 점령 지역에 있는, 수도를 도네츠크로 둔 러시아의 미승인 공화국입니다. 도네츠크 인민공화국은 2014년 러시아의 지원을 받는 준군사조직에 의해 만들어졌고, 처음에는 분리 독립 국가로 운영되다가 2022년에 러시아에 병합되었습니다. 2014년 우크라이나의 존엄 혁명 이후, 나라 동부에서 친러시아·반혁명 소요가 일어났습니다. 러시아는 우크라이나의 크림반도를 병합했고, 무장 분리주의자들은 정부 청사를 점거해 도네츠크 인민공화국과 루한스크 인민공화국을 독립국으로 선포했습니다. 이로 인해 더 넓은 러시아-우크라이나 전쟁의 일부인 돈바스 전쟁이 촉발되었습니다. 이 분쟁 동안 도네츠크 인민공화국과 루한스크 인민공화국은 때때로 러시아의 괴뢰 국가로 묘사됩니다. 이들은 2022년 이전에는 유엔 회원국들로부터 국제적 승인을 받지 못했습니다. 2022년 2월 21일 러시아는 두 공화국을 주권 국가로 승인했습니다. 사흘 뒤 러시아는 부분적으로 이 공화국들을 보호한다는 명분으로 우크라이나를 전면 침공했습니다. 러시아군은 도네츠크주의 더 많은 지역을 점령했고, 그 지역은 도네츠크 인민공화국의 일부가 되었습니다. 2022년 9월 러시아는 불법적인 국민투표 뒤 도네츠크 인민공화국과 다른 점령지를 병합한다고 선포했습니다. 유엔 총회는 각국에 이른바 “불법 병합 시도”를 인정하지 말 것을 촉구하고, 러시아가 “즉각, 완전하게, 무조건 철수”할 것을 요구하는 결의안을 통과시켰습니다.

en: Kremlin %s
ko: 크렘린 %s

en: ?female:Kremlin %s
ko: 여크렘린 %s

en: Dryad
ko: 드리아드

en: ?plural:Dryads
ko: 드리아드

en: Dryads are creatures of Greek myth; they are a type of nymph associated with trees. Dryads were generally considered to be shy and long-lived. They are usually female and are often depicted as beautiful young women.
ko: 드리아드는 그리스 신화의 존재로, 나무와 관련된 님프의 한 종류입니다. 드리아드는 대체로 수줍고 오래 사는 존재로 여겨졌습니다. 보통 여성으로 나타나며 아름다운 젊은 여성으로 묘사되는 경우가 많습니다.

en: East German
ko: 동독인

en: ?plural:East Germans
ko: 동독인

en: The German Democratic Republic was founded in the Soviet Occupation Zone of postwar Germany in 1949. It was part of the Soviet dominated eastern bloc during the Cold War. The GDR was known for the Berlin Wall and its vast internal security apparatus, the Stasi. In 1989 the communist regime collapsed and one year later it was annexed to the Federal Republic of Germany.
ko: 독일 민주 공화국은 전후 독일의 소련 점령 구역에서 1949년에 세워졌습니다. 냉전 동안 소련이 지배한 동구권의 일부였습니다. 동독은 베를린 장벽과 방대한 내부 보안 기구인 슈타지로 알려졌습니다. 1989년에 공산주의 정권이 붕괴했고, 1년 뒤 독일 연방 공화국에 병합되었습니다.

en: Enemy of the People %s
ko: 인민의 적 %s

en: ?female:Enemy of the People %s
ko: 여인민의 적 %s

en: Commissar %s
ko: 정치위원 %s

en: ?female:Commissar %s
ko: 여정치위원 %s

en: East Timorese
ko: 동티모르인

en: ?plural:East Timorese
ko: 동티모르인

en: A former Portuguese colony, East Timor declared independence in 1975 but was overrun by Indonesian forces shortly thereafter. East Timor became the first newly sovereign state of the 21st century when Indonesia relinquished control on May 20, 2002.
ko: 옛 포르투갈 식민지였던 동티모르는 1975년에 독립을 선언했지만 얼마 지나지 않아 인도네시아군에 점령되었습니다. 2002년 5월 20일 인도네시아가 통제를 포기하면서 동티모르는 21세기 최초의 신생 주권 국가가 되었습니다.

en: Ecuadorian
ko: 에콰도르인

en: ?plural:Ecuadorians
ko: 에콰도르인

en: Ecuador is a country in western South America. It is divided into three very distinct geographic regions: the coastal lowlands, the mountains of the Andes and the jungles of the Oriente. The Galápagos islands are also part of Ecuador. The country gained independence from Spain in 1821 and from Colombia in 1830. Ecuador's history has been marked by rivalry between the coast (Guayaquil) and the mountains (Quito). It also fought numerous border wars with both Colombia and Peru. Nowadays Ecuador is one of the main oil producing countries of South America.
ko: 에콰도르는 남아메리카 서부의 나라입니다. 해안 저지대, 안데스 산맥, 오리엔테의 정글이라는 뚜렷하게 다른 세 지리 구역으로 나뉩니다. 갈라파고스 제도도 에콰도르의 일부입니다. 이 나라는 1821년에 스페인으로부터, 1830년에 콜롬비아로부터 독립했습니다. 에콰도르의 역사는 해안 지역(과야킬)과 산악 지역(키토) 사이의 경쟁으로 특징지어졌습니다. 또한 콜롬비아와 페루 양쪽과 여러 차례 국경 전쟁을 벌였습니다. 오늘날 에콰도르는 남아메리카의 주요 산유국 중 하나입니다.

en: Egyptian Arab
ko: 이집트 아랍인

en: ?plural:Egyptian Arabs
ko: 이집트 아랍인

en: Modern Egypt is the most populous Middle Eastern country as well as one of the most populous in Africa. It is located on the site of one of the world's most ancient civilizations.
ko: 현대 이집트는 중동에서 가장 인구가 많은 나라이고, 아프리카에서도 인구가 많은 나라 중 하나입니다. 세계에서 가장 오래된 문명 중 하나가 있던 자리에 위치해 있습니다.

en: Elamite
ko: 엘람인

en: ?plural:Elamites
ko: 엘람인

en: Elam was an ancient civilization located in the area of modern southwest Iran, which arose around 3100 BCE. The Elamite language, written in cuneiform, is of unknown origin. In 643 BCE the Elamite civilization was destroyed by the Assyrians under Assurbanipal.
ko: 엘람은 오늘날 이란 남서부 지역에 있던 고대 문명으로, 기원전 3100년 무렵에 등장했습니다. 쐐기문자로 쓰인 엘람어의 기원은 알려져 있지 않습니다. 기원전 643년에 엘람 문명은 아슈르바니팔 치하의 아시리아인에게 파괴되었습니다.

en: Emirati
ko: 에미리트인

en: ?plural:Emiratis
ko: 에미리트인

en: The history of the United Arab Emirates goes back to the 7th century. In the 19th century the Emirates became a dependency of the United Kingdom. In 1971 six emirates joined in a federative state as the United Arab Emirates. The following year, the seventh member emirate joined them.
ko: 아랍에미리트의 역사는 7세기까지 거슬러 올라갑니다. 19세기에 토후국들은 영국의 보호령이 되었습니다. 1971년에 여섯 토후국이 아랍에미리트라는 연방 국가로 결합했습니다. 이듬해 일곱 번째 토후국이 합류했습니다.

en: Epirote
ko: 에페이로스인

en: ?plural:Epirotes
ko: 에페이로스인

en: The Epirotes were the ancient inhabitants of the Epirus region in northwestern Greece. Their most powerful ruler Pyrrhus launched a campaign against Rome in Italy, which ended in the famous "Pyrrhic Victory".
ko: 에페이로스인은 그리스 북서부 에페이로스 지역의 고대 주민들이었습니다. 가장 강력한 통치자 피로스는 이탈리아에서 로마를 상대로 원정을 벌였고, 이는 유명한 “피로스의 승리”로 끝났습니다.

en: Tyrant %s
ko: 참주 %s

en: ?female:Tyrant %s
ko: 여참주 %s

en: Equatoguinean
ko: 적도기니인

en: ?plural:Equatoguineans
ko: 적도기니인

en: Equatorial Guinea is a country in Africa. It is divided into a mainland part (Rio Muni) and the islands of Bioko and Annobon. Formerly Spanish Guinea, the country achieved independence in 1968. Equatorial Guinea is one of the wealthier countries of Africa but also one of the most unequal.
ko: 적도기니는 아프리카의 나라입니다. 본토 지역인 리오무니와 비오코섬, 안노본섬으로 나뉩니다. 옛 스페인령 기니였던 이 나라는 1968년에 독립했습니다. 적도기니는 아프리카에서 비교적 부유한 나라 중 하나이지만, 동시에 가장 불평등한 나라 중 하나이기도 합니다.

en: Eritrean
ko: 에리트레아인

en: ?plural:Eritreans
ko: 에리트레아인

en: Eritrea is a country in eastern Africa which borders Sudan, Ethiopia, and Djibouti. It was once the Kingdom of D'mt and was later conquered by Italy. In 1951 it was federated with Ethiopia, which led to the development of an independence movement in the 1960s. In 1991 the 31-year war ended with Eritrea gaining independence.
ko: 에리트레아는 수단, 에티오피아, 지부티와 국경을 맞댄 동아프리카의 나라입니다. 한때 드므트 왕국이었고, 이후 이탈리아에 정복되었습니다. 1951년에 에티오피아와 연방을 이루었으나, 이는 1960년대 독립 운동의 발전으로 이어졌습니다. 1991년에 31년에 걸친 전쟁이 끝나면서 에리트레아는 독립을 얻었습니다.

en: Esperant
ko: 에스페란토인

en: ?plural:Esperants
ko: 에스페란토인

en: The Esperants are a world community united by the Esperanto language.
ko: 에스페란토인은 에스페란토어로 결합된 세계 공동체입니다.

en: Estonian
ko: 에스토니아인

en: ?plural:Estonians
ko: 에스토니아인

en: Estonia is a small country on the south shore of the eastern Baltic Sea.  Its people and language are closely related to those of Finland.
ko: 에스토니아는 발트해 동부 남쪽 해안에 있는 작은 나라입니다. 그 국민과 언어는 핀란드와 밀접한 관련이 있습니다.

en: Protector %s
ko: 보호자 %s

en: ?female:Protector %s
ko: 여보호자 %s

en: Etruscan
ko: 에트루리아인

en: ?plural:Etruscans
ko: 에트루리아인

en: The Etruscans were an ancient civilization in Etruria, Italy, known for their artistic achievements and building of necropolises. Their language is only partly deciphered and their origins are still debated. They called themselves Rasna and formed a confederation of twelve cities. In the 6th century the Etruscan civilization started to crumble after Roman and Gallic incursions. Rome itself probably originated as a city state that threw off Etruscan domination. As a result, Roman sources often put the Etruscans in a negative light, depicting them as a sexually licentious culture. However, Roman civilization owes a lot to their Etruscan predecessors.
ko: 에트루리아인은 이탈리아 에트루리아의 고대 문명으로, 예술적 업적과 네크로폴리스 건설로 알려져 있습니다. 그들의 언어는 일부만 해독되었고 기원도 여전히 논쟁 중입니다. 이들은 자신들을 라스나라고 불렀고 열두 도시의 연맹을 이루었습니다. 6세기에 로마와 갈리아의 침입 이후 에트루리아 문명은 무너지기 시작했습니다. 로마 자체도 에트루리아의 지배를 떨쳐낸 도시국가에서 비롯되었을 가능성이 큽니다. 그 결과 로마 자료는 종종 에트루리아인을 부정적으로 묘사하며 성적으로 방종한 문화로 그렸습니다. 그러나 로마 문명은 에트루리아 선행 문명에 많은 것을 빚지고 있습니다.

en: European
ko: 유럽인

en: ?plural:Europeans
ko: 유럽인

en: The foundation for the European Union was laid in 1957 with the Treaty of Rome. The EU project has developed since then and is beginning to resemble a fledgeling super state. But the question remains: Does such a thing as a common European identity and nation actually exist?
ko: 유럽 연합의 기초는 1957년 로마 조약으로 놓였습니다. 그 이후 EU 구상은 발전해 갓 태어난 초국가에 가까운 모습을 띠기 시작했습니다. 그러나 한 가지 질문은 남아 있습니다. 공통의 유럽 정체성과 민족이라는 것이 실제로 존재할까요?

en: Pope %s
ko: 교황 %s

en: Popess %s
ko: 여교황 %s

en: Commissioner %s
ko: 위원 %s

en: ?female:Commissioner %s
ko: 여위원 %s

en: Evenki
ko: 에벤키인

en: ?plural:Evenks
ko: 에벤키인

en: The Evenks are a Tungusic ethnic group in Siberia, Mongolia, and northern China. Historical evidence suggests that they have lived in the Baikal area on today's Russian-Mongolian border since the Stone Age. When encountered by the Russians in the 17th century, the Evenks were tribal hunter-gatherers and reindeer herders.
ko: 에벤키인은 시베리아, 몽골, 중국 북부의 퉁구스계 민족입니다. 역사적 증거는 이들이 석기 시대부터 오늘날 러시아-몽골 국경의 바이칼 지역에서 살아왔음을 시사합니다. 17세기에 러시아인과 접촉했을 때, 에벤키인은 부족 단위의 수렵채집민이자 순록 유목민이었습니다.

en: Faroese
ko: 페로인

en: ?plural:Faroese
ko: 페로인

en: The Faroe Islands are an archipelago in the Northern Atlantic ocean. According to the sagas, they were first settled by Norsemen who fled the tyranny of Norway's king Harald Fairhair. The islands became a Norwegian possession in 1035 and passed to Denmark in 1814. The Faroes have home rule since 1948.
ko: 페로 제도는 북대서양의 군도입니다. 사가에 따르면, 노르웨이 왕 하랄드 미발왕의 폭정을 피해 온 노르드인들이 처음 정착했습니다. 이 섬들은 1035년에 노르웨이령이 되었고 1814년에 덴마크로 넘어갔습니다. 페로 제도는 1948년부터 자치를 해 왔습니다.

en: Fijian
ko: 피지인

en: ?plural:Fijians
ko: 피지인

en: Fiji is the most populous of the small Oceanian island states. It consists of Viti Levu, Vanua Levu and hundreds of smaller islands. Settled by Polynesians, it became a British colony in the 19th century. Fiji has been independent from Britain since 1970. Since then the country's politics have been characterized by ethnic tensions between Indo-Fijians and indigenous Fijians.
ko: 피지는 오세아니아의 작은 섬나라들 가운데 인구가 가장 많습니다. 비티레부, 바누아레부와 수백 개의 작은 섬으로 이루어져 있습니다. 폴리네시아인이 정착한 뒤 19세기에 영국 식민지가 되었습니다. 피지는 1970년부터 영국에서 독립했습니다. 그 이후 이 나라의 정치는 인도계 피지인과 원주민 피지인 사이의 민족적 긴장으로 특징지어졌습니다.

en: Paramount Chief %s
ko: 최고 추장 %s

en: ?female:Paramount Chief %s
ko: 최고 여추장 %s

en: Filipino
ko: 필리핀인

en: ?plural:Filipinos
ko: 필리핀인

en: After centuries of Spanish rule, the Philippines were ceded to the Americans in 1898. They attained home rule in 1935 and independence in 1946.
ko: 수 세기 동안 스페인의 지배를 받은 뒤, 필리핀은 1898년에 미국에 양도되었습니다. 1935년에 자치를 얻었고 1946년에 독립했습니다.

en: Finnish
ko: 핀란드인

en: ?plural:Finns
ko: 핀란드인

en: Finland is a small, cold country on the northern fringe of Europe, noted for exporting timber, cellular phones, and world-class operating systems.
ko: 핀란드는 유럽 북쪽 가장자리에 있는 작고 추운 나라로, 목재, 휴대전화, 세계적 수준의 운영체제를 수출하는 것으로 알려져 있습니다.

en: ?female:Archbishop %s
ko: 여대주교 %s

en: Flemish
ko: 플랑드르인

en: ?plural:Flemings
ko: 플랑드르인

en: In the Middle Ages, Flanders was a county on the border of France and the Holy Roman Empire. In the 15th century, it came under Habsburg domination and subsequently it became one of the Seventeen Netherlands. Only after its conquest by Revolutionary France was the county legally dissolved. Nowadays the name is applied to the Dutch (or Flemish) speaking part of Belgium.
ko: 중세에 플랑드르는 프랑스와 신성 로마 제국의 경계에 있던 백국이었습니다. 15세기에 합스부르크의 지배 아래 들어갔고, 이후 네덜란드 17주 가운데 하나가 되었습니다. 이 백국은 혁명 프랑스에 정복된 뒤에야 법적으로 해체되었습니다. 오늘날 이 이름은 벨기에의 네덜란드어, 또는 플랑드르어 사용 지역에 적용됩니다.

en: Florentine
ko: 피렌체인

en: ?plural:Florentines
ko: 피렌체인

en: The Florentine Republic was founded upon the overthrow of the Margraviate of Tuscany in 1115. Despite its seemingly endemic political intrigues, it became the most magnificent city-state of its era. Florence was the cultural and philosophical leader of Italy and indeed Europe in Renaissance, bringing forth such luminaries as Dante, Savonarola, Michelangelo, Da Vinci and Machiavelli. The De' Medici family eventually managed to consolidate its hold on Florence, and in the 16th century the Republic was turned into the Grand Duchy of Tuscany. In 1859 it was annexed by Italy.
ko: 피렌체 공화국은 1115년 토스카나 변경백국이 무너진 뒤 세워졌습니다. 고질적인 정치 음모가 끊이지 않았음에도, 그 시대 가장 찬란한 도시국가가 되었습니다. 피렌체는 르네상스 시대 이탈리아와 유럽의 문화·철학적 선도자였으며, 단테, 사보나롤라, 미켈란젤로, 다빈치, 마키아벨리 같은 거장을 배출했습니다. 데 메디치 가문은 결국 피렌체 지배권을 굳히는 데 성공했고, 16세기에 공화국은 토스카나 대공국으로 바뀌었습니다. 1859년에 이탈리아에 병합되었습니다.

en: Condottiere %s
ko: 콘도티에레 %s

en: Condottiera %s
ko: 콘도티에라 %s

en: Fra %s
ko: 수사 %s

en: Captain %s
ko: 선장 %s

en: ?female:Captain %s
ko: 여선장 %s

en: Floridian
ko: 플로리다인

en: ?plural:Floridians
ko: 플로리다인

en: Florida is the third most populous state of the USA and is well known for its tourism. It was repeatedly colonized by Spain and Great Britain before the "Florida Patriots" proclaimed the Republic of East Florida in 1812. Despite being suppressed by Spain the first time, in 1817 adventurers establied the Republic of the Floridas on Amelia Island which was incorporated by the USA with the rest of modern Florida in 1822. It joined the Confederacy in 1861 but rejoined the USA in 1868 and has since been the site of the Apollo 11 Space Launch, which let humans land on the moon for the first time in history.
ko: 플로리다는 미국에서 세 번째로 인구가 많은 주이며 관광으로 잘 알려져 있습니다. “플로리다 애국자들”이 1812년에 동플로리다 공화국을 선포하기 전까지 스페인과 영국에 여러 차례 식민화되었습니다. 첫 시도는 스페인에 의해 진압되었지만, 1817년에 모험가들이 아멜리아섬에 플로리다 공화국을 세웠고, 이 지역은 1822년에 현대 플로리다의 나머지 지역과 함께 미국에 편입되었습니다. 1861년에 남부연합에 가입했으나 1868년에 미국에 다시 합류했으며, 이후 인류가 역사상 처음으로 달에 착륙하게 한 아폴로 11호 우주 발사의 장소가 되었습니다.

en: Formosan
ko: 포르모사인

en: ?plural:Formosans
ko: 포르모사인

en: Taiwan is home to fourteen officially recognized and twelve unrecognized tribes, all of whom are traditionally speakers of a group of Austronesian languages known as Formosan. Historical linguists consider the island to be the home of the Austronesian family, as it is host to the most diverse set of Austronesian languages. Many of the tribes are traditionally matrilineal. Starting in the 17th century, European and East Asian colonists vied for control of the island, encroaching on aboriginal lands. Today, Formosans constitute around 2% of the population of Taiwan.
ko: 타이완에는 공식적으로 인정된 14개 부족과 인정되지 않은 12개 부족이 살며, 이들은 전통적으로 포르모사어로 알려진 오스트로네시아어족 언어군을 사용합니다. 역사언어학자들은 이 섬이 가장 다양한 오스트로네시아어를 보유하고 있기 때문에 오스트로네시아어족의 고향으로 봅니다. 많은 부족은 전통적으로 모계 사회였습니다. 17세기부터 유럽과 동아시아 식민자들이 섬의 지배권을 두고 다투며 원주민 땅을 잠식했습니다. 오늘날 포르모사인은 타이완 인구의 약 2%를 차지합니다.

en: Franconian
ko: 프랑코니아인

en: ?plural:Franconians
ko: 프랑코니아인

en: Franconia was one of the stem duchies of the Holy Roman Empire. Founded in the 9th century, unlike the other stem duchies it didn't manage to consolidate itself and by the 12th century it had completely disappeared. Franconia continues to exist as a cultural region in the modern states of Bavaria, Thuringia and Baden-Wuerttemberg.
ko: 프랑코니아는 신성 로마 제국의 부족 공국 가운데 하나였습니다. 9세기에 세워졌지만, 다른 부족 공국들과 달리 스스로를 공고히 하지 못했고 12세기에는 완전히 사라졌습니다. 프랑코니아는 오늘날 바이에른, 튀링겐, 바덴뷔르템베르크 주의 문화 지역으로 계속 존재합니다.

en: Prince-Bishop %s
ko: 주교후 %s

en: Frankish
ko: 프랑크인

en: ?plural:Franks
ko: 프랑크인

en: The Franks were a Germanic confederation that formed in what is now Northwest Germany in the 3rd century CE. In the late 5th century their leader Clovis converted to Christianity, united the Frankish tribes and conquered much of Gaul. Clovis' successors expanded Frankish rule over much of Central Europe. The Frankish kingdom mixed Germanic and Roman elements and would lay the foundation for much of European Medieval culture, society and politics. After a period of stagnation the Frankish realm was reunited in the 8th century. In 800 the Frankish king Charlemagne was crowned emperor by the pope. Upon his death the Frankish Empire was divided once again. By the 10th century CE the Frankish empire had broken up for good into West Francia, which later became France, and East Francia, which later became the Holy Roman Empire or Germany.
ko: 프랑크인은 서기 3세기에 오늘날 독일 북서부에서 형성된 게르만계 연맹이었습니다. 5세기 말 그들의 지도자 클로비스는 기독교로 개종하고 프랑크 부족들을 통합했으며 갈리아의 많은 지역을 정복했습니다. 클로비스의 후계자들은 중앙유럽의 넓은 지역으로 프랑크 지배를 확대했습니다. 프랑크 왕국은 게르만 요소와 로마 요소를 결합했고, 유럽 중세 문화·사회·정치의 많은 부분에 토대를 놓았습니다. 침체기를 거친 뒤 8세기에 프랑크 영역은 다시 통합되었습니다. 800년에 프랑크 왕 샤를마뉴는 교황에게 황제로 대관되었습니다. 그가 죽은 뒤 프랑크 제국은 다시 분할되었습니다. 서기 10세기에는 프랑크 제국이 완전히 갈라져, 훗날 프랑스가 되는 서프랑크와 훗날 신성 로마 제국 또는 독일이 되는 동프랑크로 나뉘었습니다.

en: Mayor of the Palace %s
ko: 궁재 %s

en: ?female:Mayor of the Palace %s
ko: 여궁재 %s

en: Frisian
ko: 프리지아인

en: ?plural:Frisians
ko: 프리지아인

en: Romans already mentioned the Frisii but historians are unsure whether they were the ancestors of today's Frisians or not. In the early Middle Ages the Frisians controlled a kingdom stretching from the Scheldt to Jutland. Although eventually defeated by the Franks, they kept enjoying the famous Frisian freedom, refusing to recognize the rule of any feudal lord. In the 15th and 16th centuries Frisian territory was eventually carved up, the core becoming a province of the United Netherlands. In 1782 the Estates of Friesland was the first foreign government to recognize the independence of the United States of America.
ko: 로마인들은 이미 프리시이를 언급했지만, 역사가들은 그들이 오늘날 프리지아인의 조상이었는지 확신하지 못합니다. 중세 초기에 프리지아인은 스헬더강에서 유틀란트까지 뻗은 왕국을 지배했습니다. 결국 프랑크인에게 패배했지만, 이들은 어떤 봉건 영주의 지배도 인정하지 않는 유명한 프리지아의 자유를 계속 누렸습니다. 15~16세기에 프리지아 영토는 결국 분할되었고, 핵심 지역은 네덜란드 연합의 한 주가 되었습니다. 1782년 프리슬란트 의회는 미국의 독립을 인정한 최초의 외국 정부였습니다.

en: Friulian
ko: 프리울리인

en: ?plural:Friulian
ko: 프리울리인

en: Friuli is a region in north-eastern Italy. A duchy of the Lombards and then a march of the Franks, it was ruled by the Patriarchs of Aquileia from the 11th century onward. In the 15th century Friuli was divided between Venice and Austria. The Friulian language is closely related to the Romansh language spoken in Switzerland.
ko: 프리울리는 이탈리아 북동부의 지역입니다. 롬바르드인의 공국이자 이후 프랑크인의 변경주였으며, 11세기부터 아퀼레이아 총대주교들이 다스렸습니다. 15세기에 프리울리는 베네치아와 오스트리아 사이에 나뉘었습니다. 프리울리어는 스위스에서 쓰이는 로만슈어와 밀접한 관련이 있습니다.

en: Fulani
ko: 풀라니인

en: ?plural:Fulani
ko: 풀라니인

en: The Fulani or Fulbe are an ethnic group in West Africa. Originally pastoralists, in the 18th and 19th centuries they led the Fulani Jihads, founding a number of states across the region. The biggest Fulani state was the Sokoto Caliphate, founded by Usuman dan Fodio during the Fulani Jihad of 1809. It was one of the most powerful empires in Sub-Saharan Africa prior to the European conquest and colonization. The caliphate remained extant through the colonial period and afterwards, though with reduced power.
ko: 풀라니 또는 풀베는 서아프리카의 민족 집단입니다. 원래 목축민이었던 이들은 18~19세기에 풀라니 지하드를 이끌어 이 지역 곳곳에 여러 국가를 세웠습니다. 가장 큰 풀라니 국가는 1809년 풀라니 지하드 동안 우스만 단 포디오가 세운 소코토 칼리프국이었습니다. 이 나라는 유럽의 정복과 식민화 이전 사하라 이남 아프리카에서 가장 강력한 제국 중 하나였습니다. 칼리프국은 세력이 약해지긴 했지만 식민지 시대와 그 이후에도 존속했습니다.

en: Gabonese
ko: 가봉인

en: ?plural:Gabonese
ko: 가봉인

en: Gabon is a country on the Atlantic coast of Central Africa. Gabon, then inhabited by Bantu peoples, became a French protectorate in the 19th century. It has been an independent republic since 1960. It is considered one of the most developed countries of Sub-Saharan Africa, in part because of its position as a major oil exporter.
ko: 가봉은 중앙아프리카의 대서양 연안에 있는 나라입니다. 당시 반투계 사람들이 살던 가봉은 19세기에 프랑스 보호령이 되었습니다. 1960년부터 독립 공화국입니다. 주요 석유 수출국이라는 위치 덕분에 사하라 이남 아프리카에서 가장 발전한 나라 중 하나로 여겨집니다.

en: Gaelic
ko: 게일인

en: ?plural:Gaels
ko: 게일인

en: The Gaels were Celtic people, they may have originated in Spain but were first reported in Ireland. During the Migration Period the Gaels also moved to Scotland. They are the ancestors of the modern Irish, Scots and Manx. Today, Gaelic speaking areas remain in Ireland, Scotland, the Isle of Man and the Canadian province of Nova Scotia.
ko: 게일인은 켈트계 민족으로, 스페인에서 기원했을 가능성이 있지만 처음 기록된 곳은 아일랜드입니다. 민족 대이동기 동안 게일인은 스코틀랜드로도 이동했습니다. 이들은 현대 아일랜드인, 스코틀랜드인, 맨섬인의 조상입니다. 오늘날에도 아일랜드, 스코틀랜드, 맨섬, 캐나다 노바스코샤주에 게일어 사용 지역이 남아 있습니다.

note: TRANS: Taoiseach = Prime Minister
en: Taoiseach %s
ko: 티셔흐 %s

en: ?female:Taoiseach %s
ko: 여티셔흐 %s

en: Galician
ko: 갈리시아인

en: ?plural:Galicians
ko: 갈리시아인

en: Galicia is a region in the northwest of Spain, just above Portugal.
ko: 갈리시아는 스페인 북서부, 포르투갈 바로 위에 있는 지역입니다.

en: Gallic
ko: 골인

en: ?plural:Gauls
ko: 골인

en: The Gauls were a Celtic people occupying what is now France and Belgium. They lived in chiefdom-level societies that grew increasingly centralized and stratified under the influence of the Greek and Roman merchants and soldiers who came to Gaul. Julius Caesar launched his eight year invasion of Gaul in 59 BCE. He claimed to have killed one million people and enslaved another million out of an original population of three million. The Gauls united and rallied under Vercingetorix, who defeated Caesar at the battle of Gergovia, but was later crushed by him at the battle of Alesia.
ko: 갈리아인은 오늘날 프랑스와 벨기에에 해당하는 지역을 차지한 켈트계 민족이었습니다. 이들은 추장 사회 수준의 공동체에서 살았고, 갈리아에 온 그리스와 로마 상인·병사들의 영향 아래 점차 중앙집권화되고 계층화되었습니다. 율리우스 카이사르는 기원전 59년에 8년에 걸친 갈리아 침공을 시작했습니다. 그는 원래 300만 명이던 인구 중 100만 명을 죽이고 또 다른 100만 명을 노예로 삼았다고 주장했습니다. 갈리아인은 베르킨게토릭스 아래 결집해 게르고비아 전투에서 카이사르를 물리쳤지만, 이후 알레시아 전투에서 그에게 완패했습니다.

en: Gambian
ko: 감비아인

en: ?plural:Gambians
ko: 감비아인

en: The Gambia is a small country in West Africa, straddling both banks of the Gambia river. It achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1965.
ko: 감비아는 서아프리카의 작은 나라로, 감비아강 양쪽 강변에 걸쳐 있습니다. 1965년에 영국으로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Mansa %s
ko: 만사 %s

en: ?female:Mansa %s
ko: 여만사 %s

en: Genoese
ko: 제노바인

en: ?plural:Genoese
ko: 제노바인

en: The Most Serene Republic of Genoa (Italian: Repubblica di Genova) was an independent state in Liguria on the northwestern Italian coast from the 11th century to 1797, when it was invaded by armies of Revolutionary France under Napoleon. It was then succeeded by the Ligurian Republic, which existed until 1805 before being annexed by the French Empire. Although its restoration was briefly proclaimed in 1814, following the defeat of Napoleon, this was short-lived, and the Republic was ultimately annexed by the Kingdom of Sardinia.
ko: 가장 고귀한 제노바 공화국(이탈리아어: Repubblica di Genova)은 11세기부터 1797년 나폴레옹 휘하 혁명 프랑스군의 침공을 받을 때까지 이탈리아 북서부 해안 리구리아에 있던 독립 국가였습니다. 이후 리구리아 공화국이 뒤를 이었고, 이 국가는 1805년 프랑스 제국에 병합될 때까지 존재했습니다. 나폴레옹 패배 뒤인 1814년에 복원이 잠시 선포되었지만 오래가지 못했고, 결국 공화국은 사르데냐 왕국에 병합되었습니다.

en: Doge %s
ko: 도제 %s

en: Dogaressa %s
ko: 도가레사 %s

en: Georgian
ko: 그루지아인

en: ?plural:Georgians
ko: 그루지아인

en: The Georgians were one of the first peoples in history to adopt Christianity, in the 300s CE.
ko: 조지아인은 서기 300년대에 기독교를 받아들인 역사상 가장 이른 민족들 가운데 하나였습니다.

en: Gepid
ko: 게피드인

en: ?plural:Gepids
ko: 게피드인

en: The Gepids were a group of ancient East Germanic tribes, closely related to the Goths. Their original settlement was located on the Scandinavian Peninsula. By the time of the wake of the Goths from Scandinavia they had relocated to the southern coast of the Baltic. According to Jordanes, they inhabited a land called Specis, near the mouth of the Vistula, probably located on the Elblag Uplands. After the migration of the Goths on the Black Sea, the Gepids extended their possessions in Pomerania. In the 3rd century CE they moved to Dacia. From the 4th to the mid 5th century they were under the authority of the Huns. After the death of Attila the Gepids moved to Pannonia, where they defeated the Huns in the Battle of the River Nedao and won a place to live east of the River Tisza. In Pannonia they fought constantly against the Longobards west of the Danube. In 567 the Longobards allied themselves with the nomadic Avars against the Gepids and defeated them, breaking up their country. Gepids formed part of the Avar Khaganate, founded on former Gepid territory.
ko: 게피드인은 고트인과 밀접한 관련이 있는 고대 동게르만 부족 집단이었습니다. 그들의 원래 정착지는 스칸디나비아반도에 있었습니다. 고트인이 스칸디나비아에서 떠나던 무렵 이들은 발트해 남쪽 해안으로 이동했습니다. 요르다네스에 따르면, 이들은 비스와강 하구 근처의 스페키스라는 땅에 살았으며, 그곳은 아마 엘블롱 고지대였을 것입니다. 고트인이 흑해 쪽으로 이동한 뒤 게피드인은 포메라니아로 영토를 넓혔습니다. 서기 3세기에 이들은 다키아로 이동했습니다. 4세기부터 5세기 중반까지는 훈족의 지배 아래 있었습니다. 아틸라가 죽은 뒤 게피드인은 판노니아로 이동했고, 네다오강 전투에서 훈족을 물리쳐 티서강 동쪽에 살 곳을 얻었습니다. 판노니아에서 이들은 도나우강 서쪽의 롬바르드인과 끊임없이 싸웠습니다. 567년 롬바르드인은 유목민 아바르인과 동맹을 맺고 게피드인을 공격해 물리쳤고, 그들의 나라를 해체했습니다. 게피드인은 옛 게피드 영토에 세워진 아바르 카간국의 일부가 되었습니다.

en: Presbyter %s
ko: 장로 %s

en: ?female:Presbyter %s
ko: 여장로 %s

en: Great Warrior %s
ko: 대전사 %s

en: ?female:Great Warrior %s
ko: 여대전사 %s

en: German Belgian
ko: 독일계 벨기에인

en: ?plural:German Belgians
ko: 독일계 벨기에인

en: The German-speaking Community is one of the three federal communities of Belgium, part of the Walloon Region in the extreme east of the country. The area was annexed by Belgium after the First World War to compensate the country for the German occupation during that war. With about 75,000 inhabitants the German-speaking Community comprises less than one percent of Belgium's population. Long neglected, the German-speaking Belgians now enjoy the same rights as their Flemish and French-speaking compatriots. As a result, they are often dubbed 'the best protected minority of Europe' and 'the last true Belgians'.
ko: 독일어 공동체는 벨기에의 세 연방 공동체 가운데 하나로, 나라의 극동부 왈롱 지역에 속합니다. 이 지역은 제1차 세계 대전 중 독일 점령에 대한 보상으로 전쟁 뒤 벨기에에 병합되었습니다. 약 7만 5천 명이 사는 독일어 공동체는 벨기에 인구의 1퍼센트도 되지 않습니다. 오랫동안 소외되었던 독일어권 벨기에인은 이제 플랑드르인과 프랑스어권 동포들과 같은 권리를 누립니다. 그 결과 이들은 흔히 ‘유럽에서 가장 잘 보호받는 소수민족’이자 ‘마지막 진정한 벨기에인’으로 불립니다.

en: Germanic
ko: 게르만인

en: ?plural:Germanics
ko: 게르만인

en: The Germanic peoples are an ethno-linguistic complex in Northern and Northwestern Europe. The Germanic languages descended from a hypothetical Proto-Germanic language within the Indo-European language family. The first origins of the Ancient Germanic peoples are rather hypothetical; the Germanic languages contain numerous features that are nonexistent in other Indo-European languages. First attested on the North German Plain and in Southern Scandinavia, they clashed with the Romans from the second century BCE onward. Eventually, by the Early Middle Ages, Germanic kingdoms were established on what was once the Western Roman Empire. By this time most Germanic peoples had changed their ancestral polytheistic religion for Christianity.
ko: 게르만인은 북유럽과 북서유럽의 민족·언어 복합체입니다. 게르만어파는 인도유럽어족 안의 가설적 원시 게르만어에서 갈라져 나왔습니다. 고대 게르만인의 최초 기원은 상당히 가설적이며, 게르만어에는 다른 인도유럽어에는 없는 여러 특징이 들어 있습니다. 북독일 평원과 남스칸디나비아에서 처음 확인된 이들은 기원전 2세기부터 로마인과 충돌했습니다. 결국 중세 초기에 옛 서로마 제국 영토 위에 게르만 왕국들이 세워졌습니다. 이 무렵 대부분의 게르만인은 조상 대대로의 다신교를 기독교로 바꾸었습니다.

en: Ghanaian
ko: 가나인

en: ?plural:Ghanaian
ko: 가나인

en: Ghana takes its name from the old Ghana Empire. Known as the Gold Coast by the Europeans, the Portuguese, Dutch and Swedes founded outposts but in the 19th century Ghana became a British colony. In 1957 Kwame Nkrumah proclaimed Ghana's independence.
ko: 가나는 옛 가나 제국에서 이름을 따왔습니다. 유럽인들에게 골드코스트로 알려진 이곳에는 포르투갈인, 네덜란드인, 스웨덴인이 전초기지를 세웠지만, 19세기에 가나는 영국 식민지가 되었습니다. 1957년 콰메 은크루마가 가나의 독립을 선포했습니다.

en: Ghana
ko: 가나인

en: ?plural:Ghana
ko: 가나인

en: The Ghana or Wagadou Empire existed in West Africa from the 9th to the 13th centuries CE. It takes its name from the king, whose title 'ghana' means 'great warrior'. The Ghana Empire grew rich thanks to the trans-Saharan trade and the goldmines in its territory. The modern Republic of Ghana takes its name from the Ghana Empire, even though the empire was located in what is now Mali and Mauretania.
ko: 가나, 또는 와가두 제국은 서기 9세기부터 13세기까지 서아프리카에 존재했습니다. 이름은 왕의 칭호에서 왔으며, ‘가나’라는 칭호는 ‘위대한 전사’를 뜻합니다. 가나 제국은 사하라 횡단 무역과 영토 안의 금광 덕분에 부유해졌습니다. 현대의 가나 공화국은 이 제국이 오늘날 말리와 모리타니에 있었음에도 가나 제국에서 이름을 따왔습니다.

en: Ghana %s
ko: 가나 %s

en: ?female:Ghana %s
ko: 여가나 %s

en: Ghaznavid
ko: 가즈나 왕조인

en: ?plural:Ghaznavids
ko: 가즈나 왕조인

en: The Ghaznavids were a Sunni Muslim dynasty of Turkish origin, reigning from 977 to 1186 CE in Afghanistan and Northern India, and at the peak of their power also in eastern Iran and Central Asia.
ko: 가즈나 왕조는 튀르크계 출신의 수니파 무슬림 왕조로, 서기 977년부터 1186년까지 아프가니스탄과 북인도를 다스렸고, 전성기에는 이란 동부와 중앙아시아도 지배했습니다.

en: Göktürk
ko: 괵튀르크

en: ?plural:Göktürks
ko: 괵튀르크인

en: The Göktürk or Old Turkic Khaganate was ruled by the Ashina dynasty which derived its legendary origins from the red she-wolf. The Göktürks were ancestors of the modern Turkic nations in Asia and Eastern Europe. They were the creators of a vast military empire, which covered the steppe areas from the Kuban river in the West to Korea in the East.
ko: 괵튀르크, 또는 고대 튀르크 카간국은 붉은 암늑대에서 전설적 기원을 찾는 아시나 왕조가 다스렸습니다. 괵튀르크인은 아시아와 동유럽의 현대 튀르크 민족들의 조상이었습니다. 이들은 서쪽의 쿠반강에서 동쪽의 한국에 이르는 초원 지대를 포괄한 거대한 군사 제국을 세웠습니다.

en: Golden Horde
ko: 킵차크 칸국인

en: ?plural:Golden Horde
ko: 킵차크 칸국인

en: The Golden Horde was a historical Mongol and Tatar state, founded around 1240 in the western part of the empire of Genghis Khan by his grandson Batu Khan, with its capital at Sarai Batu. After the conquests its greatest extent covered the territories from the Irtysh to the mountains of the Caucasus, Black Sea and the Volga and Kama basins. In 1375 the whole country was conquered by Tamerlane and became vassalized. From the 14th century the country gradually descended into instability, which at the beginning of the 15th century led to the complete disintegration of the state.
ko: 킵차크 칸국은 역사상의 몽골·타타르 국가로, 칭기즈 칸의 손자 바투 칸이 1240년 무렵 칭기즈 칸 제국의 서부에 세웠으며 수도는 사라이바투였습니다. 정복 이후 최대 영역은 이르티시강에서 카프카스 산맥, 흑해, 볼가강과 카마강 유역까지 뻗었습니다. 1375년에 온 나라가 티무르에게 정복되어 봉신화되었습니다. 14세기부터 이 나라는 점차 불안정해졌고, 15세기 초에는 국가가 완전히 분열되는 결과로 이어졌습니다.

en: Gothic
ko: 고트인

en: ?plural:Goths
ko: 고트인

en: The Goths were an East Germanic people who originated in what is now Poland or possibly in Scandinavia. They dominated Southeastern Europe in the fourth century CE. The Goths played a major role in the fall of the Roman Empire, sacking Rome itself in 410 CE. The Visigoths conquered Roman Iberia while the Ostrogoths founded a kingdom in Italy.
ko: 고트인은 오늘날 폴란드, 또는 어쩌면 스칸디나비아에서 기원한 동게르만 민족이었습니다. 이들은 서기 4세기에 동남유럽을 지배했습니다. 고트인은 로마 제국의 몰락에 큰 역할을 했으며, 서기 410년에는 로마 자체를 약탈했습니다. 서고트인은 로마령 이베리아를 정복했고, 동고트인은 이탈리아에 왕국을 세웠습니다.

en: Greater Polish
ko: 대폴란드인

en: ?plural:Greater Poles
ko: 대폴란드인

en: Greater Poland or Wielkopolska is a historic and geographic region of central-western Poland.
ko: 대폴란드, 또는 비엘코폴스카는 폴란드 중서부의 역사적·지리적 지역입니다.

en: Greenlander
ko: 그린란드인

en: ?plural:Greenlanders
ko: 그린란드인

en: Legend says that the Great Shaman Qitdlarssuaq led the Inuit people to Thule (Qaanaaq) on the west coast of Greenland in the 10th century. Around the same time, Scandinavian settlers arrived at the fjords on the southwestern tip of the island. Today, Greenland is a self-governing country within the Kingdom of Denmark with mixed Inuit and Scandinavian population.
ko: 전설에 따르면 위대한 샤먼 키틀라르수아크가 10세기에 이누이트 사람들을 그린란드 서해안의 툴레(카나크)로 이끌었습니다. 거의 같은 시기에 스칸디나비아 정착민들이 섬 남서쪽 끝의 피오르드에 도착했습니다. 오늘날 그린란드는 이누이트와 스칸디나비아계 인구가 섞여 사는 덴마크 왕국 내 자치국입니다.

en: Grenadian
ko: 그레나다인

en: ?plural:Grenadians
ko: 그레나다인

en: Grenada is an island nation in the Caribbean. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1974. The main island was known as Camahogne by the indigenous Caribs.
ko: 그레나다는 카리브해의 섬나라입니다. 1974년에 영국으로부터 독립했습니다. 본섬은 원주민 카리브인들에게 카마호그네로 알려져 있었습니다.

en: Guanche
ko: 관체인

en: ?plural:Guanches
ko: 관체인

en: The Guanches were the original inhabitants of the Canary Islands. Little is known of their origins, but it appears that they were related to the Berbers. In the 15th century they were subjugated by Castile.
ko: 관체인은 카나리아 제도의 원주민이었습니다. 그들의 기원은 거의 알려져 있지 않지만 베르베르인과 관련이 있었던 것으로 보입니다. 15세기에 이들은 카스티야에 복속되었습니다.

en: Guarani
ko: 과라니인

en: ?plural:Guarani
ko: 과라니인

en: Numbering perhaps as many as 400,000 people at the time of European contact, the Aba (more popularly known as Guarani) lived primarily in what is now Paraguay in agricultural villages. Today their Guarani language is spoken by over 4 million people and is an official language of the nation of Paraguay.
ko: 유럽인과 접촉할 당시 최대 40만 명에 이르렀을 수도 있는 아바, 더 널리 알려진 이름으로 과라니인은 오늘날 파라과이에 해당하는 지역의 농경 마을에 주로 살았습니다. 오늘날 과라니어는 400만 명 이상이 사용하며 파라과이의 공용어입니다.

en: Guatemalan
ko: 과테말라인

en: ?plural:Guatemalans
ko: 과테말라인

en: The ancient heartland of the Mayas, Guatemala was conquered by the Spanish in the 16th century. It became independent in 1821 but was part of the United States of Central America until 1840. It has endured political turmoil for much of its history. Guatemala lived through one of the most brutal civil wars of the 20th century until a peace agreement was signed in 1996.
ko: 마야의 고대 중심지였던 과테말라는 16세기에 스페인에 정복되었습니다. 1821년에 독립했지만 1840년까지 중앙아메리카 연방의 일부였습니다. 과테말라는 역사 대부분 동안 정치적 혼란을 겪었습니다. 1996년에 평화 협정이 체결될 때까지 20세기에서 가장 잔혹한 내전 중 하나를 겪었습니다.

en: Guinean
ko: 기니인

en: ?plural:Guinean
ko: 기니인

en: Guinea declared independence from France in 1958. Its first president Ahmed Sékou Touré continued to rule the country until his death in 1984. Guinea is not to be confused with neighboring Guinea-Bissau.
ko: 기니는 1958년에 프랑스로부터 독립을 선언했습니다. 초대 대통령 아메드 세쿠 투레는 1984년 사망할 때까지 계속 나라를 통치했습니다. 기니는 이웃한 기니비사우와 혼동해서는 안 됩니다.

en: Gupta
ko: 굽타인

en: ?plural:Gupta
ko: 굽타인

en: The Gupta Empire was one of the great classical empires. It ruled northern India from around 240 to 550 CE.
ko: 굽타 제국은 위대한 고전 제국 가운데 하나였습니다. 서기 240년 무렵부터 550년까지 북인도를 다스렸습니다.

en: Guyanese
ko: 가이아나인

en: ?plural:Guyanese
ko: 가이아나인

en: Originally inhabited by the Arawk, Guyana was colonized by the Dutch but became a British colony after the Napoleonic Wars. It gained independence in 1966. Under Forbes Burnham Guyana became a Marxist oriented country, but in the 1980s it started its transition to a market democracy.
ko: 원래 아라와크인이 살던 가이아나는 네덜란드의 식민지가 되었으나, 나폴레옹 전쟁 뒤 영국 식민지가 되었습니다. 1966년에 독립했습니다. 포브스 번햄 치하에서 가이아나는 마르크스주의 성향의 나라가 되었지만, 1980년대에 시장 민주주의로 전환하기 시작했습니다.

en: Executive President %s
ko: 집행 대통령 %s

en: ?female:Executive President %s
ko: 여집행 대통령 %s

en: Hacker
ko: 해커

en: ?plural:Hackers
ko: 해커

en: ?title:Hacker %s
ko: 해커 %s

en: ?female:Hacker %s
ko: 여해커 %s

en: ?title:1337 %s
ko: 1337 %s

en: ?female:1337 %s
ko: 여1337 %s

en: Haitian
ko: 아이티인

en: ?plural:Haitians
ko: 아이티인

en: A slave rebellion led Haiti to independence in 1804. It was the first independent black republic and the second independent country in the Americas.
ko: 노예 반란은 1804년에 아이티를 독립으로 이끌었습니다. 아이티는 최초의 독립 흑인 공화국이자 아메리카에서 두 번째로 독립한 나라였습니다.

en: President-for-Life %s
ko: 종신 대통령 %s

en: ?female:President-for-Life %s
ko: 여종신 대통령 %s

en: Hanoverian
ko: 하노버인

en: ?plural:Hanoverians
ko: 하노버인

en: Hanover was a state in Northern Germany, in current Lower Saxony. From 1714 to 1837 Hanover and the United Kingdom were united in a personal union. In 1866 it was gobbled up by Prussia.
ko: 하노버는 오늘날 니더작센에 해당하는 북독일의 국가였습니다. 1714년부터 1837년까지 하노버와 영국은 동군연합을 이루었습니다. 1866년에 프로이센에 병합되었습니다.

en: Princess-Bishop %s
ko: 여주교후 %s

en: Han
ko: 한족

en: ?plural:Han
ko: 한족

en: The Han people are the majority ethnic group in China, tracing their lineage back to "Yandi" (the Yan Emperor) and "Huangdi" (the Yellow Emperor), legendary god-kings of prehistory.
ko: 한족은 중국의 다수 민족으로, 선사 시대의 전설적 신왕인 “염제”와 “황제”까지 그 혈통을 거슬러 올라갑니다.

en: Empress Dowager %s
ko: 황태후 %s

en: Hanseatic
ko: 한자 동맹

en: ?plural:Hanseatic League
ko: 한자 동맹

en: The Hanseatic League was a powerful alliance of trading cities which existed from the 12th to the 19th century. Hanseatic cities were found in the North Sea and Baltic regions. Members of the league had their own law system and occasionally the Hansa went to war with rival powers.
ko: 한자 동맹은 12세기부터 19세기까지 존재한 강력한 무역 도시 동맹이었습니다. 한자 도시는 북해와 발트해 지역에서 찾아볼 수 있었습니다. 동맹의 구성원들은 자체 법 체계를 갖추었고, 한자는 때때로 경쟁 세력과 전쟁을 벌였습니다.

en: Hasinay
ko: 하시나이인

en: ?plural:Hasinay
ko: 하시나이인

en: A Caddoan political league from East Texas, the Hasinay Confederacy consisted of a group of agricultural villages. Though they were involved in trade networks connecting them with people as far west as the Puebloan polities of the American Southwest, their cultural ties were more strongly in line with the other mound-building cultures of the Southeast. The word Texas is derived from Caddoan word for "Friend."
ko: 동텍사스의 카도어계 정치 연맹인 하시나이 연맹은 여러 농경 마을로 이루어져 있었습니다. 이들은 미국 남서부의 푸에블로계 정치체들처럼 서쪽 먼 지역 사람들과도 연결되는 교역망에 참여했지만, 문화적 유대는 남동부의 다른 봉분 건설 문화들과 더 강하게 맞닿아 있었습니다. 텍사스라는 말은 “친구”를 뜻하는 카도어 단어에서 유래했습니다.

en: Hawaiian
ko: 하와이인

en: ?plural:Hawaiians
ko: 하와이인

en: The Kingdom of Hawaii was established in 1810 by King Kamehameha the Great. Abolished in 1893, and subsequently annexed to the United States, the former kingdom became the 50th state of the United States on August 21, 1959.
ko: 하와이 왕국은 1810년에 카메하메하 대왕이 세웠습니다. 1893년에 폐지되고 이후 미국에 병합된 옛 왕국은 1959년 8월 21일 미국의 50번째 주가 되었습니다.

en: Hellenic
ko: 그리스인

en: ?plural:Hellenes
ko: 그리스인

en: The Hellenic Republic - also known as Greece - was created when the Hellenic people gained independence from the Ottoman Empire in 1832.
ko: 헬레닉 공화국, 즉 그리스는 헬레네인이 1832년에 오스만 제국으로부터 독립하면서 세워졌습니다.

en: Helvetian
ko: 헬베티아인

en: ?plural:Helvetians
ko: 헬베티아인

en: The Helvetians (Latin: Helvetii) were an Ancient Celtic people, inhabiting what is now Switzerland and adjacent parts of France and Germany. Helvetians sometimes helped in the internal conflicts of Rome, for example, on the side of Cicero. They were a big, expansive tribe, striving for domination over the tribes of Gaul. The campaigns of the Helvetian chieftain Orgetorix were used by Caesar as a pretext to conquer Helvetia and the rest of Gaul. The Helvetians succumbed to the Romans and became Romanized during the following centuries.
ko: 헬베티아인(라틴어: Helvetii)은 오늘날 스위스와 인접한 프랑스·독일 일부에 살던 고대 켈트계 민족이었습니다. 헬베티아인은 때때로 키케로 편에 서는 등 로마 내부 분쟁에 관여했습니다. 이들은 갈리아 부족들에 대한 지배를 추구한 크고 팽창적인 부족이었습니다. 헬베티아 추장 오르게토릭스의 원정은 카이사르가 헬베티아와 나머지 갈리아를 정복하는 구실로 이용되었습니다. 헬베티아인은 로마에 굴복했고, 이후 몇 세기 동안 로마화되었습니다.

en: Hephthalite
ko: 에프탈인

en: ?plural:Hephthalites
ko: 에프탈인

en: The Hephthalites were a Central Asian nomadic confederation of the 5th and 6th centuries CE. Their precise origins and composition remain obscure. They may have been of mixed Iranic, Tocharian and Turkic origin, but their main language is unknown. Although they were also known as the White Huns, a connection with the Huns is considered unlikely. The Hephthalites were crushed by the Göktürks and Sassanids in the 6th century, but on the Indian subcontinent some Hephthalite successor kingdoms survived until the late 7th century.
ko: 에프탈인은 서기 5~6세기의 중앙아시아 유목 연맹이었습니다. 정확한 기원과 구성은 여전히 불분명합니다. 이란계, 토하라인, 튀르크계가 섞였을 가능성이 있지만 주요 언어는 알려져 있지 않습니다. 백훈으로도 알려졌지만 훈족과의 관련성은 낮은 것으로 여겨집니다. 에프탈인은 6세기에 괵튀르크와 사산 왕조에게 격파되었지만, 인도 아대륙에서는 일부 에프탈 계승 왕국들이 7세기 말까지 살아남았습니다.

en: Hessian
ko: 헤센인

en: ?plural:Hessians
ko: 헤센인

en: Hesse became a landgraviate of the Holy Roman Empire in the 13th century. In the 16th century it splintered into a number of smaller territories. Many Hessians fought in the American Revolution as mercenaries on both sides. Currently Hesse is one of the states of the Federal Republic of Germany.
ko: 헤센은 13세기에 신성 로마 제국의 방백령이 되었습니다. 16세기에 여러 작은 영토로 분열되었습니다. 많은 헤센인은 미국 독립 전쟁에서 양측의 용병으로 싸웠습니다. 현재 헤센은 독일 연방 공화국의 한 주입니다.

en: Landgrave %s
ko: 방백 %s

en: Landgravine %s
ko: 여방백 %s

en: Himyarite
ko: 힘야르인

en: ?plural:Himyar
ko: 힘야르인

en: The Himyar were originally a mountain tribe in what is now Yemen that conquered the other South Arabian kingdoms, including Sabaea in 115 BCE, which were rich from the incense trade. The Himyar were castle-builders, finding it necessary to erect citadels to protect against Bedouin raids. The Axumite kingdom from Ethiopia ruled Sabaea from 340 to 378 CE, but the area was reconquered by Himyar forces in 525. The fall of the nation was a slow process involving the Christian states of Axum and the Byzantine Empire on one side, the Mandean Sassanid Empire of Persia on the other, and various South Arabian factions split between. The country switched from Axumite rule to Sassanid in 575 and in 628, the fifth Sassanid satrap of "al-Yaman" converted to Islam and Southern Arabia was incorporated into the new, expanding Muslim empire.
ko: 힘야르는 원래 오늘날 예멘에 있던 산악 부족으로, 향료 무역으로 부유했던 사바 왕국을 포함한 다른 남아라비아 왕국들을 기원전 115년에 정복했습니다. 힘야르인은 성채 건설자로, 베두인의 습격을 막기 위해 요새를 세울 필요가 있다고 보았습니다. 에티오피아의 악숨 왕국은 서기 340년부터 378년까지 사바를 다스렸지만, 이 지역은 525년에 힘야르 세력에게 재정복되었습니다. 이 나라의 몰락은 한쪽의 기독교 국가 악숨과 비잔틴 제국, 다른 한쪽의 페르시아 만다계 사산 제국, 그리고 그 사이에서 갈라진 여러 남아라비아 세력이 얽힌 느린 과정이었습니다. 575년에 이 나라는 악숨 지배에서 사산 지배로 넘어갔고, 628년에 “알야만”의 다섯 번째 사산 총독이 이슬람으로 개종하면서 남아라비아는 새로 팽창하던 무슬림 제국에 편입되었습니다.

en: Holy Roman
ko: 신성 로마인

en: ?plural:Holy Romans
ko: 신성 로마인

en: The Holy Roman Empire was considered the successor to the Roman Empire, but as Voltaire once quipped it was neither Holy, nor Roman nor even less an Empire. Nonetheless it proved to be extremely durable, and lost territory only very slowly. For most of its existence it was a complex patchwork consisting of an uncountable number of counties, duchies, electorates, imperial free cities and other territories. In 1806 it was dissolved by Napoleon and replaced by the Confederation of the Rhine.
ko: 신성 로마 제국은 로마 제국의 계승자로 여겨졌지만, 볼테르가 언젠가 비꼬았듯이 신성하지도, 로마적이지도, 더구나 제국도 아니었습니다. 그럼에도 이 제국은 매우 오래 지속되었고 영토도 아주 천천히 잃었습니다. 존재 기간 대부분 동안 수없이 많은 백국, 공국, 선제후령, 제국 자유 도시와 기타 영토로 이루어진 복잡한 모자이크였습니다. 1806년에 나폴레옹에 의해 해체되고 라인 동맹으로 대체되었습니다.

en: Papal
ko: 교황령

en: ?plural:Papal States
ko: 교황령

en: The Papal States were the territories on the Italian Peninsula and elsewhere under the direct sovereign rule by the Roman Catholic popes. Established in the 8th century CE from territory donated to the Church by the pious and the wealthy, the Papal States grew to become the dominant power in Italy for centuries.
ko: 교황령은 로마 가톨릭 교황의 직접 주권 아래 있던 이탈리아반도와 그 밖의 영토였습니다. 서기 8세기에 경건하고 부유한 사람들이 교회에 기증한 영토에서 세워진 교황령은 수 세기 동안 이탈리아의 지배적 세력으로 성장했습니다.

en: Antipope %s
ko: 대립교황 %s

en: Antipopess %s
ko: 여대립교황 %s

en: Grand Master %s
ko: 그랜드 마스터 %s

en: Grand Mistress %s
ko: 그랜드 미스트리스 %s

en: Honduran
ko: 온두라스인

en: ?plural:Hondurans
ko: 온두라스인

en: Honduras has been an independent republic since the dissolution of the Central American Federation in 1840. The archetypical 'banana republic', periods of dictatorship and of more or less democratic rule have followed each other. Its current constitution was adopted in 1982.
ko: 온두라스는 1840년 중앙아메리카 연방이 해체된 이후 독립 공화국이었습니다. 전형적인 ‘바나나 공화국’으로, 독재 시기와 어느 정도 민주적인 통치 시기가 번갈아 이어졌습니다. 현재 헌법은 1982년에 채택되었습니다.

en: Hopi
ko: 호피인

en: ?plural:Hopis
ko: 호피인

en: A matrilineal culture in North America, who claim descent from the Hisatsinom. The Hopi live today on the Hopi Reservation in northeastern Arizona.
ko: 북아메리카의 모계 문화로, 히사치놈의 후손이라고 주장합니다. 오늘날 호피인은 애리조나 북동부의 호피 보호구역에 살고 있습니다.

en: Hungarian
ko: 헝가리인

en: ?plural:Hungarians
ko: 헝가리인

en: Legend says that Hungary was founded by Arpad in the 9th century.
ko: 전설에 따르면 헝가리는 9세기에 아르파드가 세웠습니다.

en: Iberian
ko: 이베리아인

en: ?plural:Iberians
ko: 이베리아인

en: The Iberians were non-Indo-European inhabitants of the ancient Iberian Peninsula. Very little is known about their history. They were subjugated by Rome in the last centuries BCE.
ko: 이베리아인은 고대 이베리아반도에 살던 비인도유럽계 주민이었습니다. 이들의 역사에 대해서는 알려진 것이 매우 적습니다. 기원전 마지막 몇 세기 동안 로마에 복속되었습니다.

en: Icelandic
ko: 아이슬란드인

en: ?plural:Icelanders
ko: 아이슬란드인

en: Iceland was long one of the largest uninhabited islands in the world, until it was settled by Norwegian Vikings in the late 9th century. The island was kept initially under the Norwegian and later the Danish crown until independence from Denmark in 1944.
ko: 아이슬란드는 9세기 말 노르웨이 바이킹이 정착하기 전까지 오랫동안 세계에서 가장 큰 무인도 중 하나였습니다. 이 섬은 처음에는 노르웨이 왕관 아래, 나중에는 덴마크 왕관 아래 있다가 1944년에 덴마크로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Illyrian
ko: 일리리아인

en: ?plural:Illyrians
ko: 일리리아인

en: Illyrians were Indo-European tribes who appeared in the western part of the Balkan Peninsula before 1000 BCE, including Corcyra island and Ambracia bay in prehistoric Epirus to the south. They mixed with Thracians in Dardania to the east, and settled Messapia across the Adriatic Sea. Illyrian kingdoms were independent for centuries, until conquered by the Roman Republic.
ko: 일리리아인은 기원전 1000년 이전에 발칸반도 서부에 나타난 인도유럽계 부족들로, 남쪽의 선사시대 에페이로스에 있던 코르키라섬과 암브라키아만까지 포함했습니다. 이들은 동쪽 다르다니아에서 트라키아인과 섞였고, 아드리아해 건너 메시피아에 정착했습니다. 일리리아 왕국들은 로마 공화국에 정복될 때까지 수 세기 동안 독립을 유지했습니다.

en: Indo-European
ko: 인도유럽인

en: ?plural:Indo-Europeans
ko: 인도유럽인

en: The Indo-Europeans were a hypothetical ancient people who were linguistically ancestral to modern peoples in Europe and South and West Asia. They probably existed about 5000 years ago somewhere on the Eurasian steppes, but their true origins remain a mystery. The existence of this people has been inferred from the analysis of Indo-European languages, on the basis of which attempts to reconstruct the Proto-Indo-European language have been made. One of the first scientists who noted the similarities between these languages was Sir William Jones.
ko: 인도유럽인은 언어적으로 유럽과 남아시아·서아시아 현대 민족들의 조상으로 여겨지는 가설상의 고대 민족입니다. 이들은 약 5천 년 전 유라시아 초원 어딘가에 존재했을 가능성이 있지만, 실제 기원은 여전히 수수께끼입니다. 이 민족의 존재는 인도유럽어 분석을 통해 추론되었고, 이를 바탕으로 원시 인도유럽어를 재구성하려는 시도가 이루어졌습니다. 이 언어들 사이의 유사성을 처음 주목한 과학자 가운데 한 명은 윌리엄 존스 경이었습니다.

en: Inuit
ko: 이뉴잇인

en: ?plural:Inuits
ko: 이뉴잇인

en: The Inuits are a group of peoples inhabiting the Arctic areas of North America and Siberia. The Canadian territory of Nunavut has a majority population of Inuits; the name of the territory means "our land" in Inuktitut.
ko: 이누이트는 북아메리카와 시베리아의 북극 지역에 사는 여러 민족 집단입니다. 캐나다의 누나부트 준주는 이누이트가 다수를 이루며, 그 이름은 이누크티투트어로 “우리 땅”을 뜻합니다.

en: Iranian
ko: 이란인

en: ?plural:Iranians
ko: 이란인

en: Iran means "Land of the Aryans" - long known as Persia in the Western world. The country is today an Islamic Republic and a major power in the Middle East.
ko: 이란은 “아리아인의 땅”을 뜻하며, 서구 세계에서는 오랫동안 페르시아로 알려져 있었습니다. 오늘날 이 나라는 이슬람 공화국이자 중동의 주요 강국입니다.

en: Ayatollah %s
ko: 아야톨라 %s

en: ?female:Ayatollah %s
ko: 여아야톨라 %s

en: Iraqi
ko: 이라크인

en: ?plural:Iraqis
ko: 이라크인

en: Iraq was founded after the fall of the Ottoman empire. It is encompassing the ancient region of Mesopotamia at the confluence of the Tigris and Euphrates rivers.
ko: 이라크는 오스만 제국이 무너진 뒤 세워졌습니다. 티그리스강과 유프라테스강이 만나는 고대 메소포타미아 지역을 포함합니다.

en: Irish
ko: 아일랜드인

en: ?plural:Irish
ko: 아일랜드인

en: Ireland held out against the Romans and Vikings but was conquered by the Normans in 1171.  It was ruled by the English until 1922 when most of the country was granted limited autonomy, becoming a republic in 1949.  The North of Ireland was settled in the 17th century by Scottish and English planters and is now part of the United Kingdom.
ko: 아일랜드는 로마인과 바이킹에 맞섰지만 1171년에 노르만인에게 정복되었습니다. 1922년에 대부분 지역이 제한적 자치를 얻을 때까지 잉글랜드의 지배를 받았고, 1949년에 공화국이 되었습니다. 아일랜드 북부에는 17세기에 스코틀랜드와 잉글랜드 정착민들이 들어왔으며, 현재는 영국의 일부입니다.

en: Israeli
ko: 이스라엘인

en: ?plural:Israelis
ko: 이스라엘인

en: The nation of Israel was founded in 1948 as a scattered collection of cantons in British Palestine, and has gradually expanded through winning wars in 1948, 1967 and 1973.
ko: 이스라엘 국가는 1948년에 영국령 팔레스타인 안의 흩어진 여러 구역으로 세워졌고, 1948년, 1967년, 1973년의 전쟁에서 승리하며 점차 확장되었습니다.

en: Kibbutznik %s
ko: 키부츠닉 %s

en: ?female:Kibbutznikit %s
ko: 키부츠니킷 %s

en: Rabbi %s
ko: 랍비 %s

en: ?female:Rabbi %s
ko: 여랍비 %s

en: Israelite
ko: 이스라엘인

en: ?plural:Israelites
ko: 이스라엘인

en: Israel was a Jewish kingdom on the eastern shore of the Mediterranean founded around 1000 BCE. Much of its history is told in the holy books of the Abrahamic religions. The last Jewish kingdom was destroyed by the Romans in the 1st century CE, leaving the Jews scattered around the world for nineteen centuries.
ko: 이스라엘은 기원전 1000년 무렵 지중해 동쪽 해안에 세워진 유대 왕국이었습니다. 그 역사의 많은 부분은 아브라함계 종교의 성서에 전해집니다. 마지막 유대 왕국은 서기 1세기에 로마인에게 파괴되었고, 유대인은 19세기 동안 전 세계로 흩어졌습니다.

en: Judge %s
ko: 판관 %s

en: ?female:Judge %s
ko: 여판관 %s

en: Italian Greek
ko: 이탈리아계 그리스인

en: ?plural:Italian Greeks
ko: 이탈리아계 그리스인

en: Ancient Magna Graecia was a complex of Greek cities-colonies on the coasts of Italy and Sicily, founded during the Greek Colonization. They played an important role in the development of Etruscan and Roman cultures. In the 5th century BCE Magna Graecia was dominated by the city-state of Syracuse, a great center of Greek culture. Other major urban centers included Taranto, Croton, Sybaris and Messana. Magna Graecia was gradually conquered by Rome, a conquest that was completed by 272 BC. After the fall of the Western Roman Empire, Southern Italy was temporarily part of the Byzantine Empire as the Catepanate of Italia. A Greek-speaking population has survived in these areas to modern times.
ko: 고대 마그나 그라이키아는 그리스 식민 시대에 세워진 이탈리아와 시칠리아 해안의 그리스 도시 식민지 복합체였습니다. 이들은 에트루리아와 로마 문화의 발전에 중요한 역할을 했습니다. 기원전 5세기에 마그나 그라이키아는 그리스 문화의 큰 중심지였던 도시국가 시라쿠사의 지배를 받았습니다. 다른 주요 도시 중심지로는 타란토, 크로톤, 시바리스, 메사나가 있었습니다. 마그나 그라이키아는 점차 로마에 정복되었고, 그 정복은 기원전 272년에 완료되었습니다. 서로마 제국이 무너진 뒤 남부 이탈리아는 한때 이탈리아 카테파나테로서 비잔틴 제국의 일부였습니다. 이 지역들에는 현대까지 그리스어 사용 인구가 살아남았습니다.

en: Tyranne %s
ko: 여참주 %s

en: Ivoirian
ko: 코트디부아르인

en: ?plural:Ivoirian
ko: 코트디부아르인

en: Ivory Coast or Côte d'Ivoire achieved independence in 1960. It has been relatively stable compared to other West African countries, but in the 2000s it lived through a civil war.
ko: 아이보리코스트, 또는 코트디부아르는 1960년에 독립했습니다. 다른 서아프리카 나라들에 비해 비교적 안정적이었지만, 2000년대에는 내전을 겪었습니다.

en: Jaffna
ko: 자프나인

en: ?plural:Jaffnas
ko: 자프나인

en: The Jaffna Kingdom was a medieval Tamil kingdom based in the north of Sri Lanka. It was a successful southern rival to the Chola Empire on the Indian mainland.
ko: 자프나 왕국은 스리랑카 북부를 기반으로 한 중세 타밀 왕국이었습니다. 인도 본토의 촐라 제국에 맞선 성공적인 남방 경쟁자였습니다.

en: Jamaican
ko: 자메이카인

en: ?plural:Jamaicans
ko: 자메이카인

en: Columbus landed on Jamaica in 1494. The island was colonized by the Spanish but in 1655 it was conquered by the English, who turned the island into a slave-based plantation economy. Slavery was abolished in 1834. The country became an independent country within the Commonwealth in 1962. Jamaica is famous around the world for its music; genres such as reggae and ska originated on the island.
ko: 콜럼버스는 1494년에 자메이카에 상륙했습니다. 이 섬은 스페인에 의해 식민화되었지만 1655년에 잉글랜드에 정복되었고, 잉글랜드인은 섬을 노예제 기반 플랜테이션 경제로 바꾸었습니다. 노예제는 1834년에 폐지되었습니다. 이 나라는 1962년에 영연방 안의 독립국이 되었습니다. 자메이카는 음악으로 전 세계에 유명하며, 레게와 스카 같은 장르가 이 섬에서 시작되었습니다.

en: Rasta %s
ko: 라스타 %s

en: ?female:Rasta %s
ko: 여라스타 %s

en: Jolof
ko: 졸로프인

en: ?plural:Jolof
ko: 졸로프인

en: Also called Wolof, the Kingdom was formed between the Senegal and Gambia rivers in the 14th century. The King, or Burba Jolof, was beholden to a handful of powerful regional noblemen who acknowledged kinship with the king but developed personal power bases as well. By the early 1500s, the Burba Jolof could field as many as 100,000 infantry and 10,000 cavalry. Fulani and Berber incursions coupled with political weakness eroded away the power of the Burba Jolof. Various Wolof-speaking states established unions with one another, with their heads assuming the powers of Burba Jolof. The 19th century brought with it French colonization and a conversion to Islam fueled in large part by anti-European sentiment.
ko: 월로프라고도 불리는 이 왕국은 14세기에 세네갈강과 감비아강 사이에서 형성되었습니다. 왕, 즉 부르바 졸로프는 왕과의 친족 관계를 인정하면서도 각자 개인 권력 기반을 발전시킨 소수의 강력한 지역 귀족들에게 의존했습니다. 1500년대 초에 부르바 졸로프는 최대 10만 명의 보병과 1만 명의 기병을 동원할 수 있었습니다. 풀라니와 베르베르의 침입, 그리고 정치적 약화가 결합되어 부르바 졸로프의 권력을 갉아먹었습니다. 여러 월로프어 사용 국가들은 서로 연합을 세웠고, 그 지도자들은 부르바 졸로프의 권한을 맡았습니다. 19세기에는 프랑스 식민화와 함께, 상당 부분 반유럽 정서에 힘입은 이슬람 개종이 찾아왔습니다.

en: Jordanian
ko: 요르단인

en: ?plural:Jordanian
ko: 요르단인

en: The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan is a country in the Middle East. During Antiquity the country was the site of numerous ancient civilizations, including the Nabateans who built the city of Petra. The country has been Arab since the 7th century. Conquered by the Ottoman Turks in 1519, it became a British League of Nations mandate after World War II. The Hashemite clan, which had led a revolt against the Turks during the war, was established as Jordan's ruling dynasty. The country finally became independent in 1946.
ko: 요르단 하심 왕국은 중동의 나라입니다. 고대에는 페트라를 세운 나바테아인을 포함해 수많은 고대 문명이 있던 곳이었습니다. 이 나라는 7세기부터 아랍 세계에 속했습니다. 1519년에 오스만 튀르크에게 정복되었고, 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 영국의 국제연맹 위임통치령이 되었습니다. 전쟁 중 튀르크에 맞선 반란을 이끌었던 하심 가문이 요르단의 통치 왕조로 세워졌습니다. 이 나라는 1946년에 마침내 독립했습니다.

en: Kalmyk
ko: 칼미크인

en: ?plural:Kalmyks
ko: 칼미크인

en: The Kalmyks are a Western Mongolian ethnic group living in Kalmykia in southern Russia. They migrated to the Caspian plains in the 17th century and formed a khanate that was allied with Russia. The Kalmyks are the only Buddhist nation of Europe.
ko: 칼미크인은 러시아 남부 칼미키야에 사는 서몽골계 민족입니다. 17세기에 카스피해 평원으로 이주해 러시아와 동맹을 맺은 칸국을 형성했습니다. 칼미크인은 유럽의 유일한 불교 민족입니다.

en: Kanem-Bornu
ko: 카넴-보르누인

en: ?plural:Kanem-Bornu
ko: 카넴-보르누인

en: This empire lasted in some form from the 9th-century until 1893 in modern Chad and Nigeria and controlled much of the trans-Saharan trade.
ko: 이 제국은 오늘날 차드와 나이지리아 지역에서 9세기부터 1893년까지 어떤 형태로든 지속되었고, 사하라 횡단 무역의 상당 부분을 지배했습니다.

en: Karabakhi
ko: 카라바흐인

en: ?plural:Karabakhis
ko: 카라바흐인

en: Although mainly inhabited by Armenians, Nagorno-Karabakh was awarded to the Azeri SSR after the Soviet Union overran the Caucasus in the 1920s. Shortly before the collapse of the Soviet Union, the region declared its independence from Azerbaijan, leading to a war between Nagorno-Karabakh and Armenia on one side against Azerbaijan on the other side. A ceasefire was agreed on in 1994, but the conflict remains unsettled. The Nagorno-Karabakh Republic is de facto independent but not recognized by any UN member. In Armenian the region is also known as Artsakh, named after a province of the ancient Armenian kingdom.
ko: 주민 대부분이 아르메니아인이었지만, 나고르노카라바흐는 1920년대 소련이 카프카스를 장악한 뒤 아제르바이잔 소비에트 사회주의 공화국에 배정되었습니다. 소련이 붕괴하기 직전 이 지역은 아제르바이잔으로부터 독립을 선언했고, 한쪽의 나고르노카라바흐와 아르메니아가 다른 한쪽의 아제르바이잔과 전쟁을 벌이게 되었습니다. 1994년에 휴전이 합의되었지만 분쟁은 아직 해결되지 않았습니다. 나고르노카라바흐 공화국은 사실상 독립해 있으나 어떤 유엔 회원국에게도 인정받지 못했습니다. 아르메니아어로 이 지역은 고대 아르메니아 왕국의 한 주 이름을 딴 아르차흐로도 알려져 있습니다.

en: Karelian
ko: 카렐리야인

en: ?plural:Karelians
ko: 카렐리야인

en: The Karelians are a Finno-Ugric people inhabiting Karelia, a region currently divided between Finland and Russia. They are closely related to the Finns.
ko: 카렐리야인은 현재 핀란드와 러시아 사이에 나뉘어 있는 카렐리야에 사는 핀우그르계 민족입니다. 이들은 핀란드인과 밀접한 관련이 있습니다.

en: Karen
ko: 카렌인

en: ?plural:Karens
ko: 카렌인

en: Karens are a hardy mountain people who have lived on the western fringes of Burmese kingdoms throughout recorded history. Their own oral history suggests that they at some point migrated southwards through the Gobi Desert to reach their current homeland. With the independence of Burma from the United Kingdom in 1948, a heterogeneous Karen armed independence movement was initiated that continues to this day.
ko: 카렌인은 기록된 역사 내내 버마 왕국들의 서쪽 변방에서 살아온 강인한 산악 민족입니다. 그들의 구전 역사에 따르면, 어느 시점에 고비 사막을 지나 남쪽으로 이주해 현재의 고향에 이르렀다고 합니다. 1948년 버마가 영국으로부터 독립하면서 다양한 성격의 카렌 무장 독립 운동이 시작되었고, 이는 오늘날까지 이어지고 있습니다.

en: Kashmiri
ko: 카슈미르인

en: ?plural:Kashmiris
ko: 카슈미르인

en: The Kashmir valley is situated by the western foothills of the Himalayas. Having been inhabited for millennia, it is a melting pot of Hindu, Tibetan, and Islamic culture.
ko: 카슈미르 계곡은 히말라야 서쪽 기슭에 자리하고 있습니다. 수천 년 동안 사람이 살아온 이곳은 힌두, 티베트, 이슬람 문화가 섞인 용광로입니다.

en: Kashubian
ko: 카슈브인

en: ?plural:Kashubians
ko: 카슈브인

en: Kashubia is a historical region of north-central Poland. The name of the land, whose etymology is still unknown, was first mentioned in the 13th century. Considered as an ethnic group of the Polish nation, Kashubians have language and culture that are quite different from the rest of Poland. Today, a lively Kashubian community cultivates their speech, literature and customs through, among others, local radio and television programmes, comic books, and even several fully Kashubianized distributions of Linux operating system.
ko: 카슈비아는 폴란드 중북부의 역사적 지역입니다. 어원이 아직 알려지지 않은 이 땅의 이름은 13세기에 처음 언급되었습니다. 폴란드 민족 안의 한 민족 집단으로 여겨지는 카슈브인은 폴란드의 나머지 지역과 상당히 다른 언어와 문화를 가지고 있습니다. 오늘날 활발한 카슈브 공동체는 지역 라디오와 텔레비전 프로그램, 만화책, 심지어 완전히 카슈브어화된 여러 리눅스 운영체제 배포판 등을 통해 말과 문학, 관습을 가꾸고 있습니다.

en: Katangan
ko: 카탕가인

en: ?plural:Katangans
ko: 카탕가인

en: Katanga, the southernmost part of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, rich in minerals and once home to the Yeke Kingdom. The region seceded from Congo a few days after that country's independence from Belgium in 1960. The state, protected by Belgian mining industrialists and foreign mercenaries, was led by Moise Tshombe. Katanga was reincorporated into Congo after a Congolese and UN military campaign.
ko: 카탕가는 콩고 민주 공화국의 최남단 지역으로, 광물이 풍부하고 한때 예케 왕국의 고향이었습니다. 이 지역은 1960년 콩고가 벨기에로부터 독립한 지 며칠 뒤 콩고에서 분리되었습니다. 벨기에 광산업자들과 외국 용병들의 보호를 받은 이 국가는 모이즈 촘베가 이끌었습니다. 카탕가는 콩고와 유엔의 군사 작전 뒤 콩고에 다시 편입되었습니다.

en: Kazakh
ko: 카자흐인

en: ?plural:Kazakhs
ko: 카자흐인

en: Kazakhs are descendants of Turkic and Mongolian nomadic tribes. Conquered by Russia in the 18th century, Kazakhstan became independent in 1991 with the dissolution of the Soviet Union. It is one of the ten largest states in the world by area.
ko: 카자흐인은 튀르크계와 몽골계 유목 부족의 후손입니다. 18세기에 러시아에 정복되었고, 카자흐스탄은 소련이 해체되면서 1991년에 독립했습니다. 면적으로는 세계 10대 국가 중 하나입니다.

en: Kenyan
ko: 케냐인

en: ?plural:Kenyans
ko: 케냐인

en: Kenya gained independence from Britain in December 1963.
ko: 케냐는 1963년 12월에 영국으로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Khazar
ko: 하자르인

en: ?plural:Khazars
ko: 하자르인

en: The Khazars founded a steppe empire on the plains of Southern Russia in the Early Middle Ages. Originally shamanists, they adopted Judaism as their state religion.
ko: 하자르인은 중세 초기에 남러시아 평원에 초원 제국을 세웠습니다. 원래 샤머니즘을 믿었으나 유대교를 국교로 받아들였습니다.

en: Tarkhan %s
ko: 타르칸 %s

en: ?female:Tarkhan %s
ko: 여타르칸 %s

en: Khoisan
ko: 코이산인

en: ?plural:Khoisan
ko: 코이산인

en: Khoisan speakers are typically divided between the Khoikhoi, traditionally herders, and the San, traditionally hunter gatherers. They are traditionally among the most egalitarian societies on the planet. San society in particular is organized around the institutions of family and band. Khoisan peoples carry some of the most ancient genetic lineages in the world. Today there are over 300,000 Khoisan people, forming significant minorities in and around the Kalahari desert in Namibia, Botswana, South Africa, and Angola.
ko: 코이산어 사용자는 전통적으로 목축민인 코이코이와 전통적으로 수렵채집민인 산으로 나뉩니다. 이들은 전통적으로 지구상에서 가장 평등주의적인 사회 가운데 하나입니다. 특히 산 사회는 가족과 무리라는 제도를 중심으로 조직됩니다. 코이산인은 세계에서 가장 오래된 유전 계통 일부를 지니고 있습니다. 오늘날 코이산인은 30만 명이 넘으며, 나미비아, 보츠와나, 남아프리카공화국, 앙골라의 칼라하리 사막 안팎에서 중요한 소수민족을 이룹니다.

en: Khwarezmian
ko: 호라즘인

en: ?plural:Khwarezmians
ko: 호라즘인

en: Known by the Greeks as Chorasmia, Khwarezm was an urbanized, centralized, and militarized state south of the Aral sea in Central Asia, controlling portions of the Silk Road. It was loosely controlled as a satrapy under the Achaemenid and Sassanid Persian dynasties and was the mythic homeland of Zarathustra, the founder of Zoroastrianism. Following the introduction of Islam, Khwarezm tended to be divided into two separate kingdoms, but was united under the Turkic Anushtiginid dynasty, which lasted from 1097 until Chinggis Khan conquered it in 1231.
ko: 그리스인에게 코라스미아로 알려진 호라즘은 중앙아시아 아랄해 남쪽에 있던 도시화되고 중앙집권적이며 군사화된 국가로, 실크로드의 일부를 지배했습니다. 아케메네스와 사산 페르시아 왕조 아래에서 느슨하게 사트라피로 통제되었고, 조로아스터교 창시자 자라투스트라의 신화적 고향이었습니다. 이슬람이 도입된 뒤 호라즘은 두 별개 왕국으로 나뉘는 경향이 있었지만, 1097년부터 1231년 칭기즈 칸에게 정복될 때까지 이어진 튀르크계 아누슈테긴 왕조 아래 통합되었습니다.

en: Satrap %s
ko: 사트라프 %s

en: ?female:Satrap %s
ko: 여사트라프 %s

en: Kiribati
ko: 키리바시인

en: ?plural:I-Kiribati
ko: 키리바시인

en: The Gilbert Islands, known in Gilbertese as Tungaru, are an island chain in the Pacific Ocean. Inhabited by Micronesians since prehistoric times, they were united under a common chiefdom in the late 19th century. Together with the Ellice Islands they were annexed by the British in 1892 who established the colony of Gilbert and Ellice Islands. Upon independence in 1976, the people of the Gilbert Islands adopted Kiribati (the Gilbertese rendering of "Gilberts") as the name of the newly established republic.
ko: 길버트어로 퉁가루라고 알려진 길버트 제도는 태평양의 섬줄기입니다. 선사 시대부터 미크로네시아인이 살았고, 19세기 말 공통의 추장령 아래 통합되었습니다. 엘리스 제도와 함께 1892년에 영국에 병합되어 길버트·엘리스 제도 식민지가 세워졌습니다. 1976년에 독립하면서 길버트 제도 사람들은 새로 세워진 공화국의 이름으로 길버트어식 “길버트” 표현인 키리바시를 채택했습니다.

en: Kittitian and Nevisian
ko: 세인트키츠 네비스인

en: ?plural:Kittitians and Nevisians
ko: 세인트키츠 네비스인

en: Saint Kitts and Nevis is a nation in the Caribbean located on the eponymous two islands. It is the smallest country in the Americas and the world's smallest federation. Saint Kitts was the site of some of the earliest French and English colonization attempts in the New World.
ko: 세인트키츠 네비스는 같은 이름의 두 섬에 자리한 카리브해의 나라입니다. 아메리카에서 가장 작은 나라이고 세계에서 가장 작은 연방 국가입니다. 세인트키츠는 신세계에서 가장 이른 프랑스와 잉글랜드 식민지 시도 중 일부가 이루어진 곳이었습니다.

en: Komi
ko: 코미인

en: ?plural:Komi
ko: 코미인

en: The Komi are a Finno-Ugric people living in the northern part of European Russia. In the Middle Ages, the area inhabited by people of Komi was dominated by the Republic of Novgorod. In the 15th century, the Komi were subordinated to Moscow, becoming part of Russia.
ko: 코미인은 유럽 러시아 북부에 사는 핀우그르계 민족입니다. 중세에 코미인이 살던 지역은 노브고로드 공화국의 지배를 받았습니다. 15세기에 코미인은 모스크바에 복속되어 러시아의 일부가 되었습니다.

en: Kongo
ko: 콩고 왕국인

en: ?plural:Kongo
ko: 콩고 왕국인

en: This Kingdom, lasting from roughly 1400 CE until the late 19th century, existed in the present-day countries of Angola and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Soon after its formation, Portuguese explorers, missionaries and slavers began to arrive and exerted considerable influence in the Kingdom.
ko: 이 왕국은 서기 1400년 무렵부터 19세기 말까지 지속되었으며, 오늘날의 앙골라와 콩고 민주 공화국 지역에 존재했습니다. 성립 직후 포르투갈 탐험가, 선교사, 노예상이 도착하기 시작했고 왕국에 상당한 영향력을 행사했습니다.

en: Kosovar
ko: 코소보인

en: ?plural:Kosovars
ko: 코소보인

en: Kosovo is a country on the Balkans. It declared independence in 2008. Serbia claims Kosovo as a province and its independence is not universally recognized.
ko: 코소보는 발칸반도의 나라입니다. 2008년에 독립을 선언했습니다. 세르비아는 코소보를 자국의 주로 주장하며, 그 독립은 보편적으로 인정받지 못하고 있습니다.

en: Kuna
ko: 쿠나인

en: ?plural:Kunas
ko: 쿠나인

en: The Kunas are a Chibchan people living on the Isthmus of Darien, where North and South America meet. In 1925 Kuna chief Nele Kantule led a revolt against the Panamanian authorities. Since then Panama has granted significant autonomy to Kuna Yala, the Kuna homeland. Currently Kuna Yala (also known as San Blas) is known worldwide as a tourist center and the Kunas have established something of a reputation for managing to combine tradition and modernity.
ko: 쿠나인은 북아메리카와 남아메리카가 만나는 다리엔 지협에 사는 치브차계 민족입니다. 1925년에 쿠나 추장 넬레 칸툴레가 파나마 당국에 맞선 반란을 이끌었습니다. 이후 파나마는 쿠나의 고향인 쿠나 얄라에 상당한 자치를 허용했습니다. 현재 쿠나 얄라, 또는 산블라스는 세계적으로 관광 중심지로 알려져 있으며, 쿠나인은 전통과 현대성을 결합해 낸 것으로 어느 정도 명성을 얻었습니다.

en: Kurdish
ko: 쿠르드인

en: ?plural:Kurds
ko: 쿠르드인

en: The Kurds are a distinct ethno-linguistic group speaking an Indo-Aryan language. Their traditional homeland Kurdistan is situated in the northern Middle East and partitioned between Iraq, Turkey, Syria, and Iran. The medieval era saw the rise of several principalities ruled by Kurdish dynasties, including Shaddadid, Rawadid, Hasanwayhid, Annazid, and Marwanid. Subsequently subdued by the Ottomans, the Kurds' struggle for self-rule and independence took off again after the fall of the Ottoman Empire and the end of the colonial era. Today, Iraq's Kurdistan Autonomous Region is the only Kurd-dominated political entity in the world.
ko: 쿠르드인은 인도아리아계 언어를 쓰는 뚜렷한 민족·언어 집단입니다. 전통적 고향인 쿠르디스탄은 중동 북부에 있으며 이라크, 튀르키예, 시리아, 이란 사이에 나뉘어 있습니다. 중세에는 샤다드, 라와드, 하산와이흐, 안나즈, 마르완 왕조를 비롯한 쿠르드 왕조가 다스리는 여러 공국이 등장했습니다. 이후 오스만에게 복속되었지만, 오스만 제국의 몰락과 식민지 시대의 종식 뒤 쿠르드인의 자치와 독립 투쟁은 다시 본격화되었습니다. 오늘날 이라크의 쿠르디스탄 자치 지역은 세계에서 유일하게 쿠르드인이 지배하는 정치체입니다.

en: Kushan
ko: 쿠샨인

en: ?plural:Kushans
ko: 쿠샨인

en: The Kushans were an ancient Indo-European people, perhaps of Tocharian origin, originally leading a nomadic life in Central Asia. Under pressure from Turkic peoples they left their old lands and migrated to India. In India they founded a vast empire whose rulers converted to Buddhism. The Kushans used the Greek alphabet to write their language. The Kushan empire maintained trade relations with Rome and China. They were subordinated to the Persian Sassanids and replaced by a Persian vassal kingdom. The last remnants of the Kushans eventually succumbed to the Hephthalites.
ko: 쿠샨인은 고대 인도유럽계 민족으로, 아마 토하라인 기원이었고 원래 중앙아시아에서 유목 생활을 했습니다. 튀르크계 민족의 압박을 받아 옛 땅을 떠나 인도로 이주했습니다. 인도에서 이들은 넓은 제국을 세웠고 통치자들은 불교로 개종했습니다. 쿠샨인은 자신들의 언어를 적는 데 그리스 문자를 사용했습니다. 쿠샨 제국은 로마와 중국과 무역 관계를 유지했습니다. 이들은 페르시아 사산 왕조에 종속되었고 페르시아의 봉신 왕국으로 대체되었습니다. 쿠샨의 마지막 잔존 세력은 결국 에프탈인에게 굴복했습니다.

en: Guru %s
ko: 구루 %s

en: ?female:Guru %s
ko: 여구루 %s

en: Kuwaiti
ko: 쿠웨이트인

en: ?plural:Kuwaitis
ko: 쿠웨이트인

en: Kuwait is an Arab country, bordered by Iraq, Saudi Arabia and the Persian Gulf. It was founded in 1756 by the Sabah dynasty, who has ruled the country ever since. In 1990 the country was occupied by Iraqi forces, who were subsequently ejected after an international military intervention. Economically, Kuwait is one of the most developed countries in the Middle East. Despite its relatively small size, the country has about ten percent of the world's proven oil reserves.
ko: 쿠웨이트는 이라크, 사우디아라비아, 페르시아만과 접한 아랍 국가입니다. 1756년에 사바 왕조가 세웠고, 이 왕조는 그 이후로 나라를 다스려 왔습니다. 1990년에 이 나라는 이라크군에 점령되었지만, 이후 국제 군사 개입으로 이라크군이 축출되었습니다. 경제적으로 쿠웨이트는 중동에서 가장 발전한 나라 중 하나입니다. 비교적 작은 규모에도 불구하고, 이 나라는 세계 확인 석유 매장량의 약 10퍼센트를 보유하고 있습니다.

en: Kyrgyz
ko: 키르기스인

en: ?plural:Kyrgyzs
ko: 키르기스인

en: Nation in Central Asia. Conquered by the Russian Empire in the 19th century, Kyrgyzstan got independence from the Soviet Union in 1991.
ko: 중앙아시아의 나라입니다. 19세기에 러시아 제국에 정복되었고, 키르기스스탄은 1991년에 소련으로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Langobardic
ko: 랑고바르드인

en: ?plural:Langobards
ko: 랑고바르드인

en: The Langobards were an ancient Germanic people. They originated from Scandinavia but settled in the area on the lower Elbe. In 166 CE they participated in the attack on the Roman provinces of Pannonia and Noricum. Their first state was established on the Danube. Having defeated the Gepids in an alliance with the Avars, the Langobards under king Alboin invaded Italia in 568. They founded a new kingdom with its capital in Pavia. The modern region of Lombardy derives its name from the Lombards.
ko: 랑고바르드인은 고대 게르만 민족이었습니다. 스칸디나비아에서 기원했지만 엘베강 하류 지역에 정착했습니다. 서기 166년에 이들은 로마 속주 판노니아와 노리쿰 공격에 참여했습니다. 첫 국가는 도나우강 유역에 세워졌습니다. 아바르인과 동맹을 맺고 게피드인을 물리친 뒤, 알보인 왕이 이끄는 랑고바르드인은 568년에 이탈리아를 침공했습니다. 이들은 파비아를 수도로 하는 새 왕국을 세웠습니다. 현대의 롬바르디아 지역은 롬바르드인에게서 이름이 유래했습니다.

en: Lankese
ko: 스리랑카인

en: ?plural:Lankese
ko: 스리랑카인

en: Prince Vijaya came to Sri Lanka from Orissa, in north-eastern India, during the 6th century BCE and founded the Sinhalese kingdom there. During British colonialism the country was known as Ceylon.
ko: 비자야 왕자는 기원전 6세기에 인도 북동부 오리사에서 스리랑카로 와서 그곳에 싱할라 왕국을 세웠습니다. 영국 식민지 시대에 이 나라는 실론으로 알려졌습니다.

en: Supreme Commander %s
ko: 최고 사령관 %s

en: ?female:Supreme Commander %s
ko: 최고 여사령관 %s

en: Laotian
ko: 라오스인

en: ?plural:Laotians
ko: 라오스인

en: The history of Laos starts with the Lan Xang kingdom created in the 14th century and ended in late 18th century with invasion of Siam (Thailand). In the end of the 19th century, Laos became part of French Indochina. French rule ended with independence in 1946 followed by 30 years of civil war. In 1975 the communist Pathet Lao established a strict socialist regime. However, in 1986 the liberalization and a gradual return to private enterprise started.
ko: 라오스의 역사는 14세기에 세워진 란쌍 왕국에서 시작해 18세기 말 시암(태국)의 침공으로 끝났습니다. 19세기 말 라오스는 프랑스령 인도차이나의 일부가 되었습니다. 프랑스의 지배는 1946년 독립으로 끝났지만, 그 뒤 30년간 내전이 이어졌습니다. 1975년에 공산주의 파테트라오가 엄격한 사회주의 체제를 세웠습니다. 그러나 1986년에 자유화와 민간 기업으로의 점진적 복귀가 시작되었습니다.

en: Latin
ko: 라틴인

en: ?plural:Latins
ko: 라틴인

en: The Latin Empire was a Medieval state created by Crusaders after their capture of Constantinople during the Fourth Crusade in 1204, intended as a Roman Catholic-friendly replacement of the Byzantine Empire. In Greek history the period of rule by the Latin Empire and its successor splinter realms is known as the "Frankokratia", rule of the Franks. The Empire ceased to exist when Constantinople was recaptured by the Byzantines in 1261.
ko: 라틴 제국은 1204년 제4차 십자군이 콘스탄티노폴리스를 점령한 뒤 세운 중세 국가로, 비잔티움 제국을 로마 가톨릭에 우호적인 체제로 대체하려는 목적이 있었습니다. 그리스 역사에서 라틴 제국과 그 뒤를 이은 분열 국가들의 지배 시기는 프랑크인의 지배를 뜻하는 “프랑코크라티아”로 알려져 있습니다. 이 제국은 1261년 비잔티움인이 콘스탄티노폴리스를 탈환하면서 사라졌습니다.

en: Latvian
ko: 라트비아인

en: ?plural:Latvians
ko: 라트비아인

en: In the aftermath of World War I Latvia proclaimed its independence from Russia. In 1940, Latvia was forcibly occupied by the Soviet Union. After the collapse of Soviet Union in 1991 Latvia restored its independence.
ko: 제1차 세계 대전 이후 라트비아는 러시아로부터 독립을 선포했습니다. 1940년에 라트비아는 소련에 강제로 점령되었습니다. 1991년 소련 붕괴 뒤 라트비아는 독립을 회복했습니다.

en: Lebanese
ko: 레바논인

en: ?plural:Lebanese
ko: 레바논인

en: Located in the Levant, the Eastern shore of the Mediterranean, Lebanon houses some of the oldest traces of human civilization. The old homeland of the Phoenicians, Lebanon has since been ruled by many empires. It was part of the Ottoman Empire for over four centuries and became a French mandate after World War I. Lebanon proclaimed its independence in 1943.
ko: 지중해 동쪽 해안인 레반트에 위치한 레바논에는 인류 문명의 가장 오래된 흔적 중 일부가 남아 있습니다. 페니키아인의 옛 고향인 레바논은 이후 여러 제국의 지배를 받았습니다. 4세기 넘게 오스만 제국의 일부였고, 제1차 세계 대전 뒤 프랑스 위임통치령이 되었습니다. 레바논은 1943년에 독립을 선포했습니다.

en: Lendian
ko: 렌디아인

en: ?plural:Lendians
ko: 렌디아인

en: The Lendians were a confederation of West Slavic, Lechitic tribes inhabiting the borderland areas of today's Poland and Ukraine. Their land was the object of rivalry between Poland and the Kievan Rus' at the time of the early Piast dynasty. The Lendians succumbed to Ruthenization as a result of deportation actions organized by Kievan princes and the activities of the Orthodox Church.
ko: 렌디아인은 오늘날 폴란드와 우크라이나의 접경 지역에 살던 서슬라브계 레흐족 부족들의 연맹이었습니다. 이들의 땅은 초기 피아스트 왕조 시대에 폴란드와 키예프 루스 사이의 경쟁 대상이었습니다. 렌디아인은 키예프 공들이 조직한 강제 이주와 정교회의 활동으로 루테니아화되었습니다.

en: Leonese
ko: 레온인

en: ?plural:Leonese
ko: 레온인

en: Leon was a medieval kingdom in the northwestern part of the Iberian peninsula. Currently Leon is part of the Spanish autonomous community of Castile and Leon.
ko: 레온은 이베리아반도 북서부에 있던 중세 왕국이었습니다. 현재 레온은 스페인의 카스티야 이 레온 자치 지방에 속합니다.

en: Lesothoan
ko: 레소토인

en: ?plural:Lesothoans
ko: 레소토인

en: Lesotho first formed a unified polity in the early 19th century under king Moshoeshoe I, who united the Sotho clans. Moshoeshoe sought protection from the British against Boer incursions and in 1869 the country turned into the British protectorate of Basutoland. Although surrounded by South Africa on all sides, that country's apartheid policies prevented its integration into South Africa. In 1966 Basutoland became the independent Kingdom of Lesotho.
ko: 레소토는 19세기 초 소토 씨족들을 통합한 모슈에슈에 1세 치하에서 처음 통일된 정치체를 이루었습니다. 모슈에슈에는 보어인의 침입에 맞서 영국의 보호를 구했고, 1869년에 이 나라는 영국 보호령 바수톨란드가 되었습니다. 사방이 남아프리카 공화국에 둘러싸여 있었지만, 남아공의 아파르트헤이트 정책 때문에 남아공에 편입되지 않았습니다. 1966년에 바수톨란드는 독립한 레소토 왕국이 되었습니다.

en: Liberian
ko: 라이베리아인

en: ?plural:Liberians
ko: 라이베리아인

en: Liberia is a country in West Africa, founded in the first half of the 19th century as a country for liberated African-American slaves. Liberia's history has been characterized by tensions between the dominant Americo-Liberian minority and the indigenous majority. The Americo-Liberians organized themselves within the True Whig Party, which held power for no less than 102 years, longer than any other political party worldwide. The indigenous population was enfranchised in the 1960s and the True Whigs were overthrown in 1980, which led to a period of instability and civil wars. A fragile peace returned in 2003.
ko: 라이베리아는 서아프리카의 나라로, 19세기 전반에 해방된 아프리카계 미국인 노예들을 위한 나라로 세워졌습니다. 라이베리아의 역사는 지배적인 아메리코-라이베리아계 소수와 토착 다수 사이의 긴장으로 특징지어집니다. 아메리코-라이베리아인은 트루 휘그당 안에서 조직되었고, 이 당은 세계 어느 정당보다 긴 102년 동안 권력을 유지했습니다. 토착민은 1960년대에 참정권을 얻었고, 트루 휘그당은 1980년에 축출되었으며, 그 결과 불안정과 내전의 시기가 이어졌습니다. 2003년에 불안정한 평화가 돌아왔습니다.

en: Liburnian
ko: 리부르니아인

en: ?plural:Liburnians
ko: 리부르니아인

en: The Liburnians were an ancient Indo-European tribe living along the Northeastern Adriatic coast in modern Croatia. They were probably distinct from their neighbors, the Illyrians, and spoke an Italic language. They were Romanized after the annexation of their land by Rome.
ko: 리부르니아인은 오늘날 크로아티아의 아드리아해 북동부 해안에 살던 고대 인도유럽계 부족이었습니다. 이들은 이웃한 일리리아인과는 달랐을 가능성이 높고, 이탈리아어파 언어를 사용했습니다. 로마가 그들의 땅을 병합한 뒤 로마화되었습니다.

en: Libyan
ko: 리비아인

en: ?plural:Libyans
ko: 리비아인

en: The region that is now Libya was a Roman colony until it was conquered by the Arab civilization in the 7th century. In 1912 it came under the control of Italy and after the Second World War Libya was granted independence as a condition of the Allied peace treaty with Italy.
ko: 오늘날 리비아에 해당하는 지역은 7세기에 아랍 문명에 정복되기 전까지 로마의 식민지였습니다. 1912년에 이탈리아의 지배 아래 들어갔고, 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 연합국과 이탈리아의 평화 조약 조건에 따라 리비아는 독립을 부여받았습니다.

en: Liechtensteiner
ko: 리히텐슈타인인

en: ?plural:Liechtensteiners
ko: 리히텐슈타인인

en: The Principality of Liechtenstein is a tiny, doubly landlocked alpine country in Western Europe, bordered by Switzerland to its west and by Austria to its east. The Principality was formed by the merger of Vaduz and Schellenberg in 1719.
ko: 리히텐슈타인 공국은 서유럽 알프스에 있는 아주 작은 이중 내륙국으로, 서쪽은 스위스, 동쪽은 오스트리아와 접합니다. 이 공국은 1719년에 파두츠와 셸렌베르크가 합쳐져 형성되었습니다.

en: Liegean
ko: 리에주인

en: ?plural:Liegeans
ko: 리에주인

en: Liege was constituted in ecclesiastic principalty in 985, when Bishop Notger was granted the control of several cities in current Belgium. As a federated state of the Holy Roman Empire, it was characterized with large civil liberties for which liegean struggled strongly for. It lasted until 1792, when the recently formed Republic of Liege voted the union with revolutionary France. Liege played later a major role in the Belgian independence.
ko: 리에주는 985년에 노트거 주교가 오늘날 벨기에의 여러 도시를 다스릴 권한을 받으면서 교회 공국으로 형성되었습니다. 신성 로마 제국의 연방 국가로서 큰 시민적 자유를 특징으로 했고, 리에주인들은 이를 위해 강하게 싸웠습니다. 이 국가는 1792년 새로 세워진 리에주 공화국이 혁명 프랑스와의 통합을 표결할 때까지 존속했습니다. 이후 리에주는 벨기에 독립에서 중요한 역할을 했습니다.

en: ?female:Princess %s
ko: 공주 %s

en: ?female:Prime Ministress %s
ko: 여총리 %s

en: Regent %s
ko: 섭정 %s

en: Ligurian
ko: 리구리아인

en: ?plural:Ligurians
ko: 리구리아인

en: The Ligures were a pre-Roman tribal complex in what is now Northwestern Italy and Southern France. Their language is of uncertain origin, perhaps Para-Celtic or Pre-Indo-European.
ko: 리구리아인은 오늘날 이탈리아 북서부와 프랑스 남부에 살던 로마 이전의 부족 집단이었습니다. 그들의 언어의 기원은 불확실하며, 준켈트계 또는 선인도유럽계였을 가능성이 있습니다.

en: Paramount Ruler %s
ko: 최고 통치자 %s

en: ?female:Paramount Ruler %s
ko: 최고 여통치자 %s

en: Lipka Tatar
ko: 립카 타타르인

en: ?plural:Lipka Tatars
ko: 립카 타타르인

en: The Lipka Tatars are descendants of Tatars who migrated to the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth from the Crimean Khanate and the Golden Horde. Their name comes from the Turkish name of Lithuania. In addition to Lithuania, they also live in Poland and Belarus. Some Lipka Tatars have preserved their culture and traditional religion to the present day.
ko: 립카 타타르인은 크림 칸국과 킵차크 칸국에서 폴란드-리투아니아 연방으로 이주한 타타르인의 후손입니다. 그들의 이름은 리투아니아의 튀르크식 이름에서 유래했습니다. 리투아니아뿐 아니라 폴란드와 벨라루스에도 살고 있습니다. 일부 립카 타타르인은 오늘날까지 자신들의 문화와 전통 종교를 보존해 왔습니다.

en: Lippian
ko: 리페인

en: ?plural:Lippians
ko: 리페인

en: Lippe was a historical state in Germany. It was located between the Weser River and the southeast part of the Teutoburg forest.
ko: 리페는 독일의 역사적 국가였습니다. 베저강과 토이토부르크 숲 남동부 사이에 위치했습니다.

en: Lithuanian
ko: 리투아니아인

en: ?plural:Lithuanians
ko: 리투아니아인

en: Lithuania is a small country on the south coast of the Baltic Sea, northeast of Poland. Lithuanian is the most archaic and complex of the northern Indo-European languages.
ko: 리투아니아는 폴란드 북동쪽, 발트해 남쪽 해안에 있는 작은 나라입니다. 리투아니아어는 북부 인도유럽계 언어 가운데 가장 고풍스럽고 복잡한 언어입니다.

en: Lojbanistani
ko: 로지반스탄인

en: ?plural:Lojbanistanis
ko: 로지반스탄인

en: Lojbanistan is a fictional place where people speak Lojban. Lojban is a constructed language meant for human communication. Lojban is syntactically unambiguous ("Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana."), culturally neutral and simple to learn.
ko: 로지반스탄은 사람들이 로지반을 사용하는 가상의 장소입니다. 로지반은 인간의 의사소통을 위해 만들어진 인공어입니다. 로지반은 구문적으로 모호하지 않고(“시간은 화살처럼 날아간다. 과일파리는 바나나를 좋아한다.”), 문화적으로 중립적이며 배우기 쉽습니다.

en: Lorrain
ko: 로렌인

en: ?plural:Lorrains
ko: 로렌인

en: Lorraine or Lotharingia was formed as the middle kingdom when the Frankish empire was split in three in 843. Initially stretching from the North Sea to the Mediterranean, its territory was mutilated during the struggles between the various Frankish dynasties. What was left of Lorraine became a duchy that both France and Germany were continuously eyeing for. Lorraine became a province of France in 1766.
ko: 로렌 또는 로타링기아는 843년 프랑크 제국이 셋으로 갈라질 때 중간 왕국으로 형성되었습니다. 처음에는 북해에서 지중해까지 뻗어 있었지만, 여러 프랑크 왕조 사이의 투쟁 속에서 영토가 잘려 나갔습니다. 남은 로렌은 프랑스와 독일이 계속 노리던 공국이 되었습니다. 로렌은 1766년에 프랑스의 주가 되었습니다.

en: Louisianian
ko: 루이지애나인

en: ?plural:Louisianians
ko: 루이지애나인

en: Louisiana is a state in the Deep South of the United States of America known for its distinct French culture, on January 26, 1861, the state voted to secede from the United States, existing independently for a short time until February 26, 1861 when it finally joined the Confederate States of America. The state was formally admitted back into the union on July 9, 1868.
ko: 루이지애나는 독특한 프랑스 문화로 알려진 미국 남부 깊숙한 곳의 주입니다. 1861년 1월 26일 이 주는 미국에서 탈퇴하기로 표결했고, 1861년 2월 26일 아메리카 남부연합에 합류할 때까지 짧은 기간 독립적으로 존재했습니다. 이 주는 1868년 7월 9일 공식적으로 연방에 다시 편입되었습니다.

en: Kingfish %s
ko: 킹피시 %s

en: Queenfish %s
ko: 퀸피시 %s

en: Governeror %s
ko: 주지사 %s

en: ?female:Governeror %s
ko: 여주지사 %s

en: Luhansk
ko: 루한스크인

en: ?plural:Luhansk
ko: 루한스크인

en: The Luhansk People's Republic, abbreviated as LPR is an unrecognised republic of Russia in the occupied parts of eastern Ukraine's Luhansk Oblast, with its capital in Luhansk. The LPR was created by Russian-backed paramilitaries in 2014, and it initially operated as a breakaway state until it was annexed by Russia in 2022. Following Ukraine's Revolution of Dignity in 2014, pro-Russian, counter-revolutionary unrest erupted in the eastern part of the country. Russia annexed Crimea from Ukraine, while the armed separatists seized government buildings and proclaimed the Luhansk People's Republic (LPR) and Donetsk People's Republic (DPR) as independent states. This sparked the war in Donbas, part of the wider Russo-Ukrainian War. The LPR and DPR are sometimes described as puppet states of Russia during this conflict They received no international recognition from United Nations member states before 2022. On 21 February 2022, Russia recognised the LPR and DPR as sovereign states. Three days later, Russia launched a full-scale invasion of Ukraine, partially under the pretext of protecting the republics. In September 2022, Russia proclaimed the annexation of the LPR and other occupied territories, following illegitimate referendums which were illegal under international law.
ko: 루한스크 인민공화국(LPR)은 우크라이나 동부 루한스크주의 점령 지역에 있는, 수도를 루한스크로 둔 러시아의 미승인 공화국입니다. LPR은 2014년 러시아의 지원을 받는 준군사조직에 의해 만들어졌고, 처음에는 분리 독립 국가로 운영되다가 2022년에 러시아에 병합되었습니다. 2014년 우크라이나의 존엄 혁명 이후, 나라 동부에서 친러시아·반혁명 소요가 일어났습니다. 러시아는 우크라이나의 크림반도를 병합했고, 무장 분리주의자들은 정부 청사를 점거해 루한스크 인민공화국(LPR)과 도네츠크 인민공화국(DPR)을 독립국으로 선포했습니다. 이로 인해 더 넓은 러시아-우크라이나 전쟁의 일부인 돈바스 전쟁이 촉발되었습니다. 이 분쟁 동안 LPR과 DPR은 때때로 러시아의 괴뢰 국가로 묘사됩니다. 이들은 2022년 이전에는 유엔 회원국들로부터 국제적 승인을 받지 못했습니다. 2022년 2월 21일 러시아는 LPR과 DPR을 주권 국가로 승인했습니다. 사흘 뒤 러시아는 부분적으로 이 공화국들을 보호한다는 명분으로 우크라이나를 전면 침공했습니다. 2022년 9월 러시아는 국제법상 불법인 국민투표 뒤 LPR과 다른 점령지를 병합한다고 선포했습니다.

en: Luwian
ko: 루위아인

en: ?plural:Luwians
ko: 루위아인

en: The Luwians were an ancient Indo-European Anatolian people who lived in the late Bronze Age. For a time after the fall of the Hittite Empire they took a dominant role in the region. One of the most important Neo-Hittite states was Tabal (biblical Tubal), located in Syria and Southeastern Anatolia.
ko: 루위아인은 후기 청동기 시대에 살았던 고대 인도유럽계 아나톨리아 민족이었습니다. 히타이트 제국이 무너진 뒤 한동안 이 지역에서 주도적인 역할을 했습니다. 가장 중요한 신히타이트 국가 가운데 하나는 시리아와 아나톨리아 남동부에 위치한 타발, 즉 성서의 투발이었습니다.

en: Luxembourgish
ko: 룩셈부르크인

en: ?plural:Luxembourgians
ko: 룩셈부르크인

en: One of Europe's smaller countries, Luxembourg was founded as a county in 963. In 1815 it was elevated to a Grand Duchy in a personal union with the Netherlands, which was severed in 1890.
ko: 유럽의 작은 나라들 가운데 하나인 룩셈부르크는 963년에 백국으로 세워졌습니다. 1815년에 네덜란드와의 동군연합 속에서 대공국으로 승격되었고, 이 연합은 1890년에 끊어졌습니다.

en: Lycian
ko: 리키아인

en: ?plural:Lycians
ko: 리키아인

en: Lycia was an ancient Southwest Anatolian state which existed from the 15th to the 6th century BCE. Lycians were allies of Troy during the Trojan War, when they were led by the legendary heroes Sarpedon and Glaucus. Their state was subordinated to the Persian Empire in the 6th century BCE.
ko: 리키아는 기원전 15세기부터 6세기까지 존재한 고대 아나톨리아 남서부의 국가였습니다. 리키아인은 트로이 전쟁 때 전설적 영웅 사르페돈과 글라우코스의 지휘 아래 트로이의 동맹이었습니다. 이들의 국가는 기원전 6세기에 페르시아 제국에 복속되었습니다.

en: Maasai
ko: 마사이인

en: ?plural:Maasais
ko: 마사이인

en: The Maasai are an indigenous African ethnic group of semi-nomadic people located in Kenya and northern Tanzania. Due to their distinctive customs and dress and residence near the many game parks of East Africa, they are among the most well known of African ethnic groups.
ko: 마사이는 케냐와 탄자니아 북부에 사는 반유목 아프리카 토착 민족입니다. 독특한 관습과 복장, 그리고 동아프리카의 많은 야생동물 보호구역 근처에 사는 점 때문에 아프리카 민족 집단 가운데 가장 잘 알려진 집단 중 하나입니다.

en: Macedonian
ko: 마케도니아인

en: ?plural:Macedonians
ko: 마케도니아인

en: The Republic of Macedonia is located in the south-central part of the Balkan peninsula. It declared independence from Yugoslavia in 1991.
ko: 마케도니아 공화국은 발칸반도 중남부에 위치합니다. 1991년에 유고슬라비아로부터 독립을 선언했습니다.

en: Macedon
ko: 마케돈인

en: ?plural:Macedons
ko: 마케돈인

en: The Kingdom of Macedonia was located in the southern Balkans. Under Alexander the Great it became one of the most powerful states in the world but it splintered into several states after Alexander's death. Macedonia was eventually conquered by Rome in 146 BCE.
ko: 마케도니아 왕국은 발칸반도 남부에 위치했습니다. 알렉산드로스 대왕 치하에서 세계에서 가장 강력한 국가 가운데 하나가 되었지만, 알렉산드로스가 죽은 뒤 여러 국가로 분열되었습니다. 마케도니아는 결국 기원전 146년에 로마에 정복되었습니다.

en: Diadochos %s
ko: 디아도코스 %s

en: Diadocha %s
ko: 디아도카 %s

en: Majapahit
ko: 마자파힛인

en: ?plural:Majapahit
ko: 마자파힛인

en: This empire began in 1293 CE when a local prince used invading Yuan dynasty troops to his own advantage by having them defeat his enemies and then expelling them. The Majapahit, centered in eastern Java, was heavily influenced by Buddhism and Hinduism and was a major regional power in the insular Southeast Asian world, a position which allowed them to control much of the trade between China, India and the Middle East. They lasted until 1500 when they were eclipsed by the Sultanate of Malacca and the rise of Islam in the Indonesian world.
ko: 이 제국은 서기 1293년에 한 지역 왕자가 침입한 원나라 군대를 이용해 자신의 적을 물리치게 한 뒤 그들을 몰아내면서 시작되었습니다. 동자바를 중심으로 한 마자파힛은 불교와 힌두교의 강한 영향을 받았고, 섬 동남아시아 세계의 주요 지역 강국이 되어 중국, 인도, 중동 사이의 무역 상당 부분을 통제할 수 있었습니다. 이들은 말라카 술탄국과 인도네시아 세계에서의 이슬람 부상에 밀려 1500년까지 존속했습니다.

en: Malagasy
ko: 마다가스카르인

en: ?plural:Malagasies
ko: 마다가스카르인

en: The Malagasy are the people of Madagascar. For centuries, tribes from Indonesia, East Africa and the Arab world have gathered on the island.
ko: 마다가스카르인은 마다가스카르의 사람들입니다. 수세기 동안 인도네시아, 동아프리카, 아랍 세계에서 온 부족들이 이 섬에 모여들었습니다.

en: High Commissioner %s
ko: 고등판무관 %s

en: ?female:High Commissioner %s
ko: 여고등판무관 %s

en: Malawian
ko: 말라위인

en: ?plural:Malawians
ko: 말라위인

en: Called Nyasaland by the British, Malawi adopted its current name, referring to the old Maravi Empire upon independence in 1964. The country's politics were dominated by Dr. Hastings Banda for three decades, until he was stripped of his titles in 1993.
ko: 영국인에게 니아살랜드라고 불렸던 말라위는 1964년 독립하면서 옛 마라비 제국을 가리키는 현재의 이름을 채택했습니다. 이 나라의 정치는 헤이스팅스 반다 박사가 1993년에 칭호를 박탈당할 때까지 30년 동안 지배했습니다.

en: Malaysian
ko: 말레이시아인

en: ?plural:Malaysians
ko: 말레이시아인

en: Malaysia was started with the founding of Malacca (Melaka) by Parameswara in the early 14th century.
ko: 말레이시아의 역사는 14세기 초 파라메스와라가 말라카(멜라카)를 세우면서 시작되었습니다.

en: Maldivian
ko: 몰디브인

en: ?plural:Maldivians
ko: 몰디브인

en: The Maldives are an archipelago in the Indian Ocean and the smallest country of Asia. According to tradition, the Maldives became a united sultanate when the Cholas were expelled in the 12th century. The islands were a British protectorate from 1887 to 1965. The monarchy was abolished three years after independence. Today, the Maldives are above all known as a tourist destination.
ko: 몰디브는 인도양의 군도이자 아시아에서 가장 작은 나라입니다. 전승에 따르면 12세기에 촐라가 쫓겨나면서 몰디브는 통일된 술탄국이 되었습니다. 이 섬들은 1887년부터 1965년까지 영국 보호령이었습니다. 군주제는 독립 3년 뒤 폐지되었습니다. 오늘날 몰디브는 무엇보다 관광지로 알려져 있습니다.

en: Malian
ko: 말리인

en: ?plural:Malians
ko: 말리인

en: Mali is a large country in Western Africa. Once part of French Sudan, it gained independence together with Senegal in 1959.
ko: 말리는 서아프리카의 큰 나라입니다. 한때 프랑스령 수단의 일부였으며, 1959년에 세네갈과 함께 독립했습니다.

en: Maltese
ko: 몰타인

en: ?plural:Maltese
ko: 몰타인

en: Malta was first settled around 5200 BCE. Over the centuries, the islands have been ruled by the Phoenicians, Romans, Fatimids, Sicilians, Knights Hospitaller, French, and British. Malta became independent in 1964 and joined the EU in 2004.
ko: 몰타에는 기원전 5200년 무렵 처음 사람이 정착했습니다. 수세기에 걸쳐 이 섬들은 페니키아인, 로마인, 파티마 왕조, 시칠리아인, 구호기사단, 프랑스인, 영국인의 지배를 받았습니다. 몰타는 1964년에 독립했고 2004년에 유럽연합에 가입했습니다.

en: Master %s
ko: 마스터 %s

en: Mistress %s
ko: 미스트리스 %s

en: Mamluk
ko: 맘루크인

en: ?plural:Mamluks
ko: 맘루크인

en: The Mamluks were an Egyptian warrior caste who were recruited from slaves of Turkish or Caucasian origin. The Mamluks were known as elite military units. They held important roles in several Muslim countries. In 1250, they created their own state in Egypt. The Mamluk Sultanate was ruled by two dynasties Mamluks until it was conquered by the Ottoman Turks in 1517.
ko: 맘루크는 튀르크계 또는 캅카스계 노예에서 모집된 이집트의 전사 계급이었습니다. 맘루크는 정예 군사 집단으로 알려졌습니다. 이들은 여러 이슬람 국가에서 중요한 역할을 했습니다. 1250년에 이들은 이집트에 자신들의 국가를 세웠습니다. 맘루크 술탄국은 1517년 오스만 튀르크에 정복될 때까지 두 맘루크 왕조의 지배를 받았습니다.

en: %s Pasha
ko: %s 파샤

en: ?female:%s Pasha
ko: %s 여파샤

en: Manchu
ko: 만주인

en: ?plural:Manchus
ko: 만주인

en: The Manchus were a semi-nomadic people originating from the region called Manchuria in Northeast Asia. In the 17th century they conquered and ruled China as the Manchu Empire until 1911.
ko: 만주인은 동북아시아의 만주라고 불리는 지역에서 기원한 반유목 민족이었습니다. 17세기에 이들은 중국을 정복하고 만주 제국으로서 1911년까지 통치했습니다.

en: Manx
ko: 맨섬인

en: ?plural:Manx
ko: 맨섬인

en: The Isle of Man is an island in the British Isles located between Britain and Ireland. Formally not a part of United Kingdom, it is a self-governing British Crown Dependency. In the Middle Ages it was the center of the Kingdom of Mann and the Isles, and later of the Lordship of Man. Man is noted for having the oldest still functioning parliament in the world, the Tynwald, which has existed since 979 CE. Since 1765 the island depends on Great Britain.
ko: 맨섬은 영국과 아일랜드 사이에 있는 브리튼 제도의 섬입니다. 공식적으로 영국의 일부는 아니며, 자치적인 영국 왕실령입니다. 중세에는 맨과 섬들의 왕국, 이후에는 맨 영주의 중심지였습니다. 맨은 서기 979년부터 존재한 세계에서 가장 오래 운영 중인 의회인 틴월드로 유명합니다. 1765년부터 이 섬은 영국에 의존해 왔습니다.

en: Chief Minister %s
ko: 수석장관 %s

en: ?female:Chief Minister %s
ko: 여수석장관 %s

en: Maori
ko: 마오리인

en: ?plural:Maori
ko: 마오리인

en: The Maori are a Polynesian people that migrated to and settled the island group that is now New Zealand. According to archeological evidence, the migration commenced in the 900s and continued until the 1400s.
ko: 마오리인은 오늘날 뉴질랜드가 된 섬들로 이주해 정착한 폴리네시아 민족입니다. 고고학적 증거에 따르면 이주는 900년대에 시작되어 1400년대까지 계속되었습니다.

en: Mapuche
ko: 마푸체인

en: ?plural:Mapuche
ko: 마푸체인

en: The Mapuche people successfully resisted the expansion of the Inka empire, halting them at the Maule river in what is now central Chile. They proved to be stubborn opponents of the Spanish, too, who, along with their Chilean successors, took 300 years to conquer them.
ko: 마푸체인은 잉카 제국의 확장에 성공적으로 저항해 오늘날 칠레 중부의 마울레강에서 그들을 저지했습니다. 이들은 스페인인에게도 끈질긴 상대임을 보였고, 스페인인과 그 뒤를 이은 칠레인들이 이들을 정복하는 데 300년이 걸렸습니다.

en: Marathi
ko: 마라티인

en: ?plural:Marathis
ko: 마라티인

en: The Marathi are people who inhabit the state of Maharashtra in India. In the 17th century, the Marathi prince Shivaji established the Maratha confederacy, waging war on the Moghul empire and eventually replacing the Moghuls as the main power on the Indian subcontinent.
ko: 마라티인은 인도의 마하라슈트라주에 사는 사람들입니다. 17세기에 마라티 왕자 시바지는 마라타 연맹을 세우고 무굴 제국과 전쟁을 벌였으며, 결국 무굴을 대신해 인도 아대륙의 주요 세력이 되었습니다.

en: High Brahmin %s
ko: 고위 브라만 %s

en: ?female:High Brahmin %s
ko: 고위 여브라만 %s

en: Marshallese
ko: 마셜인

en: ?plural:Marshallese
ko: 마셜인

en: The Marshall Islands is a country in the Western Pacific, just north of the Equator, consisting of a large number of islands and atolls. Populated primarily by Micronesians, the islands became an independent republic in free association with the United States in 1986. In the mid-20th the United States carried out numerous nuclear tests on the islands.
ko: 마셜 제도는 적도 바로 북쪽의 서태평양에 있는 나라로, 많은 섬과 환초로 이루어져 있습니다. 주로 미크로네시아인이 거주하며, 이 섬들은 1986년에 미국과 자유연합을 맺은 독립 공화국이 되었습니다. 20세기 중반 미국은 이 섬들에서 수많은 핵실험을 실시했습니다.

en: Martian
ko: 화성인

en: ?plural:Martians
ko: 화성인

en: Marsmen landed on Earth in 4000 BCE!
ko: 화성인이 기원전 4000년에 지구에 착륙했습니다!

en: Mauritanian
ko: 모리타니인

en: ?plural:Mauritanians
ko: 모리타니인

en: Mauritania is a country in North West Africa, where the Arab and Sub-Saharan African worlds meet. Mauritania became Islamized from the 11th century onwards. Colonized by France in the 19th century, the country became an independent republic in 1960.
ko: 모리타니는 아랍 세계와 사하라 이남 아프리카 세계가 만나는 서북아프리카의 나라입니다. 모리타니는 11세기 이후 이슬람화되었습니다. 19세기에 프랑스의 식민지가 되었고, 1960년에 독립 공화국이 되었습니다.

en: Mauritian
ko: 모리셔스인

en: ?plural:Mauritians
ko: 모리셔스인

en: Mauritius is an island in the Indian Ocean. It was first settled by the Dutch, who named it after Maurice of Nassau. The island is famous for being the habitat of the dodo, which was was brought to extinction within a century after its discovery. The Dutch abandoned the island in 1710 and Mauritius was subsequently settled by the French. During the Napoleonic Wars the island was captured by the British. The island became independent in 1968. Nowadays, Mauritius is one of the most developed countries of Africa. The population is mostly of Indian, African and European origin.
ko: 모리셔스는 인도양의 섬입니다. 처음에는 네덜란드인이 정착했고, 나사우의 마우리츠의 이름을 따서 명명했습니다. 이 섬은 도도의 서식지로 유명하며, 도도는 발견된 지 한 세기 안에 멸종되었습니다. 네덜란드인은 1710년에 섬을 떠났고, 이후 모리셔스에는 프랑스인이 정착했습니다. 나폴레옹 전쟁 중 이 섬은 영국에 점령되었습니다. 이 섬은 1968년에 독립했습니다. 오늘날 모리셔스는 아프리카에서 가장 발전한 나라 중 하나입니다. 인구는 대부분 인도계, 아프리카계, 유럽계입니다.

en: Mazovian
ko: 마조비아인

en: ?plural:Mazovians
ko: 마조비아인

en: Mazovia is a historic and geographic region of central-eastern Poland.
ko: 마조비아는 폴란드 중동부의 역사적·지리적 지역입니다.

en: Mecklenburgian
ko: 메클렌부르크인

en: ?plural:Mecklenburgians
ko: 메클렌부르크인

en: Mecklenburg was erected in the 12th century. Its ruling house, the Obrodites, were of Slavic origin - unique amongst the German states. The dynasty remained in power for eight centuries. The Duchy was divided into Mecklenburg-Strelitz and Mecklenburg-Schwerin. In the 19th century Mecklenburg got the reputation of being the most backward of the German states; its feudal institutions were abolished only at the downfall of the monarchy in 1918. Currently Mecklenburg forms the western two thirds of the German state of Mecklenburg-Cispomerania.
ko: 메클렌부르크는 12세기에 세워졌습니다. 그 지배 가문인 오보드리트 가문은 슬라브계 출신으로, 독일 국가들 가운데 독특한 사례였습니다. 이 왕조는 8세기 동안 권력을 유지했습니다. 공국은 메클렌부르크-슈트렐리츠와 메클렌부르크-슈베린으로 나뉘었습니다. 19세기에 메클렌부르크는 독일 국가들 가운데 가장 낙후되었다는 평판을 얻었으며, 봉건 제도는 1918년 군주제가 무너질 때야 폐지되었습니다. 현재 메클렌부르크는 독일 메클렌부르크-포어포메른주의 서쪽 3분의 2를 이룹니다.

en: Median
ko: 메디아인

en: ?plural:Medians
ko: 메디아인

en: Media was an ancient Iranian state that was created by a Western Iranic people, the Medes, relatives of the European Scythians. Their state preceded the Persian Achaemenid Empire, which was formed as a result of a rebellion of the Persians against the Median ruler Astyages. It was the first multi-ethnic empire and controlled a vast area spanning from the Halys river to what is now Afghanistan.
ko: 메디아는 유럽 스키타이인과 친연 관계가 있는 서이란계 민족인 메디아인이 세운 고대 이란 국가였습니다. 이들의 국가는 페르시아인이 메디아 통치자 아스티아게스에 맞서 반란을 일으킨 결과 형성된 페르시아 아케메네스 제국보다 앞섰습니다. 메디아는 최초의 다민족 제국으로, 할리스강에서 오늘날 아프가니스탄에 이르는 광대한 지역을 지배했습니다.

en: %s Shahanshah
ko: %s 샤한샤

en: Messapian
ko: 메사피아인

en: ?plural:Messapians
ko: 메사피아인

en: The Messapii were an Indo-European tribe that inhabited, in ancient times, Apulia, the south-eastern peninsula of Italy, before being absorbed by the Romans.
ko: 메사피아인은 고대에 이탈리아 남동부 반도인 아풀리아에 살았던 인도유럽계 부족으로, 로마인에게 흡수되었습니다.

en: Métis
ko: 메티스

en: ?plural:Métis
ko: 메티스인

en: The Métis are a people of mixed First Nations (Native American) and European (mostly French) descent living mainly in the Canadian prairie provinces. Together with the First Nations and the Inuit they form one of the three indigenous groups of Canada. In the 19th century the Métis repeatedly rebelled against the British and Canadian authorities.
ko: 메티스는 주로 캐나다 대평원 주들에 사는, 퍼스트 네이션(아메리카 원주민)과 유럽계(대부분 프랑스계)가 섞인 혈통의 사람들입니다. 퍼스트 네이션과 이누이트와 함께 캐나다의 세 원주민 집단 가운데 하나를 이룹니다. 19세기에 메티스는 영국과 캐나다 당국에 여러 차례 반란을 일으켰습니다.

en: Mexican
ko: 멕시코인

en: ?plural:Mexicans
ko: 멕시코인

en: Mexico borrows its name from the Mexica people, another name for the Aztecs. It achieved independence from Spain in 1821. For most of the 19th century the country was wrecked by rebellions and foreign invasions losing more than half of its territory to the United States. A liberal constitution was proclaimed in 1857, leading to ten years of civil war between liberals and conservatives, in which the latter crowned Maximilian of Austria as emperor under French occupation. The French and conservatives were ultimately defeated by the liberals of Benito Juárez in 1867. Mexico entered the modern era under Porfirio Díaz (1876-1911) but social inequality and political repression led to the Mexican Revolution of 1910 which left more than a million dead. The Revolution led to the establishment of a corporatist one party state in 1929. Only in 2000 did Mexico see its first democratic transfer of power.
ko: 멕시코라는 이름은 아즈텍의 또 다른 이름인 멕시카 사람들에게서 빌려 온 것입니다. 멕시코는 1821년에 스페인으로부터 독립했습니다. 19세기 대부분 동안 이 나라는 반란과 외세 침략으로 황폐해졌고, 영토의 절반 이상을 미국에 잃었습니다. 1857년에 자유주의 헌법이 선포되면서 자유주의자와 보수주의자 사이에 10년간의 내전이 벌어졌고, 보수주의자들은 프랑스 점령 아래 오스트리아의 막시밀리안을 황제로 추대했습니다. 프랑스군과 보수주의자들은 결국 1867년에 베니토 후아레스의 자유주의자들에게 패배했습니다. 멕시코는 포르피리오 디아스 시대(1876~1911)에 근대에 들어섰지만, 사회적 불평등과 정치적 억압은 1910년 멕시코 혁명으로 이어져 백만 명 이상이 사망했습니다. 혁명은 1929년에 조합주의적 일당 국가의 수립으로 이어졌습니다. 멕시코가 최초의 민주적 정권 교체를 경험한 것은 2000년에 이르러서였습니다.

en: Miao
ko: 먀오인

en: ?plural:Miao
ko: 먀오인

en: According to Chinese legend, the Yellow Emperor of Huaxia battled and defeated Chi You, leader of the Nine Li tribe, at the Battle of Zhuolu in the 26th century BCE. For the Miao people of modern-day China, Chi You - whom they refer to as "Txiv Yawg" - is a mythical king and founding father of their nation. Most Miao live in southern China, but there is a significant diaspora in southeast Asian countries as well as Europe and North America, of which many belong to the "Hmong" sub-group.
ko: 중국 전설에 따르면, 화하의 황제는 기원전 26세기에 탁록 전투에서 구려 부족의 지도자 치우와 싸워 그를 물리쳤습니다. 오늘날 중국의 먀오족에게 “Txiv Yawg”라고 불리는 치우는 신화적 왕이자 민족의 시조입니다. 대부분의 먀오인은 중국 남부에 살지만, 동남아시아 여러 나라와 유럽, 북아메리카에도 상당한 디아스포라가 있으며, 그중 많은 이들이 “흐몽” 하위 집단에 속합니다.

en: Micronesian
ko: 미크로네시아인

en: ?plural:Micronesian
ko: 미크로네시아인

en: Micronesia is located in the Central Western Pacific. The site of several ancient seafaring cultures, nowadays most of the region is governed by the Federated States of Micronesia.
ko: 미크로네시아는 중서부 태평양에 위치합니다. 여러 고대 해양 문화의 터전이었으며, 오늘날 이 지역 대부분은 미크로네시아 연방이 다스립니다.

en: Mi'kmaq
ko: 미크마크인

en: ?plural:Mi'kmaq
ko: 미크마크인

en: Today numbering roughly 25,000, the Mi'kmaq inhabited (and largely continue to) Nova Scotia. The first Mi'kmaq to convert to Christianity did so in 1610 under French suzerainty. French rule gave way to English and English to Canadian.
ko: 오늘날 약 25,000명에 이르는 미크마크인은 노바스코샤에 살았고, 대체로 지금도 그곳에 살고 있습니다. 기독교로 개종한 최초의 미크마크인은 1610년 프랑스의 종주권 아래에서 개종했습니다. 프랑스의 지배는 영국의 지배로, 영국의 지배는 캐나다의 지배로 바뀌었습니다.

en: Milanese
ko: 밀라노인

en: ?plural:Milanese
ko: 밀라노인

en: Milan is the capital of Lombardy, a region in Northern Italy. From 1395 to 1797 it was the seat of the Duchy of Milan. Lombardy came under Austrian domination after the Napoleonic War. In 1859 it was annexed by Italy.
ko: 밀라노는 이탈리아 북부 롬바르디아의 수도입니다. 1395년부터 1797년까지 밀라노 공국의 중심지였습니다. 롬바르디아는 나폴레옹 전쟁 뒤 오스트리아의 지배 아래 들어갔습니다. 1859년에 이탈리아에 병합되었습니다.

en: Minnesotan
ko: 미네소타인

en: ?plural:Minnesotans
ko: 미네소타인

en: Minnesota is a state located in the American Midwest notable for its cold environment and many lakes present. It was admitted into the union as a state on May 11th, 1858.
ko: 미네소타는 미국 중서부에 위치한 주로, 추운 환경과 많은 호수로 유명합니다. 1858년 5월 11일 주로서 연방에 편입되었습니다.

en: Miskito
ko: 미스키토인

en: ?plural:Miskito
ko: 미스키토인

en: Living along the eponymous Miskito Coast of Nicaragua and Honduras, the Miskito now number around 200,000 people. In 1625, the Miskito came into a long-lasting political relationship with the British Empire, whose interests in the Caribbean were contrary to those of the Spanish Empire. A loosely constructed Miskito 'kingdom' was formed in that year and a dynasty established by kings who went by English names and came under formal British protectorate status in 1740. Official protectorate status ended a century later and in 1894 the Nicaraguan government incorporated the territory.
ko: 니카라과와 온두라스의 같은 이름을 가진 미스키토 해안에 사는 미스키토인은 현재 약 20만 명입니다. 1625년에 미스키토인은 카리브해에서 스페인 제국과 이해관계가 달랐던 영국 제국과 오래 지속되는 정치적 관계를 맺었습니다. 그해 느슨한 미스키토 “왕국”이 형성되었고, 영어식 이름을 쓰는 왕들이 세운 왕조는 1740년에 공식적인 영국 보호령 지위를 얻었습니다. 공식 보호령 지위는 한 세기 뒤 끝났고, 1894년에 니카라과 정부가 그 영토를 편입했습니다.

en: Mitanni
ko: 미탄니인

en: ?plural:Mitanni
ko: 미탄니인

en: Mitanni was an ancient Hurrian kingdom in what is now Northern Syria and Iraq. Mitanni was at the height of its power during the 14th century BCE, during which it rivalled Egypt.
ko: 미탄니는 오늘날 시리아 북부와 이라크에 있던 고대 후르리 왕국이었습니다. 미탄니는 기원전 14세기에 전성기를 맞았고, 이 시기에 이집트와 경쟁했습니다.

en: Mixtec
ko: 믹스텍인

en: ?plural:Mixtecs
ko: 믹스텍인

en: The Mixtecs or Ñuu Savi were one of the major Mesoamerican civilizations. The Mixtec territory was formed by a large number of city states. The Mixtec ruler Eight Deer 'Jaguar Claw', who ruled Tilantongo around 1100 CE, was famous in all of ancient Mexico. In the late 15th century most of the Mixtec territory was occupied by the Aztecs, though parts remained independent until the arrival of the Spanish. Nowadays there are about 700,000 Mixtecs living in the Mexican states of Oaxaca, Guerrero and Puebla, as well as in emigrant communities in Northern Mexico and the US.
ko: 믹스텍 또는 뉴우 사비는 주요 메소아메리카 문명 가운데 하나였습니다. 믹스텍 영토는 많은 도시국가로 이루어져 있었습니다. 서기 1100년 무렵 틸란통고를 다스린 믹스텍 통치자 여덟 사슴 “재규어 발톱”은 고대 멕시코 전역에서 유명했습니다. 15세기 말 믹스텍 영토 대부분은 아즈텍에게 점령되었지만, 일부는 스페인인이 도착할 때까지 독립을 유지했습니다. 오늘날 약 70만 명의 믹스텍인이 멕시코의 오악사카, 게레로, 푸에블라주와 멕시코 북부 및 미국의 이주민 공동체에 살고 있습니다.

en: Moldovan
ko: 몰도바인

en: ?plural:Moldovans
ko: 몰도바인

en: Moldova was conquered by the Ottomans in the 16th century. Then in 1812 Moldova became part of the Russian Empire. From 1918 Moldova was part of Romania until inclusion in the Soviet Union in 1940. The modern Republic of Moldova gained independence from the Soviet Union in 1991.
ko: 몰도바는 16세기에 오스만에게 정복되었습니다. 이후 1812년에 몰도바는 러시아 제국의 일부가 되었습니다. 1918년부터 몰도바는 루마니아의 일부였다가 1940년에 소련에 편입되었습니다. 현대의 몰도바 공화국은 1991년에 소련으로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Moluccan
ko: 몰루카인

en: ?plural:Moluccans
ko: 몰루카인

en: The Moluccas, known as the Spice Islands during the era of colonizations, are an island group in the Indonesian archipelago. Inhabited by Malay peoples, the islands were contested by the Spanish, Portuguese and English but ended up under firm Dutch control by the 16th century. During the decolonization process many Moluccans sided with the Dutch East Indies Army. This, and the centralism exerted by Java after Indonesia's independence in 1949, led to the proclamation of the Republic of the South Moluccas in 1950. The rebellion was crushed, but a government in exile continues to operate, not recognized by any country.
ko: 식민지 시대에 향료 제도로 알려진 몰루카 제도는 인도네시아 군도의 섬들입니다. 말레이계 사람들이 살던 이 섬들은 스페인, 포르투갈, 잉글랜드가 다투었지만, 16세기에는 결국 네덜란드의 확고한 지배 아래 들어갔습니다. 탈식민화 과정에서 많은 몰루카인은 네덜란드령 동인도군 편에 섰습니다. 이것과 1949년 인도네시아 독립 뒤 자바가 행사한 중앙집권주의는 1950년 남몰루카 공화국 선포로 이어졌습니다. 반란은 진압되었지만, 어떤 나라에서도 인정받지 못한 망명 정부가 계속 활동하고 있습니다.

en: Monegasque
ko: 모나코인

en: ?plural:Monegasque
ko: 모나코인

en: With only two square kilometers, Monaco is the second smallest country in the world. It has been ruled by the Grimaldi dynasty ever since the country was founded in 1297. In 1861 Monaco lost more than 95 percent of its territory to France. The principality is noted for its absence of income taxes, its casino and its Formula 1 track. Foreigners make up more than 80 percent of the population. In terms of GDP per capita Monaco is the wealthiest country in the world by a large margin.
ko: 면적이 2제곱킬로미터에 불과한 모나코는 세계에서 두 번째로 작은 나라입니다. 1297년에 나라가 세워진 이후 그리말디 왕조가 계속 다스려 왔습니다. 1861년에 모나코는 영토의 95퍼센트 이상을 프랑스에 잃었습니다. 이 공국은 소득세가 없고, 카지노와 포뮬러 1 서킷으로 유명합니다. 외국인이 인구의 80퍼센트 이상을 차지합니다. 1인당 GDP 기준으로 모나코는 큰 격차로 세계에서 가장 부유한 나라입니다.

en: Minister of State %s
ko: 국무장관 %s

en: ?female:Minister of State %s
ko: 여국무장관 %s

en: Mon
ko: 몬인

en: ?plural:Mons
ko: 몬인

en: The Mon people were among the earliest inhabitants of Southeast Asia and instrumental in the spread of Buddhism in the region.
ko: 몬인은 동남아시아의 가장 이른 주민들 가운데 하나였으며, 이 지역에 불교가 퍼지는 데 중요한 역할을 했습니다.

en: Montenegrin
ko: 몬테네그로인

en: ?plural:Montenegrins
ko: 몬테네그로인

en: Montenegro is a small country on the Balkans, the last to be conquered by the Ottomans and the first to become independent again. Part of Yugoslavia in the 20th century, it dissolved its union with Serbia in 2006.
ko: 몬테네그로는 발칸반도의 작은 나라로, 오스만에게 마지막으로 정복되었고 다시 독립한 첫 나라였습니다. 20세기에 유고슬라비아의 일부였으며, 2006년에 세르비아와의 연방을 해체했습니다.

en: Moravian
ko: 모라비아인

en: ?plural:Moravians
ko: 모라비아인

en: Great Moravia was a Slavic medieval monarchy whose center was located in the areas of modern Moravia region in Czech Republic. Moravia conquered areas of Bohemia, Slovakia, Pannonia and large parts of southern Poland and Lusatia. The first ruler and founder of this state was duke Mojmir I. The Great Moravian state was destroyed as a result of the Hungarian invasion from the eastern steppes. After the defeat of the Hungarians by the Holy Roman Empire, Moravia was turned into a principality, which was in a personal union with Bohemia for most of its history.
ko: 대모라비아는 오늘날 체코의 모라비아 지역에 중심을 둔 슬라브계 중세 군주국이었습니다. 모라비아는 보헤미아, 슬로바키아, 판노니아와 남부 폴란드 및 루사티아의 넓은 지역을 정복했습니다. 이 국가의 첫 통치자이자 창건자는 모이미르 1세 공작이었습니다. 대모라비아 국가는 동쪽 초원에서 온 헝가리인의 침입으로 파괴되었습니다. 헝가리인이 신성 로마 제국에 패배한 뒤 모라비아는 공국이 되었고, 역사 대부분 동안 보헤미아와 동군연합을 이루었습니다.

en: Mordvin
ko: 모르드바인

en: ?plural:Mordvins
ko: 모르드바인

en: The Mordvins are a Finnic people consisting of two subgroups: the Erzya and the Moksha. Mordvins live mainly in the Republic of Mordovia, a subdivision of the Russian Federation.
ko: 모르드바인은 에르자와 목샤라는 두 하위 집단으로 이루어진 핀계 민족입니다. 모르드바인은 주로 러시아 연방의 구성 지역인 모르도비야 공화국에 삽니다.

en: Moroccan
ko: 모로코인

en: ?plural:Moroccans
ko: 모로코인

en: Modern Morocco gained independence in 1956. However, the area has been inhabited since at least 8000 BCE. In classical times the region was known as Mauretania.
ko: 현대 모로코는 1956년에 독립했습니다. 그러나 이 지역에는 적어도 기원전 8000년부터 사람이 살았습니다. 고전 시대에 이 지역은 마우레타니아로 알려졌습니다.

en: Mozambican
ko: 모잠비크인

en: ?plural:Mozambicans
ko: 모잠비크인

en: Mozambique is a country in Southeast Africa. It gained independence from Portugal in 1975.
ko: 모잠비크는 동남아프리카의 나라입니다. 1975년에 포르투갈로부터 독립했습니다.

en: Mughal
ko: 무굴인

en: ?plural:Mughals
ko: 무굴인

en: The Mughal Empire ruled most of the Indian subcontinent throughout the early modern era.
ko: 무굴 제국은 근세 전반에 걸쳐 인도 아대륙 대부분을 통치했습니다.

en: Muscovite
ko: 모스크바인

en: ?plural:Muscovites
ko: 모스크바인

en: Moscow emerged as a regional power and successor to the Kievan Rus' in the 12th century CE. Under the Rurikid dynasty, the Muscovites consolidated power through alliances with the Golden Horde and the Orthodox Church, eventually subduing surrounding cities and principalities including the Novgorod Republic.
ko: 모스크바는 서기 12세기에 지역 강국이자 키예프 루스의 계승자로 등장했습니다. 루리크 왕조 아래 모스크바인은 킵차크 칸국과 정교회와의 동맹을 통해 권력을 강화했고, 결국 노브고로드 공화국을 비롯한 주변 도시와 공국들을 복속시켰습니다.

en: Muskogee
ko: 머스코기인

en: ?plural:Muskogee
ko: 머스코기인

en: The Muskogee was a confederacy of North American tribes, including the Creek, Seminole, Choctaw, and Chickasaw. They were based in the area now encompassed by the U.S. states of Georgia and Alabama. Creek and Seminole tribes briefly formed a sovereign state known as the "State of Muskogee" during the early 1800s.
ko: 머스코기는 크리크, 세미놀, 촉토, 치카소를 포함한 북아메리카 부족들의 연맹이었습니다. 이들은 오늘날 미국 조지아주와 앨라배마주에 해당하는 지역을 기반으로 했습니다. 크리크와 세미놀 부족은 1800년대 초에 “머스코기국”으로 알려진 주권 국가를 잠시 형성했습니다.

en: Mwiska
ko: 무이스카인

en: ?plural:Mwiska
ko: 무이스카인

en: Comprising five states, variously described as chiefdoms and kingdoms, the Mwiska (a.k.a. Muisca) likely numbered between half a million to one million people at the time of Spanish conquest. The two largest of the Mwiska states, Zipa and Zaque, were at conflict with one another when the Spanish came on the scene, with the former being more successful than the latter. Spanish conquest was fairly quick, however, and no rebellion took place after 1541 and the language went extinct in the 18th century.
ko: 추장령 또는 왕국으로 다양하게 묘사되는 다섯 국가로 이루어진 무이스카는 스페인 정복 당시 50만에서 100만 명 사이였을 가능성이 큽니다. 무이스카의 두 가장 큰 국가인 지파와 자케는 스페인인이 등장했을 때 서로 갈등 중이었고, 전자가 후자보다 더 성공적이었습니다. 그러나 스페인의 정복은 상당히 빨랐고, 1541년 이후 반란은 일어나지 않았으며 그 언어는 18세기에 사라졌습니다.

en: Cacique %s
ko: 카시케 %s

en: ?female:Cacique %s
ko: 여카시케 %s

en: Namibian
ko: 나미비아인

en: ?plural:Namibians
ko: 나미비아인

en: Although European Powers long neglected the desertic African Southwest, the German Empire established a colony there in the late nineteenth century. After losing World War I, the territory became a mandate under the responsibility of the Union of South Africa. It finally became independent in 1990, under the name of Namibia.
ko: 유럽 열강은 오랫동안 사막이 많은 아프리카 남서부를 방치했지만, 독일 제국은 19세기 말 그곳에 식민지를 세웠습니다. 제1차 세계 대전에서 패한 뒤 이 영토는 남아프리카 연방이 맡는 위임통치령이 되었습니다. 이 지역은 마침내 1990년에 나미비아라는 이름으로 독립했습니다.

en: Nauruan
ko: 나우루인

en: ?plural:Nauruans
ko: 나우루인

en: Called Pleasant Island by the European colonizers, Nauru is an island in the South Pacific. The island was first settled by Austronesian peoples around 1000 BCE. European contacts led to internecine tribal warfare which decimated the population. Nauru was annexed by the German Empire in 1888 but was occupied by Australia during World War I. In 1968, the Republic of Nauru became independent. Thanks to its enormous phosphate resources, Nauru was for some time the most developed third world country and one of the world's richest countries per capita. With the exhaustion of the phosphate reserves the country has fallen on economic hard times. Offshore banking, immigrant detention centers and musicals have proven unsuccessful to replace phosphate as source of income. Nauru is the world's third smallest country by size, second smallest by population. It is the smallest country in the Southern Hemisphere and the world's smallest republic.
ko: 유럽 식민자들에게 플레전트섬이라고 불렸던 나우루는 남태평양의 섬입니다. 이 섬에는 기원전 1000년 무렵 오스트로네시아계 사람들이 처음 정착했습니다. 유럽과의 접촉은 부족 간 내전으로 이어져 인구를 크게 줄였습니다. 나우루는 1888년에 독일 제국에 병합되었지만 제1차 세계 대전 중 오스트레일리아에 점령되었습니다. 1968년에 나우루 공화국은 독립했습니다. 막대한 인산염 자원 덕분에 나우루는 한때 가장 발전한 제3세계 국가이자 1인당 기준 세계에서 가장 부유한 나라 가운데 하나였습니다. 인산염 매장량이 고갈되면서 이 나라는 경제적으로 어려운 시기를 맞았습니다. 역외 금융, 이민자 구금 시설, 뮤지컬은 인산염을 대체할 수입원으로 성공하지 못했습니다. 나우루는 면적으로 세계에서 세 번째로 작은 나라이고, 인구로는 두 번째로 작은 나라입니다. 남반구에서 가장 작은 나라이고 세계에서 가장 작은 공화국입니다.

en: Navajo
ko: 나바호인

en: ?plural:Navajo
ko: 나바호인

en: The Navajo or Diné are the most populous Native American nation of the United States. They are closely related to the Apache. Their language is famous for being one of the world's most complex.
ko: 나바호 또는 디네는 미국에서 가장 인구가 많은 아메리카 원주민 민족입니다. 이들은 아파치와 가까운 관계입니다. 그들의 언어는 세계에서 가장 복잡한 언어 가운데 하나로 유명합니다.

en: Neapolitan
ko: 나폴리인

en: ?plural:Neapolitans
ko: 나폴리인

en: For centuries the Kingdom of Naples was the largest country on the Italian Peninsula. Many European powers showed interest in the kingdom and its throne changed hands many times. After the Napoleonic Era it was merged with the Kingdom of Sicily.
ko: 수세기 동안 나폴리 왕국은 이탈리아반도에서 가장 큰 나라였습니다. 많은 유럽 강국이 이 왕국에 관심을 보였고, 왕좌의 주인이 여러 번 바뀌었습니다. 나폴레옹 시대 뒤에는 시칠리아 왕국과 합쳐졌습니다.

en: Nenets
ko: 네네츠인

en: ?plural:Nenets
ko: 네네츠인

en: The Nenets are a people living in north-western Russia and the most populous among the Samoyed peoples.
ko: 네네츠인은 러시아 북서부에 사는 민족으로, 사모예드계 민족 가운데 인구가 가장 많습니다.

en: Nepali
ko: 네팔인

en: ?plural:Nepalis
ko: 네팔인

en: Nepal is a landlocked country located in the Himalayas. Long a multi-cultural and multi-lingual nation, its history is characterized by its location between India and China. The Nepalese principalities were united into one kingdom in the 18th century. Nepal became a republic in 2008.
ko: 네팔은 히말라야에 위치한 내륙국입니다. 오랫동안 다문화·다언어 국가였으며, 인도와 중국 사이에 위치한 점이 그 역사적 특징입니다. 네팔의 공국들은 18세기에 하나의 왕국으로 통합되었습니다. 네팔은 2008년에 공화국이 되었습니다.

en: Nestorian
ko: 네스토리우스파

en: ?plural:Nestorians
ko: 네스토리우스파인

en: Legends of Prester John circulated in Europe from the 12th through 17th centuries. The stories told of a Nestorian Christian nation beyond the boundaries of the European world; over time the location of the kingdom moved from India to Central Asia to Ethiopia. The land contained unbelievable riches and creatures, and bordered Earthly Paradise. Because the country was believed to be on the other side of the Muslim world, many Europeans hoped Prester John would be a valuable ally in their quest to end Muslim rule of the Holy Land.
ko: 프레스터 존의 전설은 12세기부터 17세기까지 유럽에 퍼졌습니다. 이 이야기들은 유럽 세계의 경계 너머에 있는 네스토리우스파 기독교 국가를 말했으며, 시간이 흐르면서 그 왕국의 위치는 인도에서 중앙아시아, 에티오피아로 옮겨졌습니다. 그 땅에는 믿기 어려운 부와 생물들이 있었고, 지상 낙원과 맞닿아 있다고 여겨졌습니다. 그 나라가 이슬람 세계의 반대편에 있다고 믿어졌기 때문에, 많은 유럽인은 프레스터 존이 성지의 이슬람 지배를 끝내려는 노력에서 귀중한 동맹이 되기를 바랐습니다.

en: Newfoundland
ko: 뉴펀들랜드인

en: ?plural:Newfoundlanders
ko: 뉴펀들랜드인

en: In precolumbian times Newfoundland and Labrador were settled by the Beothuk, though around 1000 CE for a short time Vikings also settled there. From the late 15th century onward Newfoundland was visited by the Portuguese and English. England and France contested the island until 1713, when France relinquished its claims. Newfoundland became a dominion in 1907. Badly hit by the Great Depression, in 1934 it voluntarily surrendered its sovereignty to the UK. Newfoundland passed to Canada in 1949; currently it is known as the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.
ko: 콜럼버스 이전 시대에 뉴펀들랜드와 래브라도에는 베오투크인이 정착했으며, 서기 1000년 무렵에는 짧은 기간 바이킹도 그곳에 정착했습니다. 15세기 말부터 뉴펀들랜드에는 포르투갈인과 잉글랜드인이 찾아왔습니다. 잉글랜드와 프랑스는 1713년 프랑스가 권리를 포기할 때까지 이 섬을 두고 다투었습니다. 뉴펀들랜드는 1907년에 자치령이 되었습니다. 대공황으로 큰 타격을 받은 뒤 1934년에 자발적으로 영국에 주권을 넘겼습니다. 뉴펀들랜드는 1949년에 캐나다로 넘어갔고, 현재는 뉴펀들랜드 래브라도주로 알려져 있습니다.

en: New Zealand
ko: 뉴질랜드인

en: ?plural:New Zealanders
ko: 뉴질랜드인

en: The island group of New Zealand was annexed by Britain in 1840. Following a royal proclamation in 1907, the country became an independent dominion within the Commonwealth of Nations.
ko: 뉴질랜드의 섬들은 1840년에 영국에 병합되었습니다. 1907년 왕실 포고 뒤 이 나라는 영연방 안의 독립 자치령이 되었습니다.

en: Nicaraguan
ko: 니카라과인

en: ?plural:Nicaraguans
ko: 니카라과인

en: The largest of the Central American republics, Nicaragua is known for its turbulent history. The country lived through numerous civil wars and foreign interventions until Anastasio Somoza established a notoriously corrupt dictatorship in the 1930s. His family continued to rule until 1979, when the last Somoza was overthrown by sandinista revolutionaries, starting 11 years of civil war between the sandinista government and the contras.
ko: 중앙아메리카 공화국들 가운데 가장 큰 니카라과는 격동의 역사로 알려져 있습니다. 이 나라는 아나스타시오 소모사가 1930년대에 악명 높은 부패 독재를 세울 때까지 수많은 내전과 외세 개입을 겪었습니다. 그의 가족은 1979년 마지막 소모사가 산디니스타 혁명가들에게 축출될 때까지 계속 통치했고, 그 뒤 산디니스타 정부와 콘트라 사이에 11년간의 내전이 시작되었습니다.

en: Nigerian
ko: 나이지리아인

en: ?plural:Nigerians
ko: 나이지리아인

en: Nigeria won full independence from British rule in 1960. It is the most populous country of Africa.
ko: 나이지리아는 1960년에 영국 지배로부터 완전한 독립을 얻었습니다. 아프리카에서 인구가 가장 많은 나라입니다.

en: Nigerien
ko: 니제르인

en: ?plural:Nigeriens
ko: 니제르인

en: Niger is a country in the Sahel region of West Africa, named after the Niger river. It achieved independence from France in 1960. Since then it has been ruled intermittently by civil and military governments. One of the poorest countries in the world, Niger ranks rock bottom in international rankings such as the Human Development Index. Niger has both the highest fertility rate and infant mortality rate in the world. Niger should not be confused with Nigeria.
ko: 니제르는 서아프리카 사헬 지역의 나라로, 니제르강에서 이름을 따왔습니다. 1960년에 프랑스로부터 독립했습니다. 이후 민간 정부와 군사 정부가 번갈아 통치했습니다. 세계에서 가장 가난한 나라 가운데 하나인 니제르는 인간개발지수 같은 국제 순위에서 최하위권에 머뭅니다. 니제르는 세계에서 가장 높은 출산율과 영아 사망률을 모두 가지고 있습니다. 니제르는 나이지리아와 혼동해서는 안 됩니다.

en: Nimíipuu
ko: 니미푸

en: ?plural:Nimíipuu
ko: 니미푸인

en: The Nimíipuu, or the 'Real People', in their own language, are better known as the 'Nez Percé'. This Native American nation covered parts of Washington, Oregon, Montana and Idaho and consisted of more than 70 permanent villages in 1800. At this time the population numbered about 6,000. After a defeat by the American cavalry on October 5, 1877, the Nimíipuu were moved to reservations. The elected Nez Percé Tribal Executive Committee now governs tribal affairs.
ko: 자신들의 언어로 “진짜 사람들”을 뜻하는 니미푸는 “네즈퍼스”로 더 잘 알려져 있습니다. 이 아메리카 원주민 민족은 워싱턴, 오리건, 몬태나, 아이다호 일부에 걸쳐 있었고, 1800년에는 70개가 넘는 영구 마을로 이루어져 있었습니다. 이때 인구는 약 6,000명이었습니다. 1877년 10월 5일 미국 기병대에 패한 뒤 니미푸는 보호구역으로 이주되었습니다. 현재 선출된 네즈퍼스 부족 집행위원회가 부족 문제를 다스립니다.

en: Norman
ko: 노르만인

en: ?plural:Normans
ko: 노르만인

en: After several devastating Viking raids on what is today northern France and a siege of Paris, the Frankish king Charles the Simple granted the Viking leader Rollo a fiefdom in the area. This fief evolved into the Duchy of Normandy, of which the most famous duke is William II "the Conqueror" who invaded England in 1066.
ko: 오늘날 프랑스 북부에 대한 여러 차례의 파괴적인 바이킹 습격과 파리 포위 이후, 프랑크 왕 샤를 단순왕은 바이킹 지도자 롤로에게 그 지역의 봉토를 주었습니다. 이 봉토는 노르망디 공국으로 발전했고, 가장 유명한 공작은 1066년에 잉글랜드를 침공한 “정복왕” 윌리엄 2세입니다.

en: Northern Irish
ko: 북아일랜드인

en: ?plural:Northern Irish
ko: 북아일랜드인

en: Northern Ireland is a part of the United Kingdom that occupiesthe northeastern part of the island of Ireland. Northern Ireland has acomplex history of conflict and cooperation between the British unionists,who want to remain in the U.K., and the Irish nationalists, who seek torejoin the Republic of Ireland. The 1998 Good Friday Agreement ended theviolent period known as 'The Troubles' and established a power-sharinggovernment that gives both sides a say in the affairs of the region.Northern Ireland is known for its scenic landscapes and cultural heritage.
ko: 북아일랜드는 아일랜드섬 북동부를 차지하는 영국의 일부입니다. 북아일랜드에는 영국에 남기를 원하는 영국 연합주의자들과 아일랜드 공화국과 다시 합치기를 원하는 아일랜드 민족주의자들 사이의 갈등과 협력으로 이루어진 복잡한 역사가 있습니다. 1998년 성금요일 협정은 “트러블스”로 알려진 폭력의 시기를 끝내고, 양측이 지역 문제에 발언권을 갖는 권력분점 정부를 세웠습니다. 북아일랜드는 아름다운 풍경과 문화유산으로 알려져 있습니다.

en: First Minister %s
ko: 제1장관 %s

en: ?female:First Minister %s
ko: 여제1장관 %s

en: North Korean
ko: 북한인

en: ?plural:North Koreans
ko: 북한인

en: In 1945 Korea was split by the Soviet Union and the United States into two states along the 38th parallel, forming North Korea and South Korea. 60 years on, North Korea remains a communist state of the Stalinist type.
ko: 1945년에 한국은 소련과 미국에 의해 38선을 따라 두 국가로 나뉘어 북한과 남한이 형성되었습니다. 60년이 지난 뒤에도 북한은 스탈린주의형 공산주의 국가로 남아 있습니다.

en: Dear Leader %s
ko: 친애하는 지도자 %s

en: ?female:Dear Leader %s
ko: 친애하는 여지도자 %s

en: Great Leader %s
ko: 위대한 지도자 %s

en: ?female:Great Leader %s
ko: 위대한 여지도자 %s

en: Northumbrian
ko: 노섬브리아인

en: ?plural:Northumbrians
ko: 노섬브리아인

en: The Northumbria was a Medieval kingdom of the Angles, in what is now northern England and southern Scotland. It was created after the unification of Bernicia and Deira by king Aethelfrith. One of the main states of the Anglo-Saxon heptarchy, in the 10th century it was incorporated into England.
ko: 노섬브리아는 오늘날 잉글랜드 북부와 스코틀랜드 남부에 있던 앵글인의 중세 왕국이었습니다. 애설프리스 왕이 베르니키아와 데이라를 통합한 뒤 만들어졌습니다. 앵글로색슨 칠왕국의 주요 국가 가운데 하나였으며, 10세기에 잉글랜드에 편입되었습니다.

en: Norwegian
ko: 노르웨이인

en: ?plural:Norwegians
ko: 노르웨이인

en: After centuries of Danish rule, the Norwegians made their own constitution in Eidsvoll, 1814 CE. Finally, in 1905 CE the Norwegians got their independence after a union with Sweden.
ko: 수세기에 걸친 덴마크 지배 뒤, 노르웨이인은 서기 1814년에 에이즈볼에서 자신들의 헌법을 만들었습니다. 마침내 서기 1905년에 노르웨이인은 스웨덴과의 연합 뒤 독립을 얻었습니다.

en: Novgorodian
ko: 노브고로드인

en: ?plural:Novgorodians
ko: 노브고로드인

en: The Novgorod Republic was was a large Medieval Russian state that stretched from the Baltic Sea to the Ural Mountains. It existed between the 12th and 15th centuries and was centered on the city of Novgorod.
ko: 노브고로드 공화국은 발트해에서 우랄산맥까지 뻗은 큰 중세 러시아 국가였습니다. 12세기부터 15세기까지 존재했고 노브고로드시를 중심으로 했습니다.

en: Nubian
ko: 누비아인

en: ?plural:Nubians
ko: 누비아인

en: A succession of kingdoms stretching roughly from the 1st to the 6th cataracts of the Nile river in modern Sudan and Egypt, Nubia was ancient Egypt's perennial neighbor, competitor, trading partner, enemy, and source of gold, slaves and soldiers to the south. The border between the two nations fluctuated time and time again. Lower Nubia was at times ruled by Egypt. The 25th Dynasty of Egypt, however, was a Nubian dynasty, and one that saw conflict with Assyria, which eventually wrested Egypt from Nubia. Brief conflict occurred with Rome in 24 BCE when Nubian armies routed the Roman garrison with its famed archers. Nubia was a nation shaped by its position between the Mediterranean world and the African interior. Large Nubian states centered on Napata and later Meroe broke into smaller Christian kingdoms which persisted into medieval times before being conquered by Muslim Arabs.
ko: 현대 수단과 이집트의 나일강 제1폭포에서 제6폭포까지 대략 이어진 여러 왕국의 연속체인 누비아는 고대 이집트 남쪽의 오랜 이웃이자 경쟁자, 교역 상대, 적, 그리고 금·노예·병사의 공급원이었습니다. 두 나라의 국경은 계속 변했습니다. 하누비아는 때때로 이집트의 지배를 받았습니다. 그러나 이집트 제25왕조는 누비아 왕조였고, 결국 이집트를 누비아에게서 빼앗은 아시리아와 충돌했습니다. 기원전 24년에 누비아 군대가 유명한 궁수들로 로마 수비대를 격파하면서 로마와 짧은 충돌이 일어났습니다. 누비아는 지중해 세계와 아프리카 내륙 사이에 위치한 입지로 형성된 나라였습니다. 나파타와 이후 메로에를 중심으로 한 큰 누비아 국가들은 더 작은 기독교 왕국들로 갈라졌고, 이들은 이슬람 아랍인에게 정복되기 전까지 중세까지 존속했습니다.

en: Pharaoh %s
ko: 파라오 %s

en: ?female:Pharaoh %s
ko: 여파라오 %s

en: Great Pharaoh %s
ko: 대파라오 %s

en: ?female:Great Pharaoh %s
ko: 여대파라오 %s

en: Numidian
ko: 누미디아인

en: ?plural:Numidians
ko: 누미디아인

en: The Numidians were an ancient Berber people renowned for their horsemanship who were composed of two main tribes in modern Algeria and Tunisia: the Massyli in the east and the Massaesyli in the west. They were united under King Massinissa, whose position was guaranteed by his Roman allies after the 2nd Punic War in which he aided the Romans in their defeat of the Carthaginians. His unified kingdom was short-lived, however, as the west was given to the Mauretanian king by the Romans following the death of King Jugurtha. Eventually all of Numidia and Mauretania were added to the Roman realm.
ko: 누미디아인은 기마술로 유명한 고대 베르베르 민족으로, 오늘날 알제리와 튀니지 지역의 두 주요 부족, 동쪽의 마실리와 서쪽의 마사에실리로 이루어져 있었습니다. 이들은 마시니사 왕 아래 통합되었고, 그는 제2차 포에니 전쟁에서 로마가 카르타고인을 물리치는 것을 도운 뒤 로마 동맹국들에 의해 지위를 보장받았습니다. 그러나 그의 통일 왕국은 오래가지 못했습니다. 유구르타 왕이 죽은 뒤 로마인이 서부를 마우레타니아 왕에게 넘겼기 때문입니다. 결국 누미디아와 마우레타니아 전체가 로마 영역에 편입되었습니다.

en: Nuu-chah-nulth
ko: 누차눌스인

en: ?plural:Nuu-chah-nulth
ko: 누차눌스인

en: The Nuu-chah-nulth are a Pacific Northwest people, one of the few Native American peoples to travel in the open ocean and hunt whales. They inhabited most of what is now western Vancouver Island and now number over 8,000 individuals. Like other people of the Pacific Northwest, they built large wooden canoes and houses and lived in clan systems.
ko: 누차눌스인은 태평양 북서부의 민족으로, 넓은 바다를 항해하고 고래를 사냥한 몇 안 되는 아메리카 원주민 가운데 하나입니다. 이들은 오늘날 밴쿠버섬 서부 대부분에 살았고, 현재 인구는 8,000명이 넘습니다. 태평양 북서부의 다른 민족처럼 큰 목제 카누와 집을 만들었고 씨족 체계 속에서 살았습니다.

en: Occitan
ko: 옥시타니아인

en: ?plural:Occitans
ko: 옥시타니아인

en: Although Occitania never had a real political unity (it consisted of several counties and duchies in today's southern France), its culture enjoyed great prestige all over Europe during the 11th, 12th and 13th centuries, Occitan being the language of troubadours. Its religious freedom allowed the flourishing of Catharism, which was declared heretic by the Pope, and the French kings took advantage of the subsequent crusade to annex its territory.
ko: 옥시타니아는 실제 정치적 통일을 이룬 적이 없었지만(오늘날 프랑스 남부의 여러 백국과 공국으로 이루어졌습니다), 11세기, 12세기, 13세기 동안 그 문화는 유럽 전역에서 큰 명성을 누렸고, 옥시탄어는 트루바두르의 언어였습니다. 종교적 자유는 카타리파의 번성을 가능하게 했고, 교황이 이를 이단으로 선언하자 프랑스 왕들은 이어진 십자군을 이용해 그 영토를 병합했습니다.

en: Viscount %s
ko: 자작 %s

en: Viscountess %s
ko: 여자작 %s

en: Ohlone
ko: 오흘로니인

en: ?plural:Ohlone
ko: 오흘로니인

en: Gatherers, hunters and fishermen, the Ohlone lived in over 40 bands stretching from the San Francisco Bay south to the Salinas Valley. They spoke eight distinct yet related languages and though they shared many cultural traits common to other Native Californian peoples, the Ohlone were also diverse in some finer aspects of culture. Their way of life changed dramatically when the Spanish arrived in 1769 and disease and the injustices of Mission life came to replace their earlier lives. Though the last fluent speaker of an Ohlone language died in 1939, the Ohlone are today federally recognized as 7 tribes.
ko: 채집민, 사냥꾼, 어부였던 오흘로니인은 샌프란시스코만에서 남쪽 살리나스 계곡까지 이어진 40개가 넘는 무리로 살았습니다. 이들은 서로 구별되지만 관련 있는 여덟 언어를 사용했고, 다른 캘리포니아 원주민들과 공통된 많은 문화적 특징을 공유했지만 세부 문화에서는 다양했습니다. 1769년에 스페인인이 도착하면서 그들의 삶의 방식은 극적으로 바뀌었고, 질병과 선교 생활의 부당함이 이전의 삶을 대신했습니다. 오흘로니어를 유창하게 구사한 마지막 사람이 1939년에 사망했지만, 오늘날 오흘로니인은 연방에서 7개 부족으로 인정받고 있습니다.

en: Oldenburgian
ko: 올덴부르크인

en: ?plural:Oldenburgians
ko: 올덴부르크인

en: Initially a vassal of the dukes of Saxony, Oldenburg became a county directly suzerain to the Holy Roman Emperor in the 12th century. In 1450, when count Christian VI became king Christian I of Denmark, the country entered into a personal union with Denmark. A second union with Denmark existed from 1667 to 1773. Oldenburg's dynasty also ruled Schleswig-Holstein, Russia and Sweden at some point in time. Oldenburg became a grand duchy in 1815 and a republic in 1918. In 1931 it was the first German state to vote the Nazi Party into power. After World War II, Oldenburg was merged with Hanover to form the state of Lower Saxony.
ko: 처음에는 작센 공작들의 봉신이었던 올덴부르크는 12세기에 신성 로마 황제에게 직접 종속된 백국이 되었습니다. 1450년에 크리스티안 6세 백작이 덴마크의 크리스티안 1세가 되면서 이 나라는 덴마크와 동군연합을 이루었습니다. 덴마크와의 두 번째 연합은 1667년부터 1773년까지 존재했습니다. 올덴부르크 왕조는 한때 슐레스비히-홀슈타인, 러시아, 스웨덴도 다스렸습니다. 올덴부르크는 1815년에 대공국이 되었고 1918년에 공화국이 되었습니다. 1931년에는 나치당을 권력에 올린 최초의 독일 주가 되었습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 올덴부르크는 하노버와 합쳐져 니더작센주를 형성했습니다.

en: Old Prussian
ko: 고대 프로이센인

en: ?plural:Old Prussians
ko: 고대 프로이센인

en: The Prussians were Baltic peoples inhabiting the area between the Pomerania, Mazovia, Lithuania and the Baltic Sea (Baltic coast between the lower Vistula and lower Nemen). They were conquered and germanized by the Teutonic Order.
ko: 프로이센인은 포메라니아, 마조비아, 리투아니아, 발트해 사이의 지역, 즉 비스와강 하류와 네만강 하류 사이의 발트해 해안에 살던 발트계 민족이었습니다. 이들은 튜턴 기사단에게 정복되어 독일화되었습니다.

en: Omani
ko: 오만인

en: ?plural:Omanis
ko: 오만인

en: Oman is an Arab country in southwest Asia on the southeast coast of the Arabian Peninsula. Before the arrival of Islam Oman was controlled by Achaemenids, Parthians and Sassanids.
ko: 오만은 아라비아반도 남동쪽 해안의 서남아시아에 있는 아랍 국가입니다. 이슬람이 도래하기 전 오만은 아케메네스 왕조, 파르티아, 사산 왕조의 지배를 받았습니다.

en: General Commander %s
ko: 총사령관 %s

en: ?female:General Commander %s
ko: 여총사령관 %s

en: Ossetian
ko: 오세트인

en: ?plural:Ossetians
ko: 오세트인

en: Modern Ossetians are the successors of the Alans of Ancient history, who fled into the mountains during the Hunnic invasions. Around 800 CE an Alanic kingdom emerged in the Northern Caucasus, which continued to exist until the Mongol invasions. Nowadays Ossetians live in the Republic of North Ossetia (part of the Russian Federation) and in the partially recognized Republic of South Ossetia.
ko: 현대 오세트인은 훈족의 침입 때 산으로 피신한 고대 알란인의 후계자입니다. 서기 800년 무렵 북캅카스에 알란 왕국이 등장했고, 몽골 침입 때까지 계속 존재했습니다. 오늘날 오세트인은 러시아 연방의 일부인 북오세티야 공화국과 부분적으로 승인된 남오세티야 공화국에 삽니다.

en: Ostrogothic
ko: 동고트인

en: ?plural:Ostrogoths
ko: 동고트인

en: The Ostrogoths or Greuthungi (meaning people of the steppe, in contrast to the Visigoths-Tervingi, living in the more wooded areas) were an East Germanic people, one of the two tribes of Goths. They conquered Italy from Odoacer and founded their kingdom there. In the 5th century the Ostrogothic kingdom was crushed by the Byzantines in a war that depopulated much of Italy.
ko: 동고트인 또는 그레우퉁기는 동게르만 민족으로, 고트족의 두 부족 가운데 하나였습니다. 그레우퉁기는 숲이 더 많은 지역에 살던 서고트-테르빙기와 대조되어 “초원의 사람들”을 뜻합니다. 이들은 오도아케르에게서 이탈리아를 정복하고 그곳에 왕국을 세웠습니다. 5세기에 동고트 왕국은 이탈리아의 많은 지역을 황폐화한 전쟁에서 비잔티움인에게 무너졌습니다.

en: Otomí
ko: 오토미

en: ?plural:Otomíes
ko: 오토미인

en: The Otomí are one of the most ancient peoples of Mexico. They have lived in Central Mexico ever since the development of agriculture or even longer. A warlike people, they served as mercenaries in the armies of many Mesoamerican civilizations and got their name from the otmitl, the crack military order of the Aztecs, in which many of them served. In their own language they are called Hñähñu. With more than half a million people the Otomí are still one of the biggest indigenous groups of Mexico.
ko: 오토미인은 멕시코에서 가장 오래된 민족 가운데 하나입니다. 이들은 농업이 발달한 이후, 혹은 그보다 더 오래 전부터 멕시코 중부에 살아왔습니다. 호전적인 민족이었던 이들은 여러 메소아메리카 문명의 군대에서 용병으로 복무했고, 그들 중 많은 이들이 복무한 아즈텍의 정예 군사 조직 오트미틀에서 이름을 얻었습니다. 자신들의 언어로는 흐냐흐뉴라고 불립니다. 50만 명이 넘는 오토미인은 여전히 멕시코에서 가장 큰 토착 집단 가운데 하나입니다.

en: Ottoman
ko: 오스만인

en: ?plural:Ottomans
ko: 오스만인

en: In the beginning of the 14th century Osman, a leader of a minor Turkish tribe in western Anatolia, conquered all his neighboring tribes. A century later the Byzantine capital fell to Turkish rule which gave the Ottoman empire access to Europe. The Ottomans subsequently conquered large parts of south-eastern Europe, the Islamic Arab world as well as Egypt and much of North Africa, making it a regional superpower until its dissolution in the aftermath of World War I.
ko: 14세기 초 아나톨리아 서부의 작은 튀르크 부족 지도자 오스만은 이웃 부족들을 모두 정복했습니다. 한 세기 뒤 비잔티움 수도가 튀르크의 지배 아래 들어가면서 오스만 제국은 유럽으로 진출할 수 있게 되었습니다. 이후 오스만은 동남유럽의 넓은 지역, 이슬람 아랍 세계, 이집트와 북아프리카 대부분을 정복해 제1차 세계 대전 이후 해체될 때까지 지역 초강대국이 되었습니다.

en: Padishah %s
ko: 파디샤 %s

en: ?female:Padishah %s
ko: 여파디샤 %s

en: Ozite
ko: 오즈인

en: ?plural:Ozites
ko: 오즈인

en: The land of Oz was created by L. Frank Baum in 1900 in 'The Wonderful Wizard of Oz' and was subsequently embellished in a number of other books. The country consists of four main territories: Winkie Country, Quadling Country, Munchkin Country, and Gillikin Country. Oz is surrounded by an impassable desert.
ko: 오즈의 나라는 1900년에 L. 프랭크 바움이 《오즈의 마법사》에서 창조했으며, 이후 여러 다른 책에서 확장되었습니다. 이 나라는 윙키 나라, 쿼들링 나라, 먼치킨 나라, 길리킨 나라라는 네 주요 지역으로 이루어져 있습니다. 오즈는 통과할 수 없는 사막으로 둘러싸여 있습니다.

en: Wizard %s
ko: 마법사 %s

en: Witch %s
ko: 마녀 %s

en: Paeonian
ko: 파이오니아인

en: ?plural:Paeonians
ko: 파이오니아인

en: The Paeonians were an ancient people that inhabited the areas north of Macedon, between the Thracian and Illyrian tribes. Their language probably had a mixed Thraco-Illyrian origin. The seat of the Paeonian kings was Bylazora. In 360-359 BCE, southern Paeonian tribes launched raids into Macedon, but the Macedons defeated and conquered them. A Paeonian military contingent participated in the expedition of Alexander the Great to Persia.
ko: 파이오니아인은 마케돈 북쪽, 트라키아인과 일리리아인 사이의 지역에 살던 고대 민족이었습니다. 그들의 언어는 아마 트라키아-일리리아 혼합 기원이었을 것입니다. 파이오니아 왕들의 중심지는 빌라조라였습니다. 기원전 360~359년에 남부 파이오니아 부족들이 마케돈을 습격했지만, 마케돈인은 이들을 물리치고 정복했습니다. 파이오니아 군사 부대는 알렉산드로스 대왕의 페르시아 원정에 참여했습니다.

en: Pakistani
ko: 파키스탄인

en: ?plural:Pakistanis
ko: 파키스탄인

en: The Federation of Pakistan was formed from the predominantly Muslim regions of British India in 1947.
ko: 파키스탄 연방은 1947년에 영국령 인도의 주로 무슬림이 많던 지역들로부터 형성되었습니다.

en: Palatinate
ko: 팔츠 독일인

en: ?plural:Palatinate Germans
ko: 팔츠 독일인

en: The Electoral Palatinate was one of the electorates of the Holy Roman Empire, located on the banks of the Rhine. It had a volatile political history, continuously splitting and reuniting. Elector Frederick V's capture of the Bohemian throne sparked the Thirty Years War in 1618, in which much of the area was devastated. The Palatinate was united in a personal union with Bavaria in 1777. Currently it is part of the German state of Rhineland-Palatinate, with smaller areas in Baden-Wuerttemberg and Bavaria.
ko: 팔츠 선제후국은 라인강 기슭에 위치한 신성 로마 제국의 선제후국 가운데 하나였습니다. 계속 분열과 재통합을 반복하는 불안정한 정치사를 지녔습니다. 선제후 프리드리히 5세가 보헤미아 왕위를 차지한 일은 1618년 30년 전쟁을 촉발했고, 이 전쟁으로 지역의 상당 부분이 황폐해졌습니다. 팔츠는 1777년에 바이에른과 동군연합을 이루었습니다. 현재는 독일 라인란트팔츠주의 일부이며, 더 작은 지역은 바덴뷔르템베르크와 바이에른에 속합니다.

en: Count Palatine %s
ko: 팔츠 백작 %s

en: Countess Palatine %s
ko: 팔츠 여백작 %s

en: Palauan
ko: 팔라우인

en: ?plural:Palauans
ko: 팔라우인

en: Palaos is a very little country, with only 20000 inhabitants approximately. It is composed of more than 300 islands of volcanic origin.
ko: 팔라우는 인구가 약 20,000명에 불과한 매우 작은 나라입니다. 화산 기원의 300개가 넘는 섬으로 이루어져 있습니다.

en: Palestinian
ko: 팔레스타인인

en: ?plural:Palestinian
ko: 팔레스타인인

en: Palestinians are the Arab inhabitants of the former British mandate of Palestine.
ko: 팔레스타인인은 옛 영국 위임통치령 팔레스타인의 아랍 주민들입니다.

en: Palmyrene
ko: 팔미라인

en: ?plural:Palmyrenes
ko: 팔미라인

en: Palmyra was a breakaway Roman state in Asia governed by queen Zenobia. In 273 CE Aurelian brought it back under Roman control.
ko: 팔미라는 제노비아 여왕이 다스린 아시아의 로마 이탈 국가였습니다. 서기 273년에 아우렐리아누스가 이를 다시 로마의 지배 아래 두었습니다.

en: Dictatrix %s
ko: 여독재자 %s

en: Panamanian
ko: 파나마인

en: ?plural:Panamanians
ko: 파나마인

en: Located on a narrow isthmus connecting North and South America, Panama is world famous for the Panama canal. Panama declared independence from Colombia in 1903 under US protection. Panamanian politics remained dominated by the United States for most of the 20th century, most notably in 1989 when the United States launched a military invasion to unseat and arrest General Noriega. Sovereignty over the Canal Zone was transferred to Panama in 1999. Panama is one of the few countries in the world without a standing army.
ko: 북아메리카와 남아메리카를 잇는 좁은 지협에 위치한 파나마는 파나마 운하로 세계적으로 유명합니다. 파나마는 1903년에 미국의 보호 아래 콜롬비아로부터 독립을 선언했습니다. 파나마 정치는 20세기 대부분 동안 미국의 지배를 받았으며, 특히 1989년에 미국이 노리에가 장군을 축출하고 체포하기 위해 군사 침공을 감행한 일이 두드러집니다. 운하 지대에 대한 주권은 1999년에 파나마로 이양되었습니다. 파나마는 상비군이 없는 세계의 몇 안 되는 나라 중 하나입니다.

en: Papua New Guinean
ko: 파푸아뉴기니인

en: ?plural:Papua New Guineans
ko: 파푸아뉴기니인

en: Papua New Guinea is a country occupying the eastern part of the island of New Guinea. Inhabited since time immemorial by Papuan peoples, it was colonized by the British and Germans in the late 19th century. During World War I Papua New Guinea was transferred to Australia. It became an independent country in 1975.
ko: 파푸아뉴기니는 뉴기니섬 동부를 차지하는 나라입니다. 태곳적부터 파푸아인이 살았고, 19세기 말 영국과 독일의 식민지가 되었습니다. 제1차 세계 대전 중 파푸아뉴기니는 오스트레일리아로 넘어갔습니다. 1975년에 독립국이 되었습니다.

en: Governor-General %s
ko: 총독 %s

en: ?female:Governor-General %s
ko: 여총독 %s

en: Papuan
ko: 파푸아인

en: ?plural:Papuans
ko: 파푸아인

en: The Papuans are the indigenous inhabitants of the island of New Guinea. They are the descendants of the people who first settled the island 40,000 years ago. Agriculture was developed in the New Guinean Highlands about 6,000 years ago, though many Papuan tribes, especially those on the coast, continue to live as hunter-gatherers. Some Papuan tribes are still uncontacted. The various Papua groups are highly diverse culturally, ethnically and linguistically; New Guinea harbors no less than a quarter of the world's languages. The western part of the island was colonized by the Dutch, the eastern part by the Germans, the British, the Japanese and finally the Australians. The eastern part has been independent as Papua New Guinea since 1975. West Papua was occupied by Indonesia upon the withdrawal of the Dutch in 1963, though indigenous activists have been struggling for independence ever since.
ko: 파푸아인은 뉴기니섬의 토착 주민입니다. 이들은 4만 년 전 이 섬에 처음 정착한 사람들의 후손입니다. 약 6,000년 전 뉴기니 고지에서 농업이 발달했지만, 많은 파푸아 부족, 특히 해안 지역의 부족들은 여전히 수렵채집 생활을 이어가고 있습니다. 일부 파푸아 부족은 아직 외부와 접촉하지 않았습니다. 여러 파푸아 집단은 문화적·민족적·언어적으로 매우 다양하며, 뉴기니에는 세계 언어의 4분의 1 이상이 존재합니다. 섬의 서부는 네덜란드가, 동부는 독일, 영국, 일본, 그리고 마지막으로 오스트레일리아가 식민지화했습니다. 동부는 1975년부터 파푸아뉴기니로 독립했습니다. 서파푸아는 1963년 네덜란드가 철수하면서 인도네시아에 점령되었지만, 토착 활동가들은 그 이후로 독립을 위해 투쟁해 왔습니다.

en: Paraguayan
ko: 파라과이인

en: ?plural:Paraguayans
ko: 파라과이인

en: Paraguay is located in the heartland of South America. It was conquered by the Spanish in the late 16th century. The colony was mostly controlled by the Jesuits until their expulsion in 1767. In 1811, Paraguay was the first South American country to achieve independence from Spain. A number of highly authoritarian rulers governed the country as a tyranny but also turned it into a military and economic powerhouse. The War of the Triple Alliance of 1864-1870 led to the near annihilation of Paraguay, which lost half of its territory and eighty per cent of its male population. Paraguay's history remains marked by instability and authoritarianism, although it managed to defeat Bolivia in the Chaco War of 1932-1936. For much of the 20th century the country was ruled by General Stroessner, who provided a safe haven for Nazi war criminals. Around the turn of the millennium however Paraguay started to see a democratic system of government and an impressive economic growth.
ko: 파라과이는 남아메리카의 중심부에 위치합니다. 16세기 말 스페인인에게 정복되었습니다. 식민지는 1767년에 추방될 때까지 대부분 예수회가 통제했습니다. 1811년에 파라과이는 남아메리카에서 스페인으로부터 독립한 첫 나라가 되었습니다. 여러 매우 권위주의적인 통치자들이 폭정으로 나라를 다스렸지만, 동시에 군사·경제 강국으로 만들었습니다. 1864~1870년 삼국 동맹 전쟁은 파라과이를 거의 절멸 상태로 몰아넣었고, 파라과이는 영토의 절반과 남성 인구의 80퍼센트를 잃었습니다. 파라과이는 1932~1936년 차코 전쟁에서 볼리비아를 물리쳤지만, 그 역사는 여전히 불안정과 권위주의로 특징지어집니다. 20세기 대부분 동안 이 나라는 나치 전범들에게 안전한 피난처를 제공한 스트로에스네르 장군의 지배를 받았습니다. 그러나 밀레니엄 전환기 무렵 파라과이는 민주적 정부 체제와 인상적인 경제 성장을 보기 시작했습니다.

en: Parthian
ko: 파르티아인

en: ?plural:Parthians
ko: 파르티아인

en: The Parthians were originally a nomadic people from Central Asia who inhabited the Parthia region of the Seleucid Empire. Under the leadership of the satrap Arsakes they drove the Seleucids from Iran, where they created their own strong empire. Their culture was Hellenistic.
ko: 파르티아인은 원래 셀레우코스 제국의 파르티아 지역에 살던 중앙아시아 출신 유목 민족이었습니다. 사트라프 아르사케스의 지도 아래 이들은 이란에서 셀레우코스 세력을 몰아내고 자신들의 강력한 제국을 세웠습니다. 그들의 문화는 헬레니즘적이었습니다.

en: Shah %s
ko: 샤 %s

en: Shahbanu %s
ko: 샤바누 %s

en: Pashtun
ko: 파슈툰인

en: ?plural:Pashtuns
ko: 파슈툰인

en: The Pashtuns are an ethnic group that lives mainly in Afghanistan and Pakistan. They speak Pashto, a language closely related to Persian, and live by an age-old code of honor known as Pashtunwali.
ko: 파슈툰인은 주로 아프가니스탄과 파키스탄에 사는 민족 집단입니다. 이들은 페르시아어와 가까운 파슈토어를 사용하며, 파슈툰왈리로 알려진 오래된 명예 규범에 따라 삽니다.

en: Pelasgian
ko: 펠라스고이인

en: ?plural:Pelasgians
ko: 펠라스고이인

en: Pelasgians or Pelasgoi were an ancient pre-Greek people of Greece. Much is still unknown about them, but it is probable they were of pre-Indo-European origin.
ko: 펠라스고이 또는 펠라스기인은 그리스의 고대 선그리스 민족이었습니다. 그들에 대해서는 아직도 많은 것이 알려져 있지 않지만, 선인도유럽계 기원이었을 가능성이 큽니다.

en: Peruvian
ko: 페루인

en: ?plural:Peruvians
ko: 페루인

en: Peru was the cradle of the Inca Empire and civilization. It is still today a major center of indigenous South American culture.
ko: 페루는 잉카 제국과 문명의 요람이었습니다. 오늘날에도 남아메리카 토착 문화의 주요 중심지입니다.

en: Phoenician
ko: 페니키아인

en: ?plural:Phoenicians
ko: 페니키아인

en: Phoenicia was an ancient civilization, based in what is now the coastal regions of Lebanon and Syria. They spoke a Canaanite language related to Hebrew and were famed mariners. Their alphabet served as the source of the Greek alphabet, and from there evolved into the Etruscan and Latin alphabets as well. The Greeks and Romans knew them for their manufacture of purple dye from the murex shell, which gave them their Greek and Latin names. They referred to themselves as Kan'ani and their Punic (Carthaginian) descendants in St. Augustine's day called themselves Chanani.
ko: 페니키아는 오늘날 레바논과 시리아의 해안 지역을 기반으로 한 고대 문명이었습니다. 이들은 히브리어와 관련 있는 가나안어를 사용했고, 뛰어난 항해자로 유명했습니다. 그들의 알파벳은 그리스 알파벳의 원천이 되었고, 거기서 에트루리아 문자와 라틴 문자도 발전했습니다. 그리스인과 로마인은 이들이 뿔고둥 껍데기에서 자주색 염료를 제조한 것으로 알고 있었고, 여기서 그리스어와 라틴어 이름이 유래했습니다. 이들은 자신들을 카나아니라고 불렀고, 성 아우구스티누스 시대의 포에니(카르타고) 후손들은 자신들을 차나니라고 불렀습니다.

en: Phrygian
ko: 프리기아인

en: ?plural:Phrygians
ko: 프리기아인

en: The Phrygians were an ancient Indo-European people, probably related to the Greeks or Thracians. They arrived in Anatolia around the twelfth century BCE, at the time of the invasion of the Sea Peoples in the Eastern Mediterranean region. The arrival of the Phrygians has been associated by some historians with the fall of the Hittite State. After the Macedonian conquest of the Achaemenid Empire and after the arrival of the Galatians to Anatolia, the Phrygians succumbed to Hellenization.
ko: 프리기아인은 고대 인도유럽계 민족으로, 아마 그리스인이나 트라키아인과 관련이 있었을 것입니다. 이들은 동지중해 지역에서 바다 민족의 침입이 일어나던 기원전 12세기 무렵 아나톨리아에 도착했습니다. 일부 역사가는 프리기아인의 도래를 히타이트 국가의 몰락과 관련지었습니다. 마케도니아가 아케메네스 제국을 정복하고 갈라티아인이 아나톨리아에 도착한 뒤, 프리기아인은 헬레니즘화되었습니다.

en: Pictish
ko: 픽트인

en: ?plural:Picts
ko: 픽트인

en: The Picts were the indigenous inhabitants of Caledonia, Ancient Scotland. They were probably Celtic or maybe Celticized pre-Indo-Europeans. They were given the name Picts, 'painted people', by the Romans because of their custom of tattooing their bodies. The Picts survived until well into the Middle Ages but by the 11th century they had been assimilated by the Gaelic Scots.
ko: 픽트인은 고대 스코틀랜드인 칼레도니아의 토착 주민이었습니다. 이들은 아마 켈트계였거나 켈트화된 선인도유럽계였을 수 있습니다. 몸에 문신을 새기는 관습 때문에 로마인은 이들에게 “칠해진 사람들”이라는 뜻의 픽트라는 이름을 붙였습니다. 픽트인은 중세 깊숙한 시기까지 살아남았지만, 11세기에는 게일계 스코트인에게 동화되었습니다.

en: Piedmontese
ko: 피에몬테인

en: ?plural:Piedmontese
ko: 피에몬테인

en: Piedmont was formed when the Duchy of Savoy elevated itself to the status of a kingdom in 1720. Officially it was a constituent part of the Kingdom of Sardinia-Piedmont. The area was occupied by Napoleon in 1796 but reasserted its independence in 1814. Sardinia-Piedmont was one of the leading states of the Risorgimiento, Italy's national rebirth. In 1861 it was merged into the newly formed kingdom of Italy, the last Piedmontese king becoming the first king of Italy. Currently it is one of the regions of Italy.
ko: 피에몬테는 사보이 공국이 1720년에 왕국 지위로 올라서면서 형성되었습니다. 공식적으로는 사르데냐-피에몬테 왕국의 구성 부분이었습니다. 이 지역은 1796년에 나폴레옹에게 점령되었지만 1814년에 독립을 회복했습니다. 사르데냐-피에몬테는 이탈리아의 민족적 부흥인 리소르지멘토의 주도 국가 가운데 하나였습니다. 1861년에 새로 형성된 이탈리아 왕국에 병합되었고, 마지막 피에몬테 왕은 이탈리아의 첫 왕이 되었습니다. 현재는 이탈리아의 한 지역입니다.

en: Pontic
ko: 폰토스인

en: ?plural:Pontians
ko: 폰토스인

en: Pontus is a region on the Black Sea coast of Asia Minor, currently part of Turkey but historically part of the Greek cultural realm. A Hellenistic Kingdom of Pontus was founded in the 3rd century BCE, which reached its greatest splendor under Mithridates the Great before succumbing to Rome. After centuries of Roman and Byzantine rule, Pontus became an independent state again when in 1204 the Empire of Trebizond was founded as one of the successors of the crumbling Byzantine Empire. Under the Komnenos dynasty, Trebizond held out as the very last remnant of the Roman Empire until it finally fell to the Ottomans in 1461. During the Turkish-Greek population transfers after World War I, most Pontic Greeks were deported, and today the population of Pontus is almost exclusively Turkish.
ko: 폰토스는 소아시아 흑해 연안의 지역으로, 현재는 튀르키예의 일부이지만 역사적으로는 그리스 문화권의 일부였습니다. 기원전 3세기에 헬레니즘계 폰토스 왕국이 세워졌고, 미트리다테스 대왕 치하에서 최대 번영을 누린 뒤 로마에 굴복했습니다. 수세기 동안 로마와 비잔티움의 지배를 받은 뒤, 1204년에 무너져 가는 비잔티움 제국의 계승 국가 가운데 하나로 트레비존드 제국이 세워지면서 폰토스는 다시 독립 국가가 되었습니다. 콤네노스 왕조 아래 트레비존드는 로마 제국의 마지막 잔존 세력으로 버티다가 1461년에 마침내 오스만에게 함락되었습니다. 제1차 세계 대전 뒤 튀르키예-그리스 인구 교환 때 대부분의 폰토스 그리스인은 추방되었고, 오늘날 폰토스의 인구는 거의 전적으로 튀르키예인입니다.

en: Poyais
ko: 포야이스인

en: Poyaisians
ko: 포야이스인

en: Poyais is a totally real nation founded by Gregor MacGregor that lasted from 1821 to 1837 located in Central America, totally not a scam devised by MacGregor to sell people fake government bonds for land ill fit for farming.
ko: 포야이스는 그레고어 맥그리거가 세운 완전히 실재하는 나라로, 중앙아메리카에 위치해 1821년부터 1837년까지 존속했으며, 농사에 부적합한 땅에 대한 가짜 정부 채권을 팔기 위해 맥그리거가 꾸민 사기는 절대로 아니었습니다.

en: Cazique %s
ko: 카시케 %s

en: Cazica %s
ko: 카시카 %s

en: Prussian
ko: 프로이센인

en: ?plural:Prussians
ko: 프로이센인

en: Prussia was originally the name of a pagan Baltic people, who in the 13th century were conquered by the German Teutonic Knight order. The knights established an independent state in this land, and in 1561 Grand Master Albrecht I proclaimed himself hereditary Duke of Prussia. Evolving into a regional military powerhouse, Prussia played an important role in uniting the German nation in 1871 and solidified its power during the Franco-Prussian war of the same year.
ko: 프로이센은 원래 13세기에 독일 튜턴 기사단에게 정복된 이교도 발트계 민족의 이름이었습니다. 기사단은 이 땅에 독립 국가를 세웠고, 1561년에 대단장 알브레히트 1세가 자신을 세습 프로이센 공작으로 선포했습니다. 지역 군사 강국으로 발전한 프로이센은 1871년 독일 민족 통일에서 중요한 역할을 했고, 같은 해의 프랑스-프로이센 전쟁 동안 그 힘을 굳혔습니다.

en: Puerto Rican
ko: 푸에르토리코인

en: ?plural:Puerto Ricans
ko: 푸에르토리코인

en: The smallest of the Greater Antilles, Puerto Rico was inhabited by the indigenous Taino people when it was conquered by the Spanish. It was conquered by the United States in 1898, just one year after Spain had granted autonomy to the island. Currently it is a US commonwealth, but its definitive status is still being discussed.
ko: 대앤틸리스 제도에서 가장 작은 푸에르토리코는 스페인인에게 정복될 때 토착 타이노인이 살고 있었습니다. 스페인이 이 섬에 자치를 부여한 지 1년 뒤인 1898년에 미국에 정복되었습니다. 현재는 미국 자치령이지만, 최종 지위는 여전히 논의 중입니다.

en: P'urhepecha
ko: 푸레페차인

en: ?plural:P'urhepecha
ko: 푸레페차인

en: The P'urhepecha or Tarascans are a people native to the modern Mexican state of Michoacán, the heart of a former empire known to them as Irechikua Ts'intsuntsani, meaning the "lands of Tzintzuntzan," their capital city. Their kings were the perennial enemy of the Aztec empire, who attempted an unsuccessful invasion of the P'urhepecha lands. When the Spanish arrived and began their conquest of Mexico in 1519, the Aztecs sent an embassy seeking the support of the P'urhepecha, but were rebuffed. The conquistadores' reputation preceded them and the P'urhepecha offered to become a subject state of the King of Spain rather than meet the same fate as their former enemies, the Aztecs. Nevertheless, the transition to Spanish rule was not smooth and devolved into violence. The empire, founded around 1450 CE, collapsed in 1530.
ko: 푸레페차 또는 타라스코인은 오늘날 멕시코 미초아칸주에 사는 토착민으로, 그곳은 그들의 옛 제국 이레치쿠아 친춘차니, 즉 수도 친춘찬의 땅의 중심지였습니다. 그들의 왕들은 아즈텍 제국의 오랜 적이었고, 아즈텍은 푸레페차 땅을 침공하려 했지만 실패했습니다. 1519년에 스페인인이 도착해 멕시코 정복을 시작하자, 아즈텍은 푸레페차의 지원을 얻기 위해 사절을 보냈지만 거절당했습니다. 정복자들의 악명이 먼저 알려졌기 때문에 푸레페차는 옛 적 아즈텍과 같은 운명을 맞기보다 스페인 왕의 속국이 되겠다고 제안했습니다. 그럼에도 스페인 지배로의 전환은 순조롭지 않았고 폭력으로 변했습니다. 서기 1450년 무렵 세워진 이 제국은 1530년에 붕괴했습니다.

en: Qatari
ko: 카타르인

en: ?plural:Qataris
ko: 카타르인

en: Qatar is an emirate located on a peninsula on the Persian Gulf. It is one of the wealthiest countries of the world in terms of GDP per capita. Qatar is one of the world's few absolute monarchies.
ko: 카타르는 페르시아만의 반도에 위치한 토후국입니다. 1인당 GDP 기준으로 세계에서 가장 부유한 나라 가운데 하나입니다. 카타르는 세계에서 몇 안 되는 절대군주국 중 하나입니다.

en: Quebecois
ko: 퀘벡인

en: ?plural:Quebecois
ko: 퀘벡인

en: Quebec is the largest province of Canada, housing the majority of the Francophone population of America.
ko: 퀘벡은 캐나다에서 가장 큰 주이며, 아메리카의 프랑스어권 인구 대부분이 거주합니다.

en: Rapa Nui
ko: 라파누이인

en: ?plural:Rapa Nui
ko: 라파누이인

en: The Rapa Nui are the native Polynesian inhabitants of Easter Island. They have inhabited the island since the end of the first millennium CE. They are famous for having built large statues called moai. This civilization was destroyed due to internal conflicts; in 1888 the island was annexed by Chile. Their script Rongorongo has never been deciphered.
ko: 라파누이는 이스터섬의 토착 폴리네시아 주민입니다. 이들은 서기 첫 천년기 말부터 이 섬에 살아왔습니다. 모아이라고 불리는 거대한 석상을 만든 것으로 유명합니다. 이 문명은 내부 갈등으로 파괴되었고, 1888년에 이 섬은 칠레에 병합되었습니다. 그들의 문자 롱고롱고는 아직 해독되지 않았습니다.

en: Rarámuri
ko: 라라무리

en: ?plural:Rarámuris
ko: 라라무리인

en: The Rarámuri or Tarahumara live in the canyons of the Sierra Madre Occidental in the north of Mexico. They are well known for their endurance; their traditions include running long distances while kicking wooden balls in races that last up to several days. In 1891 a Rarámuri uprising in Tomochi was brutally repressed by the Mexican authorities.
ko: 라라무리 또는 타라후마라는 멕시코 북부 시에라마드레 옥시덴탈의 협곡에 삽니다. 이들은 지구력으로 잘 알려져 있으며, 며칠까지 이어지는 경주에서 나무 공을 차며 장거리를 달리는 전통을 가지고 있습니다. 1891년에 토모치에서 일어난 라라무리 봉기는 멕시코 당국에 의해 잔혹하게 진압되었습니다.

en: Rhenish
ko: 라인인

en: ?plural:Rhenish
ko: 라인인

en: The Rhineland was the site of three electorates of the Holy Roman Empire, Cologne, Trier and Mainz, as well as numerous smaller territories. The Rhenish statelets were gradually absorbed by Prussia from the 17th century onwards. The Prussian Rhine Province was erected in 1822. During the Industrial Revolution the region became the economical and industrial heartland of Germany. Since the end of World War II the Rhineland is divided between the German states of North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland.
ko: 라인란트는 쾰른, 트리어, 마인츠라는 신성 로마 제국의 세 선제후국과 수많은 작은 영토들이 있던 곳이었습니다. 라인 지역의 소국들은 17세기 이후 점차 프로이센에 흡수되었습니다. 프로이센 라인주는 1822년에 세워졌습니다. 산업혁명 동안 이 지역은 독일의 경제·산업 중심지가 되었습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 이후 라인란트는 독일의 노르트라인베스트팔렌, 라인란트팔츠, 자를란트주로 나뉘어 있습니다.

en: Riffian
ko: 리프인

en: ?plural:Riffians
ko: 리프인

en: The Confederal Republic of the Tribes of the Rif was a short-lived nation founded in September 1921 when Riffians revolted against the Spanish and Moroccans. The country was conquered by the Spanish and French in 1926. The area is now part of Morocco.
ko: 리프 부족 연합 공화국은 리프인이 스페인인과 모로코인에 맞서 봉기한 1921년 9월에 세워진 단명한 나라였습니다. 이 나라는 1926년에 스페인과 프랑스에게 정복되었습니다. 이 지역은 현재 모로코의 일부입니다.

en: Rio-Grandense
ko: 히우그란지인

en: ?plural:Rio-Grandenses
ko: 히우그란지인

en: The Rio-Grandense Republic or Piratini Republic existed in the Brazilian state of Rio Grande do Sul from 1836 to 1845. It fought the War of Tatters against the Brazilian Imperial Army and was supported by Giuseppe Garibaldi amongst others.
ko: 히우그란지 공화국 또는 피라티니 공화국은 1836년부터 1845년까지 브라질 히우그란지두술주에 존재했습니다. 이 국가는 브라질 제국군과 파라포스 전쟁을 벌였고, 주세페 가리발디 등의 지원을 받았습니다.

en: Romanian
ko: 루마니아인

en: ?plural:Romanians
ko: 루마니아인

en: Romania as a nation was formed at the beginning of the 20th century, when the states of Transylvania, Wallachia, and Moldavia merged. It is a country inhabited by people speaking a language reminiscent from the time of ancient Rome. Its history is convoluted as it was always at the borders of great empires: Roman, Ottoman, Austro-Hungarian, and Russian.
ko: 루마니아라는 국가는 20세기 초 트란실바니아, 왈라키아, 몰다비아가 합쳐지면서 형성되었습니다. 이 나라는 고대 로마 시대를 떠올리게 하는 언어를 사용하는 사람들이 사는 나라입니다. 로마, 오스만, 오스트리아-헝가리, 러시아 같은 대제국들의 경계에 늘 있었기 때문에 그 역사는 복잡합니다.

en: Director-President %s
ko: 지도자-대통령 %s

en: ?female:Director-President %s
ko: 여지도자-대통령 %s

en: Romansh
ko: 로만슈인

en: ?plural:Romansh
ko: 로만슈인

en: The Rumantsch or Romansh people are inhabitants of the Swiss canton of Grisons who speak Romansh, a Romance language that retains some unique characteristics and with a rich oral tradition. Although Romansh is one of the four national languages of Switzerland and projects are being undertaken to save the language, it is losing terrain as many of its speakers switch to German. Before the Napoleonic Era, the Three Leagues of Grisons were the only territory of Europe where decision making was organized by taking votes.
ko: 루만치 또는 로만슈인은 스위스 그리종주 주민으로, 독특한 특징과 풍부한 구전 전통을 지닌 로망스어인 로만슈어를 사용합니다. 로만슈어는 스위스의 네 국가 언어 가운데 하나이고 이를 보존하려는 사업이 진행 중이지만, 많은 화자가 독일어로 전환하면서 점차 기반을 잃고 있습니다. 나폴레옹 시대 이전에 그리종의 삼동맹은 투표로 의사 결정을 조직한 유럽의 유일한 영토였습니다.

en: Rusyn
ko: 루신인

en: ?plural:Rusyns
ko: 루신인

en: The Rusyns are an ethnic group on the western periphery of the East Slavic nations. They live mainly in the Polish-Ukrainian-Slovak borderland and in the Vojvodina. In medieval times the Rusyn homeland was the site of the Duchy of Galicia–Volhynia and the Kingdom of Rus. In later times the lands were under Polish and later Austrian rule. Rusyns formed two ephemeral states after World War I: the Lemko-Rusyn Republic and the Komancza Republic.
ko: 루신인은 동슬라브 민족들의 서쪽 주변부에 있는 민족 집단입니다. 주로 폴란드-우크라이나-슬로바키아 접경 지역과 보이보디나에 삽니다. 중세에 루신인의 고향은 갈리치아-볼히니아 공국과 루스 왕국의 땅이었습니다. 이후 이 땅들은 폴란드, 나중에는 오스트리아의 지배를 받았습니다. 루신인은 제1차 세계 대전 뒤 렘코-루신 공화국과 코만차 공화국이라는 두 단명한 국가를 형성했습니다.

en: Kievan Rus'
ko: 키예프 루스인

en: ?plural:Kievan Rus'
ko: 키예프 루스인

en: The Kievan Rus' were a Medieval Slavic monarchy. It was centered in Kiev after that city was conquered by Oleg of Novgorod. In the 13th century the Rus' succumbed to a Mongol invasion. The Rus' were the precursors of the modern East Slavic nations.
ko: 키예프 루스는 중세 슬라브 군주국이었습니다. 노브고로드의 올레그가 키예프를 정복한 뒤 그 도시를 중심으로 했습니다. 13세기에 루스는 몽골 침입에 굴복했습니다. 루스는 현대 동슬라브 민족들의 선구자였습니다.

en: Rwandan
ko: 르완다인

en: ?plural:Rwandans
ko: 르완다인

en: Rwanda is a hilly and very fertile country in the Great Lakes region of eastern Africa. It supports the densest population of the continent.
ko: 르완다는 동아프리카 대호수 지역의 구릉이 많고 매우 비옥한 나라입니다. 대륙에서 가장 높은 인구 밀도를 지탱합니다.

en: Ryukyuan
ko: 류큐인

en: ?plural:Ryukyuans
ko: 류큐인

en: The Ryukyu Kingdom (1372-1879) was the Land of Propriety, a peaceful maritime trading nation eventually invaded, occupied, and annexed by Japan.
ko: 류큐 왕국(1372~1879)은 예의의 나라로, 평화로운 해상 무역 국가였으나 결국 일본에게 침공·점령·병합되었습니다.

en: Sabine
ko: 사비니인

en: ?plural:Sabines
ko: 사비니인

en: The Sabines were an Italic tribe whose language was closest to Umbrian. They had an impact on the history of Rome. The Sabines and the early Roman Republic regularly warred against each other, but eventually the Sabines were assimilated into the Roman culture. Several Roman families prided themselves on their Sabine origins.
ko: 사비니인은 언어가 움브리아어에 가장 가까웠던 이탈리아계 부족이었습니다. 이들은 로마 역사에 영향을 미쳤습니다. 사비니인과 초기 로마 공화국은 정기적으로 서로 전쟁을 벌였지만, 결국 사비니인은 로마 문화에 동화되었습니다. 여러 로마 가문은 자신들의 사비니 기원을 자랑스럽게 여겼습니다.

en: Tribune %s
ko: 호민관 %s

en: ?female:Tribune %s
ko: 여호민관 %s

en: Sahrawi
ko: 사하라위인

en: ?plural:Sahrawis
ko: 사하라위인

en: The Sahrawi are the inhabitants of the Western Sahara, a former Spanish colony. Morocco currently controls most of the area, which is considered an illegal occupation by most of the international community. The Moroccan Army and Sahrawi Polisario rebels have been fighting each other since 1975.
ko: 사하라위인은 옛 스페인 식민지였던 서사하라의 주민입니다. 모로코는 현재 이 지역 대부분을 통제하고 있으며, 국제사회 대부분은 이를 불법 점령으로 간주합니다. 모로코군과 사하라위 폴리사리오 반군은 1975년부터 서로 싸우고 있습니다.

en: Saint Lucian
ko: 세인트루시아인

en: ?plural:Saint Lucian
ko: 세인트루시아인

en: Saint Lucia is an island nation in the Eastern Caribbean. During the colonial era, Saint Lucia changed hands between France and Britain no less than fourteen times until the British finally secured it in 1814. The island became independent in 1979. It a member both of the Commonwealth and La Francophonie. The economy is based on tourism, bananas and sugar.
ko: 세인트루시아는 동카리브해의 섬나라입니다. 식민지 시대에 세인트루시아는 1814년에 영국이 마침내 확보할 때까지 프랑스와 영국 사이에서 무려 열네 번이나 주인이 바뀌었습니다. 이 섬은 1979년에 독립했습니다. 영연방과 프랑코포니 양쪽의 회원국입니다. 경제는 관광, 바나나, 설탕에 기반합니다.

en: Saka
ko: 사카인

en: ?plural:Saka
ko: 사카인

en: The Saka were an ancient Iranian tribe from the Central Asian steppes. They were very closely related to the European Scythians, and were probably descendants of the Andronovo culture.
ko: 사카인은 중앙아시아 초원 출신의 고대 이란계 부족이었습니다. 이들은 유럽 스키타이인과 매우 가까운 관계였고, 아마 안드로노보 문화의 후손이었을 것입니다.

en: Salishan
ko: 살리시인

en: ?plural:Salishans
ko: 살리시인

en: The Salishans are a cultural-linguistic group of peoples in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States and Canada. Among the most famous Salishans is Chief Seattle, leader of the Duwamish tribe, after whom the city of Seattle is named. Other well known Salishan tribes include the Bella Coola (Nuxalk), Spokane and Coeur d'Alene. The Salishan languages are famous for their unusual characteristics. They have a large inventory of consonants and some even feature words without any vowels.
ko: 살리시인은 미국과 캐나다의 태평양 북서부 지역에 사는 여러 민족의 문화·언어 집단입니다. 가장 유명한 살리시인 가운데 한 명은 두와미시 부족의 지도자 시애틀 추장으로, 시애틀시는 그의 이름을 따서 명명되었습니다. 다른 잘 알려진 살리시 부족으로는 벨라쿨라(누할크), 스포캔, 쾨르 달렌이 있습니다. 살리시어족 언어는 특이한 특징으로 유명합니다. 많은 자음 목록을 가지고 있으며, 일부는 모음이 없는 단어까지 있습니다.

en: Salvadoran
ko: 엘살바도르인

en: ?plural:Salvadorans
ko: 엘살바도르인

en: Originally inhabited by Pipil Indians, in the 16th century El Salvador was conquered by the Spanish. It joined the Central American federation upon independence and became a fully independent republic in 1840. Although formally El Salvador has been a democracy for most of its independence, in reality the country's government is highly oligarchic, the 'fourteen families' having dominated the country's political and economic life since independence. In the 1930s general Hernández Martínez established a dictatorship. A nonviolent revolution overthrew Hernández in 1944 but the country remained unstable and from 1979-1992 the country lived through another bloody civil war.
ko: 원래 피필 인디언이 살던 엘살바도르는 16세기에 스페인인에게 정복되었습니다. 독립 뒤 중앙아메리카 연방에 가입했고, 1840년에 완전한 독립 공화국이 되었습니다. 형식적으로 엘살바도르는 독립 기간 대부분 동안 민주주의 국가였지만, 실제로는 “열네 가문”이 독립 이후 나라의 정치·경제 생활을 지배한 매우 과두적인 정부였습니다. 1930년대에 에르난데스 마르티네스 장군이 독재를 세웠습니다. 1944년에 비폭력 혁명이 에르난데스를 축출했지만 나라는 불안정하게 남았고, 1979년부터 1992년까지 또 다른 피비린내 나는 내전을 겪었습니다.

en: Sami
ko: 사미인

en: ?plural:Sami
ko: 사미인

en: The Sami are a people of northern Scandinavia. Their nation spans over the northernmost regions of the Scandinavian countries and northwestern Russia.
ko: 사미인은 스칸디나비아 북부의 민족입니다. 이들의 민족 영역은 스칸디나비아 국가들의 최북단 지역과 러시아 북서부에 걸쳐 있습니다.

en: Sammarinese
ko: 산마리노인

en: ?plural:Sammarinese
ko: 산마리노인

en: San Marino is a tiny landlocked country on the Italian Peninsula. It is the oldest independent republic in the world. According to legend, it was founded by Saint Marinus in 301 CE.
ko: 산마리노는 이탈리아반도에 있는 작은 내륙국입니다. 세계에서 가장 오래된 독립 공화국입니다. 전설에 따르면 서기 301년에 성 마리누스가 세웠습니다.

en: Captain-Regent %s
ko: 집정관 %s

en: ?female:Captain-Regent %s
ko: 여집정관 %s

en: Samnite
ko: 삼니움인

en: ?plural:Samnites
ko: 삼니움인

en: The Samnites were an ancient confederation of Italic tribes who spoke the Oscan language and inhabited Central Italy, South of the Sabines. After losing the wars with Rome the Samnites were subjected to Rome and became Romanized. They were good soldiers and famed as Roman gladiators.
ko: 삼니움인은 오스칸어를 사용하고 사비니인 남쪽의 중부 이탈리아에 살던 고대 이탈리아계 부족 연맹이었습니다. 로마와의 전쟁에서 패한 뒤 삼니움인은 로마에 복속되어 로마화되었습니다. 이들은 훌륭한 병사였고 로마 검투사로 유명했습니다.

en: Samoan
ko: 사모아인

en: ?plural:Samoans
ko: 사모아인

en: Samoa is a country occupying the Western part of the Samoan islands of the Central Pacific; the Eastern part is governed by the United States as American Samoa. Samoa was settled by Austronesian peoples around 1500 BCE. It was probably from Samoa that the Polynesians started the expansion throughout the Pacific. Colonized by Germany and New Zealand, Samoa became independent in 1962.
ko: 사모아는 중앙 태평양 사모아 제도의 서부를 차지하는 나라입니다. 동부는 아메리칸사모아로서 미국이 통치합니다. 사모아에는 기원전 1500년 무렵 오스트로네시아계 사람들이 정착했습니다. 폴리네시아인이 태평양 전역으로 확장하기 시작한 곳은 아마 사모아였을 것입니다. 독일과 뉴질랜드의 식민지가 되었던 사모아는 1962년에 독립했습니다.

en: Chief of the Government %s
ko: 정부수반 %s

en: ?female:Chief of the Government %s
ko: 여정부수반 %s

en: Samogitian
ko: 사모기티아인

en: ?plural:Samogitians
ko: 사모기티아인

en: Samogitia - historical country near the Baltic Sea - home to the last pagans in Europe (official until 1413). Today, Samogitia is a region of Lithuania.
ko: 사모기티아는 발트해 근처의 역사적 지역으로, 유럽에서 마지막까지 이교 신앙이 공식적으로 남아 있던 곳입니다(1413년까지). 오늘날 사모기티아는 리투아니아의 한 지역입니다.

en: Santomean
ko: 상투메인

en: ?plural:Santomeans
ko: 상투메인

en: São Tomé and Príncipe are two islands in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Africa. The main island was named after Saint Thomas by the Portuguese sailors who first discovered the island on the saint's feast day around 1470. The islands turned into the first major European plantation colony. Slavery was abolished in the 19th century and the country became independent in 1975. The islands' economy remains dependent on the export of cocoa.
ko: 상투메 프린시페는 아프리카 해안 앞 대서양에 있는 두 섬입니다. 포르투갈 항해자들이 1470년 무렵 성 토마스 축일에 이 섬을 처음 발견했기 때문에 주 섬은 성 토마스의 이름을 따서 명명되었습니다. 이 섬들은 유럽 최초의 주요 플랜테이션 식민지로 발전했습니다. 노예제는 19세기에 폐지되었고, 이 나라는 1975년에 독립했습니다. 섬들의 경제는 여전히 코코아 수출에 의존하고 있습니다.

en: Sardinian
ko: 사르데냐인

en: ?plural:Sardinians
ko: 사르데냐인

en: Sardinia is an island in the Mediterranean Sea and an autonomous region of Italy. The site of the Nuraghic civilization in prehistory, the island passed to Phoenician and then Roman rule. Upon the collapse of the Roman Empire Sardinia was occupied by the Vandals and later by the Byzantines, but foreign rule quickly eroded and by the 9th century the Byzantine representatives had formed their own autonomous states. By the end of the Middle Ages however, the Aragonese had established dominance over the island. In 1718 Sardinia was handed to the house of Savoy, and it became a constituent part of the Kingdom of Piedmont-Sardinia, which eventually led Italy to its national unification in 1861.
ko: 사르데냐는 지중해의 섬이자 이탈리아의 자치 지역입니다. 선사 시대에는 누라기 문명의 중심지였고, 이후 페니키아와 로마의 지배를 받았습니다. 로마 제국이 붕괴한 뒤 사르데냐는 반달족과 뒤이어 비잔티움 제국에 점령되었지만, 외세의 지배력은 빠르게 약화되었고 9세기에는 비잔티움 대표자들이 자체적인 자치 국가들을 세웠습니다. 그러나 중세 말에는 아라곤이 이 섬에 대한 지배권을 확립했습니다. 1718년 사르데냐는 사보이 가문에 넘어갔고, 피에몬테-사르데냐 왕국의 구성 지역이 되어 결국 1861년 이탈리아의 국민 통일을 이끌었습니다.

en: Sarmatian
ko: 사르마티아인

en: ?plural:Sarmatians
ko: 사르마티아인

en: The Sarmatians were Iranian pastoral tribes from Central Asia and Southwest Siberia. They were closely related to the Saka and the Scythians. The myth of the origin from the Sarmatians formed the basis of the Polish culture from the 15th to the 18th century.
ko: 사르마티아인은 중앙아시아와 서남 시베리아 출신의 이란계 유목 목축 부족들이었습니다. 이들은 사카족과 스키타이인과 가까운 관계였습니다. 사르마티아인 기원 신화는 15세기부터 18세기까지 폴란드 문화의 기반을 이루었습니다.

en: Saudi
ko: 사우디인

en: ?plural:Saudis
ko: 사우디인

en: Saudi Arabia is located on the Arabian Peninsula and includes Mecca and Medina, the holiest sites of Islam. The First Saudi state was established in 1744. Current Saudi Arabia dates from the union of Hejaz and Nejd in 1925. Named after its ruling dynasty, the house of Saud, Saudi Arabia is one of the last countries retaining an absolute monarchy. It has the largest proven oil reserves of the world.
ko: 사우디아라비아는 아라비아반도에 위치하며, 이슬람의 가장 성스러운 장소인 메카와 메디나를 포함합니다. 제1차 사우디 국가는 1744년에 세워졌습니다. 현재의 사우디아라비아는 1925년 헤자즈와 네지드가 통합된 데서 비롯되었습니다. 지배 왕조인 사우드 가문의 이름을 딴 사우디아라비아는 절대군주제를 유지하는 마지막 국가들 가운데 하나입니다. 이 나라는 세계 최대 규모의 확인 석유 매장량을 보유하고 있습니다.

en: Savoyard
ko: 사보이인

en: ?plural:Savoyards
ko: 사보이인

en: Savoy emerged in the Western Alps after the disintegration of the Burgundian Kingdom. Its dynasty established control over Sardinia and Piedmont and later all of Italy. Savoy's growth and survival over the centuries were not based on spectacular conquests, but on gradual territorial expansion through marriage and methodical and highly manipulative political acquisitions. Savoy itself was annexed by France in 1860.
ko: 사보이는 부르군트 왕국이 해체된 뒤 서부 알프스에서 등장했습니다. 그 왕조는 사르데냐와 피에몬테, 나중에는 이탈리아 전역에 대한 지배권을 확립했습니다. 수세기에 걸친 사보이의 성장과 생존은 화려한 정복이 아니라 결혼과 치밀하고 매우 조작적인 정치적 획득을 통한 점진적인 영토 확장에 바탕을 두었습니다. 사보이 자체는 1860년에 프랑스에 병합되었습니다.

en: Saxon
ko: 작센인

en: ?plural:Saxons
ko: 작센인

en: The Electorate of Saxony was an independent hereditary electorate of the Holy Roman Empire from 1356-1806.
ko: 작센 선제후국은 1356년부터 1806년까지 신성 로마 제국의 독립적인 세습 선제후국이었습니다.

en: Scanian
ko: 스코네인

en: ?plural:Scanians
ko: 스코네인

en: Scania is the southernmost region of Sweden. Historically one of many petty kingdoms in Viking age Scandinavia, it became in medieval times part of Denmark but was ceded to Sweden through the Treaty of Roskilde in 1658. Scania saw something of a national revival in the late 20th century with calls for greater autonomy within the Kingdom of Sweden.
ko: 스코네는 스웨덴 최남단 지역입니다. 역사적으로 바이킹 시대 스칸디나비아의 여러 소왕국 가운데 하나였고, 중세에는 덴마크의 일부가 되었으나 1658년 로스킬레 조약으로 스웨덴에 양도되었습니다. 스코네에서는 20세기 후반에 스웨덴 왕국 안에서 더 큰 자치를 요구하는 등 일종의 민족적 부흥이 나타났습니다.

en: Schleswig-Holsteinian
ko: 슐레스비히홀슈타인인

en: ?plural:Schleswig-Holsteinians
ko: 슐레스비히홀슈타인인

en: For much of its history, the duchies of Schleswig and Holstein have been contested by Germany and Denmark. The territories were united in a personal union in 1375. In the 19th century, Schleswig-Holstein's confused status led to two wars between Denmark and Prussia, and in 1866 Schleswig-Holstein became a Prussian province. After World War I, Northern Schleswig was annexed by Denmark. Currently Schleswig-Holstein is a state of the Federal Republic of Germany.
ko: 슐레스비히와 홀슈타인 공국은 역사 대부분의 기간 동안 독일과 덴마크 사이의 분쟁 대상이었습니다. 이 영토들은 1375년에 동군연합으로 결합되었습니다. 19세기에는 슐레스비히홀슈타인의 복잡한 지위가 덴마크와 프로이센 사이의 두 차례 전쟁으로 이어졌고, 1866년 슐레스비히홀슈타인은 프로이센의 주가 되었습니다. 제1차 세계 대전 뒤 북슐레스비히는 덴마크에 병합되었습니다. 현재 슐레스비히홀슈타인은 독일 연방공화국의 한 주입니다.

en: Scottish Gaelic
ko: 스코틀랜드 게일인

en: ?plural:Scottish Gaels
ko: 스코틀랜드 게일인

en: Both Gaels and the Gaelic language were brought to Scotland by the Dalriada dynasty from Ireland. They first settled in Argyll (Earra Ghaidheal or the Coastland of the Gael) and soon expanded further into territory held by the indigenous Picts and culminating in Kenneth MacAlpin uniting the kingdoms of the Picts and Gaels around 843 CE. By the time of Malcolm III, Gaelic was the majority language of Scotland, as far south as Strathclyde, Galloway and parts of Lothian and the Borders. Today some 60,000 speakers of Gaelic remain, about half of which live in the Scottish Highlands and Islands, the other half living all over Scotland, in particular the Central Belt.
ko: 게일인과 게일어는 모두 아일랜드의 달리아다 왕조에 의해 스코틀랜드로 전해졌습니다. 이들은 처음에 아가일(Earra Ghaidheal, 즉 게일인의 해안지대)에 정착했고, 곧 토착 픽트족이 차지하던 영토로 더 확장했으며, 마침내 케네스 맥알핀이 843년 무렵 픽트와 게일의 왕국들을 통합하는 데 이르렀습니다. 맬컴 3세 시대에는 게일어가 스코틀랜드의 주류 언어가 되어 스트래스클라이드, 갤러웨이, 로디언과 보더스 일부 지역까지 남쪽으로 퍼졌습니다. 오늘날 게일어 화자는 약 6만 명이 남아 있으며, 그 절반가량은 스코틀랜드 하이랜드와 섬 지역에, 나머지 절반은 스코틀랜드 전역, 특히 센트럴 벨트에 살고 있습니다.

en: Clan Chief %s
ko: 씨족장 %s

en: ?female:Clan Chief %s
ko: 여씨족장 %s

en: Scottish
ko: 스코틀랜드인

en: ?plural:Scots
ko: 스코틀랜드인

en: Scotland, originally settled in late Roman times by Irish raiders who displaced the native Picts, was an independent kingdom from around 1034 CE to the Union of Crowns with England in 1701.
ko: 스코틀랜드는 원래 로마 말기에 아일랜드 약탈자들이 정착하며 토착 픽트족을 밀어낸 곳으로, 서기 1034년 무렵부터 1701년 잉글랜드와 왕관 연합을 이룰 때까지 독립 왕국이었습니다.

en: Scythian
ko: 스키타이인

en: ?plural:Scythians
ko: 스키타이인

en: The Scythians or Scyths were an Ancient Iranian people of horse-riding nomadic pastoralists who throughout Classical Antiquity dominated the Pontic-Caspian steppe, known at the time as Scythia. By Late Antiquity the closely-related Sarmatians came to dominate the Scythians in this area. Much of the surviving information about the Scythians comes from the Greek historian Herodotus (c. 440 BCE) in his Histories and Ovid in his poem of exile Epistulae ex Ponto, and archaeologically from the exquisite goldwork found in Scythian burial mounds in Ukraine and Southern Russia.
ko: 스키타이인 또는 스키트인은 고대 이란계 기마 유목 목축민으로, 고전 고대 전반에 걸쳐 당시 스키티아로 알려진 폰토스-카스피 초원을 지배했습니다. 고대 말에는 가까운 관계의 사르마티아인이 이 지역에서 스키타이인을 압도하게 되었습니다. 스키타이인에 관해 남아 있는 정보의 상당 부분은 그리스 역사가 헤로도토스(기원전 440년경)의 『역사』와 오비디우스의 유배 시 『흑해로부터의 편지』, 그리고 우크라이나와 남러시아의 스키타이 고분에서 발견된 정교한 금세공품 같은 고고학 자료에서 비롯됩니다.

en: Seleucid
ko: 셀레우코스인

en: ?plural:Seleucids
ko: 셀레우코스인

en: The Seleucid Empire was one of the diadochi states founded when Alexander the Great's generals carved up his empire after his death. It was named after its founder Seleucus I Nicator. Centered in Syria, the Seleucids were the most powerful of the diadochi states but eventually succumbed to Rome in the last century BCE.
ko: 셀레우코스 제국은 알렉산드로스 대왕 사후 그의 장군들이 제국을 나누면서 세운 디아도코이 국가들 가운데 하나였습니다. 이 제국은 창건자 셀레우코스 1세 니카토르의 이름을 따서 명명되었습니다. 시리아를 중심으로 한 셀레우코스 왕조는 디아도코이 국가들 중 가장 강력했지만, 결국 기원전 마지막 세기에 로마에 굴복했습니다.

en: Seljuk
ko: 셀주크인

en: ?plural:Seljuks
ko: 셀주크인

en: The Seljuks were a Turkic horde whose name comes from their founder Seljuk. After the victory over the Ghaznavids in 1040 CE they created their own state. In 1055 CE the Seljuks took Baghdad, and their leader Tughril Beg took the title sultan. The Seljuks are famous for the defeat they inflicted upon the Byzantines at the battle of Manzikert in 1071. After the collapse of the Great Seljuk Empire in the 12th century the Seljuks continued to rule in the Sultanate of Rum, which would later form the basis of the Ottoman Turks.
ko: 셀주크인은 창건자 셀주크의 이름에서 유래한 튀르크계 무리였습니다. 1040년에 가즈나 왕조에 승리한 뒤 이들은 자신들의 국가를 세웠습니다. 1055년에 셀주크인은 바그다드를 점령했고, 지도자 투그릴 베그는 술탄 칭호를 받았습니다. 셀주크인은 1071년 만지케르트 전투에서 비잔티움 제국에 입힌 패배로 유명합니다. 12세기에 대셀주크 제국이 붕괴한 뒤에도 셀주크인은 룸 술탄국에서 계속 지배했으며, 이는 훗날 오스만 튀르크의 기반이 되었습니다.

en: Seminole
ko: 세미놀인

en: ?plural:Seminoles
ko: 세미놀인

en: The Seminole people emerged in the 18th century through a process of ethnogenesis, out of groups of lower Creek emigrants who fled the encroachment of White settlers in the U.S. state of Georgia and elsewhere, south to the Florida peninsula which at that time was under Spanish control. They intermingled with remnants of other tribes plus a significant number of Black African freedmen. Seminole leaders sided with the United States during the so-called Seminole wars against Spain, the outcome of which was the ceding of Florida to the U.S., and the removal of a majority of Seminoles to Indian Territory in what is now Oklahoma. Together with the Cherokee, Choctaw, Muskogee, and Chickasaw, the Seminole are known as one of the "Five Civilized Tribes" for their relatively amiable relationships with White European settlers during the early era of U.S. expansion.
ko: 세미놀인은 18세기에 민족 형성 과정을 통해 등장한 사람들로, 미국 조지아주와 그 밖의 지역에서 백인 정착민의 침입을 피해 당시 스페인 지배 아래 있던 플로리다반도로 남하한 하위 크리크 이주민 집단에서 비롯되었습니다. 이들은 다른 부족의 잔존 세력과 상당수의 흑인 아프리카계 자유민과도 섞였습니다. 세미놀 지도자들은 스페인에 맞선 이른바 세미놀 전쟁 동안 미국 편에 섰고, 그 결과 플로리다가 미국에 양도되었으며 세미놀인의 다수는 현재 오클라호마에 해당하는 인디언 준주로 이주되었습니다. 체로키, 촉토, 머스코기, 치카소와 함께 세미놀인은 미국 팽창 초기 유럽계 백인 정착민과 비교적 우호적인 관계를 맺었다는 이유로 '문명화된 다섯 부족' 가운데 하나로 알려져 있습니다.

en: Senegalese
ko: 세네갈인

en: ?plural:Senegalese
ko: 세네갈인

en: Senegal is the westernmost country of mainland Africa. It has been independent from France since 1960. Senegal is relatively stable and democratic compared to its neighbors.
ko: 세네갈은 아프리카 본토의 최서단 국가입니다. 1960년 프랑스로부터 독립했습니다. 세네갈은 이웃 국가들에 비해 비교적 안정적이고 민주적인 나라입니다.

en: Serbian
ko: 세르비아인

en: ?plural:Serbians
ko: 세르비아인

en: Serbia is part of the region of the Southern Slavs that was conquered by the Ottomans after the collapse of the Byzantine Empire.  During most of the 20th century it was part of the Yugoslav Federation.
ko: 세르비아는 남슬라브 지역의 일부로, 비잔티움 제국이 붕괴한 뒤 오스만 제국에 정복되었습니다. 20세기의 대부분 동안에는 유고슬라비아 연방의 일부였습니다.

en: Seychellois
ko: 세이셸인

en: ?plural:Seychellois
ko: 세이셸인

en: The Seychelles is an archipelagic country off the coast of Eastern Africa in the Indian Ocean. The Islands have been visited by Austronesian, Maldivian and Arab merchants in antiquity but by the time of the European discoveries the Seychelles had no indigenous population. The Seychelles were intermittently under French and British possession until becoming independent in 1976. Its population consists of people of African, Chinese, European, Indian and Malagasy descent. The Seychelles are the least populated country of Africa and have the highest human development of the continent.
ko: 세이셸은 인도양의 동아프리카 해안 앞에 있는 군도 국가입니다. 이 섬들은 고대에 오스트로네시아인, 몰디브인, 아랍 상인들이 방문했지만, 유럽인이 발견할 당시 세이셸에는 토착 인구가 없었습니다. 세이셸은 1976년에 독립할 때까지 프랑스와 영국의 소유가 번갈아 이어졌습니다. 인구는 아프리카계, 중국계, 유럽계, 인도계, 마다가스카르계 사람들로 이루어져 있습니다. 세이셸은 아프리카에서 인구가 가장 적은 나라이며, 대륙에서 가장 높은 인간개발 수준을 보유하고 있습니다.

en: Shan
ko: 샨인

en: ?plural:Shans
ko: 샨인

en: The Shans are an ethnic group related to the Thais and the Laotians. After the fall of the Burmese dominated Bagan Kingdom to the Mongols in 1287, a succession of Shan kingdoms known by historians as the Shan States controlled much of today's Myanmar, Laos, Thailand, as well as China's Yunnan Province.
ko: 샨인은 타이인과 라오인과 관련 있는 민족 집단입니다. 1287년 몽골에 의해 버마 중심의 바간 왕국이 멸망한 뒤, 역사가들이 샨국이라고 부르는 일련의 샨 왕국들이 오늘날의 미얀마, 라오스, 태국, 그리고 중국 윈난성의 상당 부분을 지배했습니다.

en: Shawnee
ko: 쇼니인

en: ?plural:Shawnee
ko: 쇼니인

en: An Algonquian people, the Shawnee were led by Tikamthi (better known as Tecumseh) and his brother Tenskwatawa in trying to create a pan-native alliance against American expansionism but were ultimately unsuccessful and made to resettle in the Indian Territory (modern Oklahoma).
ko: 쇼니인은 알곤킨계 민족으로, 티캄티(더 잘 알려진 이름은 테쿰세)와 그의 형제 텐스콰타와가 미국 팽창주의에 맞서 범원주민 동맹을 만들려 했으나 결국 실패했고, 인디언 준주(현재의 오클라호마)로 이주해야 했습니다.

en: Sherpa
ko: 셰르파인

en: ?plural:Sherpas
ko: 셰르파인

en: Sherpas are an ethnic group who settled in the Himalaya region of modern-day Nepal in the 15th century. They are of Tibetan stock and speak a language related to modern Tibetan though they are not mutually intelligible. After a few centuries of autonomy, Sherpa communities came by the 18th century under military pressure from encroaching Hindu polities, such as the Bengal based Sen Empire. By the 18th century the Sherpa homeland had been annexed into the Kingdom of Nepal. Following the democratization of Nepal in the beginning of the 21st century, there have been calls for greater autonomy for the Sherpas within the federal republic.
ko: 셰르파인은 15세기에 오늘날 네팔의 히말라야 지역에 정착한 민족 집단입니다. 이들은 티베트계이며 현대 티베트어와 관련된 언어를 말하지만 서로 완전히 통하지는 않습니다. 몇 세기 동안 자치를 누린 뒤, 셰르파 공동체는 18세기에 벵골 기반 센 왕조 같은 힌두 정치체의 군사적 압력을 받게 되었습니다. 18세기에는 셰르파의 본거지가 네팔 왕국에 병합되었습니다. 21세기 초 네팔의 민주화 이후, 연방공화국 안에서 셰르파인의 더 큰 자치를 요구하는 목소리가 나타났습니다.

en: Siberian
ko: 시베리아인

en: ?plural:Siberians
ko: 시베리아인

en: Siberia is a historical and geographical region of Russia and the USSR. During the reign of the czars separatist sentiments prevailed amongst some Slavic colonists. In 1918 a Siberian Republic was proclaimed but it was annexed by the USSR after only a few months.
ko: 시베리아는 러시아와 소련의 역사적·지리적 지역입니다. 차르 통치 시기에는 일부 슬라브계 식민자들 사이에서 분리주의 정서가 우세했습니다. 1918년에 시베리아 공화국이 선포되었지만, 불과 몇 달 뒤 소련에 병합되었습니다.

en: Sicilian
ko: 시칠리아인

en: ?plural:Sicilians
ko: 시칠리아인

en: Sicily is the largest island of Italy. It has been ruled by Greeks, Carthaginians, Romans, Vandals, Ostrogoths, Byzantines and Arabs. In the 11th century the Normans founded the Kingdom of Sicily which gradually became one of Italy's more powerful states. In 1816 it was merged with Naples into the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies which was united with Italy in 1861.
ko: 시칠리아는 이탈리아에서 가장 큰 섬입니다. 이 섬은 그리스인, 카르타고인, 로마인, 반달족, 동고트족, 비잔티움인, 아랍인의 지배를 받았습니다. 11세기에 노르만인이 시칠리아 왕국을 세웠고, 이 왕국은 점차 이탈리아의 더 강력한 국가들 가운데 하나가 되었습니다. 1816년에 나폴리와 합쳐져 양시칠리아 왕국이 되었고, 1861년에 이탈리아와 통합되었습니다.

en: Sierra Leonean
ko: 시에라리온인

en: ?plural:Sierra Leoneans
ko: 시에라리온인

en: Sierra Leone is a country in West Africa. It was founded in 1792 as a home for liberated slaves and quickly passed to become a British dependency. Sierra Leone has been an independent republic since 1961. In the 1990s the country passed through a civil war. Today, Sierra Leone remains one of the poorest countries in the world.
ko: 시에라리온은 서아프리카의 나라입니다. 1792년에 해방 노예들의 정착지로 세워졌고 곧 영국의 종속지가 되었습니다. 시에라리온은 1961년부터 독립 공화국이었습니다. 1990년대에는 내전을 겪었습니다. 오늘날 시에라리온은 세계에서 가장 가난한 나라들 가운데 하나로 남아 있습니다.

en: Sikh
ko: 시크인

en: ?plural:Sikhs
ko: 시크인

en: Sikhs are the followers of a monotheistic religion originating from the Indian Subcontinent in the 15th century. The Punjab, on the border of Pakistan and India, is the heartland of Sikhism. In the 19th century a Sikh Empire existed in the region.
ko: 시크인은 15세기 인도 아대륙에서 시작된 일신교의 신도들입니다. 파키스탄과 인도의 국경에 있는 펀자브는 시크교의 중심지입니다. 19세기에는 이 지역에 시크 제국이 존재했습니다.

en: Sikkimese
ko: 시킴인

en: ?plural:Sikkimese
ko: 시킴인

en: Wedged between Nepal and Bhutan, the Himalayan kingdom of Sikkim was ruled by a lineage of monarchs known as chogyals for centuries, until becoming the 22nd state of India in 1975.
ko: 네팔과 부탄 사이에 끼어 있는 히말라야 왕국 시킴은 수세기 동안 초걀로 알려진 군주 계통의 지배를 받다가, 1975년에 인도의 22번째 주가 되었습니다.

en: Silesian
ko: 실레지아인

en: ?plural:Silesians
ko: 실레지아인

en: Silesia is a region of southern Poland that was at one time an independent kingdom.
ko: 실레지아는 폴란드 남부의 지역으로, 한때 독립 왕국이었습니다.

en: Singaporean
ko: 싱가포르인

en: ?plural:Singaporeans
ko: 싱가포르인

en: Singapore is a mercantile city-state located at the southernmost tip of the Malaysian Peninsula.
ko: 싱가포르는 말레이반도 최남단에 있는 상업 도시국가입니다.

en: Sinhalese
ko: 싱할라인

en: ?plural:Sinhalese
ko: 싱할라인

en: The Sinhalese people of Sri Lanka trace their ancestry to the semi-legendary Prince Vijaya who settled the island of Sri Lanka together with 700 followers in 543 BCE.
ko: 스리랑카의 싱할라인은 기원전 543년에 700명의 추종자와 함께 스리랑카 섬에 정착한 반전설적 왕자 비자야에게서 자신들의 혈통을 찾습니다.

en: Slavic
ko: 슬라브인

en: ?plural:Slavs
ko: 슬라브인

en: The Slavs are a modern linguistic group of several nations in Eastern Europe with common historical roots. The origin of the Slavs is not known precisely, therefore there are many hypotheses trying to explain them. Their sudden appearance in the history of civilized Europe may be related to the arrival of Iranian peoples and the expansion of the Huns.
ko: 슬라브인은 동유럽의 여러 민족으로 이루어진 현대적 언어 집단으로, 공통의 역사적 뿌리를 가지고 있습니다. 슬라브인의 기원은 정확히 알려져 있지 않기 때문에 이를 설명하려는 여러 가설이 있습니다. 문명화된 유럽의 역사에 이들이 갑작스럽게 등장한 것은 이란계 민족의 도래와 훈족의 팽창과 관련이 있을 수 있습니다.

en: Slovakian
ko: 슬로바키아인

en: ?plural:Slovakians
ko: 슬로바키아인

en: Slovakia is a country in the heart of Europe. Formerly part of Czechoslovakia, until 1918 it was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.
ko: 슬로바키아는 유럽의 중심부에 있는 나라입니다. 과거 체코슬로바키아의 일부였고, 1918년까지는 오스트리아-헝가리 제국의 일부였습니다.

en: Slovenian
ko: 슬로베니아인

en: ?plural:Slovenians
ko: 슬로베니아인

en: Slovenia was the most western and northern republic of the old Yugoslav Federation.
ko: 슬로베니아는 옛 유고슬라비아 연방에서 가장 서쪽이자 북쪽에 있던 공화국이었습니다.

en: Solomon Islander
ko: 솔로몬 제도인

en: ?plural:Solomon Islanders
ko: 솔로몬 제도인

en: Solomon Islands is a country in Melanesia, located between Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu. Inhabited by Austronesian peoples since 4000 BCE, the islands became a British protectorate in the 19th century. The islands were the site of some fierce fighting during World War II, including the famous battle of Guadalcanal. Solomon Islands has been independent since 1978.
ko: 솔로몬 제도는 파푸아뉴기니와 바누아투 사이에 위치한 멜라네시아의 나라입니다. 기원전 4000년부터 오스트로네시아계 사람들이 거주했으며, 19세기에 영국 보호령이 되었습니다. 이 섬들은 제2차 세계 대전 동안 유명한 과달카날 전투를 포함한 치열한 전투의 무대였습니다. 솔로몬 제도는 1978년부터 독립해 있습니다.

en: Somaliland
ko: 소말릴란드인

en: ?plural:Somalilanders
ko: 소말릴란드인

en: The Republic of Somaliland is an unrecognized state in Northern Somalia, roughly concurrent with former British Somaliland. It declared independence upon the collapse of Somalia in 1991. Although it enjoys more stability and a somewhat higher standard of living than the rest of Somalia it remains internationally unrecognized.
ko: 소말릴란드 공화국은 북부 소말리아의 미승인 국가로, 대체로 옛 영국령 소말릴란드와 일치합니다. 1991년 소말리아 붕괴 때 독립을 선언했습니다. 소말리아의 나머지 지역보다 더 안정적이고 생활 수준도 다소 높지만, 국제적으로는 여전히 인정받지 못하고 있습니다.

en: Somali
ko: 소말리인

en: ?plural:Somalis
ko: 소말리인

en: Somalia is a country in the Horn of Africa. In ancient times Somalia was a trading hub. At the end of the 19th century it was colonized by Britain and Italy. Somalia regained its independence in 1960. The military under general Siad Barre seized power in 1969. Siad Barre unsuccessfully tried to root out the country's clan system. In 1991 he was overthrown. The country has been without a functioning government ever since.
ko: 소말리아는 아프리카의 뿔에 있는 나라입니다. 고대에 소말리아는 무역 중심지였습니다. 19세기 말에는 영국과 이탈리아의 식민지가 되었습니다. 소말리아는 1960년에 독립을 회복했습니다. 1969년에 시아드 바레 장군 휘하의 군부가 권력을 장악했습니다. 시아드 바레는 나라의 씨족 체계를 뿌리 뽑으려 했지만 성공하지 못했습니다. 그는 1991년에 축출되었습니다. 그 이후 이 나라는 제대로 기능하는 정부 없이 지내 왔습니다.

en: Sorbian
ko: 소르브인

en: ?plural:Sorbs
ko: 소르브인

en: The Sorbs are West Slavic people living in the East of Germany in Eastern Saxony and Southern Brandenburg (Lusatia). The region has historically been associated with Poland and Bohemia.
ko: 소르브인은 동독의 동부 작센과 남부 브란덴부르크(라우지츠)에 사는 서슬라브계 민족입니다. 이 지역은 역사적으로 폴란드와 보헤미아와 관련되어 있었습니다.

en: Sotho
ko: 바소토인

en: ?plural:Basotho
ko: 바소토인

en: A Bantu people in Southern Africa, the ancestors of the Basotho first arrived in the region by the end of the first millennium CE. The Basotho first formed a unified polity in the early 19th century under king Moshoeshoe I. Today, there are about 2 million Sotho in the Kingdom of Lesotho and almost twice that number in South Africa.
ko: 남아프리카의 반투계 민족인 바소토인의 조상은 서기 첫 천년기 말 무렵 이 지역에 처음 도착했습니다. 바소토인은 19세기 초 모슈에슈에 1세 치하에서 처음 통일된 정치체를 이루었습니다. 오늘날 레소토 왕국에는 약 200만 명의 소토인이 있으며, 남아프리카에는 그 거의 두 배가 살고 있습니다.

en: South African
ko: 남아프리카인

en: ?plural:South Africans
ko: 남아프리카인

en: Dutch settlers began colonizing southern Africa in the 17th century. After many wars between primarily Boers (descendants of Dutch settlers), British forces and Zulus, the Union of South Africa was created in 1910. The South African government became notorious for its "apartheid" policy of legal inequality based on the color of a citizen's skin. Following the adoption of the country's first non-racist constitution in 1994, long-time political prisoner Nelson Mandela became the first truly democratically elected president of South Africa.
ko: 네덜란드 정착민들은 17세기에 남아프리카 식민화를 시작했습니다. 주로 보어인(네덜란드 정착민의 후손), 영국군, 줄루족 사이에 여러 전쟁이 벌어진 뒤 1910년에 남아프리카 연방이 만들어졌습니다. 남아프리카 정부는 시민의 피부색에 따른 법적 불평등을 기반으로 한 '아파르트헤이트' 정책으로 악명이 높아졌습니다. 1994년에 이 나라의 첫 비인종주의 헌법이 채택된 뒤, 오랜 정치범이었던 넬슨 만델라가 최초의 진정한 민주 선거 대통령이 되었습니다.

en: South American
ko: 남아메리카인

en: ?plural:South Americans
ko: 남아메리카인

en: The Union of South American Nations was formed in 2008, modeled after the European Union, but panamericanism has already existed since the 19th century.
ko: 남아메리카 국가 연합은 유럽 연합을 본떠 2008년에 형성되었지만, 범아메리카주의는 이미 19세기부터 존재해 왔습니다.

en: South Korean
ko: 대한민국인

en: ?plural:South Koreans
ko: 대한민국인

en: Formerly the site of a unified Korean state, the Korean peninsula is today divided into two states - North and South Korea - as a result of the stalemate after the Korean War in 1953. The South Korean government was formed from the nationalist and anti-communist "Provisional Government of the Republic of Korea" in 1948.
ko: 한때 통일된 한국 국가가 있던 한반도는 1953년 한국 전쟁 이후 교착 상태의 결과로 오늘날 북한과 남한이라는 두 국가로 나뉘어 있습니다. 대한민국 정부는 1948년에 민족주의적이고 반공적인 '대한민국 임시정부'에서 비롯되어 수립되었습니다.

en: South Sudanese
ko: 남수단인

en: ?plural:South Sudanese
ko: 남수단인

en: A long civil war pitted Southern Sudan, inhabited mostly by black Africans and predominantly Animist and Christian, against the Muslim and Arab North. The war left two million dead and many more displaced until a ceasefire was signed in 2005. Southern Sudan achieved full independence in 2011.
ko: 긴 내전은 주로 흑인 아프리카인이며 애니미즘과 기독교 신자가 많은 남수단과, 이슬람교도와 아랍인이 많은 북부 수단을 맞붙게 했습니다. 이 전쟁으로 200만 명이 사망하고 훨씬 더 많은 사람이 이주했으며, 2005년에야 휴전이 체결되었습니다. 남수단은 2011년에 완전한 독립을 이루었습니다.

en: South Vietnamese
ko: 남베트남인

en: ?plural:South Vietnamese
ko: 남베트남인

en: South Vietnam, officially the Republic of Vietnam, was the American-backed state during the Vietnam War. The country was reunited with North Vietnam after it was conquered by communist forces in 1975.
ko: 공식 명칭이 베트남 공화국이었던 남베트남은 베트남 전쟁 동안 미국의 지원을 받던 국가였습니다. 이 나라는 1975년에 공산주의 세력에 정복된 뒤 북베트남과 재통일되었습니다.

en: Madame %s
ko: 마담 %s

en: South Yemeni
ko: 남예멘인

en: ?plural:South Yemenis
ko: 남예멘인

en: The area around Aden was colonized by the British in 1839. South Yemen declared independence in 1967 and joined the communist bloc. It was united with North Yemen in 1990.
ko: 아덴 주변 지역은 1839년에 영국의 식민지가 되었습니다. 남예멘은 1967년에 독립을 선언하고 공산권에 합류했습니다. 1990년에 북예멘과 통합되었습니다.

en: Soviet
ko: 소비에트인

en: ?plural:Soviets
ko: 소비에트인

en: The history of the Soviet Union starts in November 1917, when under Lenin's leadership a Bolshevik revolution occurred. On December 31 1922, four Soviet republics integrated into one country. The Soviet Union became one of the most powerful states in the 20th century, but by the end of 1991 it had disintegrated into fifteen independent countries due to social and economic problems.
ko: 소련의 역사는 1917년 11월 레닌의 지도 아래 볼셰비키 혁명이 일어나면서 시작됩니다. 1922년 12월 31일 네 개의 소비에트 공화국이 하나의 나라로 통합되었습니다. 소련은 20세기의 가장 강력한 국가들 가운데 하나가 되었지만, 1991년 말에는 사회적·경제적 문제로 인해 15개의 독립 국가로 해체되었습니다.

en: Sri Vijaya
ko: 스리비자야인

en: ?plural:Sri Vijaya
ko: 스리비자야인

en: Sri Vijaya was an empire centered on Palembang in eastern Sumatra and extended its control through much of the coastal regions of Sumatra, Java, Borneo and the Malay peninsula. It was founded sometime in the 3rd century CE and lasted until roughly 1400, falling first to Jambi, then to Singhasari and other regional powers, including the South Indian Chola dynasty.
ko: 스리비자야는 수마트라 동부의 팔렘방을 중심으로 한 제국으로, 수마트라, 자바, 보르네오, 말레이반도 해안 지역의 상당 부분까지 지배력을 넓혔습니다. 이 제국은 서기 3세기경 어느 시점에 세워져 대략 1400년까지 존속했으며, 처음에는 잠비에, 이어 싱하사리와 남인도의 촐라 왕조를 포함한 다른 지역 세력에 밀려 몰락했습니다.

en: Sudanese
ko: 수단인

en: ?plural:Sudanese
ko: 수단인

en: In 1820 Sudan came under Egyptian rule and later British rule. Sudan became independent in 1956.
ko: 1820년에 수단은 이집트의 지배를 받게 되었고, 나중에는 영국의 지배를 받았습니다. 수단은 1956년에 독립했습니다.

en: Suebian
ko: 수에비인

en: ?plural:Suebians
ko: 수에비인

en: The Suebians were an ancient West Germanic tribal confederation, which may have been formed by Ariovistus for his expedition to Gaul. The Suebians included the Germanic tribes from the Elbe river basin belonging to the Herminonic language group, such as the Marcomanni and Quadi. Between the first and fourth centuries CE they were a threat to Rome, often encroaching on the Danube provinces of the empire. In 405-406 CE the Suebians were forced to leave their lands by the Huns and during New Year's night in 405 CE they crossed the frozen Rhine together with the Vandals and the Alans. They settled in the northwest of the Iberian Peninsula, where they established their own kingdom, which was conquered by the Visigoths in 585 CE.
ko: 수에비인은 고대 서게르만계 부족 연맹으로, 아리오비스투스가 갈리아 원정을 위해 형성했을 가능성이 있습니다. 수에비인은 마르코만니와 콰디처럼 엘베강 유역 출신의 헤르미노어군에 속한 게르만 부족들을 포함했습니다. 서기 1세기부터 4세기 사이에 이들은 로마에 위협이 되었고, 제국의 도나우 속주를 자주 침범했습니다. 405~406년에 수에비인은 훈족 때문에 자신들의 땅을 떠나야 했으며, 405년 새해 전야에는 반달족과 알란족과 함께 얼어붙은 라인강을 건넜습니다. 이들은 이베리아반도 북서부에 정착하여 자신들의 왕국을 세웠고, 이 왕국은 서기 585년에 서고트족에게 정복되었습니다.

en: Surinamese
ko: 수리남인

en: ?plural:Surinamese
ko: 수리남인

en: Suriname is the smallest independent country of South America. Originally it was inhabited by Arawak Indians. It was first colonized by the English who traded it with the Dutch for New Amsterdam, modern New York, in 1667. Suriname was granted self government in 1954 and became fully independent in 1975.
ko: 수리남은 남아메리카에서 가장 작은 독립국입니다. 원래는 아라와크 인디언이 거주했습니다. 처음에는 영국인이 식민화했으나, 1667년에 네덜란드인은 이곳을 현대 뉴욕인 뉴암스테르담과 맞바꾸었습니다. 수리남은 1954년에 자치를 부여받았고 1975년에 완전히 독립했습니다.

en: Sergeant %s
ko: 상사 %s

en: ?female:Sergeant %s
ko: 여상사 %s

en: Swahili
ko: 스와힐리인

en: ?plural:Swahili
ko: 스와힐리인

en: The Swahili are a Bantu ethnic group living along the Eastern Coast of Africa. From about the 9th century onwards the region, at the crossroads of Islamic and African cultural influences, saw the rise of Swahili city states, including Zanzibar, Kilwa Kisiwani, Mozambique and Sofala. The cities grew to prominence thanks to their ivory, gold, slave and spice trade. The arrival of the Portuguese around 1500 coincided with the decline of the Swahili polities, but the Swahili remained a dominant cultural element in Eastern Africa. Today, the Swahili language (Kiswahili) is used as lingua franca by more than 50 million people in Eastern Africa and is an official language of Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, the Comoros and the African Union.
ko: 스와힐리인은 아프리카 동해안을 따라 사는 반투계 민족입니다. 9세기 무렵부터 이슬람과 아프리카 문화의 영향이 교차하는 이 지역에서는 잔지바르, 킬와 키시와니, 모잠비크, 소팔라를 포함한 스와힐리 도시국가들이 등장했습니다. 이 도시들은 상아, 금, 노예, 향신료 무역 덕분에 번영했습니다. 1500년 무렵 포르투갈인이 도착하면서 스와힐리 정치체들의 쇠퇴가 시작되었지만, 스와힐리인은 동아프리카의 지배적인 문화 요소로 남았습니다. 오늘날 스와힐리어(키스와힐리)는 동아프리카에서 5천만 명이 넘는 사람들이 공용어로 사용하며, 케냐, 탄자니아, 우간다, 코모로, 아프리카 연합의 공식 언어입니다.

en: Swazi
ko: 스와지인

en: ?plural:Swazis
ko: 스와지인

en: The Swazi are a Bantu people of southern Africa. Under the leadership of Mswati II (1820 - 1868), the Swazis expanded their territory and stabilized the southern frontier with the Zulus.
ko: 스와지인은 남아프리카의 반투계 민족입니다. 음스와티 2세(1820~1868)의 지도 아래 스와지인은 영토를 확장하고 줄루족과의 남쪽 국경을 안정시켰습니다.

en: Swiss
ko: 스의스인

en: ?plural:Swiss
ko: 스의스인

en: Switzerland has existed as a state in its present form since the adoption of the Swiss Federal Constitution in 1848. The precursors of modern Switzerland established a protective alliance at the end of the 13th century, forming a loose confederation of states which persisted for centuries.
ko: 스위스는 1848년 스위스 연방헌법이 채택된 이후 현재 형태의 국가로 존재해 왔습니다. 현대 스위스의 전신은 13세기 말에 방어 동맹을 맺어 수세기 동안 지속된 느슨한 국가 연합을 형성했습니다.

en: Federal Councillor %s
ko: 연방평의원 %s

en: ?female:Federal Councillor %s
ko: 여연방평의원 %s

en: Syrian
ko: 시리아인

en: ?plural:Syrians
ko: 시리아인

en: The modern Syrian Arab Republic was formed from a French mandate and gradually gained independence during the 1940s.
ko: 현대의 시리아 아랍 공화국은 프랑스 위임통치령에서 형성되었고, 1940년대에 점차 독립을 얻었습니다.

en: Tahitian
ko: 타히티인

en: ?plural:Tahitians
ko: 타히티인

en: The islands of what is now French Polynesia were first settled by Polynesian peoples in the 3rd century CE. France established a protectorate over Tahiti, the main island of the archipelago, in 1842. In 1889 the entire area was declared a French colony. The islands remain an overseas collectivity of France today but they enjoy a large internal autonomy. Because of its lush vegetation and Polynesian culture, Tahiti has become the archetypical exotic island.
ko: 오늘날 프랑스령 폴리네시아가 된 섬들은 서기 3세기에 폴리네시아계 사람들이 처음 정착했습니다. 프랑스는 1842년에 군도의 주 섬인 타히티에 보호령을 세웠습니다. 1889년에는 전체 지역이 프랑스 식민지로 선포되었습니다. 이 섬들은 오늘날에도 프랑스의 해외 공동체로 남아 있지만, 상당한 내부 자치를 누리고 있습니다. 울창한 식생과 폴리네시아 문화 덕분에 타히티는 전형적인 이국의 섬으로 여겨지게 되었습니다.

en: Tairona
ko: 타이로나인

en: ?plural:Tairona
ko: 타이로나인

en: A Chibchan-speaking people related to the Kuna of Panama and the Muisca of central Colombia, the Tairona inhabit the modern Magdalena and La Guajira Departments of northern Colombia. Their city of Teyuna was founded sometime around 500 BCE. The Tairona, living in a mountainous area, built stone steps and terraces on steep hillsides in order to farm the region. Though they fought against the Spanish for 75 years, eventually they succumbed to the various pressures that all Native American peoples were subject to during this period.
ko: 파나마의 쿠나족과 중앙 콜롬비아의 무이스카족과 관련 있는 치브차어계 민족인 타이로나인은 현대 콜롬비아 북부의 마그달레나와 라과히라 주에 살고 있습니다. 그들의 도시 테유나는 기원전 500년 무렵에 세워졌습니다. 산악 지대에 살던 타이로나인은 이 지역에서 농사를 짓기 위해 가파른 언덕에 돌계단과 계단식 밭을 만들었습니다. 이들은 75년 동안 스페인에 맞서 싸웠지만, 결국 이 시기의 모든 아메리카 원주민이 받았던 여러 압력에 굴복했습니다.

en: Taiwanese
ko: 대만인

en: ?plural:Taiwanese
ko: 대만인

en: The Republic of China was established in 1912 as the successor state of the Qing Empire, ending over two millennia of imperial rule in China. When the Chinese Nationalists who ruled the Republic lost a civil war against the Chinese Communists in 1949, the Nationalist government evacuated to the island of Taiwan, establishing Taipei as the provisional capital of the Republic of China.
ko: 중화민국은 청 제국의 후계 국가로 1912년에 수립되어 중국에서 2천 년이 넘는 제국 지배를 끝냈습니다. 중화민국을 통치하던 중국 국민당이 1949년에 중국 공산당과의 내전에서 패하자, 국민당 정부는 타이완 섬으로 철수하고 타이베이를 중화민국의 임시 수도로 삼았습니다.

en: Tajik
ko: 타지크인

en: ?plural:Tajiks
ko: 타지크인

en: Tajikistan is a nation in Central Asia. The Tajiks trace the foundation of their nation back to the Samanid Empire, one of the first Persian states to appear after the Arab conquest.
ko: 타지키스탄은 중앙아시아의 나라입니다. 타지크인은 자신들의 국가 기원을 아랍 정복 이후 등장한 최초의 페르시아 국가들 가운데 하나인 사만 왕조로 거슬러 올라갑니다.

en: Tanganyikan
ko: 탕가니카인

en: ?plural:Tanganyikans
ko: 탕가니카인

en: Inhabited by Bantu tribes since the beginning of the Common Era, Tanganyika became a German colony in the late 19th century. It was conquered by the British during World War I and declared independence in 1961. Three years later it merged with Zanzibar to form the Union of Tanzania.
ko: 공통기원 초부터 반투 부족들이 거주하던 탕가니카는 19세기 말 독일 식민지가 되었습니다. 제1차 세계 대전 동안 영국에 정복되었고 1961년에 독립을 선언했습니다. 3년 뒤 잔지바르와 합쳐져 탄자니아 연합을 형성했습니다.

en: Tanzanian
ko: 탄자니아인

en: ?plural:Tanzanians
ko: 탄자니아인

en: Tanzania was formed as a merger of the former British colonies of Tanganyika and Zanzibar in 1964. For two decades the country was ruled by Julius Nyerere, who followed the tenets of African socialism. In 1985 Nyerere was the first African head of state to voluntarily step down.
ko: 탄자니아는 1964년에 옛 영국 식민지였던 탕가니카와 잔지바르가 합병되어 형성되었습니다. 20년 동안 이 나라는 아프리카 사회주의 원칙을 따른 줄리어스 니에레레의 통치를 받았습니다. 1985년에 니에레레는 자발적으로 물러난 최초의 아프리카 국가 원수가 되었습니다.

en: Tatar
ko: 타타르인

en: ?plural:Tatars
ko: 타타르인

en: The Tatars are a Turkic-speaking nation. Various Tatar states existed in the Middle Ages: Kazan, Crimea, Astrakhan, Sibir and other khanates. Nowadays Tatars live in many places in the former USSR. They have their own republic called Tatarstan in the Russian Federation and the Autonomous Republic of Crimea in Ukraine.
ko: 타타르인은 튀르크어를 사용하는 민족입니다. 중세에는 카잔, 크림, 아스트라한, 시비르와 그 밖의 여러 칸국 등 다양한 타타르 국가들이 존재했습니다. 오늘날 타타르인은 옛 소련의 여러 지역에 살고 있습니다. 이들은 러시아 연방 안의 타타르스탄 공화국과 우크라이나의 크림 자치공화국을 가지고 있습니다.

en: Knights Templar
ko: 성전기사단원

en: ?plural:Templars
ko: 성전기사단원

en: The Knights Templar were formed after the first Crusade in order to protect Pilgrims on their journeys in the Holy Land. The organization grew to immense power and wealth in the next 200 years, and were the innovators of many modern concepts such as Banking.
ko: 성전기사단은 제1차 십자군 이후 성지로 여행하는 순례자들을 보호하기 위해 결성되었습니다. 이 조직은 이후 200년 동안 막대한 권력과 부를 얻었고, 은행업 같은 여러 현대적 개념의 혁신자였습니다.

en: Teutonic
ko: 튜턴 기사단

en: ?plural:Teutonic Order
ko: 튜턴 기사단

en: The Teutonic Order led a series of crusades against pagan Balts during the High Middle Ages. In 1224 it founded the 'Ordenstaat' or State of the Order, which remained a powerful country for three centuries. The State was secularized and replaced by the Duchy of Prussia in the 16th century.
ko: 튜턴 기사단은 중세 성기 동안 이교도 발트족을 상대로 일련의 십자군 원정을 이끌었습니다. 1224년에 기사단은 '오르덴슈타트', 즉 기사단국을 세웠고, 이는 3세기 동안 강력한 국가로 남았습니다. 이 국가는 16세기에 세속화되어 프로이센 공국으로 대체되었습니다.

en: Texan
ko: 테크사스인

en: ?plural:Texans
ko: 테크사스인

en: Texas, "the Lone Star State" is the second largest and second most populous state of the USA, famous for its "larger than life" cowboy culture and Mexican heritage. After the famous Battle of the Alamo, The Texians defeated the Mexicans at San Jacinto and declared independence. The Republic of Texas lasted from 1836 to 1846, after which it became the 28th state of the United States. Historically, Texas was ruled in full or in part by six nations: France, Spain, Mexico, the Republic of Texas, the Confederacy, and the USA, as expressed in the slogan "six flags over Texas".
ko: 텍사스, '외로운 별의 주'는 미국에서 두 번째로 크고 두 번째로 인구가 많은 주이며, '실물보다 큰' 카우보이 문화와 멕시코 유산으로 유명합니다. 유명한 알라모 전투 이후 텍사스인들은 샌재신토에서 멕시코인을 물리치고 독립을 선언했습니다. 텍사스 공화국은 1836년부터 1846년까지 존속했으며, 이후 미국의 28번째 주가 되었습니다. 역사적으로 텍사스는 프랑스, 스페인, 멕시코, 텍사스 공화국, 남부연합, 미국이라는 여섯 나라의 전부 또는 일부 지배를 받았고, 이는 '텍사스 위의 여섯 깃발'이라는 구호로 표현됩니다.

en: Thracian
ko: 트라키아인

en: ?plural:Thracians
ko: 트라키아인

en: The second most numerous people in the ancient western world.
ko: 고대 서구 세계에서 두 번째로 수가 많은 민족입니다.

en: Thuringian
ko: 튀링겐인

en: ?plural:Thuringians
ko: 튀링겐인

en: The Thuringians were an ancient Germanic confederation in what is now Central Germany, established after the defeat of the Huns. Defeated by the Franks in the 8th century, Thuringia later became a landgraviate of the Holy Roman Empire. After the extinction of the ruling family in the 13th century, the War of the Thuringian Succession left the region badly splintered even for Holy Roman Empire standards, which was exacerbated by the Thuringian (or rather Saxon) tradition of dividing territory amongst all male heirs. Thuringia was a hotbed of the Protestant Reformation and the Wars of Religion, and saw a cultural apogee during the Enlightenment when the duke of Saxe-Weimar invited luminaries such as Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and Friedrich Schiller to his court. Thuringian political fragmentation survived Napoleon and the German unification; only after the fall of the German monarchies in 1918 was a united Free State of Thuringia established, which currently exists as one of the states of Germany.
ko: 튀링겐인은 오늘날 중부 독일에 해당하는 지역에 있던 고대 게르만계 연맹으로, 훈족이 패배한 뒤 형성되었습니다. 8세기에 프랑크족에게 패한 뒤 튀링겐은 나중에 신성 로마 제국의 방백령이 되었습니다. 13세기에 지배 가문이 단절된 뒤 튀링겐 계승 전쟁으로 이 지역은 신성 로마 제국 기준으로도 심하게 분열되었고, 모든 남성 상속자에게 영토를 나누는 튀링겐(정확히는 작센)의 전통 때문에 더욱 악화되었습니다. 튀링겐은 종교개혁과 종교전쟁의 중심지였고, 계몽주의 시대에는 작센-바이마르 공작이 요한 볼프강 폰 괴테와 프리드리히 실러 같은 명사들을 자신의 궁정으로 초청하면서 문화적 절정을 맞았습니다. 튀링겐의 정치적 분열은 나폴레옹과 독일 통일 뒤에도 살아남았고, 1918년 독일 군주국들이 무너진 뒤에야 통합된 튀링겐 자유주가 수립되었으며, 현재 독일의 한 주로 존재합니다.

en: Tibetan
ko: 티벳인

en: ?plural:Tibetans
ko: 티벳인

en: The Tibetan homeland is sometimes called the "Roof of the World", the highest elevated region in the world. In the 7th century, Tibet emerged as a formidable empire under the leadership of king Songtsen Gampo, being recognized by both China and India. This dynasty lasted until the 11th century, when Tibet was overrun by the Mongols. Centuries later when Mongol rule had weakened, Lozang Gyatso - born 1617 and the 5th Dalai Lama - established a buddhist religious state under the control of the Gelugpa school of Tibetan Buddhism.
ko: 티베트인의 고향은 때때로 '세계의 지붕'이라 불리며, 세계에서 가장 높은 고원 지역입니다. 7세기에 티베트는 송첸 감포 왕의 지도 아래 강력한 제국으로 등장했고, 중국과 인도 모두에게 인정받았습니다. 이 왕조는 11세기까지 지속되다가 티베트가 몽골에 휩쓸렸습니다. 몇 세기 뒤 몽골 지배가 약해졌을 때, 1617년에 태어난 제5대 달라이 라마 로장 갸초가 티베트 불교 겔룩파의 통제 아래 불교 종교 국가를 세웠습니다.

en: Dalai Lama %s
ko: 달라이 라마 %s

en: ?female:Dalai Lama %s
ko: 여달라이 라마 %s

en: Timurid
ko: 티무르인

en: ?plural:Timurids
ko: 티무르인

en: Timur was a military genius who claimed lineage from Chinggis Khan and from his capital in Samarkand conquered all of Central Asia as well as parts of the Middle East and India. The court culture of Timurid Empire was heavily Persianized, while the imperial administration and military organization displayed influences from the Timurid ruling elite's Mongolian and Turkic origins.
ko: 티무르는 칭기즈 칸의 혈통을 주장한 군사 천재로, 사마르칸트의 수도에서 중앙아시아 전역과 중동 및 인도의 일부를 정복했습니다. 티무르 제국의 궁정 문화는 강하게 페르시아화되었고, 제국 행정과 군사 조직에는 티무르 지배 엘리트의 몽골·튀르크계 기원의 영향이 드러났습니다.

en: Tocharian
ko: 토하라인

en: ?plural:Tocharians
ko: 토하라인

en: The Tocharians were an Indo-European people living in what is now Xinjiang in western China. Because of their unique geopolitical position, their kingdoms of Shanshan, Kucha, and Khotan (as well as other, smaller ones) were influenced by Chinese, Persian, Indian, Sogdian, Scythian, and Tibetan cultures. Their religion, dress, writing, and art all reflect these varied influences. They lived in oasis towns and cities along the Silk Road, along which Buddhism was carried into China. The area was at various times a military protectorate of China, such as during the Han and Tang dynasties. During the decline of the latter dynasty, the Turkic Uyghur tribe moved into the Tarim basin, settling in and expanding their khanate through the Tocharian lands. The Uyghur intermarried with the Tocharians and supplanted their language for all but liturgical purposes. Even this use fell when Islam spread and took the place of Buddhism as the predominant religion in the region.
ko: 토하라인은 오늘날 중국 서부 신장에 살던 인도유럽계 민족이었습니다. 독특한 지정학적 위치 때문에 산산, 쿠차, 호탄 왕국과 다른 작은 왕국들은 중국, 페르시아, 인도, 소그드, 스키타이, 티베트 문화의 영향을 받았습니다. 그들의 종교, 의복, 문자, 예술은 모두 이러한 다양한 영향을 반영합니다. 이들은 실크로드를 따라 오아시스 마을과 도시에서 살았으며, 이 길을 통해 불교가 중국으로 전해졌습니다. 이 지역은 한나라와 당나라 때처럼 여러 시기에 중국의 군사 보호령이었습니다. 후대 당 왕조가 쇠퇴하던 시기에는 튀르크계 위구르 부족이 타림 분지로 들어와 정착하고 토하라인의 땅을 거쳐 칸국을 확장했습니다. 위구르인은 토하라인과 통혼했고, 전례 목적을 제외하고는 그들의 언어를 대체했습니다. 이 사용마저도 이슬람이 퍼져 불교를 지역의 지배적 종교로 대신하면서 사라졌습니다.

en: Togolese
ko: 토고인

en: ?plural:Togolese
ko: 토고인

en: Togo became a German protectorate in 1885 and was conquered by the French and British in World War II. Togo became independent in 1960. Since the late 1960s the country's politics have been dominated by general Gnassingbe Eyadema, who was succeeded by his son Faure upon his death in 2005.
ko: 토고는 1885년에 독일 보호령이 되었고 제2차 세계 대전 중 프랑스와 영국에 정복되었습니다. 토고는 1960년에 독립했습니다. 1960년대 후반부터 이 나라의 정치는 냐싱베 에야데마 장군이 지배했고, 2005년 그의 사망 뒤 아들 포르가 뒤를 이었습니다.

en: Toki Ponan
ko: 토키 포나인

en: ?plural:Toki Ponans
ko: 토키 포나인

en: Toki Pona is a conlang created by Sonja lang in 2001 which is notable for its extremely small size, consisting of 14 letters and anywhere from 120 words to 137 words.
ko: 토키 포나는 2001년에 소냐 랑이 만든 인공어로, 14개 글자와 120개에서 137개 사이의 단어로 이루어진 매우 작은 규모가 특징입니다.

en: Toltec
ko: 톨텍인

en: ?plural:Toltecs
ko: 톨텍인

en: The Toltecs were a Meso-American civilization that existed from the 10th to the 12th century. The Toltec Empire was founded by Ce Tecpatl Mixcoatl, who led his nomadic people from the north to settle on the Mexican High Plain. Mixcoatl was murdered by his enemies but was later avenged by his son Ce Acatl Topilitzin Quetzalcoatl, who would lead the Toltec civilization to untold heights. Toltec culture continued to thrive until the 12th century. Their capital Tollan was violently destroyed in 1168 and the Toltec area fragmented into rivaling city-states. Toltec cultural influences have been identified from New Mexico to Nicaragua, though historians do not agree on the political history of the Toltecs. Since most of the history of the Toltecs is based on Aztec mythology, some claim there was never a Toltec Empire, but that Aztec references to the Toltecs were an allegory for civilization.
ko: 톨텍인은 10세기부터 12세기까지 존재한 메소아메리카 문명이었습니다. 톨텍 제국은 북쪽에서 유목민을 이끌고 멕시코 고원에 정착한 세 테크파틀 믹스코아틀이 세웠습니다. 믹스코아틀은 적들에게 살해되었지만, 훗날 그의 아들 세 아카틀 토필친 케찰코아틀이 복수했고 톨텍 문명을 헤아릴 수 없는 전성기로 이끌었습니다. 톨텍 문화는 12세기까지 계속 번영했습니다. 수도 톨란은 1168년에 폭력적으로 파괴되었고, 톨텍 지역은 경쟁하는 도시국가들로 분열되었습니다. 톨텍 문화의 영향은 뉴멕시코부터 니카라과까지 확인되지만, 역사가들은 톨텍인의 정치사에 대해 합의하지 못합니다. 톨텍인의 역사 대부분이 아즈텍 신화에 기반하기 때문에, 일부는 톨텍 제국이 실제로 존재한 적이 없고 아즈텍의 톨텍 언급은 문명에 대한 알레고리였다고 주장합니다.

en: Tongan
ko: 통가인

en: ?plural:Tongans
ko: 통가인

en: An island group in the Southern Pacific, Tonga was settled by Polynesians around 1000 BCE. Although the islands became a British protectorate in the 19th century, they are the only country in Oceania to have escaped actual colonization.
ko: 남태평양의 섬 무리인 통가는 기원전 1000년 무렵 폴리네시아인이 정착했습니다. 19세기에 영국 보호령이 되었지만, 오세아니아에서 실제 식민화를 피한 유일한 나라입니다.

en: Transnistrian
ko: 트란스니스트리아인

en: ?plural:Transnistrians
ko: 트란스니스트리아인

en: Transnistria was added to the Moldavian SSR by Stalin, although it was mostly inhabited by Russians and Ukrainians. After the collapse of the Soviet Union Transnistria declared its independence from Moldova. Although the country is de facto independent, it is not recognized by any UN member. Power is still in the hands of the old communist elite.
ko: 트란스니스트리아는 스탈린에 의해 몰다비아 소비에트 사회주의 공화국에 추가되었지만, 주민 대부분은 러시아인과 우크라이나인이었습니다. 소련 붕괴 뒤 트란스니스트리아는 몰도바로부터 독립을 선언했습니다. 이 나라는 사실상 독립해 있지만, 어떤 유엔 회원국도 인정하지 않습니다. 권력은 여전히 옛 공산주의 엘리트의 손에 있습니다.

en: Transylvanian
ko: 트란실바니아인

en: ?plural:Transylvanians
ko: 트란실바니아인

en: Transylvania is a historical territory in what is now Romania, inhabited by Romanians, Hungarians and Saxon Germans. Transylvania became a principality under nominal Hungarian suzereignty when that country started to crumble under the Ottoman incursions. During the Reformation, Transylvania was the first country in Europe to proclaim religious freedom. The principality lost its independence to Habsburg Austria in 1711.
ko: 트란실바니아는 오늘날 루마니아에 있는 역사적 영토로, 루마니아인, 헝가리인, 작센 독일인이 거주했습니다. 트란실바니아는 오스만의 침입으로 헝가리가 무너지기 시작했을 때 명목상 헝가리의 종주권 아래 공국이 되었습니다. 종교개혁 동안 트란실바니아는 유럽에서 종교의 자유를 선포한 최초의 나라였습니다. 이 공국은 1711년에 합스부르크 오스트리아에 독립을 잃었습니다.

en: Trinidadian and Tobagonian
ko: 트리니다드 토바고인

en: ?plural:Trinidadians and Tobagonians
ko: 트리니다드 토바고인

en: Trinidad and Tobago is a country in the Caribbean, consisting of the two eponymous islands. It is the most populous country of the Lesser Antilles. Trinidad was sighted by Columbus in 1498, and remained a Spanish colony until it was conquered by the British during the Napoleonic wars; Tobago was colonized by Curonians, Spanish, Dutch, French and Swedes but eventually also ended up in British hands. The islands have been independent since 1962. The islands' economy is based on oil and is relatively developed when compared to its Caribbean neighbors. Trinidad and Tobago is famous for its music and its Carnival.
ko: 트리니다드 토바고는 카리브해의 나라로, 이름이 같은 두 섬으로 이루어져 있습니다. 이 나라는 소앤틸리스에서 인구가 가장 많은 나라입니다. 트리니다드는 1498년에 콜럼버스가 발견했고, 나폴레옹 전쟁 중 영국에 정복될 때까지 스페인 식민지로 남아 있었습니다. 토바고는 쿠를란트인, 스페인인, 네덜란드인, 프랑스인, 스웨덴인에게 식민화되었지만 결국 역시 영국의 손에 들어갔습니다. 이 섬들은 1962년부터 독립해 있습니다. 섬들의 경제는 석유에 기반하며 카리브해 이웃 국가들에 비해 비교적 발전했습니다. 트리니다드 토바고는 음악과 카니발로 유명합니다.

en: Tswana
ko: 바츠와나인

en: ?plural:Batswana
ko: 바츠와나인

en: The Batswana are a Bantu people in Southern Africa. With about 20% of the population they are the dominant ethnicity of Botswana, which is named after them. In South Africa they count about four million Batswana and in the Apartheid era they had the Bantustan of Bophuthatswana.
ko: 바츠와나인은 남아프리카의 반투계 민족입니다. 인구의 약 20%로서 자신들의 이름을 딴 보츠와나의 지배적 민족입니다. 남아프리카에는 약 400만 명의 바츠와나인이 있으며, 아파르트헤이트 시대에는 보푸타츠와나라는 반투스탄을 가지고 있었습니다.

en: Tuareg
ko: 투아레그인

en: ?plural:Tuaregs
ko: 투아레그인

en: The Tuareg or Imuhagh are a pastoralist nomadic Berber people inhabiting the interior of the Sahara Desert, mostly in Algeria, Niger and Mali. Despite their matrilineal organization they are followers of Islam. For many centuries they engaged in slave hunting, even influencing the slave trade to the Americas.
ko: 투아레그 또는 이무하그는 사하라 사막 내륙, 주로 알제리, 니제르, 말리에 사는 목축 유목 베르베르인입니다. 모계 조직을 가지고 있지만 이슬람을 따릅니다. 여러 세기 동안 이들은 노예 사냥에 관여했고, 아메리카로 향한 노예무역에도 영향을 미쳤습니다.

en: Tunisian
ko: 튀니시아인

en: ?plural:Tunisians
ko: 튀니시아인

en: The Phoenicians founded Carthage in the area where Tunisia is today. Carthage later became a major power in the Mediterranean region until it was defeated by the Romans in 146 BCE. Later the Arab Muslim conquest in the 7th century led to migration from the Arab and Ottoman countries. But there were also a lot of Jews and Spanish Moors who moved there at the end of the 16th century. Tunisia became mostly autonomous from the Ottoman empire in 1861. But in 1881 Tunisia was invaded by the French and was made a French protectorate. The country became independent in 1956.
ko: 페니키아인은 오늘날 튀니지가 있는 지역에 카르타고를 세웠습니다. 카르타고는 나중에 기원전 146년에 로마에 패배할 때까지 지중해 지역의 주요 세력이 되었습니다. 이후 7세기의 아랍 무슬림 정복은 아랍과 오스만 국가들로부터의 이주를 가져왔습니다. 그러나 16세기 말에는 많은 유대인과 스페인 무어인도 그곳으로 이주했습니다. 튀니지는 1861년에 오스만 제국으로부터 거의 자치 상태가 되었습니다. 그러나 1881년에 프랑스가 튀니지를 침공하여 프랑스 보호령으로 만들었습니다. 이 나라는 1956년에 독립했습니다.

en: Turkish Cypriot
ko: 튀르키예계 키프로스인

en: ?plural:Turkish Cypriots
ko: 튀르키예계 키프로스인

en: Turks first settled in Cyprus after the Ottomans conquered the island in 1571. Political unrest and ethnic tensions between Turkish and Greek Cypriots led to an invasion by the Turkish military in 1974, followed by the declaration of independence of the Turkish Republic of North Cyprus in 1983. Currently, the only country that recognizes the independence of the TRNC is Turkey.
ko: 오스만 제국이 1571년에 키프로스 섬을 정복한 뒤 튀르크인이 키프로스에 처음 정착했습니다. 튀르키예계와 그리스계 키프로스인 사이의 정치적 불안과 민족 갈등은 1974년 튀르키예군의 침공으로 이어졌고, 1983년 북키프로스 튀르크 공화국의 독립 선언이 뒤따랐습니다. 현재 북키프로스 튀르크 공화국의 독립을 인정하는 유일한 나라는 튀르키예입니다.

en: Turkmen
ko: 투르크멘인

en: ?plural:Turkmens
ko: 투르크멘인

en: Turkmen tribes were first united in the 11th century CE under Togrul Beg, second ruler of the Seljuk Empire. As the Seljuk state broke down under the pressure from encroaching Mongols, the Turkmens started a westward migration. They eventually settled in the lands between the Amu Darya river and the Caspian Sea, approximately the location of today's Turkmenistan.
ko: 투르크멘 부족들은 셀주크 제국의 두 번째 통치자 토그릴 베그 아래 11세기에 처음 통합되었습니다. 셀주크 국가가 밀려오는 몽골의 압력으로 붕괴하자, 투르크멘인은 서쪽으로 이동하기 시작했습니다. 이들은 결국 아무다리야강과 카스피해 사이의 땅, 대략 오늘날 투르크메니스탄의 위치에 정착했습니다.

en: Turkmenbashi %s
ko: 투르크멘바시 %s

en: ?female:Turkmenbashi %s
ko: 여투르크멘바시 %s

en: Tuvaluan
ko: 투발루인

en: ?plural:I-Tuvaluan
ko: 투발루인

en: The Ellice Islands are an island chain in the Pacific Ocean. Inhabited by Micronesians since prehistoric times, they were united under a common chiefdom in the late 19th century. Together with the Gilbert Islands they were annexed by the British in 1892 who established the colony of Gilbert and Ellice Islands. The islands became independent in 1978, under the name Tuvalu, which means 'Eight standing together', referencing the eight inhabited islands.
ko: 엘리스 제도는 태평양의 섬 사슬입니다. 선사 시대부터 미크로네시아인이 거주했으며, 19세기 말에는 공통 추장국 아래 통합되었습니다. 길버트 제도와 함께 1892년에 영국에 병합되어 길버트 엘리스 제도 식민지가 세워졌습니다. 이 섬들은 1978년에 투발루라는 이름으로 독립했는데, 이는 거주하는 여덟 섬을 가리켜 '함께 서 있는 여덟'을 뜻합니다.

en: Tuvan
ko: 투바인

en: ?plural:Tuvans
ko: 투바인

en: Tuvans are a Turkic people living in the Autonomous Republic of Tuva in the south of Siberia. Tuva split off from China in 1921 and then formed the independent republic of Tannu Tuva allied with the Soviet Union. In 1940 Tannu Tuva had the distinction of seeing the first non-monarchic female head of state of Modern History when Khertek Anchimaa-Toka became chairperson of the republic. In 1944 it was incorporated in the Soviet Union as a part of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic.
ko: 투바인은 시베리아 남부의 투바 자치공화국에 사는 튀르크계 민족입니다. 투바는 1921년에 중국에서 분리된 뒤 소련과 동맹한 독립 공화국 탄누 투바를 형성했습니다. 1940년에 헤르텍 안치마토카가 공화국 의장이 되면서, 탄누 투바는 근대사에서 최초의 비군주제 여성 국가원수를 둔 것으로 유명해졌습니다. 1944년에 이곳은 러시아 소비에트 연방 사회주의 공화국의 일부로 소련에 편입되었습니다.

en: Tyrolian
ko: 티롤인

en: ?plural:Tyrolians
ko: 티롤인

en: Tyrol was a county in the Alps. In the 16th century its own dynasty died out and the region passed to Habsburg Austria. The southern part was annexed by Italy after World War I.
ko: 티롤은 알프스의 백작령이었습니다. 16세기에 자체 왕조가 단절되면서 이 지역은 합스부르크 오스트리아로 넘어갔습니다. 남부는 제1차 세계 대전 뒤 이탈리아에 병합되었습니다.

en: Princely Count %s
ko: 영주 백작 %s

en: Princely Countess %s
ko: 영주 여백작 %s

en: Ugandan
ko: 우간다인

en: ?plural:Ugandans
ko: 우간다인

en: The Republic of Uganda is located in eastern Africa. The country contains part of Lake Victoria, which is also in Kenya and Tanzania. In the past, the southern part of the country was part of the Buganda kingdom. Modern Uganda gained independence in 1962.
ko: 우간다 공화국은 동아프리카에 위치합니다. 이 나라는 케냐와 탄자니아에도 걸쳐 있는 빅토리아호의 일부를 포함합니다. 과거에 나라의 남부는 부간다 왕국의 일부였습니다. 현대 우간다는 1962년에 독립했습니다.

note: TRANS: There are two titles for king, kabaka and ;    mujaguzo. Kabaka is the material king, while ;    mujaguzo is the spiritual king, and is represented ;    by royal drums. These titles come from Buganda, an ;    ancient kingdom which occupied much of present-day ;    Uganda.
en: Kabaka %s
ko: 카바카 %s

en: ?female:Kabaka %s
ko: 여카바카 %s

en: Ukrainian
ko: 우크라이나인

en: ?plural:Ukrainians
ko: 우크라이나인

en: Ukraine is a vast region on the westernmost marches of the former Soviet Union. It includes some of the most fertile black-soil cropland on Earth.
ko: 우크라이나는 옛 소련의 가장 서쪽 변경에 있는 광대한 지역입니다. 이곳에는 지구상에서 가장 비옥한 흑토 농경지 일부가 포함됩니다.

en: ?plural:UN
ko: UN

en: The United Nations believe in human rights and the protection of the weak.
ko: 국제 연합은 인권과 약자의 보호를 믿습니다.

en: Secretary-General %s
ko: 사무총장 %s

en: ?female:Secretary-General %s
ko: 여사무총장 %s

en: Urartian
ko: 우라르투인

en: ?plural:Urartians
ko: 우라르투인

en: Urartu was an ancient Hurrian state located around Lake Van in the eastern part of Anatolia. The earliest historical mention of Urartu comes from texts of the Assyrian king Shalmaneser I dating from the 13th century BCE. It is thought that Urartu was a multiethnic state in which Hurrian tribes likely formed the dominant element. Urartu played an important role in shaping the modern Armenian people.
ko: 우라르투는 아나톨리아 동부의 반호 주변에 위치한 고대 후리계 국가였습니다. 우라르투에 대한 가장 이른 역사적 언급은 기원전 13세기로 거슬러 올라가는 아시리아 왕 살만에세르 1세의 문헌에서 나옵니다. 우라르투는 후리 부족이 지배적 요소를 형성했을 가능성이 큰 다민족 국가였다고 여겨집니다. 우라르투는 현대 아르메니아 민족을 형성하는 데 중요한 역할을 했습니다.

en: Uruguayan
ko: 우루과이인

en: ?plural:Uruguayans
ko: 우루과이인

en: Uruguay, a small South American country sometimes referred to as "Switzerland of the Americas" due to its once highly developed social welfare system.
ko: 우루과이는 한때 매우 발달한 사회복지 제도 때문에 '아메리카의 스위스'라고 불리기도 하는 남아메리카의 작은 나라입니다.

en: Uyghur
ko: 위구르인

en: ?plural:Uyghurs
ko: 위구르인

en: Uyghur was an east Turk empire and civilization. At its height in 820 CE it controlled most of Central and North Asia. After clashing with the Chinese for several centuries, they were finally subdued by the Qing dynasty in the 1700s. Today, descendants of the Uyghur form the populations of the Central Asian states of Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. They are also the main minority of the Xinjiang province of China.
ko: 위구르는 동튀르크 제국이자 문명이었습니다. 전성기인 서기 820년에는 중앙아시아와 북아시아의 대부분을 지배했습니다. 수세기 동안 중국과 충돌한 뒤, 1700년대에 결국 청 왕조에 복속되었습니다. 오늘날 위구르인의 후손은 우즈베키스탄, 카자흐스탄, 키르기스스탄 같은 중앙아시아 국가들의 인구를 이루고 있습니다. 또한 이들은 중국 신장성의 주요 소수민족이기도 합니다.

en: Uzbek
ko: 우즈베크인

en: ?plural:Uzbeks
ko: 우즈베크인

en: The Central Asian nation of Uzbekistan has been the site of many ancient states such as Khwarezm, the Khanate of Bukhara, and the Khanate of Kokand. The Uzbeks regard themselves as descendants of Timur, founder of the Timurid dynasty, who ruled from his capital at Samarkand.
ko: 중앙아시아 국가 우즈베키스탄은 호라즘, 부하라 칸국, 코칸드 칸국 같은 많은 고대 국가들이 있던 곳입니다. 우즈베크인은 자신들을 사마르칸트를 수도로 삼아 통치한 티무르 왕조의 창건자 티무르의 후손으로 여깁니다.

en: Vampire
ko: 뱀파이어

en: ?plural:Vampires
ko: 뱀파이어

en: Bloodsucking creatures of legend.
ko: 전설 속의 피를 빨아먹는 생물입니다.

en: Vandalic
ko: 반달족

en: ?plural:Vandals
ko: 반달족

en: The Vandals were an East Germanic people originating from what is now Southern Poland and Slovakia. They entered the Roman Empire in the early 5th century CE. Led by Geiseric, they eventually founded a kingdom in Carthage. The Vandals are perhaps best known for their sack of Rome in 455 CE. In 534 CE Belisarius conquered the Vandalic kingdom for the Byzantine Empire.
ko: 반달족은 오늘날 남부 폴란드와 슬로바키아에 해당하는 지역에서 기원한 동게르만계 민족이었습니다. 이들은 서기 5세기 초 로마 제국에 들어왔습니다. 가이세리크의 지휘 아래 결국 카르타고에 왕국을 세웠습니다. 반달족은 아마도 서기 455년 로마 약탈로 가장 잘 알려져 있을 것입니다. 서기 534년에 벨리사리우스가 비잔티움 제국을 위해 반달 왕국을 정복했습니다.

en: Vanuatuan
ko: 니바누아투인

en: ?plural:Ni-Vanuatu
ko: 니바누아투인

en: Vanuatu, formerly known as the New Hebrides, is a country in Melanesia, consisting of about 80 islands. First inhabited by Melanesians, the islands were contested by the British and French in the late 19th century. In 1906 both colonial powers agreed to rule the New Hebrides together as a condominium. The Republic of Vanuatu declared its independence in 1980.
ko: 과거 뉴헤브리디스로 알려졌던 바누아투는 약 80개의 섬으로 이루어진 멜라네시아의 나라입니다. 처음에는 멜라네시아인이 거주했으며, 19세기 말에는 영국과 프랑스가 이 섬들을 두고 경쟁했습니다. 1906년에 두 식민 세력은 뉴헤브리디스를 공동통치령으로 함께 지배하기로 합의했습니다. 바누아투 공화국은 1980년에 독립을 선언했습니다.

en: Vedic
ko: 베다인

en: ?plural:Vedics
ko: 베다인

en: The cradle of Ancient Indian civilization lay in the Indus river valley in modern-day Pakistan.
ko: 고대 인도 문명의 요람은 오늘날 파키스탄의 인더스강 계곡에 있었습니다.

en: Mahatma %s
ko: 마하트마 %s

en: ?female:Mahatma %s
ko: 여마하트마 %s

en: Veletian
ko: 벨레티인

en: ?plural:Veletians
ko: 벨레티인

en: The Veletians or Lutici were a medieval West Lechitic tribal confederation in what is nowadays the northeastern part of Germany (Brandenburg and Mecklenburg). Their tribes were of mixed Slavic and Germanic origin, which was visible in their language. The basis for the existence of the Veletian confederation was to preserve the Slavic pagan religion and to resist the expansion of Germany and the Polanian state. The Veletians eventually succumbed to Germanization or were murdered following the Crusades and the German settlement on their lands.
ko: 벨레티인 또는 루티치인은 오늘날 독일 북동부(브란덴부르크와 메클렌부르크)에 해당하는 지역의 중세 서레흐계 부족 연맹이었습니다. 이들의 부족은 슬라브계와 게르만계가 섞인 기원을 가졌고, 이는 언어에서도 드러났습니다. 벨레티 연맹의 존재 기반은 슬라브 이교 신앙을 보존하고 독일과 폴란계 국가의 팽창에 저항하는 것이었습니다. 벨레티인은 결국 독일화에 굴복하거나, 십자군과 독일인의 정착 이후 살해되었습니다.

en: Venda
ko: 바벤다인

en: ?plural:Vhavenda
ko: 바벤다인

en: The Vhavenda are a Bantu people in South Africa and Zimbabwe. Once the rulers of the Mapungubwe Kingdom, they now count about one million members, mostly in the province of Limpopo. During the Apartheid Era there existed a Bantustan of Venda.
ko: 바벤다인은 남아프리카와 짐바브웨의 반투계 민족입니다. 한때 마풍구브웨 왕국의 지배자였던 이들은 오늘날 약 100만 명에 이르며, 대부분 림포포 주에 살고 있습니다. 아파르트헤이트 시대에는 벤다 반투스탄이 존재했습니다.

en: Venetian
ko: 베네치아인

en: ?plural:Venetians
ko: 베네치아인

en: The Republic of Venice emerged from the shadows of history when refugees from barbarian marauders gathered on the safety of the islands of a lagoon in northeast Italy. Originally a loyal subject of the Eastern Roman empire, it gradually acquired its independence and ranked among the superpowers of the Middle Ages. Its merchants grew rich on trade, and its navy was respected throughout the Mediterranean sea. After a long decline, it eventually fell to the armies of Bonaparte in 1796.
ko: 베네치아 공화국은 야만 약탈자들을 피해 도망친 사람들이 이탈리아 북동부 석호의 섬들에 안전하게 모이면서 역사의 그늘에서 등장했습니다. 원래는 동로마 제국의 충실한 신민이었지만, 점차 독립을 얻었고 중세의 초강대국들 가운데 하나로 자리했습니다. 상인들은 무역으로 부유해졌고, 해군은 지중해 전역에서 존중받았습니다. 긴 쇠퇴 끝에 결국 1796년에 보나파르트의 군대에 함락되었습니다.

en: Venetic
ko: 베네티인

en: ?plural:Veneti
ko: 베네티인

en: The Veneti were an ancient Indo-European people who inhabited an area roughly coinciding with the modern Italian region of Veneto. Their language is of unknown origin, but probably from Central Europe, because it shares some features with Celtic and Germanic languages. The Veneti allied with the Romans during the Punic Wars. By the 1st century BCE they had been absorbed into the Roman Republic and the region gradually Romanized.
ko: 베네티인은 대략 현대 이탈리아 베네토 지역과 일치하는 지역에 살던 고대 인도유럽계 민족이었습니다. 이들의 언어는 기원을 알 수 없지만, 켈트어와 게르만어와 일부 특징을 공유하기 때문에 아마도 중앙유럽에서 온 것으로 보입니다. 베네티인은 포에니 전쟁 동안 로마와 동맹을 맺었습니다. 기원전 1세기에는 로마 공화국에 흡수되었고, 이 지역은 점차 로마화되었습니다.

en: Venezuelan
ko: 베네수엘라인

en: ?plural:Venezuelans
ko: 베네수엘라인

en: Venezuela is the northernmost country in South America. Having been a Spanish colony since the 16th century, the country gained independence on July 5th 1811 under the leadership of El Libertador Simón Bolivar - The Liberator. Venezuela has one of the largest proven oil and gas reserves of the world; during the oil boom of the 1970s it was the wealthiest country of Latin America. The country is known for its varied landscapes and high biodiversity.
ko: 베네수엘라는 남아메리카 최북단의 나라입니다. 16세기부터 스페인 식민지였던 이 나라는 1811년 7월 5일 '해방자' 엘 리베르타도르 시몬 볼리바르의 지도 아래 독립했습니다. 베네수엘라는 세계 최대 규모의 확인 석유와 가스 매장량 가운데 하나를 보유하고 있습니다. 1970년대 석유 붐 동안에는 라틴아메리카에서 가장 부유한 나라였습니다. 이 나라는 다양한 경관과 높은 생물다양성으로 알려져 있습니다.

en: Vermont
ko: 버몬트인

en: ?plural:Vermonters
ko: 버몬트인

en: Vermont was an independent state for 14 years before it joined the United States in 1791. Currently it is one of the smallest states of the United States, both in population and area. Vermont is famous for its dairy products and maple syrup.
ko: 버몬트는 1791년에 미국에 합류하기 전 14년 동안 독립 국가였습니다. 현재는 인구와 면적 모두에서 미국의 가장 작은 주들 가운데 하나입니다. 버몬트는 유제품과 메이플 시럽으로 유명합니다.

en: Vietnamese
ko: 베트남인

en: ?plural:Vietnamese
ko: 베트남인

en: The Vietnamese nation was founded in the first century CE by twin sisters who became the war leaders of a revolt against a Chinese military governor.
ko: 베트남 국가는 서기 1세기에 중국 군정관에 맞선 반란의 전쟁 지도자가 된 쌍둥이 자매에 의해 세워졌습니다.

en: Vincentian
ko: 세인트빈센트인

en: ?plural:Vincentians
ko: 세인트빈센트인

en: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines were amongst the last Caribbean islands to be colonized, as local Carib Indians intermarried with runaway slaves and fought off European colonizers. In the 18th century the islands were contested by the French and British. In 1783 the French relinquished their claims. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines became independent from Britain in 1979 and are currently a Commonwealth realm.
ko: 세인트빈센트 그레나딘은 지역 카리브 인디언이 도망친 노예들과 결혼하고 유럽 식민자들을 막아 냈기 때문에 카리브해에서 가장 늦게 식민화된 섬들 가운데 하나였습니다. 18세기에 이 섬들은 프랑스와 영국이 다투었습니다. 1783년에 프랑스는 영유권 주장을 포기했습니다. 세인트빈센트 그레나딘은 1979년에 영국으로부터 독립했으며 현재는 영연방 왕국입니다.

en: Visigothic
ko: 서고트족

en: ?plural:Visigoths
ko: 서고트족

en: The Thervingi or Visigoths were an East Germanic people, one of the two tribes of the Goths. They probably originated from Scandinavia. In the 3rd century they migrated south, to modern Ukraine. They then crossed the Danube and sacked Rome in 410 CE. Recognized by the Romans as foederati, they eventually settled around Toulouse where they formed a kingdom. The Visigoths managed to conquer all of the Iberian Peninsula and moved their capital to Toledo. They lost all their territories north of the Pyrenees to the Franks but Visigothic rulers continued to rule the Romanized Iberians until the peninsula was eventually overrun by Muslim invaders in 711.
ko: 테르빙기 또는 서고트족은 동게르만계 민족으로, 고트족의 두 부족 가운데 하나였습니다. 이들은 아마 스칸디나비아에서 기원했을 것입니다. 3세기에 남쪽, 오늘날의 우크라이나로 이주했습니다. 이후 도나우강을 건너 서기 410년에 로마를 약탈했습니다. 로마인에게 포이데라티로 인정받은 뒤, 결국 툴루즈 주변에 정착하여 왕국을 세웠습니다. 서고트족은 이베리아반도 전역을 정복하고 수도를 톨레도로 옮겼습니다. 이들은 피레네 북쪽의 모든 영토를 프랑크족에게 잃었지만, 711년에 반도가 결국 무슬림 침입자들에게 휩쓸릴 때까지 서고트 지배자들은 로마화된 이베리아인을 계속 통치했습니다.

en: Vistulan
ko: 비스툴라인

en: ?plural:Vistulans
ko: 비스툴라인

en: Vistulans were a West Slavic tribe inhabiting what is today the area of Lesser Poland. Little is known about their history. Many historians agree that throughout the early Middle Ages Vistulans were one of the strongest Slavic tribes of today's Poland, but conflicts with Great Moravia and Magyars prevented them from forming a stable and lasting state. Eventually, the lands of Vistulans and several other Slavic tribes were unified by Polonians, who formed the first Polish state in the 10th century.
ko: 비스툴라인은 오늘날 소폴란드 지역에 살던 서슬라브계 부족이었습니다. 이들의 역사에 대해서는 거의 알려져 있지 않습니다. 많은 역사가들은 중세 초기 내내 비스툴라인이 오늘날 폴란드의 가장 강력한 슬라브 부족들 가운데 하나였지만, 대모라비아와 마자르족과의 갈등 때문에 안정적이고 지속적인 국가를 형성하지 못했다고 봅니다. 결국 비스툴라인과 여러 다른 슬라브 부족들의 땅은 폴란인에게 통합되었고, 폴란인은 10세기에 최초의 폴란드 국가를 세웠습니다.

en: Volapükan
ko: 볼라퓌크인

en: ?plural:Volapükans
ko: 볼라퓌크인

en: Volapük is an international auxiliary language constructed by the German priest Johann Martin Schleyer in 1879. It enjoyed a brief popularity in the late 19th century. The language is often considered unnecessarily complex when compared with alternatives like Esperanto, which had almost completely displaced Volapük by the turn of the century. Today only a few dozen Volapük speakers remain.
ko: 볼라퓌크는 독일의 성직자 요한 마르틴 슐라이어가 1879년에 만든 국제 보조어입니다. 19세기 말 한때 인기를 얻었지만, 에스페란토 같은 대안과 비교하면 지나치게 복잡하다는 평가를 자주 받았습니다. 세기가 바뀔 무렵에는 에스페란토가 볼라퓌크를 거의 대체했고, 오늘날 볼라퓌크 화자는 수십 명 정도만 남아 있습니다.

en: Volga Bulgar
ko: 볼가 불가르인

en: ?plural:Volga Bulgars
ko: 볼가 불가르인

en: The Volga Bulgars were Medieval Turkic people inhabiting the middle Volga region. They may have been descendants of European Huns who migrated from the Ukrainian Steppe to the North. Their descendants are the modern Chuvashes and Volga Tatars.
ko: 볼가 불가르인은 중세에 볼가강 중류 지역에 살던 튀르크계 민족이었습니다. 이들은 우크라이나 초원에서 북쪽으로 이주한 유럽 훈족의 후손이었을 수도 있습니다. 그 후손은 현대의 추바시인과 볼가 타타르인입니다.

en: Volga German
ko: 볼가 독일인

en: ?plural:Volga Germans
ko: 볼가 독일인

en: The Volga Germans were ethnic Germans who lived along the River Volga in Southern Russia, around the city of Saratov and to the South. They were recruited as immigrants in the 18th century. The Russian authorities allowed them to cultivate their German language and traditions. From 1918 to 1941 there was a Volga German ASSR within the Soviet Union. After the attack of the Third Reich in the USSR, the autonomous republic was abolished by a decree of Stalin. Volga Germans were sent to other parts of the Soviet Union, mainly to Kazakhstan and Siberia.
ko: 볼가 독일인은 남러시아의 볼가강을 따라, 사라토프 시 주변과 그 남쪽에 살던 독일계 사람들입니다. 이들은 18세기에 이민자로 모집되었습니다. 러시아 당국은 이들이 독일어와 전통을 유지하도록 허용했습니다. 1918년부터 1941년까지 소련 안에는 볼가 독일인 자치 소비에트 사회주의 공화국이 있었습니다. 제3제국이 소련을 공격한 뒤, 스탈린의 명령으로 이 자치 공화국은 폐지되었습니다. 볼가 독일인은 소련의 다른 지역, 주로 카자흐스탄과 시베리아로 보내졌습니다.

en: Walloon
ko: 왈롱인

en: ?plural:Walloons
ko: 왈롱인

en: The Walloons are the French speaking inhabitants of Belgium. In the 19th century, Wallonia was first region on the European continent to industrialize and the second in the world after England. It subsequently became a hotbed of socialist and labor union activity.
ko: 왈롱인은 벨기에의 프랑스어 사용 주민입니다. 19세기에 왈로니아는 유럽 대륙에서 처음 산업화된 지역이자, 잉글랜드에 이어 세계에서 두 번째로 산업화된 지역이었습니다. 이후 이 지역은 사회주의와 노동조합 활동의 중심지가 되었습니다.

en: Welsh
ko: 웨일스인

en: ?plural:Welsh
ko: 웨일스인

en: The Welsh at one time controlled all of what is now England until being driven into the mountainous western reaches by invading Saxons.
ko: 웨일스인은 한때 오늘날 잉글랜드에 해당하는 전역을 지배했으나, 침입한 색슨족에 의해 산악이 많은 서쪽 끝으로 밀려났습니다.

en: Werewolf
ko: 웨어울프

en: ?plural:Werewolves
ko: 웨어울프

en: A werewolf is a human who under certain circumstances is transformed into a wolf-like beast. During the Middle Ages in Europe, werewolves were believed to terrorize villages in search of human flesh and were often blamed for unexplained or particularly brutal killings.
ko: 웨어울프는 특정한 상황에서 늑대 같은 야수로 변하는 인간입니다. 중세 유럽에서는 웨어울프가 인간의 살을 찾아 마을을 공포에 빠뜨린다고 믿었고, 설명할 수 없거나 특히 잔혹한 살인의 원인으로 자주 지목되었습니다.

en: Western Pomeranian
ko: 서포메라니아인

en: ?plural:Western Pomeranians
ko: 서포메라니아인

en: Western Pomerania is a geographical and historical region in North West Poland and the extreme North East of Germany. Initially an independent Slavic state, Western Pomerania was twice conquered by the Polish. Later, Western Pomerania succumbed to Germanization and was divided into smaller feudal principalities which were gradually conquered by Brandenburg. For many years this land was part of Germany but in 1945 it was attached to Poland.
ko: 서포메라니아는 폴란드 북서부와 독일의 극북동부에 걸친 지리적·역사적 지역입니다. 처음에는 독립적인 슬라브 국가였으나, 두 차례 폴란드에 정복되었습니다. 나중에 서포메라니아는 독일화에 굴복했고, 작은 봉건 공국들로 나뉘어 점차 브란덴부르크에 정복되었습니다. 오랫동안 이 땅은 독일의 일부였지만 1945년에 폴란드에 편입되었습니다.

en: Western Roman
ko: 서로마인

en: ?plural:West Romans
ko: 서로마인

en: The Roman Empire was first divided by Diocletian in 286 and split for good upon Theodosius' death in 395. Unlike its Eastern counterpart, the Byzantine empire, the Western Roman Empire was not capable of resisting barbarian invasions and economic disintegration. The last Western Roman emperor was deposed in 476 CE.
ko: 로마 제국은 286년에 디오클레티아누스에 의해 처음 분할되었고, 395년에 테오도시우스가 죽은 뒤 완전히 갈라졌습니다. 동쪽의 비잔티움 제국과 달리 서로마 제국은 야만족의 침입과 경제적 해체에 저항할 수 없었습니다. 마지막 서로마 황제는 서기 476년에 폐위되었습니다.

en: %s Augustus
ko: %s 아우구스투스

en: %s Augusta
ko: %s 아우구스타

en: West Indian
ko: 서인도인

en: ?plural:West Indians
ko: 서인도인

en: The West Indies, known for pirates, rum, cricket and beaches. The British West Indies formed the short-lived West Indies Federation in 1958. The federation failed to consolidate because of tensions between Trinidad, Jamaica and the smaller members. The federation fell apart in 1962. Some islands became independent countries, others returned to the status of a British dependency.
ko: 서인도 제도는 해적, 럼주, 크리켓, 해변으로 알려져 있습니다. 영국령 서인도 제도는 1958년에 단명한 서인도 연방을 형성했습니다. 이 연방은 트리니다드, 자메이카, 더 작은 회원들 사이의 긴장 때문에 통합에 실패했습니다. 연방은 1962년에 해체되었습니다. 일부 섬은 독립국이 되었고, 다른 섬들은 영국 종속령 지위로 돌아갔습니다.

en: Westphalian
ko: 베스트팔리아인

en: ?plural:Westphalians
ko: 베스트팔리아인

en: Westphalia, before becoming a Prussian province, was the western region of the Duchy of Saxony. Today it makes up the northern part of the largest German federal state, North Rhine-Westphalia.
ko: 베스트팔렌은 프로이센의 주가 되기 전 작센 공국의 서부 지역이었습니다. 오늘날에는 독일 최대 연방주인 노르트라인베스트팔렌의 북부를 이룹니다.

en: Wuerttembergian
ko: 뷔르템베르크인

en: ?plural:Wuerttembergians
ko: 뷔르템베르크인

en: Wuerttemberg was a country in Swabia, in southwestern Germany. After World War II it was merged with Baden and Hohenzollern to form the land of Baden-Wuerttemberg.
ko: 뷔르템베르크는 독일 남서부 슈바벤에 있던 나라였습니다. 제2차 세계 대전 뒤 바덴 및 호엔촐레른과 합쳐져 바덴뷔르템베르크 주를 이루었습니다.

en: Xhosa
ko: 아마코사인

en: ?plural:amaXhosa
ko: 아마코사인

en: The Xhosa are Bantu people in South Africa, having arrived there from the Great Lakes region by the 17th century. During the apartheid era there were two Xhosa Bantustans, Transkei and Ciskei. Many of the leading anti-apartheid activists, including Nelson Mandela and Desmond Tutu, were Xhosa.
ko: 코사인은 남아프리카의 반투계 민족으로, 17세기까지 대호수 지역에서 그곳에 도착했습니다. 아파르트헤이트 시대에는 트란스케이와 시스케이라는 두 코사 반투스탄이 있었습니다. 넬슨 만델라와 데즈먼드 투투를 포함한 많은 주요 반아파르트헤이트 활동가들이 코사인이었습니다.

en: Xiongnu
ko: 흉노족

en: ?plural:Xiongnu
ko: 흉노족

en: The Xiongnu, also known as Asiatic Huns, were an ancient tribal confederation of mixed origin. Their language is unknown; it may have belonged to the Altaic or Yeniseian language family. The Xiongnu created a strong state in the plains of the eastern part of Central Asia, which was an important threat to China. From the second century onwards the northern wing of the Xiongnu was known as Xianbei, while another group of the Xiongnu emigrated to the west.
ko: 아시아 훈족으로도 알려진 흉노는 혼합 기원의 고대 부족 연맹이었습니다. 이들의 언어는 알려져 있지 않으며, 알타이어족 또는 예니세이어족에 속했을 수도 있습니다. 흉노는 중앙아시아 동부 평원에 강력한 국가를 세웠고, 이는 중국에 중요한 위협이 되었습니다. 2세기 이후 흉노의 북쪽 세력은 선비로 알려졌고, 또 다른 흉노 집단은 서쪽으로 이주했습니다.

en: Yakut
ko: 야쿠트인

en: ?plural:Yakuts
ko: 야쿠트인

en: Oral tradition indicates that the Yakuts - or Sakha as they call themselves - migrated north from the Central Asian steppes to the shores of Lake Baikal in the 10th century CE. They intermarried with the native population and established a nation along the Lena river, having diplomatic relations with at least the Chinese, the Mongols, and the various Turkic peoples of the region. By the 1620s, Cossacks had arrived in Yakut territory as agents of an expansionist Russia, eventually subduing the Yakut kings and securing Russian hegemony over Yakutia. Numbering about a million today, the Yakuts make up roughly half of the population of the vast Sakha Republic of Russia's Far Eastern district.
ko: 구전 전승에 따르면 야쿠트인, 즉 스스로 사하라고 부르는 사람들은 서기 10세기에 중앙아시아 초원에서 바이칼호 기슭으로 북상했습니다. 이들은 토착민과 통혼했고 레나강을 따라 나라를 세웠으며, 적어도 중국인, 몽골인, 그리고 이 지역의 여러 튀르크계 민족과 외교 관계를 맺었습니다. 1620년대에는 코사크가 팽창주의 러시아의 대리인으로 야쿠트 영토에 도착했고, 결국 야쿠트 왕들을 복속시켜 야쿠티아에 대한 러시아의 패권을 확보했습니다. 오늘날 약 100만 명에 이르는 야쿠트인은 러시아 극동 지구의 광대한 사하 공화국 인구의 약 절반을 차지합니다.

en: Yemeni
ko: 예멘인

en: ?plural:Yemenis
ko: 예멘인

en: Yemen is the only republic on the Arabian Peninsula. Although it was the site of several ancient civilizations, Yemen only exists in its current form since North Yemen annexed South Yemen in 1990.
ko: 예멘은 아라비아반도에서 유일한 공화국입니다. 여러 고대 문명의 현장이었지만, 현재 형태의 예멘은 1990년에 북예멘이 남예멘을 병합한 이후에만 존재합니다.

en: Yucatecan
ko: 유카탄인

en: ?plural:Yucatecans
ko: 유카탄인

en: Yucatán is a peninsula of Mexico, famous for its Maya heritage and its white beaches. Its name is often claimed to mean "we don't understand you" in Yucatec Maya. On two occasions in the 19th century Yucatán declared independence from Mexico. Currently it is divided into three states: Yucatán, Campeche and Quintana Roo.
ko: 유카탄은 마야 유산과 흰 해변으로 유명한 멕시코의 반도입니다. 그 이름은 유카텍 마야어로 '우리는 당신을 이해하지 못한다'를 뜻한다고 흔히 주장됩니다. 19세기에 유카탄은 두 차례 멕시코로부터 독립을 선언했습니다. 현재는 유카탄, 캄페체, 킨타나로오의 세 주로 나뉘어 있습니다.

en: Yugoslav
ko: 유고슬라비아인

en: ?plural:Yugoslavs
ko: 유고슬라비아인

en: Yugoslavia was a state consisting of the Slavic nations of the western Balkans. It was a kingdom until 1941, when it was occupied by the Axis powers. After a national liberation war the communists threw out the occupants and continued to rule until the 1980s. The 1990s saw the bloody breakup of Yugoslavia into independent republics.
ko: 유고슬라비아는 서부 발칸의 슬라브 민족들로 이루어진 국가였습니다. 1941년 추축국에 점령될 때까지 왕국이었습니다. 민족 해방 전쟁 뒤 공산주의자들이 점령자들을 몰아냈고 1980년대까지 계속 통치했습니다. 1990년대에는 유고슬라비아가 독립 공화국들로 피비린내 나는 해체를 겪었습니다.

en: Zambian
ko: 잠비아인

en: ?plural:Zambians
ko: 잠비아인

en: Zambia was inhabited by Bantu peoples when it was colonized by the British in the 19th century. Governed as Northern Rhodesia by the British, Zambia gained its independence in 1964.
ko: 잠비아에는 19세기에 영국이 식민화했을 때 반투계 민족들이 살고 있었습니다. 영국에 의해 북로디지아로 통치되던 잠비아는 1964년에 독립을 얻었습니다.

en: Zanzibari
ko: 잔지바르인

en: ?plural:Zanzibaris
ko: 잔지바르인

en: An archipelago off the coast of Eastern Africa, Zanzibar has been an international trading center since time immemorial. Zanzibari traders controlled much of the spice and slave trade in the western part of the Indian Ocean. Periods of relative independence and foreign control by Persians, Portuguese, Omanis and British followed each other. Occupied by the British in 1893, Zanzibar achieved independence in 1963. Shortly thereafter, the last sultan was overthrown and Zanzibar joined with Tanganyika to form the United Republic of Tanzania.
ko: 동아프리카 해안 앞의 군도인 잔지바르는 태곳적부터 국제 무역 중심지였습니다. 잔지바르 상인들은 인도양 서부의 향신료와 노예 무역의 상당 부분을 지배했습니다. 상대적 독립 시기와 페르시아인, 포르투갈인, 오만인, 영국인에 의한 외국 지배 시기가 서로 이어졌습니다. 1893년에 영국에 점령된 잔지바르는 1963년에 독립을 이루었습니다. 그 직후 마지막 술탄이 전복되었고, 잔지바르는 탕가니카와 결합해 탄자니아 연합공화국을 형성했습니다.

en: Zapotec
ko: 사포텍인

en: ?plural:Zapotecs
ko: 사포텍인

en: The Zapotecs or Binnizá live in the Mexican state of Oaxaca. They formed one of the oldest and most resilient Mesoamerican civilizations. The most notable Zapotec center, Monte Albán, was built on a razed mountain top. Benito Juárez, Mexico's first indigenous president, was a Zapotec.
ko: 사포텍인 또는 빈니자는 멕시코 오악사카주에 살고 있습니다. 이들은 가장 오래되고 강인한 메소아메리카 문명 가운데 하나를 이루었습니다. 가장 유명한 사포텍 중심지인 몬테 알반은 깎아낸 산 정상에 세워졌습니다. 멕시코 최초의 원주민 대통령 베니토 후아레스는 사포텍인이었습니다.

en: Zhuang
ko: 좡족

en: ?plural:Zhuang
ko: 좡족

en: The Zhuang people live in far southwestern China, an ancient border region that has long separated Sinitic civilization from the aboriginal peoples of Southeast Asia. Known for their unique irrigation and scenic terraced rice paddies, they were under pressure from various Chinese dynasties for most of the Ancient era. By the 10th century CE the Zhuang were under harsh rule by the Chinese Song dynasty. After a rebellion in 1052 led by folk-hero Nong Zhigao was crushed, many Zhuang migrated southward forming the basis of the Lao, Thai, and Shan nations. After the Han, the Zhuang are the most populous ethnic group of the People's Republic of China.
ko: 좡족은 중국 서남부 끝, 중국계 문명과 동남아시아 원주민들을 오랫동안 갈라 놓은 고대 변경 지역에 살고 있습니다. 독특한 관개 시설과 아름다운 계단식 논으로 알려진 이들은 고대 시대 대부분 동안 여러 중국 왕조의 압박을 받았습니다. 서기 10세기에 좡족은 중국 송 왕조의 가혹한 지배 아래 있었습니다. 1052년에 민간 영웅 농지고가 이끈 반란이 진압된 뒤 많은 좡족이 남쪽으로 이주하여 라오, 타이, 샨 민족의 기반을 이루었습니다. 한족 다음으로 좡족은 중화인민공화국에서 가장 인구가 많은 민족 집단입니다.

en: Zimbabwean
ko: 짐바브웨인

en: ?plural:Zimbabweans
ko: 짐바브웨인

en: Zimbabwe is a country in Southern Africa, named after the old Zimbabwe kingdom. It became a British colony called South Rhodesia in 1898. The white minority in South Rhodesia unilaterally declared independence in 1965. Prime Minister Ian Smith installed a racist regime which excluded blacks from power. A civil war forced Smith to end white minority rule in 1979. Since 1980 the country has been governed by Robert Mugabe, who has received an equally poor reputation internationally as the previous regime.
ko: 짐바브웨는 남아프리카의 나라로, 옛 짐바브웨 왕국의 이름을 따서 명명되었습니다. 1898년에 남로디지아라는 영국 식민지가 되었습니다. 남로디지아의 백인 소수파는 1965년에 일방적으로 독립을 선언했습니다. 이언 스미스 총리는 흑인을 권력에서 배제하는 인종차별 정권을 세웠습니다. 내전으로 스미스는 1979년에 백인 소수 지배를 끝내야 했습니다. 1980년부터 이 나라는 로버트 무가베가 통치했으며, 그는 이전 정권만큼이나 국제적으로 나쁜 평판을 얻었습니다.
