welcome.xml - en to ko translation catalogue (76 entries)

note: Tag: title
en: Welcome to &debian;
ko: &debian;에 오신 것을 환영합니다

note: Tag: para
en: This chapter provides an overview of the &debian; Project and &debian-gnu;. If you already know about the &debian; Project's history and the &debian-gnu; distribution, feel free to skip to the next chapter.
ko: 이 장에서는 &debian; 프로젝트와 &debian-gnu;에 대해 간단히 설명합니다. &debian; 프로젝트의 역사와 &debian-gnu; 배포판에 대해 이미 알고 있다면 다음 장으로 넘어가셔도 됩니다.

note: Tag: title
en: What is Debian?
ko: 데비안이란?

note: Tag: para
en: Debian is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to developing free software and promoting the ideals of the Free Software community. The Debian Project began in 1993, when Ian Murdock issued an open invitation to software developers to contribute to a complete and coherent software distribution based on the relatively new Linux kernel. That relatively small band of dedicated enthusiasts, originally funded by the <ulink url="&url-fsf;">Free Software Foundation</ulink> and influenced by the <ulink url="&url-gnu-intro;">GNU</ulink> philosophy, has grown over the years into an organization of around &num-of-debian-developers; <firstterm>Debian Developers</firstterm>.
ko: 데비안은 자유 소프트웨어를 개발하고 자유 소프트웨어 커뮤니티의 이상을 널리 알리는 일을 위해 조직한, 자원자로만 구성된 조직입니다. 데비안 프로젝트는 1993년에 이안 머독이 새로운 (당시에는 비교적 새로운 버전의) 커널을 사용하면서, 완전하고 일관된 소프트웨어 배포판을 만드는 데 참여할 소프트웨어 개발자를 공개적으로 모집하면서부터 시작되었습니다. 처음에는 <ulink url="&url-fsf;">자유 소프트웨어 재단(Free Software Foundation)</ulink>의 자금 지원을 받았고, <ulink url="&url-gnu-intro;">GNU</ulink> 철학에 영향을 받은 비교적 작은 규모의 이 열성적인 집단은, 해를 거듭하면서 &num-of-debian-developers;여 명의 <firstterm>데비안 개발자</firstterm>가 참여하는 조직으로 성장했습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Debian Developers are involved in a variety of activities, including <ulink url="&url-debian-home;">Web</ulink> and <ulink url="&url-debian-ftp;">FTP</ulink> site administration, graphic design, legal analysis of software licenses, writing documentation, and, of course, maintaining software packages.
ko: 데비안 개발자는 <ulink url="&url-debian-home;">홈페이지</ulink> 및 <ulink url="&url-debian-ftp;">FTP</ulink> 사이트 관리, 그래픽 디자인, 소프트웨어 라이선스의 법률적 해석, 문서 작성, (말할 필요도 없이) 소프트웨어 패키지 관리 등 다양한 활동에 참여합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: In the interest of communicating our philosophy and attracting developers who believe in the principles that Debian stands for, the Debian Project has published a number of documents that outline our values and serve as guides to what it means to be a Debian Developer:
ko: 데비안의 철학을 전달하고, 또 데비안의 원칙에 동의하는 개발자를 끌어 모으려고 데비안 프로젝트는 여러가지 문서를 발표했습니다. 이러한 문서에서 데비안의 가치를 간략히 설명합니다. 또 데비안 개발자가 되는 게 무엇을 뜻하는지에 대한 지침 역할을 합니다:

note: Tag: para
en: The <ulink url="&url-social-contract;">Debian Social Contract</ulink> is a statement of Debian's commitments to the Free Software Community. Anyone who agrees to abide to the Social Contract may become a <ulink url="&url-new-maintainer;">maintainer</ulink>. Any maintainer can introduce new software into Debian &mdash; provided that the software meets our criteria for being free, and the package follows our quality standards.
ko: <ulink url="&url-social-contract;">데비안 우리의 약속(Debian Social Contract)</ulink>은 자유소프트웨어 공동체에 대한 데비안의 선언입니다. 이 선언에 따르기로 동의한 사람은 누구나 <ulink url="&url-new-maintainer;">메인테이너</ulink>가 될 수 있습니다. 모든 메인테이너는 새로운 소프트웨어를 데비안에 추가할 수 있습니다. 단 그 소프트웨어가 우리의 자유소프트웨어 기준에 맞아야 하고, 패키지가 우리의 품질 기준에 맞아야 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The <ulink url="&url-dfsg;">Debian Free Software Guidelines</ulink> are a clear and concise statement of Debian's criteria for free software. The DFSG is a very influential document in the Free Software Movement, and was the foundation of the <ulink url="&url-osd;">The Open Source Definition</ulink>.
ko: <ulink url="&url-dfsg;">데비안 자유 소프트웨어 기준(Debian Free Software Guidelines)</ulink>은 자유소프트웨어에 대한 데비안의 기준을 단순명료하게 설명한 것입니다. DFSG는 자유소프트웨어 운동에 있어서 매우 영향력 있는 문서로, 이 문서를 기초로 <ulink url="&url-osd;">오픈 소스 정의(Open Source Definition)</ulink>가 작성되었습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The <ulink url="&url-debian-policy;">Debian Policy Manual</ulink> is an extensive specification of the Debian Project's standards of quality.
ko: <ulink url="&url-debian-policy;">데비안 정책 설명서(Debian Policy Manual)</ulink>는 데비안 프로젝트의 품질 기준을 자세히 적은 명세서입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Debian developers are also involved in a number of other projects; some specific to Debian, others involving some or all of the Linux community. Some examples include:
ko: 데비안 개발자는 여러가지 다른 프로젝트에 참가하기도 합니다. 데비안과 관계된 프로젝트도 있고, 리눅스 공동체의 일부 혹은 전부와 관련되어 있는 프로젝트도 있습니다. 예를 들면 다음과 같습니다:

note: Tag: para
en: The <ulink url="&url-fhs-home;">Filesystem Hierarchy Standard</ulink> (FHS) is an effort to standardize the layout of the Linux file system. The FHS will allow software developers to concentrate their efforts on designing programs, without having to worry about how the package will be installed in different GNU/Linux distributions.
ko: <ulink url="&url-fhs-home;">Filesystem Hierarchy Standard</ulink> (FHS) 프로젝트는 리눅스 파일 시스템의 구성을 표준화하는 프로젝트입니다. FHS의 표준화를 통해 소프트웨어 개발자는 개발한 패키지가 GNU/리눅스 배포판에 따라 어떻게 설치되는지 고민할 필요 없이, 프로그램 설계에만 전념할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: <ulink url="&url-debian-jr;">Debian Jr.</ulink> is an internal project, aimed at making sure Debian has something to offer to our youngest users.
ko: <ulink url="&url-debian-jr;">데비안 쥬니어(Debian Junior)</ulink> 프로젝트는 데비안 내부 프로젝트로 어린이 사용자가 사용할 만한 데비안을 만드는 프로젝트입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: For more general information about Debian, see the <ulink url="&url-debian-faq;">Debian FAQ</ulink>.
ko: 데비안에 관해 더 일반적인 정보는 <ulink url="&url-debian-faq;">데비안 FAQ</ulink>를 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: What is GNU/Linux?
ko: GNU/리눅스란?

note: Tag: para
en: GNU/Linux is an operating system: a series of programs that let you interact with your computer and run other programs.
ko: GNU/리눅스는 운영체제입니다. 운영체제는 여러가지 프로그램의 모음으로, 이 프로그램을 이용해 컴퓨터를 사용하고 다른 프로그램을 실행하기도 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: An operating system consists of various fundamental programs which are needed by your computer so that it can communicate and receive instructions from users; read and write data to hard disks, tapes, and printers; control the use of memory; and run other software. The most important part of an operating system is the kernel. In a GNU/Linux system, Linux is the kernel component. The rest of the system consists of other programs, many of which were written by or for the GNU Project. Because the Linux kernel alone does not form a working operating system, we prefer to use the term <quote>GNU/Linux</quote> to refer to systems that many people casually refer to as <quote>Linux</quote>.
ko: 운영체제는 컴퓨터에 필요한 여러 가지 기초적인 프로그램으로 구성되어 있고, 이 프로그램을 이용해 사용자는 컴퓨터와 의사소통을 하고 컴퓨터에 지시를 내립니다. 예를 들어 하드 디스크, 테이프, 프린터로 데이터를 보내거나 여기에서 데이터를 읽어들이며, 메모리 사용을 제어하고, 다른 프로그램을 실행합니다. 운영체제의 가장 중요한 부분이 바로 커널입니다, GNU/리눅스 시스템에서 리눅스는 커널 부분을 말합니다. 시스템의 나머지 부분은 기타 프로그램으로 구성되며, GNU 프로젝트가 많은 부분을 개발했습니다. 리눅스 커널 그 자체만으로는 시스템을 구성할 수 없기 때문에, 우리는 흔히 리눅스라고 호칭하는 시스템을 GNU/리눅스라는 이름으로 사용합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: GNU/Linux is modelled on the Unix operating system. From the start, GNU/Linux was designed to be a multi-tasking, multi-user system. These facts are enough to make GNU/Linux different from other well-known operating systems. However, GNU/Linux is even more different than you might imagine. In contrast to other operating systems, nobody owns GNU/Linux. Much of its development is done by unpaid volunteers.
ko: GNU/리눅스는 유닉스(Unix) 운영체제를 모델로 만든 운영체제입니다. 애초부터 GNU/리눅스는 다중 작업, 다중 사용자 시스템으로 설계되었습니다. 다중 작업, 다중 사용자 시스템이라는 것만으로도 리눅스는 여타의 잘 알려진 운영체제와 차별됩니다. 그러나 GNU/리눅스는 여러분이 생각하는 것 이상으로 다른 점이 아주 많습니다. 다른 운영체제와는 달리 어느 누구도 GNU/리눅스를 소유하지 않습니다. 자원자의 힘으로 GNU/리눅스의 상당 부분을 개발했습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Development of what later became GNU/Linux began in 1984, when the <ulink url="&url-fsf;">Free Software Foundation</ulink> began development of a free Unix-like operating system called GNU.
ko: 후에 GNU/리눅스라고 불리게 된 시스템의 개발은 1984년에 시작되었으며, 이 때 <ulink url="&url-fsf;">자유 소프트웨어 재단(FSF)</ulink>은 유닉스와 유사한 운영체제의 개발을 시작하면서 그 이름을 GNU라고 했습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The <ulink url="&url-gnu;">GNU Project</ulink> has developed a comprehensive set of free software tools for use with Unix&trade; and Unix-like operating systems such as GNU/Linux. These tools enable users to perform tasks ranging from the mundane (such as copying or removing files from the system) to the arcane (such as writing and compiling programs or doing sophisticated editing in a variety of document formats).
ko: <ulink url="&url-gnu;">GNU 프로젝트</ulink>는 유닉스(Unix&trade;) 및 GNU/리눅스처럼 유닉스와 유사한 운영체제에서 사용할 수 있는 일련의 자유 소프트웨어 도구를 개발해 왔습니다. 이러한 도구를 이용해 사용자는 파일을 복사하거나 지우는 아주 일상적인 작업부터, 프로그램 작성과 컴파일, 여러가지 종류의 문서 편집에 이르기까지 다양한 작업을 할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: While many groups and individuals have contributed to GNU/Linux, the largest single contributor is still the Free Software Foundation, which created not only most of the tools used in GNU/Linux, but also the philosophy and the community that made GNU/Linux possible.
ko: 수많은 단체와 개인이 GNU/리눅스의 개발에 기여했지만, 단독으로 가장 크게 기여한 곳은 자유 소프트웨어 재단(Free Software Foundation)입니다. 자유 소프트웨어 재단은 GNU/리눅스에서 사용하는 도구의 대부분을 개발했을 뿐 아니라, GNU/리눅스가 생겨나게 했던 철학과 공동체를 만들어 냈습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The <ulink url="&url-kernel-org;">Linux kernel</ulink> first appeared in 1991, when a Finnish computing science student named Linus Torvalds announced an early version of a replacement kernel for Minix to the Usenet newsgroup <userinput>comp.os.minix</userinput>. See Linux International's <ulink url="&url-linux-history;">Linux History Page</ulink>.
ko: <ulink url="&url-kernel-org;">리눅스 커널</ulink>은 리누스 토발즈(Linus Torvalds)라는 핀란드의 한 컴퓨터 과학 대학생이 1991년 유즈넷 뉴스그룹 <userinput>comp.os.minix</userinput>에 미닉스(Minix)를 대체하는 커널의 초기 버전을 발표하면서 처음으로 그 모습을 세상에 드러냈습니다. 자세한 사항은 리눅스 인터네셔널의 <ulink url="&url-linux-history;">리눅스 역사 페이지(Linux History Page)</ulink>를 참고하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Linus Torvalds continues to coordinate the work of several hundred developers with the help of a number of subsystem maintainers. There is an <ulink url="&url-kernel-org;">official website</ulink> for the Linux kernel. Information about the <userinput>linux-kernel</userinput> mailing list can be found on the <ulink url="&url-linux-kernel-list-faq;">linux-kernel mailing list FAQ</ulink>.
ko: 리누스 토발즈는 몇 명의 서브시스템 관리자의 도움을 받아 수백명에 달하는 개발자의 작업을 조율하고 있습니다. 리눅스 커널의 <ulink url="&url-kernel-org;">공식 홈페이지</ulink>가 있습니다. <userinput>linux-kernel</userinput> 메일링 리스트에 대한 정보는 <ulink url="&url-linux-kernel-list-faq;">linux-kernel 메일링 리스트 FAQ</ulink>에서 찾아 보십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: GNU/Linux users have immense freedom of choice in their software. For example, they can choose from a dozen different command line shells and several graphical desktops. This selection is often bewildering to users of other operating systems, who are not used to thinking of the command line or desktop as something that they can change.
ko: GNU/리눅스 사용자는 소프트웨어 선택에 많은 자유를 갖고 있습니다. 예를 들어 GNU/리눅스 사용자는 열 개가 넘는 종류의 다른 커맨드 라인 쉘, 여러가지 그래픽 데스크톱 중에서 원하는 소프트웨어를 선택할 수 있습니다. 이와 같이 선택의 폭이 넓어서 쉘이나 데스크톱을 바꿀 수 있다는 걸 전혀 생각치 못했던 사용자가 당황스러워 하기도 합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: GNU/Linux is also less likely to crash, better able to run more than one program at the same time, and more secure than many operating systems. With these advantages, Linux is the fastest growing operating system in the server market. More recently, Linux has begun to be popular among home and business users as well.
ko: 또한 GNU/리눅스는 여타 운영체제에 비해 시스템이 멈추는 경우가 적고, 동시에 둘 이상의 프로그램을 실행하는 성능이 월등하고, 보안에 강합니다. 리눅스는 서버 시장에서 가장 성장이 빠른 운영체제입니다. 최근에 리눅스는 가정과 업무용 사용자에게도 퍼져 나가고 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: What is &debian; GNU/Linux?
ko: &debian; GNU/리눅스란?

note: Tag: para
en: The combination of &debian;'s philosophy and methodology and the GNU tools, the Linux kernel, and other important free software, form a unique software distribution called &debian; GNU/Linux. This distribution is made up of a large number of software <emphasis>packages</emphasis>. Each package in the distribution contains executables, scripts, documentation, and configuration information, and has a <emphasis>maintainer</emphasis> who is primarily responsible for keeping the package up-to-date, tracking bug reports, and communicating with the upstream author(s) of the packaged software. Our extremely large user base, combined with our bug tracking system ensures that problems are found and fixed quickly.
ko: &debian;의 철학 및 방법론과 GNU 도구, 리눅스 커널, 그리고 기타 중요한 자유소프트웨어가 모여 &debian; GNU/리눅스라는 독특한 배포판을 만듭니다. 이 배포판은 수많은 소프트웨어 <emphasis>패키지</emphasis>로 구성됩니다. 배포판의 각 패키지는 실행파일, 스크립트, 문서, 설정 정보가 들어 있으며 <emphasis>메인테이너</emphasis>가 관리합니다. 메인테이너는 각 패키지를 항상 최신으로 유지하고, 버그 리포트를 추적하고, 패키지로 만든 소프트웨어의 원 개발자와 연락을 하고 있습니다. 데비안의 거대한 사용자 기반이 버그 추적 시스템과 결합해 문제점을 빠르게 찾아내고 수정할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: &debian;'s attention to detail allows us to produce a high-quality, stable, and scalable distribution. Installations can be easily configured to serve many roles, from stripped-down firewalls to desktop scientific workstations to high-end network servers.
ko: &debian;이 세세한 신경을 쓰는 덕분에 품질 높고, 안정적이고, 확장성 좋은 배포판을 만들어 냅니다. 간단한 설치 설정에 따라 방화벽에서 데스크톱 공학용 워크스테이션, 고성능 네트워크 서버까지 다양한 역할을 할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: &debian; is especially popular among advanced users because of its technical excellence and its deep commitment to the needs and expectations of the Linux community. &debian; also introduced many features to Linux that are now commonplace.
ko: 기술적으로 우수하면서 리눅스 공동체의 필요와 기대에 대해 적극적으로 참여하기 때문에, &debian;은 고급 사용자에게 특히 인기가 있습니다. 또한 &debian;은 지금은 리눅스에 일반적인 기능이 된 많은 기능을 새로 도입하는 데 앞장 서 왔습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: For example, &debian; was the first Linux distribution to include a package management system for easy installation and removal of software. It was also the first Linux distribution that could be upgraded without requiring reinstallation.
ko: 예를 들어보면, 소프트웨어의 설치와 제거를 손쉽게 할 수 있는 패키지 관리 시스템이 들어간 최초의 리눅스 배포판이 &debian;입니다. 또 다시 설치하지 않고도 업그레이드할 수 있는 최초의 배포판입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: &debian; continues to be a leader in Linux development. Its development process is an example of just how well the Open Source development model can work &mdash; even for very complex tasks such as building and maintaining a complete operating system.
ko: &debian;은 리눅스 개발의 리더로서 계속하고 있습니다. 그 개발 과정(전체 운영 체제를 구축하고 유지하는 매우 복잡한 작업하더라도)은 오픈 소스 개발 모델이 얼마나 잘 진행되는지를 보여주는되어 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The feature that most distinguishes &debian; from other Linux distributions is its package management system. These tools give the administrator of a &debian; system complete control over the packages installed on that system, including the ability to install a single package or automatically update the entire operating system. Individual packages can also be protected from being updated. You can even tell the package management system about software you have compiled yourself and what dependencies it fulfills.
ko: &debian;은 다른 GNU/Linux 배포판과 다른 가장 큰 특징은 패키지 관리 시스템입니다. &debian; 시스템 관리자는 시스템에 설치된 패키지에 대해 하나의 패키지 설치에서 운영 체제 전체 자동 업데이트까지 완벽하게 제어할 수 있습니다. 개별 패키지를 업데이트하지 않도록 설정할 수 있습니다. 직접 컴파일한 소프트웨어에 대한 의존성을 설정할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: To protect your system against <quote>Trojan horses</quote> and other malevolent software, &debian;'s servers verify that uploaded packages come from their registered &debian; maintainers. &debian; packagers also take great care to configure their packages in a secure manner. When security problems in shipped packages do appear, fixes are usually available very quickly. With &debian;'s simple update options, security fixes can be downloaded and installed automatically across the Internet.
ko: <quote>트로이 목마</quote> 및 기타 악의적인 소프트웨어로부터 여러분의 시스템을 보호하려고 &debian; 서버에서 업로드한 패키지가 등록된 &debian; 개발자가 만든 패키지가 맞는지 여부를 확인합니다. 또한 &debian; 각 패키지는 더 안전하게 설정되도록 세심한 주의를 기울입니다. 배포한 패키지에 보안 문제가 발생하면, 수정 버전을 빠르게 사용할 수 있습니다. &debian;의 간단한 업데이트 옵션을 사용해, 보안 패치를 인터넷에서 자동으로 다운로드하고 설치할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The primary, and best, method of getting support for your &debian; GNU/Linux system and communicating with &debian; Developers is through the many mailing lists maintained by the &debian; Project (there are more than &num-of-debian-maillists; at this writing). The easiest way to subscribe to one or more of these lists is visit <ulink url="&url-debian-lists-subscribe;"> Debian's mailing list subscription page</ulink> and fill out the form you'll find there.
ko: 여러분의 &debian; GNU / Linux 시스템에 대한 지원을 받거나 &debian; 개발자와 연락을 하는 가장 좋은 방법은 &debian; 프로젝트에서 운영하는 여러가지 메일링 리스트를 사용하는 것입니다. (이 글이 작성된 시점에서 &num-of-debian-maillists;개 이상의 메일링 리스트가 있습니다.) 메일링 리스트에 가입하려면, <ulink url="&url-debian-lists-subscribe;">데비안 메일링리스트 가입 페이지</ulink>를 방문해 페이지의 양식을 기입하면 됩니다.

note: Tag: title
en: What is &debian; GNU/kFreeBSD?
ko: &debian; GNU/kFreeBSD란?

note: Tag: para
en: &debian; GNU/kFreeBSD is a &debian; GNU system with the kFreeBSD kernel.
ko: &debian; GNU/kFreeBSD은 kFreeBSD 커널을 사용하는 &debian; GNU 시스템입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: This port of &debian; is currently only being developed for the i386 and amd64 architectures, although ports to other architectures is possible.
ko: 이 &debian; 포팅은 현재 i386과 amd64 아키텍처에서만 개발되고 있지만, 다른 아키텍처에도 포팅이 가능합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Please note that &debian; GNU/kFreeBSD is not a Linux system, and thus some information on Linux system may not apply to it.
ko: 단, GNU/kFreeBSD는 리눅스 시스템이 아니기 때문에 리눅스 시스템에 대해 설명한 일부 정보는 적용되지 않을 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: For more information, see the <ulink url="http://www.debian.org/ports/kfreebsd-gnu/"> &debian; GNU/kFreeBSD ports page</ulink> and the <email>debian-bsd@lists.debian.org</email> mailing list.
ko: 자세한 내용은 <ulink url="http://www.debian.org/ports/kfreebsd-gnu/">&debian; GNU/kFreeBSD 포팅 페이지</ulink>와 <email>debian-bsd@lists.debian.org</email> 메일링 리스트를 참조하십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: What is &debian; GNU/Hurd?
ko: &debian; GNU/Hurd란?

note: Tag: para
en: &debian; GNU/Hurd is a &debian; GNU system with the GNU Hurd &mdash; a set of servers running on top of the GNU Mach microkernel.
ko: 데비안 GNU/Hurd는 GNU Hurd를 사용하는 GNU 시스템입니다. GNU Mach 마이크로 커널 위에서 실행되는 서버의 집합입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The Hurd is still unfinished, and is unsuitable for day-to-day use, but work is continuing. The Hurd is currently only being developed for the i386 architecture, although ports to other architectures will be made once the system becomes more stable.
ko: Hurd는 아직 완성되어 있지 않고 일상적인 사용에는 부적합하지만 개발 작업은 계속하고 있습니다. 현재 Hurd는 i386 아키텍처에서만 개발되고 있지만, 시스템이 안정되면 다른 아키텍처도 만들 예정입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Please note that &debian; GNU/Hurd is not a Linux system, and thus some information on Linux system may not apply to it.
ko: 단, &debian; GNU/Hurd는 리눅스 시스템이 아니기 때문에 리눅스 시스템에 대해 설명한 일부 정보는 적용되지 않을 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: For more information, see the <ulink url="http://www.debian.org/ports/hurd/"> &debian; GNU/Hurd ports page</ulink> and the <email>debian-hurd@lists.debian.org</email> mailing list.
ko: 자세한 내용은 <ulink url="http://www.debian.org/ports/hurd/">&debian; GNU/Hurd 포팅 페이지</ulink>와 <email>debian-hurd@lists.debian.org</email> 메일링 리스트를 참조하십시오.

note: Tag: title
en: What is the Debian Installer?
ko: 데비안 설치 프로그램이란?

note: Tag: para
en: Debian Installer, also known as <quote>d-i</quote>, is the software system to install a basic working Debian system. A wide range of hardware such as embedded devices, laptops, desktops and server machines is supported and a large set of free software for many purposes is offered.
ko: 데비안 설치 프로그램은 (Debian Installer, 줄여서 <quote>d-i</quote>라고도 합니다) 기본적인 동작을 하는 데비안 시스템을 설치하는 소프트웨어입니다. 임베디드 장치, 노트북 컴퓨터, 데스크톱 컴퓨터, 서버 컴퓨터 등 여러가지 종류의 하드웨어를 지원하고, 여러가지 목적으로 사용할 수 있는 커다란 자유 소프트웨어 모음을 제공합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The installation is conducted by answering a basic set of questions. Also available are an expert mode that allows to control every aspect of the installation and an advanced feature to perform automated installations. The installed system can be used as is or further customized. The installation can be performed from a multitude of sources: USB, CD/DVD/Blu-Ray or the network. The installer supports localized installations in more than 80 languages.
ko: 설치 과정은 기본적인 질문 모음에 답하는 것으로 진행됩니다. 또 전문가 모드에서는 설치 과정을 모두 제어하고 자동으로 설치할 수 있는 기능이 들어 있습니다. 설치한 시스템을 그대로 사용할 수도 있고 나중에 원하는대로 바꿀 수 있습니다. 설치는 USB, CD/DVD/Blu-Ray, 네트워크 등 여러가지 방식 중 하나를 이용할 수 있습니다. 설치 프로그램은 80개 이상의 언어를 통한 설치를 지원합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The installer has its origin in the boot-floppies project, and it was <ulink url="http://lists.debian.org/debian-boot/2000/06/msg00279.html">first mentioned</ulink> by Joey Hess in 2000. Since then the installation system has been continuously developed by volunteers improving and adding more features.
ko: 설치 프로그램은 과거 boot-floppies 프로젝트에 기원을 두고 있고, 2000년 Joey Hess가 <ulink url="http://lists.debian.org/debian-boot/2000/06/msg00279.html">처음 언급했습니다</ulink>. 그 이후로 자발적인 개발자들이 설치 시스템을 계속 발전시키고 새로운 기능을 추가해 왔습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: More information can be found on the <ulink url="&url-d-i;">Debian Installer page</ulink>, on the <ulink url="&url-d-i-wiki;">Wiki</ulink> and on the <ulink url="&url-debian-boot-list;">debian-boot mailing list</ulink>.
ko: 더 자세한 정보는 <ulink url="&url-d-i;">데비안 설치 프로그램 페이지</ulink>, <ulink url="&url-d-i-wiki;">위키</ulink>, <ulink url="&url-debian-boot-list;">debian-boot 메일링 리스트</ulink>에 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Getting &debian;
ko: &debian; 받기

note: Tag: para
en: For information on how to download &debian-gnu; from the Internet or from whom official &debian; installation media can be purchased, see the <ulink url="&url-debian-distrib;">distribution web page</ulink>. The <ulink url="&url-debian-mirrors;">list of &debian; mirrors</ulink> contains a full set of official &debian; mirrors, so you can easily find the nearest one.
ko: 인터넷을 통해 &debian-gnu;를 다운로드하는 방법이나 &debian; 공식 설치 미디어 구입에 대한 정보는 <ulink url="&url-debian-distrib;">배포판 홈페이지</ulink>를 참조하십시오. <ulink url="&url-debian-mirrors;">&debian; 미러 목록</ulink>에는 &debian; 공식 미러 사이트가 모두 정리되어 있기 때문에 가장 가까운 미러 사이트를 쉽게 찾을 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: &debian; can be upgraded after installation very easily. The installation procedure will help set up the system so that you can make those upgrades once installation is complete, if need be.
ko: &debian;은 설치 후 아주 쉽게 업그레이드할 수 있습니다. 설치 절차에 따라 일단 시스템 설치를 마치면 필요에 따라 업그레이드를 수행할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Getting the Newest Version of This Document
ko: 이 문서의 최신 버전 구하는 법

note: Tag: para
en: This document is constantly being revised. Be sure to check the <ulink url="&url-release-area;"> Debian &release; pages</ulink> for any last-minute information about the &release; release of the &debian-gnu; system. Updated versions of this installation manual are also available from the <ulink url="&url-install-manual;">official Install Manual pages</ulink>.
ko: 이 문서는 계속해서 개선됩니다. &debian-gnu; 시스템의 &release; 릴리스에 대한 최신 정보는 <ulink url="&url-release-area;">데비안 &release; 페이지</ulink>를 확인하십시오. 이 설치문서의 최신 버전은 <ulink url="&url-install-manual;">공식 데비안 설치 안내서 페이지</ulink>에서도 보실 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Organization of This Document
ko: 이 문서의 구성

note: Tag: para
en: This document is meant to serve as a manual for first-time &debian; users. It tries to make as few assumptions as possible about your level of expertise. However, we do assume that you have a general understanding of how the hardware in your computer works.
ko: 이 문서는 처음으로 &debian;을 사용하는 분을 위해 작성된 문서입니다. 가능한 한 전문적인 지식 없이도 읽을 수 있도록 노력하고 있습니다. 하지만 컴퓨터가 어떻게 동작하는지 일반적인 지식은 있다고 가정합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Expert users may also find interesting reference information in this document, including minimum installation sizes, details about the hardware supported by the &debian; installation system, and so on. We encourage expert users to jump around in the document.
ko: 전문적인 사용자도 이 문서에서 최소 설치에 필요한 공간과 &debian; 설치 시스템에서 지원하는 하드웨어 등과 같이 도움이 될만한 정보를 얻을 수 있습니다. 숙련된 사용자는 이 문서에서 필요한 부분만 읽어도 됩니다.

note: Tag: para
en: In general, this manual is arranged in a linear fashion, walking you through the installation process from start to finish. Here are the steps in installing &debian-gnu;, and the sections of this document which correlate with each step:
ko: 이 안내서는 설치 과정의 처음부터 끝까지, 각 과정의 순서대로 쓰여 있습니다. 아래는 &debian-gnu;를 설치하는 과정으로, 각 과정에 관련된 문서 부분을 안내해 놓았습니다:

note: Tag: para
en: Determine whether your hardware meets the requirements for using the installation system, in <xref linkend="hardware-req"/>.
ko: <xref linkend="hardware-req"/>에서, 하드웨어가 설치 시스템에 필요한 요구사항을 만족하는지 판단합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Backup your system, perform any necessary planning and hardware configuration prior to installing &debian;, in <xref linkend="preparing"/>. If you are preparing a multi-boot system, you may need to create partitionable space on your hard disk for &debian; to use.
ko: <xref linkend="preparing"/>에서는, 기존 시스템을 백업하고 &debian; 설치에 앞서 필요한 계획을 하고 하드웨어 설정을 합니다. 멀티 부팅을 생각하고 계시다면, 하드 디스크에 &debian; 파티션을 만들기 위한 공간을 만들어야 할 수도 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: In <xref linkend="install-methods"/>, you will obtain the necessary installation files for your method of installation.
ko: <xref linkend="install-methods"/>에서, 설치하는 방법에 따라 필요한 설치 파일을 구합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The next <xref linkend="boot-installer"/> describes booting into the installation system. This chapter also discusses troubleshooting procedures in case you have problems with this step.
ko: 그 다음 <xref linkend="boot-installer"/>에서는, 설치 시스템으로 부팅하는 방법을 설명합니다. 이 과정에서 문제가 발생한 경우 문제를 해결하는 방법도 이 장에서 설명합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Perform the actual installation according to <xref linkend="d-i-intro"/>. This involves choosing your language, configuring peripheral driver modules, configuring your network connection, so that remaining installation files can be obtained directly from a &debian; server (if you are not installing from a set of CD/DVD installation images), partitioning your hard drives and installation of a base system, then selection and installation of tasks. (Some background about setting up the partitions for your &debian; system is explained in <xref linkend="partitioning"/>.)
ko: <xref linkend="d-i-intro"/>에 따라 실제 설치를 수행하십시오. 여기에서 언어의 선택, 주변 장치 드라이버 모듈 설정, (CD/DVD 설치 이미지 세트에서 설치하지 않은 경우) 나머지 설치 파일을 &debian; 서버에서 직접 검색하도록 네트워크 연결 설정, 하드 디스크 파티션 작업 그리고 베이스 시스템 설치를 합니다. 그리고 태스크를 선택하고 설치합니다. (&debian; 시스템의 파티션 설정에 대해 <xref linkend="partitioning"/>에서 자세히 설명합니다.)

note: Tag: para
en: Boot into your newly installed base system, from <xref linkend="boot-new"/>.
ko: <xref linkend="boot-new"/>에서, 새로 설치한 베이스 시스템으로 부팅합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Once you've got your system installed, you can read <xref linkend="post-install"/>. That chapter explains where to look to find more information about Unix and &debian;, and how to replace your kernel.
ko: 시스템 설치가 완료되면 <xref linkend="post-install"/> 부분을 읽으십시오. 이 장에서는 Unix와 &debian;에 대해 더 자세한 정보를 볼 수 있는 위치를 설명하고, 커널을 바꾸는 방법을 설명합니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Finally, information about this document and how to contribute to it may be found in <xref linkend="administrivia"/>.
ko: 마지막으로, 이 문서에 대한 정보와 이 문서에 참여하는 방법은 <xref linkend="administrivia"/>에 있습니다.

note: Tag: title
en: Your Documentation Help is Welcome
ko: 문서에 도움을 주실 분은 언제든지 환영합니다

note: Tag: para
en: Any help, suggestions, and especially, patches, are greatly appreciated. Working versions of this document can be found at <ulink url="&url-d-i-dillon-manual;"></ulink>. There you will find a list of all the different architectures and languages for which this document is available.
ko: 어떤 형태든지 이 문서에 대한 도움, 제안, 특히 패치에 대해 깊이 감사드립니다. 현재 작업중인 버전은 <ulink url="&url-d-i-dillon-manual;"></ulink>에 있습니다. 이 홈페이지에는 다른 아키텍처용 문서와 다른 여러 언어의 번역판도 더 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Source is also available publicly; look in <xref linkend="administrivia"/> for more information concerning how to contribute. We welcome suggestions, comments, patches, and bug reports (use the package <classname>installation-guide</classname> for bugs, but check first to see if the problem is already reported).
ko: 문서의 소스도 공개되어 있습니다. <xref linkend="administrivia"/>를 보시면 문서에 기여하는 방법에 관하여 더 자세히 쓰여 있습니다. 제안, 조언, 패치 그리고 버그 리포트는 언제나 환영합니다. (버그를 리포트할 때는 <classname>installation-guide</classname> 패키지를 이용하시고, 해당 문제가 이미 보고한 문제인지 먼저 확인하십시오.)

note: Tag: title
en: About Copyrights and Software Licenses
ko: 저작권 및 소프트웨어 라이선스 정보

note: Tag: para
en: We're sure that you've read some of the licenses that come with most commercial software &mdash; they usually say that you can only use one copy of the software on a single computer. This system's license isn't like that at all. We encourage you to put a copy of &debian-gnu; on every computer in your school or place of business. Lend your installation media to your friends and help them install it on their computers! You can even make thousands of copies and <emphasis>sell</emphasis> them &mdash; albeit with a few restrictions. Your freedom to install and use the system comes directly from &debian; being based on <emphasis>free software</emphasis>.
ko: 이 문서를 읽고 있는 여러분 대부분은 기업의 상용 소프트웨어에 있는 라이선스를 읽어봤을 것입니다. 보통 그 라이선스에는 구입한 소프트웨어의 복사본 하나를 단일 컴퓨터에서 사용할 수 있다고 쓰여 있습니다. 이 시스템의 라이선스는 그런 라이선스와는 다릅니다. 다니는 학교와 회사의 모든 컴퓨터에 &debian-gnu;를 설치하셔도 좋고 그러길 바랍니다. 친구에게 빌려주고 컴퓨터에 설치하는 것을 도와 주십시오. 또한 수천 장을 복사하고 <emphasis>판매할</emphasis> 수도 (몇몇 제한이 있을 수 있지만) 있습니다. 왜냐하면 &debian;은 <emphasis>자유 소프트웨어</emphasis>이기 때문입니다.

note: Tag: para
en: Calling software <emphasis>free</emphasis> doesn't mean that the software isn't copyrighted, and it doesn't mean that installation media containing that software must be distributed at no charge. Free software, in part, means that the licenses of individual programs do not require you to pay for the privilege of distributing or using those programs. Free software also means that not only may anyone extend, adapt, and modify the software, but that they may distribute the results of their work as well.
ko: 소프트웨어를 <emphasis>자유(free)</emphasis>라고 부르는 것은 소프트웨어의 저작권이 없다는 뜻은 아니고, 자유 소프트웨어를 배포하는 설치 미디어가 무료라는 뜻도 아닙니다. 자유소프트웨어는, 부분적인 의미로는 프로그램의 라이선스에서 프로그램을 배포하고 사용할 권리에 대해 비용을 지불할 필요가 없다는 의미입니다. 또 자유소프트웨어는 누구라도 소프트웨어를 확장하고 개작하고 수정할 수 있으면서, 그렇게 바꾼 결과물도 배포할 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: The &debian; project, as a pragmatic concession to its users, does make some packages available that do not meet our criteria for being free. These packages are not part of the official distribution, however, and are only available from the <userinput>contrib</userinput> or <userinput>non-free</userinput> areas of &debian; mirrors or on third-party CD/DVD-ROMs; see the <ulink url="&url-debian-faq;">Debian FAQ</ulink>, under <quote>The Debian FTP archives</quote>, for more information about the layout and contents of the archives.
ko: &debian; 프로젝트에서는 사용자의 실용적 필요 때문에 우리의 자유 소프트웨어의 기준에 맞지 않는 패키지도 사용할 수 있습니다. 이 패키지는 공식적인 배포판의 일부가 아니지만, &debian; 미러의 <userinput>contrib</userinput>나 <userinput>non-free</userinput> 미러 사이트 또는 서드파티 CD/DVD-ROM에서 구할 수 있습니다. <ulink url="&url-debian-faq;">Debian FAQ</ulink>의 <quote>데비안 FTP 아카이브</quote> 부분을 참조하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: Many of the programs in the system are licensed under the <emphasis>GNU</emphasis> <emphasis>General Public License</emphasis>, often simply referred to as <quote>the GPL</quote>. The GPL requires you to make the <emphasis>source code</emphasis> of the programs available whenever you distribute a binary copy of the program; that provision of the license ensures that any user will be able to modify the software. Because of this provision, the source code<footnote> <para> For information on how to locate, unpack, and build binaries from &debian; source packages, see the <ulink url="&url-debian-faq;">Debian FAQ</ulink>, under <quote>Basics of the Debian Package Management System</quote>. </para> </footnote> for all such programs is available in the &debian; system.
ko: 시스템에 들어있는 프로그램의 상당 부분은 <quote>GPL</quote>로 알려진 <emphasis>GNU</emphasis> <emphasis>일반 공중 안내서(General Public License, GPL)</emphasis>에 따라 이용 허락되고 있습니다. GPL 라이선스의 프로그램의 바이너리를 배포할 때는 반드시 프로그램 <emphasis>소스 코드</emphasis>를 이용 가능하게 해야 합니다. 사용자가 소프트웨어를 수정할 수 있도록 보장하는 것입니다. 이 규정에 따라 그러한 패키지의 모든 소스 코드가<footnote> <para> &debian; 소스 패키지를 찾고 및 배포 방법과 바이너리를 빌드하는 방법에 대한 자세한 내용은 <ulink url="&url-debian-faq;">Debian FAQ</ulink>의 <quote>Debian 패키지 관리 시스템의 기본</quote>를 참조하십시오. </para> </footnote> &debian; 시스템에 들어 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: There are several other forms of copyright statements and software licenses used on the programs in &debian;. You can find the copyrights and licenses for every package installed on your system by looking in the file <filename>/usr/share/doc/<replaceable>package-name</replaceable>/copyright </filename> once you've installed a package on your system.
ko: &debian;에 수록된 프로그램의 저작권과 소프트웨어 라이선스의 형식은 그 밖에도 여러가지가 있습니다. 각 프로그램의 저작권과 라이선스는 패키지를 설치한 다음 <filename>/usr/share/doc/<replaceable>패키지-이름</replaceable>/copyright</filename> 파일을 보면 찾을 수 있습니다.

note: Tag: para
en: For more information about licenses and how &debian; determines whether software is free enough to be included in the main distribution, see the <ulink url="&url-dfsg;">Debian Free Software Guidelines</ulink>.
ko: 라이선스에 대한 더 자세히 알고 싶으시면, 또 어떤 소프트웨어가 main 배포판에 포함될 정도로 충분히 자유 소프트웨어인지 판별하는 &debian;의 기준에 대해서 알아 보시려면 <ulink url="&url-dfsg;">데비안 자유 소프트웨어 기준</ulink>을 참조하십시오.

note: Tag: para
en: The most important legal notice is that this software comes with <emphasis>no warranties</emphasis>. The programmers who have created this software have done so for the benefit of the community. No guarantee is made as to the suitability of the software for any given purpose. However, since the software is free, you are empowered to modify that software to suit your needs &mdash; and to enjoy the benefits of the changes made by others who have extended the software in this way.
ko: 가장 중요한 법적인 고지는, 이 소프트웨어는 <emphasis>어떠한 보증도 하지 않는다</emphasis>는 것입니다. 이 소프트웨어를 만든 프로그래머는 공동체의 이익을 위해 소프트웨어를 만든 것입니다. 어떤 목적에 대해서도 소프트웨어의 적합성을 보장하지 않습니다. 하지만 소프트웨어가 자유소프트웨어이므로, 여러분에 목적에 맞게 소프트웨어를 수정하는 권리는 여러분에 있습니다. 또한 이런 방법으로 다른 사람이 소프트웨어를 확장하여 생긴 변화로 얻은 이익을 누릴 권리도 여러분에게 있습니다.
